User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    4
    This is just another attempt by Queen Latifah to make a funny movie, she definitely performs good in secondary roles but I have never seen any good movie where she is the staring actress. Average.
  2. BobJoe
    Apr 15, 2005
    0
    First point: would people plz stop writting long reviews, one or two lines will do, we dont wanna know the hole movie .... cant stress that enough, Secondly: this movie has its funny parts but its parts ur pratically forced to laugh at, if anyone understands me ... other than that I thought it was a flop.
  3. Andrew
    Sep 20, 2005
    0
    One word..... terrible.
  4. Sam
    Jul 10, 2006
    6
    Predictable, corny, sometimes wooden, but always interesting comedy-drama.
  5. dudek.
    Dec 20, 2005
    2
    Just don't watch. It's that simple. Terrible script. It makes it so abysmal to the point were there's no point to watch. Take it at your own risk.
  6. Billy
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    Utter crap. barbershop was unique and funny as hell, but this is just trying to copy that same chemistry. avoid this at all costs.
  7. MarkB.
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    High-spirited, good-natured and extremely estrogen-fueled spinoff of 2002's provocative and hilarious Barbershop (and its disappointing 2004 sequel) that somehow manages to accomplish two contradictory ends. It's utterly plotless but simultaneously has enough plot threads to fill an entire 24-episode season of Beauty Shop: The Sitcom. What makes it work are a lightning pace High-spirited, good-natured and extremely estrogen-fueled spinoff of 2002's provocative and hilarious Barbershop (and its disappointing 2004 sequel) that somehow manages to accomplish two contradictory ends. It's utterly plotless but simultaneously has enough plot threads to fill an entire 24-episode season of Beauty Shop: The Sitcom. What makes it work are a lightning pace (don't you wish YOUR workday went by this quickly, or your workplace was this much fun?) and appealing performances from such charismatic and likable actors as Queen Latifah, Djimon Hounsou and the adorable Alicia Silverstone, who as Latifah's only White employee, finally delivers on some of the promise she offered in Clueless over ten years ago. (Alfre Woodard, in an attempted change of pace role as this movie's rough equivalent of Barbershop's Cedric the Entertainer, doesn't quite come off.) Kevin Bacon is a stitch (and a good sport) as Latifah's vain , sexually ambiguous Eurotrash rival and former employer; watch this and his most recent role as a tormented child molester in The Woodsman and you'll see why people are STILL playing a parlor game based on his prolific career and versatility. Some of the one-liners and throwaways are so fast that this movie requires a second viewing or eventual rental to catch them all; one of Beauty Shop's nicest touches is the character of Hollering Helen, a subtle, clever tribute to the recently departed character actress Lynne Thigpen, whose best-known movie role may have been the sultry-voiced but incendiary d.j. in Walter Hill's The Warriors. In fact, "nice" is the precise word to describe the cinema of music-video maestro Bille Woodruff; his previous big-scren effort, the hip-hop Flashdance variant Honey (starring Sin City's Jessica Alba) was unbelievably hokey and derivative but so warmhearted and sweet-spirited that I found it irresistable anyway, and this movie is similarly bright and optimistic. Woodruff may not quite be Frank Capra, but he's as close as we're gonna get in this day and time. Speaking of optimism, note that Latifah's salon is located next door to an apparently successful mom-and-pop video store that's not a Blockbuster, Hollywood Video or other corporate behemoth. Talk about a feel-good fantasy! Expand
  8. PersnicketyR.
    May 3, 2005
    9
    Every few months I have an insatiable appetite for some Soul Food that leads me to search high and low to sate my hunger. Beauty Shop (BS) came out just in time to satisfy my Soul Food hunger. Queen Latifah (I consider her the deep fried chicken that my inner black man needs to subsist) put on another ghetto-rific performance that makes every ebony person say "DAAAAAAAMMMMMMNNNN." Even Every few months I have an insatiable appetite for some Soul Food that leads me to search high and low to sate my hunger. Beauty Shop (BS) came out just in time to satisfy my Soul Food hunger. Queen Latifah (I consider her the deep fried chicken that my inner black man needs to subsist) put on another ghetto-rific performance that makes every ebony person say "DAAAAAAAMMMMMMNNNN." Even Kevin Bacon (a white guy) brought some funk to the fore. It's safe to conclude that BS sated my Soul Food hunger-- mmm...mmm...good!!!! Expand
  9. Susan
    May 4, 2005
    0
    Horrible. Tries so hard to be funny. Good cast, so why so awful?
  10. MarnyF.
    Apr 13, 2005
    6
    I enjoy Queen Latifah ... and the movie was fun and my friend and I did laugh. However, I found Kevin Bacon's role tough to watch ... so beneath his brillance as an actor. Or maybe he WAS brilliant in making me not like him! It's not a movie I would see again ... and my friends know that I'll see movies more than once, if I like them fully. "Chicago" -- saw it 8 times!
  11. ChadS.
    May 24, 2005
    6
    Jorge (Kevin Bacon) doesn't strike me as an affirmative-action kind of guy. The real movie is in the backstory. How does an African-American woman who doesn't have Halle Berry's body, get hired by a shop with an all-white crew and clientele? Alicia Silverstone, in her best role since "Clueless", is a lot of fun as the lone white girl who has to assimilate with the Jorge (Kevin Bacon) doesn't strike me as an affirmative-action kind of guy. The real movie is in the backstory. How does an African-American woman who doesn't have Halle Berry's body, get hired by a shop with an all-white crew and clientele? Alicia Silverstone, in her best role since "Clueless", is a lot of fun as the lone white girl who has to assimilate with the "sistahs", but it's all so predictable. "Beauty Shop" just wants to be a comedy. Fine. There are actors who inject enough humanity into their stock characters to transcend Hollywood's (or Tony Danza's) mandate that people of color act a certain way (the exception being Gina's daughter who likes Bach). While not exactly funny, "Beauty Shop" is high-spirited. But when Jorge thrashes Gina's shop, to me, you're dredging up memories of Mississippi during the Civil Rights Movement when white men set black churches on fire. It's a comedy killer. It's a misstep if the filmmaker's aim was to make an innocous comedy. Expand
  12. LakeshiaB.
    Sep 26, 2005
    7
    Nice cast. Touching moments. Funny parts. But when the shop got broken into...That didn't do it for me.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. 50
    Breezy, sporadically funny.
  2. 50
    Beauty Shop's shtick gets old and tired pretty quickly, but a breezy tone and air of easygoing likeability carry it a long way.
  3. Beauty Shop extends the popular "Barbershop" franchise to Atlanta and provides a sassy feminine counterpart to its cozy men's-club vibe.