Bee Movie

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 233

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    Good Movie for the kids. It was a funny movie with lots of good moral points. It is a great movie to add to the kid's collection. There are time's that it drag's out,but there are fun fact's in the story for some good information.
  2. HyperS
    Dec 8, 2008
    6
    It seems the common census here is, to take a line from the movie, "Why doesn't someone just step on this little creep so we can all go home?" For me however, I thought the movie was fine. Sure there were moments of disbelief, but its not that big of a deal. Just turn off the brain and stop trying to over analyze the movie to death with prison camps and slavery references. The It seems the common census here is, to take a line from the movie, "Why doesn't someone just step on this little creep so we can all go home?" For me however, I thought the movie was fine. Sure there were moments of disbelief, but its not that big of a deal. Just turn off the brain and stop trying to over analyze the movie to death with prison camps and slavery references. The animation was fine, the ending was upbeat, the cast of characters was respectably interesting, and the acting was fine. A solid 6. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    Interesante por el tema, por el protagonista, por la lucha de clases, por la amistad o amor entre desiguales, etc.... Pero olvidable, y lejos de aventuras como Hormigas o Bichos.
  4. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    "Bee Movie" is a decent animated movie at its best; the story's bland and generally fragile in structure, the animation isn't the best one, and the voice acting sucks. Recommended for 5 year old kids.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    5
    At least it was good.
  6. HunterW.
    Jan 6, 2009
    4
    While it had few funny moments the premise of the movie is annoyingly and totally unrealistic, movies like Bug's Life and Ant Z handled the idea of a bugs community way better than Bee movie. In Bee movie everything collapsed for me ( including my suspension of disbelief ) the moment the bees started suing the humans, it is just a ridiculous and weird situation and isn't helped While it had few funny moments the premise of the movie is annoyingly and totally unrealistic, movies like Bug's Life and Ant Z handled the idea of a bugs community way better than Bee movie. In Bee movie everything collapsed for me ( including my suspension of disbelief ) the moment the bees started suing the humans, it is just a ridiculous and weird situation and isn't helped by the fact that all the world suddenly accepted that the Bees can talk to humans, why only Bees and why only now ... it just feels so forced. If you want to watch a good animated movie about bugs i recommend Bug's life or Ant Z, both handled the idea of a bugs community way better and kept it separate from the human world which made more sense. Expand
  7. DontgiveaF.
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    Some decent laughs, but suffers from the Cars complex, also known as the Saturday-Night-Live-movie syndrome: you take one idea, riff on it for about 70 minutes past where you've exhausted all the good material, and don't cut out anything. This would have been a pleasant half-hour holiday special or something, but was a complete flop as far as being and entertaining film goes. Some decent laughs, but suffers from the Cars complex, also known as the Saturday-Night-Live-movie syndrome: you take one idea, riff on it for about 70 minutes past where you've exhausted all the good material, and don't cut out anything. This would have been a pleasant half-hour holiday special or something, but was a complete flop as far as being and entertaining film goes. Also, this movie had too many things on every screen to look at, to the point that what action there was, was hard to follow. And the cinematography was, at best, spastic. Lots of flying between leaves just cuz. Don't know if all their good people left or what, but Pixar really seems to have jumped the shark after The Incredibles. Throw this in the same pile (and I do mean Pile) with Ratatouille and The Santa Clause 2. Ugh. Expand
  8. RazvyT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    Very ncie movie, nice comic, nice colored scenes, everything's nice.Animated movies rule!
  9. MikeW.
    Apr 23, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks. Bees cannot sue people in real court. Why is Chris Rock even in this movie? Just as a favor for jerry. This movie is like sex. Good for 2 mintues then boring as hell.
  10. CliftonS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    2
    Not one line made me laugh. replete with failed attempts at jewish humor. naturalistic worldview way off base.
  11. PenelopeB.
    May 25, 2008
    0
    This was a waste of money. I am glad i didnt pay to see it in theaters. It was incredibly dumb and dissapionting.
  12. KaraM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    2
    This plot to this movie was inacurate enough to destroy children's fundamental understandings of pollination, plant survival, insect behavior, and lawsuits. It was less than entertaining, it was a poorly executed series of lame quips done by poorly educated writers.
  13. MonaA.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This movie was great! It had a really interesting and unique plot, one that you haven't seen before and one you won't see again any time soon. It had pretty good humor as well. Overall, it was very creative and offered good family fun.
  14. Dec 26, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was bad. The story was horrible. A bee sues humans for stealing their honey, humans understand bees, there are huge factories inside hives and humans don't think they're crazy when they're talking to a bee. This might go for a 5 year old, but I don't recommend this for anyone else. Actually this movie is bad for kids as they start talking to bees and believes there's factories in hives. Just pass this movie. Don't let your kids watch Dreamworks **** They're uncreative. Expand
  15. TheDrake
    Nov 2, 2007
    1
    Meh. To paraphrase Elaine's comments on the sponge, not "money worthy".
  16. WilliamG
    Dec 30, 2007
    7
    Sure, it wasn't the BEST movie in its category, but I found it funny, charming, and not at all average. Seriously, go see it. P.S to Dlontgivea F: NOT made by Pixar, and Ratatouille was a BRILLIANT MOVIE.
  17. Leah
    May 29, 2008
    8
    What's with the low scores? I guess Jerry Seinfeld's humor is a love it or hate it type of thing. Bee Movie is light, clever fare. Not too many laugh-out-loud moments, but it did keep a constant smirk on my face. I found the casual way the movie deals with surreal situations quite refreshing--no strained attempts at credibility to bog it down. The CG is pretty good, slick yet What's with the low scores? I guess Jerry Seinfeld's humor is a love it or hate it type of thing. Bee Movie is light, clever fare. Not too many laugh-out-loud moments, but it did keep a constant smirk on my face. I found the casual way the movie deals with surreal situations quite refreshing--no strained attempts at credibility to bog it down. The CG is pretty good, slick yet not painstakingly detailed. A lot of memorable snarky bits (Ray Liotta and Sting cameos in particular). Worth seeing if you enjoy subtle, sardonic humor. Expand
  18. AndrewC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    1
    Same old, same old. Ratatoulle is much better.
  19. SharonT
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    A few funny minutes but gaps of tedium.
  20. JohnT.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    I hope people aren't going to this hoping for an episode of Seinfeld or an HBO Comedy. This is a kids movie, and in that capacity it worked great. My kid liked it, and there were some hilarious jokes directed to the moms and dads.
  21. JoyceC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Pure excellence, I've been reading some of the little reviews we have for this film so far and they are so disagreeable, Jerry Seinfeld hits the streets of Hollywood red carpet in an Oscar buzz animation piece, the best movie of the year, what a surprise. But really it isn't that funny.
  22. RandaH.
    Oct 30, 2007
    4
    Honey. Not funny.
  23. kittyf
    Jan 5, 2008
    6
    the Bee Movie was pretty good, I thought it was well played out.
  24. JacobH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    It's pure brilliance.
  25. SteveM.
    Apr 6, 2008
    5
    It's better then shrek.
  26. danielw
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    This movie achieves something I didn't think possible: 90 minutes of Seinfeld with nary a laugh in sight. Makes you want to go back to the show to see whether it wasn't George, Kramer and Elaine keeping the show afloat all those years. Avoids 0 in virtue of 30 funny seconds of Chris Rock.
  27. BobboW.
    Nov 2, 2007
    3
    Terrible.
  28. TroyK
    Nov 2, 2007
    5
    Wait for DVD. Went with my mother, sister and 2 nephews and everyone had a hard time staying awake. Had it's moments, but who cares? The only interesting thing of note is that it's release just happens to coincide with the recent honey bee's disappearing scare, There was even a trailer about it before the movie. But then, the movie ends happily leaving you to feel like Wait for DVD. Went with my mother, sister and 2 nephews and everyone had a hard time staying awake. Had it's moments, but who cares? The only interesting thing of note is that it's release just happens to coincide with the recent honey bee's disappearing scare, There was even a trailer about it before the movie. But then, the movie ends happily leaving you to feel like everything is ok with the honey bee. Yes, I am weird, but it's not just me is it? Expand
  29. LauraJ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    I found this movie to be uplifting, fun & humourous. The graphics & animation, especially over Central Park,NYC, were beautiful. I liked the flying scenes in the plane landing sequence , and in the sky, and thought Rene Zellweger as Vanesssa's alter ego-adorable. Anyone who says anything negative about this clever film is just jealous they didn't create it.
  30. keitha.
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    just a terrible story, not funny, horrible animation, not sure why it took so long for this movie to come out doesn't look like a lot of time went into it. first kid's movie my four year old ever fell asleep to
  31. JosephA
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Plot Summary: Hi I'm a little bee who's never left the hive, all I know about humans are box kites, racial stereotypes and the U.S. justice system. Terrible.
  32. JaimeB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    This is a very bad movie, because try copy to Pixar, but the result is poor.
  33. StevenH.
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    Suckiest animated film of the decade.
  34. jp
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    Can Hollywood please stop making animated movies. I mean there have been at least 10 this year. IT has all been done. Try making an original movie. Please.
  35. JaredC.
    Oct 29, 2007
    7
    Jerry Seinfeld is the main attraction of viewers to come see this production. But on the other hand, the humor was poorly written and, since I am a "Seinfeld" fan, Jerry didn't do as great as I expected. The film itself is actual a pretty average animation/comedy, just the plot and the overall view of the story had barely any good taste at all. Although, most of the humor was Jerry Seinfeld is the main attraction of viewers to come see this production. But on the other hand, the humor was poorly written and, since I am a "Seinfeld" fan, Jerry didn't do as great as I expected. The film itself is actual a pretty average animation/comedy, just the plot and the overall view of the story had barely any good taste at all. Although, most of the humor was extremely hilarious, the some of it was awfully written. Definitely a film to watch in the theatres with your family 'n pals, but don't buy it or rent it, pay for it on Shaw when it comes out. A good film for 11-year-olds who have great suggestive humorous taste. Expand
  36. AlanS.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I thought Bee Movie was a very funny and entertaining experience. The humor is not dumbed down for kids which is probably why many critics seem to have a problem with it. If you like Seinfeld's work on TV, you should enjoy this film.
  37. JCA.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    You can never despise of this film, yeah sure its got flaws, but it has quirky enough humor that satisfies the audience with a weirder and more mature family style.
  38. JackG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Bee movie is one of the best PIXAR films ever made. Its pure genius!
  39. ClintH.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    Tune into an episode of Seinfeld instead of this. At least Jerry did a good job at THAT.
  40. brycel
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    So funny, it stings!
  41. ChadS
    Jan 7, 2008
    6
    "Bee Movie" lost me in the courtroom. Talk about a buzzkill. It reminded me of the "Seinfeld" finale when Jerry and his friends are put on trial for not caring. In the hive, "Bee Movie" is at its anthromorphic best, as we nod with recognition about the day-to-day drudgery of our lives. Because of Renee Zellweger's wonderful voice-over work, the interspecies relationship between "Bee Movie" lost me in the courtroom. Talk about a buzzkill. It reminded me of the "Seinfeld" finale when Jerry and his friends are put on trial for not caring. In the hive, "Bee Movie" is at its anthromorphic best, as we nod with recognition about the day-to-day drudgery of our lives. Because of Renee Zellweger's wonderful voice-over work, the interspecies relationship between Barry(Jerry Seinfeld) and Vanessa has a surprisingly winsome charm. It's easy to see why Barry falls in love with her. Too bad the movie gets away from its modest strengths and overreaches with some barely concealed social commentary about our country's shameful past. "Bee Movie" alludes to the slave trade when Barry learns that bees are producing honey in forced labor hives. "Bee" could stand for "B", as in "Black", since the returning of the honey to its rightful owner sounds an awful lot like slave reparations. "Bee Movie" is also hampered by some shaky plotting(the sequence in which Barry and Vanessa reintroduce flowers to the ecosystem may strike you as bizarre) and inappropriate cameos by pop culture icons(the bee version of a television newsman took me completely out of the movie). "Bee Movie" should've stayed in the animal kingdom and made bears their primary nemesis. Vanessa could've been some sort of Jane Goodall-type, or a forest ranger. Expand
  42. AdamM.
    Mar 3, 2008
    4
    First off, I did find this movie mildly amusing at parts, but it ultimately is completely unbelievable, even in the fantasy world of a cartoon. They do the right thing by showing the human character Vanesa being shocked that a Bee is talking, but then the entire world not only goes along with it, but winds up letting themselves be sued by the now sentient species? I don't care who First off, I did find this movie mildly amusing at parts, but it ultimately is completely unbelievable, even in the fantasy world of a cartoon. They do the right thing by showing the human character Vanesa being shocked that a Bee is talking, but then the entire world not only goes along with it, but winds up letting themselves be sued by the now sentient species? I don't care who flames me for this, because the movie points it out to make fun of itself. The bees are jewish, reffered to as Bee-ish in the movie. Classic Jewish stereotypes are abound in this lackluster film, and though Seinfeld remains one of my favorite shows of all time, Jerry sounds like a hack with every over the top line he delivers in this one. I think it was unnecessary for them to go for the jewish joke, then have the bees sueing people, I mean come on... they even went so far as to have the film end on the bees flying through a Kite shaped like the star of david. Geez guys, bees in slavery, reparations of honey, all that, then the movie turns a 180 and says that was all better for the world, and the bees shouldn't have tried to change anything? MIXED message from this one. Either way, any other digital animation movie should teach this one it's tricks. Create a fantasy world that might exist within our own, not one that tries to sue us, hahaha. Expand
  43. JohnR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    It felt like DreamWorks trying to make a Pixar movie . Of course Pixar works through their movies until the plot doesn't suck and the jokes are actually funny.
  44. BrianK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    7
    It wasn't hillarious, but it was definitely an above average film. The last couple of minutes of the movie are hysterical.
  45. JoshuaP.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I can't even see how someone could give this movie a bad review, I found myself laughing pretty hard on several occations and I thougt in general the movie was well done and well thought out.
  46. DustinH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    1
    I took my 5 year old to see Bee Movie and would have walked out if she hadn't fallen asleep. I wish I could have slept through this stinker. Unfortunately, this is the one she picked (probably due to the McDonald's endorsement) and I suffered through it. NOTE: I am not a fan of Seinfeld's standup comedy or his sitcom. If you aren't a fan either, don't waste your I took my 5 year old to see Bee Movie and would have walked out if she hadn't fallen asleep. I wish I could have slept through this stinker. Unfortunately, this is the one she picked (probably due to the McDonald's endorsement) and I suffered through it. NOTE: I am not a fan of Seinfeld's standup comedy or his sitcom. If you aren't a fan either, don't waste your money. Diehard fans will probably enjoy the humor, Seinfeld in-jokes and alum cameos, but the kids not familiar with it might get bored (saw several sleeping through it). Expand
  47. KeithR
    Nov 19, 2007
    0
    Yawn! This was the least funny animated movie I've seen. Even the kids in theatre were not laughing. Just a way to pormote McDonalds and crappy toys kids don't need. $40 wasted for nothing.
  48. Alessandra
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    I think a lot of heart and soul went into the movie. Great premise, had some very witty moments (I would say, geared towards slightly older crowds). The critics are being too harsh.
  49. JonG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Have there been better animated films (animation and plot)? Yes. Although I was entertained, laughed, thought there was good use of colours (bright for the kids). Felt very Seinfeldian but then, I like his humor. I wouldn't say it's a movie about nothing. The Bee isn't excited about what's next for his life, wants to explore the world, tries to fix it, accepts his Have there been better animated films (animation and plot)? Yes. Although I was entertained, laughed, thought there was good use of colours (bright for the kids). Felt very Seinfeldian but then, I like his humor. I wouldn't say it's a movie about nothing. The Bee isn't excited about what's next for his life, wants to explore the world, tries to fix it, accepts his mistake and finally comes realizes we all have a job to do and no matter what size it is, it still counts and is very important. Okay not an A movie but definitely a Bee Movie. Expand
  50. BrandonW
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    It was good. Got a few laughs out of it.
  51. ChristopherW.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this very funny film. I loved how the plot gleefully sidestepped so many possible touches of realism in favor of a playful relaxed vibe aimed in soft allegory and breezy satire. The inconsistencies, plot holes, and contrivances are obviously intentional and focus the viewer less on the rather silly story and more on the film's sweet infectious tone and dialogue. I thoroughly enjoyed this very funny film. I loved how the plot gleefully sidestepped so many possible touches of realism in favor of a playful relaxed vibe aimed in soft allegory and breezy satire. The inconsistencies, plot holes, and contrivances are obviously intentional and focus the viewer less on the rather silly story and more on the film's sweet infectious tone and dialogue. As a note, I think this film is geared more toward adults than children, and certainly more on audiences who embrace Seinfeld's brand of comedy. Do enjoy! Expand
  52. JHill
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    Dear god this movie stunk. The writing was anything but good. I don't know why NBC hyped it---except they get exclusive rights to air it in the future...but after this, do they really want to do that? What's the deal with Bee Movie?
  53. JohnT
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    My son loved it, and it kept him in his seat (he's 5). I thought there were enough clever ads to keep parents entertained, and I laughed outloud more than once, even if the younger members of the audience did't get the gag.
  54. DaveT
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Awful. Unfocused plot that follows no sense of logic, even for an animated movie.
  55. George
    Nov 3, 2007
    1
    Booooring!
  56. Dan
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    I'm giving it an 8 for TIME Magazine which does have a capsul review in this week's issue which should be included in Metacritic's review list.
  57. BethK
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Most of these people have no clue what they're talking about. Bee Movie is a delightful animated movie visually for children, but actually geared towards adults. The humor, yes, is rather poor at some points, but most of it is quite witty. But this movie really isn't about the humor. More of the message it's trying to send. And no, it's not of how if we lose bees, Most of these people have no clue what they're talking about. Bee Movie is a delightful animated movie visually for children, but actually geared towards adults. The humor, yes, is rather poor at some points, but most of it is quite witty. But this movie really isn't about the humor. More of the message it's trying to send. And no, it's not of how if we lose bees, we'll crumble. I highly recommend it. The critics are pretty much being high and mighty on us again, and don't listen to those weirdos who say other wise. Expand
  58. AnaB
    Nov 6, 2007
    1
    Had a few (very few) funny moments. I took my daughter, who wasn't really impressed and has already forgotten about it. At the end, I looked at my husband who complained that we wasted $21 (early matinee) for this crap. It was all over the place and just wasn't realistic, even for a cartoon. When you compare it to other adult geared movies such as Shrek, Madagascar, even Finding Had a few (very few) funny moments. I took my daughter, who wasn't really impressed and has already forgotten about it. At the end, I looked at my husband who complained that we wasted $21 (early matinee) for this crap. It was all over the place and just wasn't realistic, even for a cartoon. When you compare it to other adult geared movies such as Shrek, Madagascar, even Finding Nemo, this movie isn't even in their league. Expand
  59. BenH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    7
    A cute film that can entertain adults and children!
  60. ThomasW
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    It was a good movie. I think it was the best animated movie ever!!
  61. YourMom
    Jan 24, 2008
    7
    Hmmm. It's arguably about nothing, but that's what makes it so fun. Seinfeld has been watered-down, but some is better than none. It's his comic genius that drives the movie forward. Might I mention, it's hilarious.
  62. LuisG.
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    I may be the only person who thought Seinfeld is a smuck unfunny with a capital T ... and yet i still sat 45 minutes of this cartoon disaster.. Spielberg please catch some inspiration and give due to something worth merit.. a disaster..... unfunny, boring, wannabe cartoon.
  63. LouisH.
    Feb 23, 2008
    2
    "Sueing the human race?" How much weed did the writers have to smoke before coming up with that piece of scrap?!?! I was expecting something other than boring courtroom drama! Plus, using bears and the word "sting" is something no judge can take away. And they let the bee take his case to the highest court...THEN they waited to see if he could talk? Gimme a break.....that being said, "Sueing the human race?" How much weed did the writers have to smoke before coming up with that piece of scrap?!?! I was expecting something other than boring courtroom drama! Plus, using bears and the word "sting" is something no judge can take away. And they let the bee take his case to the highest court...THEN they waited to see if he could talk? Gimme a break.....that being said, Seinfelds voice redeems it a bit. Expand
  64. DeanP
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    I'm sorry but this movie is sending some horrible messages. The most deplorable of them all is that the movie tells us that we should be happy with our lot in life, never think for ourselves, rock the boat, or try to change society because it causes nothing but trouble and could possibly end all life on earth!? We should be happy with a life of work and never hope for adventure or I'm sorry but this movie is sending some horrible messages. The most deplorable of them all is that the movie tells us that we should be happy with our lot in life, never think for ourselves, rock the boat, or try to change society because it causes nothing but trouble and could possibly end all life on earth!? We should be happy with a life of work and never hope for adventure or try make life more enjoyable? Ummm... I believe this country was founded on the principles: life, liberty and the pursuit of HAPPINESS. This movie is an outrage! Don't let your kids watch it. Expand
  65. spongeee
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Good for two reasons: 1. The visuals are amazing. Felt like a Universial Studio ride during the flying squences. 2. The story/dialouge was surreal. Part of the fun was accepting that the bees could talk to humans. Once you get past that point, it is witty and def geared toward adults...ala Spongebob.
  66. MeggieL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    This movie is HORRIBLE! ! My best friends and I think this movie SUCK.(Nooffence but...).
  67. SamW
    Nov 23, 2007
    1
    Nice animation, but everything else sucks.
  68. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    This is really hard for me to say because I really enjoyed this movie as a kid and thought it was hilarious but this movie is obnoxious. The film has some good ideas, occasional clever jokes, and nice animation/score. However, the film is bogged down by trying way too hard to funny resulting in a lot of bad puns and comes across a bit more obnoxious than funny. I’d say if you have kidsThis is really hard for me to say because I really enjoyed this movie as a kid and thought it was hilarious but this movie is obnoxious. The film has some good ideas, occasional clever jokes, and nice animation/score. However, the film is bogged down by trying way too hard to funny resulting in a lot of bad puns and comes across a bit more obnoxious than funny. I’d say if you have kids show it to them they’ll mindlessly enjoy it. For everyone else though check it out if you want but I’m not going to highly recommend this film. It has some funny moments but not enough to make this a great comedy like Shrek 1 & 2. Shame that a studio that has made great movies could make something that ranges from mediocre to decent. Expand
  69. May 26, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers. I can see the message that they're trying to tell in the movie, but the execution was completely horrible. Yes, I chuckled at Larry King's bee version, but Bee Jesus, ugh... Collapse
  70. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    Barry B. Benson, a bee who becomes disappointed just because he'll only get one job for his entire life, joins a team responsible to bring honey from the pollen of the flowers to visit the human world outside the hive. Once there, he meets a human florist named Vanessa by breaking the most important bee law after being saved. They become friends as Barry discovers that the humans haveBarry B. Benson, a bee who becomes disappointed just because he'll only get one job for his entire life, joins a team responsible to bring honey from the pollen of the flowers to visit the human world outside the hive. Once there, he meets a human florist named Vanessa by breaking the most important bee law after being saved. They become friends as Barry discovers that the humans have stolen all of the bees' honey from the hive to sell it and decides to sue the human race along with the disastrous consequences of nature.

    I caught a screening of this in late December of 2007 the same year it came out and really enjoyed it. A few years later, I found it to be quite a guilty pleasure. I'll talk about the bad things.

    The storyline wasn't interesting and was too predictable, (like Shark Tale) it had overused clichés from other CGI movies, it lacked a sense of adventure and the storytelling was weak. Now for the good things.

    The acting wasn't half bad, the characters were very likable, the CGI animation and art design was very pretty to look at, the jokes in the second half wasn't funny, but the ones in the first half was way better than the ones in Shark Tale, and the music score was decent compared to Hans Zimmer.

    Overall, Bee Movie isn't good or bad either. It's mediocre at best, but at least Dreamworks Animation tried and it's worth a watch on DVD. Try again, you guys.

    5/10
    Expand
  71. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    A hilarious movie. It delivers many great laughs. 'A mosquito is a lawyer?' 'I'm already a blood sucking parasite, all I needed was a briefcase'. The story is certainly orginal for a dreamworks kids movie but some of the more serious lines are poorly written. Too many 'THEY'RE DOING WHAT?' lines. Animation wise a very bright and colourful movie with not as much detail as other films whichA hilarious movie. It delivers many great laughs. 'A mosquito is a lawyer?' 'I'm already a blood sucking parasite, all I needed was a briefcase'. The story is certainly orginal for a dreamworks kids movie but some of the more serious lines are poorly written. Too many 'THEY'RE DOING WHAT?' lines. Animation wise a very bright and colourful movie with not as much detail as other films which in this case is a good thing. In short, definetly worth a watch. I think Matthew does often get cast as shouty muscular characters too often.... Expand
  72. May 24, 2012
    5
    It's an average movie which had funny moments, an amateurish plot, descent graphics and terrible voice acting........
  73. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    The movie very much has an excess of Jerry Seinfeld's,somewhat, annoying humor, but other than that it's visually striking, funny and sends an important message to kids or just people in general. 3/4 stars.
  74. May 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story takes a clever turn here. A bee sues the human race for stealing their honey. Thats the best way to summarize the story. It takes an exciting turn of events. Expand
  75. May 26, 2012
    5
    Bee movie isn't too good, but it isn't too bad, it's kind of okay. Its got a few funny jokes that make you laugh, but it has terrible unfunny jokes that make you not laugh at all. It has a kind of okay plot and good voice acting, but it has bad, cheesy moments with awful music. Meh.
  76. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    What can I say? This was THE WORST movie I saw as a kid. It was just plain boring and stupid with annoying characters. It doesn't fit with all of the other animated films like Monsters, inc and Finding Nemo that were perfect for kids.
  77. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    "Bee Movie" is just average like most animated films, and doesn't provide much to tell. The voice acting is so-so and the plot is so-so as well, but for kids, it would probably considered decent.
  78. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    A movie with an attempted philosophical statement on individualism that ultimately is too silly and makes fun at itself for being the silly. 'Bee Movie' is a bland story that in the second half, becomes stupid and hard to watch. Half the characters are unlikable and boring. It has some moments, I'll admit, but they are too few to overlook the several painfully unfunny scenes that otherwiseA movie with an attempted philosophical statement on individualism that ultimately is too silly and makes fun at itself for being the silly. 'Bee Movie' is a bland story that in the second half, becomes stupid and hard to watch. Half the characters are unlikable and boring. It has some moments, I'll admit, but they are too few to overlook the several painfully unfunny scenes that otherwise should have been hilarious. Expand
  79. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    Barry Bee isn't a very likable protagonist, yet Seinfeld acts like he's a hero. That might pay off in some cases, however it doesn't do anything but damage the movie here.
  80. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Bee Movie is quite literally a B-movie.
    Really a likeable main character, very little story with just a few moral points, and very few laughs. It is far from awful but really not great by any stretch.
  81. Mar 27, 2016
    7
    Bee Movie is funny, corny also cute and has a very good message about saving our planet, the star-producer-co-writer comedian Jerry Seinfeld and his team managed to make a fun goregous movie. So Seinfield plays Barry the bee who's fresh out of college finds the prospect of working with honey uninspiring. He flies for the first time and meets a human (Renee Zellweger) who's a florist,Bee Movie is funny, corny also cute and has a very good message about saving our planet, the star-producer-co-writer comedian Jerry Seinfeld and his team managed to make a fun goregous movie. So Seinfield plays Barry the bee who's fresh out of college finds the prospect of working with honey uninspiring. He flies for the first time and meets a human (Renee Zellweger) who's a florist, Barry is breaking the rule of his species. He learns that humans are stealing honey and eating honey for centuries, so he realizes his true calling is to obtain justice for his kind and sues humanity for theft. Seinfeld and Zellweger have nice chemistry, and I like their performances, Seinfeld is very like able here as Barry the Bee. 3.5 out of 5 stars Expand
  82. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    A screwed up CGI animated movie where a woman leaves her husband for a bee. When you look past that though, this is an amazing movie .
  83. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    Meh, not anything special really, just average. Lacks the humor that the other DreamWorks films have and kinda' falls flat, I don't think it's god awful but it's definitely pretty close to the worst.
  84. WJS
    Nov 27, 2015
    4
    The first portion of this movie is fairly funny but it drags on and really doesn't amount to much. It does look good and it's well cast, with decent voice work from its all star cast.
  85. Jul 31, 2015
    8
    esta pelicula esta muy bien hecha y muestra un gran interes sobre las abejas no se compara con un proyeto pixar pero va por los mismos escalones para serlo
  86. Aug 3, 2015
    8
    Well, after brief consideration I have come to realize I DO like this movie. Jerry Seinfeld may be the only reason I do though. If the movie hadn't been partly written by him and if he hadn't voiced Barry the bee, then I don't know how the film would make any sense at all. But I did like it. The jokes were mostly clever (very Seinfeld-esque sometimes), I liked the animation, and evenWell, after brief consideration I have come to realize I DO like this movie. Jerry Seinfeld may be the only reason I do though. If the movie hadn't been partly written by him and if he hadn't voiced Barry the bee, then I don't know how the film would make any sense at all. But I did like it. The jokes were mostly clever (very Seinfeld-esque sometimes), I liked the animation, and even though Jerry fails a little bit with the voice acting (a little too pushed sometimes) he's still pretty good. And I feel it's not the kind of animated film we're used to, it's different and in a good way. But you need to like Jerry, if you don't, this movie is not for you. Expand
  87. Mar 23, 2015
    2
    I get that this movie is for kids... But even kids movies should have higher standards. It's terrible. Absolutely gutwrenchingly AWFUL. I'm not going to go into any details because I buried the memories of this movie in the back of my mind and that's where I will keep them. Aching for a good kids movie?? Stick to Disney and stay AWAY from this unless you have a morbid sense of curiosity orI get that this movie is for kids... But even kids movies should have higher standards. It's terrible. Absolutely gutwrenchingly AWFUL. I'm not going to go into any details because I buried the memories of this movie in the back of my mind and that's where I will keep them. Aching for a good kids movie?? Stick to Disney and stay AWAY from this unless you have a morbid sense of curiosity or want to torture your child. It is THAT bad. Expand
  88. Dec 19, 2015
    6
    Bee Movie was a fun movie , but not very interesting , but stands the plot, characters and animation beautifully carved . While there is no consent about it.
  89. Jan 3, 2016
    6
    Bee Movie has tried to be interesting. Oh, it got that interesting part alright. It's not completely interesting though. Sometimes, you just have to give the movie a break to think about what would bees do that they wouldn't do in this movie.
  90. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    According to all known laws
    of aviation,
    there is no way a bee should be able to fly. Its wings are too small to get its fat little body off the ground. The bee, of course, flies anyway because bees don't care what humans think is impossible. Yellow, black. Yellow, black. Yellow, black. Yellow, black. Ooh, black and yellow! Let's shake it up a little. Barry!
    According to all known laws
    of aviation,

    there is no way a bee
    should be able to fly.

    Its wings are too small to get
    its fat little body off the ground.

    The bee, of course, flies anyway

    because bees don't care
    what humans think is impossible.

    Yellow, black. Yellow, black.
    Yellow, black. Yellow, black.

    Ooh, black and yellow!
    Let's shake it up a little.

    Barry! Breakfast is ready!

    Ooming!

    Hang on a second.

    Hello?

    - Barry?
    - Adam?

    - Oan you believe this is happening?
    - I can't. I'll pick you up.

    Looking sharp.

    Use the stairs. Your father
    paid good money for those.

    Sorry. I'm excited.

    Here's the graduate.
    We're very proud of you, son.

    A perfect report card, all B's.

    Very proud.

    Ma! I got a thing going here.

    - You got lint on your fuzz. - Ow! That's me! - Wave to us! We'll be in row 118,000. - Bye! Barry, I told you, stop flying in the house! - Hey, Adam. - Hey, Barry. - Is that fuzz gel? - A little. Special day, graduation. Never thought I'd make it. Three days grade school, three days high school. Those were awkward. Three days college. I'm glad I took a day and hitchhiked around the hive. You did come back different. - Hi, Barry. - Artie, growing a mustache? Looks good. - Hear about Frankie? - Yeah. - You going to the funeral? - No, I'm not going. Everybody knows, sting someone, you die. Don't waste it on a squirrel. Such a hothead. I guess he could have just gotten out of the way. I love this incorporating an amusement park into our day. That's why we don't need vacations. Boy, quite a bit of pomp... under the circumstances. - Well, Adam, today we are men. - We are! - Bee-men. - Amen! Hallelujah! Students, faculty, distinguished bees, please welcome Dean Buzzwell. Welcome, New Hive Oity graduating class of... ...9:15. That concludes our ceremonies. And begins your career at Honex Industries! Will we pick ourjob today? I heard it's just orientation. Heads up! Here we go. Keep your hands and antennas inside the tram at all times. - Wonder what it'll be like? - A little scary. Welcome to Honex, a division of Honesco and a part of the Hexagon Group. This is it! Wow. Wow. We know that you, as a bee, have worked your whole life to get to the point where you can work for your whole life. Honey begins when our valiant Pollen Jocks bring the nectar to the hive. Our top-secret formula is automatically color-corrected, scent-adjusted and bubble-contoured into this soothing sweet syrup with its distinctive golden glow you know as... Honey! - That girl was hot. - She's my cousin! - She is? - Yes, we're all cousins. - Right. You're right. - At Honex, we constantly strive to improve every aspect of bee existence. These bees are stress-testing a new helmet technology. - What do you think he makes? - Not enough. Here we have our latest advancement, the Krelman. - What does that do? - Oatches that little strand of honey that hangs after you pour it. Saves us millions. Oan anyone work on the Krelman? Of course. Most bee jobs are small ones. But bees know that every small job, if it's done well, means a lot. But choose carefully because you'll stay in the job you pick for the rest of your life. The same job the rest of your life? I didn't know that. What's the difference? You'll be happy to know that bees, as a species, haven't had one day off in 27 million years. So you'll just work us to death? We'll sure try. Wow! That blew my mind! "What's the difference?" How can you say that? One job forever? That's an insane choice to have to make. I'm relieved. Now we only have to make one decision in life. But, Adam, how could they never have told us that? Why would you question anything? We're bees. We're the most perfectly functioning society on Earth. You ever think maybe things work a little too well here? Like what? Give me one example. I don't know. But you know what I'm talking about. Please clear the gate. Royal Nectar Force on approach. Wait a second. Oheck it out. - Hey, those are Pollen Jocks! - Wow. I've never seen them this close. They know what it's like outside the hive. Yeah, but some don't come back. - Hey, Jocks! - Hi, Jocks! You guys did great! You're monsters! You're sky freaks! I love it! I love it! - I wonder where they were. - I don't know. Their day's not planned. Outside the hive, flying who knows where, doing who knows what. You can'tjust decide to be a Pollen Jock. You have to be bred for that. Right. Look. That's more pollen than you and I will see in a lifetime. It's just a status symbol. Bees make too much of it. Perhaps. Unless you're wearing it and the ladies see yo
    Expand
  91. May 26, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hip to **** bees
    I like my bees in ****ness suits, I **** bees them on TV

