Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Beautiful Creatures tells the tale of two star-crossed lovers: Ethan, a young man longing to escape his small town, and Lena, a mysterious new girl. Together, they uncover dark secrets about their respective families, their history and their town. (Warner Bros.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 13, 2013
    80
    Maybe there really are supernatural forces at work in this world. How else to explain Beautiful Creatures? The movie is an intriguing, intelligent enigma — three words not typically associated with teen romances.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 13, 2013
    75
    Beautiful Creatures gives supernatural teenage romance a good name, or at least a better one than the entire "Twilight Saga" offered.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 13, 2013
    67
    Beautiful Creatures is a fascinating amalgam that demonstrates that a movie can be smart and dumb at the same time.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    The derivative script and skimpy effects don’t convey either the power or the problems of being a young witch.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    His screenplay for Beautiful Creatures is sharp and witty, considering the needlessly complicated source material. His cast is stellar, and the chemistry between his young stars magical. But too much of rest of the movie, like Thompson’s monstrous mother, is an unholy mess.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Feb 14, 2013
    42
    The film looks old-fashioned, too, with cinematography and special effects so reminiscent of old-school, live-action Disney flicks such as "Something Wicked This Way Comes" that you wonder if it was an aesthetic choice or a budgetary concession. Either way, it doesn't work.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Feb 10, 2013
    0
    Beautiful Creatures basically spits in the face of a legacy of literature founded on feelings of exclusion and social alienation.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Remarkable movie. Though I think I'm biased because I am a student of shamanism, of the ancient relationship between humans and divinity, humans and mother earth. Whoever wrote the representation of communicating with Spirit is clearly also a student of the ancient ways. Of course this is a movie, but how refreshing to see 'magic' represented and explored with honor. Also, the acting is superb (really) and the love story made me cry… several times Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This movie is simply amazing! The actors did an awesome job. The visual effects where really good! I recommend this movie to people that like love stories and magic. Expand
  3. May 19, 2013
    9
    This was actually a good movie. Entertaining, very well acted, a well conceived and executed plot with good dialogue, which I find to be a rarity in blockbuster hits these days...especially in the teen romance department. An achievement for what it promised to be, and I'm actually looking forward to seeing what happens to these characters. Give it a chance. It's a lot better than the majority of its genre. Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I, for one, read the whole entire Caster series before I saw any of the movies and the movie is NOTHING like the books. However, the movie is still quite enjoyable and a perfect genre for my liking (paranormal romance). On the other hand, the books, in my opinion, are better worded and contain a better ending than the film, as well as other aspects to the plot that were not included in the film, such as Lena and Ethan reading each others minds, the inclusion of Marian (the true keeper of the Lunae Libri), and Boo Radley (Lena’s caster dog). Also, in the film Macon is a powerful caster when in truth, he is an Incubus and entirely different than the casters. I believe the inclusion of Macon’s incubus form would have called for a better plot.

    P.S. Ridley’s hair is not red! It’s supposed to blonde with pink highlights!
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    Don't compare this to the Twilight films because Beautiful Creatures has a solid story led by a strong cast. Don't get me wrong this film has problems, but it's worth a watch. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    5
    The director of Beautiful Creatures obviously has an obsession to the popular Twilight series. For almost the entire movie I felt as if I was watching a remake of Eclipse with a twist that it was about witches instead of vampires. Special effects were decent but sub-par compared to the new standards set by movies like Prometheus and The Avengers. Really only a few characters stand out from the rest and it is disappointing to see that their talent in acting may have been wasted on this movie. The plot was what was really disappointing overall however. From the beginning of the movie you may have difficulty following along and each event is hardly strung together. This movie would have done much better if the director had decided to break the movie into a possible two or three part series. While normally I would never want to see a movie like this be able to have a sequel, I believe that if it had then the cast would have been able to work on the story more and possibly progress into a movie that could have been at least decent. It is frustrating to see a movie with potential fall so short of expectations like this. If you truly are a fan on Twilight than you might enjoy this but for anyone else, I suggest saving your money. Collapse
  7. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    absolutely awful, do not waste your money on this piece of trash! trying to compete against actual good films. i do not think so Beautiful Creatures! do not watch! Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers