New Yorker Films | Release Date: March 31, 2000
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
1
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JeffAJan 1, 2010
Ugh, another pretentious, boring "art" film. Truly lame. What is it with the french? I see so many of the worst films coming from there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvanDec 9, 2009
A stunning, melancholy film. Easily one of the best of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanP.Apr 20, 2001
A masterwork - and most films I have seen lately would get ratings between 2-3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricP.May 6, 2003
The tendency with some French films: to think that being vague can manufacture a sense of the profound. This is not the case. When the film was over, I simply didn't care about anything I had just watched. A saw little evidence of a The tendency with some French films: to think that being vague can manufacture a sense of the profound. This is not the case. When the film was over, I simply didn't care about anything I had just watched. A saw little evidence of a creative vision being brought to life. It was shallow and lazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeGDec 4, 2004
The dancing is great, and the cinematography is wonderful. But it's a disjointed, often confusing movie, especially if you're not familiar with Billy Budd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Jean-ClaudeV.Dec 2, 2002
Dark, sinister, and distinctly French, this film did everything right except for the stock footage and narrative. An terrific final scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshT.Sep 27, 2002
A mesmerizingly lyrical and enigmatic masterpiece; the best French film of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewD.Jan 22, 2004
Pure cinema. Easily the most powerful movie I've seen in years. Claire Denis' masterwork. Simply beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMFeb 14, 2008
Beautiful. And that ending..... elusive, yet unforgettable. One of the best concluding sequences I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottNov 15, 2002
It's like a marvelous ballet acted on the most breathtaking set you've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaxA.Dec 17, 2006
Brooding, plodding, self-conscious and silly. This is a caricature of a French art film. It goes nowhere for an hour and a half while the protagonist poses and smokes lots of cigarettes. In a word: merde.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LowbrowCinemaNov 27, 2013
Claire Denis consistently breaks the boundaries of conventional filmmaking without resorting to pretension. BEAU TRAVAIL may just be her masterpiece, though I have a true fondness for TROUBLE EVERY DAY.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews