User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 109
  2. Negative: 20 out of 109

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Remarkable movie. Though I think I'm biased because I am a student of shamanism, of the ancient relationship between humans and divinity, humans and mother earth. Whoever wrote the representation of communicating with Spirit is clearly also a student of the ancient ways. Of course this is a movie, but how refreshing to see 'magic' represented and explored with honor. Also, the acting is superb (really) and the love story made me cry… several times Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Anybody that trashed this movie obviously doesn't understand it---or maybe they don't want to understand it. It's an allegory. Do they even know what that means? There's exceptional acting here--by all, but especially Alden Ehrenreich, Emma Thompson, Jeremy Irons, who expertly convey the movie's underlying themes (which are disturbing, which may partly explain the denial of the "trashers"): i.e., about wasting your life, choosing your passion (or at least what path to take in life), and the horrendous trials of adolescence: resisting temptations, controlling your temper, focusing your energy on your raison d'être (if you're lucky enough to find it). I loved Ethan's soliloquy on how his future would unfold when Macon (Jeremy Irons) put him under his spell. Reviewers like Bart & jennanana should take note and worry that their futures aren't similarly tragic. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Male here and married. I am a reader and i was excited to hear that they were making the Beautiful Creatures into a movie. I watched it and was slightly disappointed in the turn they wanted to take in the movie however that is the way it normally is with books made into movies. I believe if they got some better lead roles that the movie might have had a little bit of a better crowd behind it but i think the two did an amazing job in starting their career in this tough field of work where 1 out of millions hit it big. All and all look forward to the next movie and how they grow into their roles. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Wonderful Ending Can't wait for making of the Book 2.
    Teenager Must Watch this,I don't understand why some rate it Low.
    But Everyone has their own opinion so I cannot Blame them.
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This a great movie about witches. It goes out of the norm and comfort zone of typical witch movies. I very much enjoyed watching and wish the movie would have been longer.
  6. May 19, 2013
    9
    This was actually a good movie. Entertaining, very well acted, a well conceived and executed plot with good dialogue, which I find to be a rarity in blockbuster hits these days...especially in the teen romance department. An achievement for what it promised to be, and I'm actually looking forward to seeing what happens to these characters. Give it a chance. It's a lot better than the majority of its genre. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This movie is simply amazing! The actors did an awesome job. The visual effects where really good! I recommend this movie to people that like love stories and magic.
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film may relate to themes of the Twilight Franchise, but Beautiful Creatures is an amazing film. The story revolves around young, schoolboy Ethan and a witch or 'caster' named Lena. Leans 16th birthday is approaching and the day reveals weather Lena is being claimed to the light or the dark. Their love is powerful, but so are Lena's powers. Altogether, the film is a beautiful, love story involving suspense and secrets. Beautiful Creatures is the first of a trilogy, and I'm deeply looking forward to watching the next film. Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    For what it claims to be, this film is nearly perfect. Make no mistake, this film IS a supernatural teen romance. That said, it has clever (and legitimately funny, in the right way) writing, genuine acting and an interesting set up. Some of the dialogue is a little canned/forced, the narrative breezes through summaries that could have used more explanation, and the story does come across as formulaic. But honestly, who goes into a film like this expecting to be surprised by plot points? Unlike flicks like twilight which survive mostly on built in appeal (in that, if you haven't read the books, the movies are bland, boring, outright bad FILM, regardless of what you might think of the source material), Beautiful Creatures is a fun, balanced and enjoyable film for the uninitiated. (though I've heard that some changes were made from the source that might turn off dedicated fans)

    If you like the genre, you SHOULD see this film. It is easily the best version of type on film, so far. If the trailer looked interesting to you, and you go into the film expecting nothing more than what it claims to be, you should be pleasantly surprised.

    Pros:
    A supernatural teen romance with a little more brains
    Solid Acting
    Mostly good writing.

    Cons:
    Doesn't really try for anything "more" than its genre
    Some weak/canned dialogue
    low-ish budget effects in some scenes.

    I am actually excited to see this film become a franchise, and hope to see it do well.
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    75
    This film could have gone horribly wrong, but the characters and chemistry are strong, and as such Beautiful Creatures should be lauded for elegantly delivering a tale that at least feels fresh and vibrant.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve O Brien
    Feb 22, 2013
    40
    A semi-successful slice of Southern gothic panto. 

  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 16, 2013
    40
    The plot is wildly silly and shot full of holes, maundering endlessly on its slow trawl towards the climax. But the cast at least play it like they mean it, and keep it honest for a spell.