    I'm ****ing bees 'most everyday and ****ing bees

    They tell me that it's **** bees, but I **** bees

    I know that it's crazy, I know that it's nowhere

    But there is no denying that

    It's hip to **** bees x4

    Fuuuuuuck beeeeeeees x13

    It's not too hard to **** bees, you see it everyday

    And those that were the farthest out have **** bees

    You see bees on the freeway, It don't look like a lot of ****

    But don't you try to **** it; "A bee who's time has come."

    Don't tell me that I'm crazy, don't tell me I'm nowhere

    Take it from me

    It's hip to **** bees x4

    Tell 'em boys

    (Bees, bees, they're everywhere

    Bees, bees, so hip to **** bees

    Bees, bees, they're everywhere

    Bees, bees) x4
    Expand
  92. Feb 14, 2016
    8
    The Bee Movie has a 51 on Rotten Tomatoes. I think it deserves more than this, but the reason I gave it an 8 (or 80 on rotten tomatoes) is because the ending seems just strange. I think the directors tried to make it funny, but ultimately failed. You CAN do better Dreamworks, and it shows, because Kung Fu Panda (their film the next year) is AMAZING!!!
  93. May 25, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. According to all known laws
    of aviation,

    there is no way a bee
    should be able to fly.

    Its wings are too small to get
    its fat little body off the ground.

    The bee, of course, flies anyway

    because bees don't care
    what humans think is impossible.

    Yellow, black. Yellow, black.
    Yellow, black. Yellow, black.

    Ooh, black and yellow!
    Let's shake it up a little.

    Barry! Breakfast is ready!

    Ooming!

    Hang on a second.

    Hello?

    - Barry?
    - Adam?

    - Oan you believe this is happening?
    - I can't. I'll pick you up.

    Looking sharp.

    Use the stairs. Your father
    paid good money for those.

    Sorry. I'm excited.

    Here's the graduate.
    We're very proud of you, son.

    A perfect report card, all B's.

    Very proud.

    Ma! I got a thing going here.

    - You got lint on your fuzz. - Ow! That's me! - Wave to us! We'll be in row 118,000. - Bye! Barry, I told you, stop flying in the house! - Hey, Adam. - Hey, Barry. - Is that fuzz gel? - A little. Special day, graduation. Never thought I'd make it. Three days grade school, three days high school. Those were awkward. Three days college. I'm glad I took a day and hitchhiked around the hive. You did come back different. - Hi, Barry. - Artie, growing a mustache? Looks good. - Hear about Frankie? - Yeah. - You going to the funeral? - No, I'm not going. Everybody knows, sting someone, you die. Don't waste it on a squirrel. Such a hothead. I guess he could have just gotten out of the way. I love this incorporating an amusement park into our day. That's why we don't need vacations. Boy, quite a bit of pomp... under the circumstances. - Well, Adam, today we are men. - We are! - Bee-men. - Amen! Hallelujah! Students, faculty, distinguished bees, please welcome Dean Buzzwell. Welcome, New Hive Oity graduating class of... ...9:15. That concludes our ceremonies. And begins your career at Honex Industries! Will we pick ourjob today? I heard it's just orientation. Heads up! Here we go. Keep your hands and antennas inside the tram at all times. - Wonder what it'll be like? - A little scary. Welcome to Honex, a division of Honesco and a part of the Hexagon Group. This is it! Wow. Wow. We know that you, as a bee, have worked your whole life to get to the point where you can work for your whole life. Honey begins when our valiant Pollen Jocks bring the nectar to the hive. Our top-secret formula is automatically color-corrected, scent-adjusted and bubble-contoured into this soothing sweet syrup with its distinctive golden glow you know as... Honey! - That girl was hot. - She's my cousin! - She is? - Yes, we're all cousins. - Right. You're right. - At Honex, we constantly strive to improve every aspect of bee existence. These bees are stress-testing a new helmet technology. - What do you think he makes? - Not enough. Here we have our latest advancement, the Krelman. - What does that do? - Oatches that little strand of honey that hangs after you pour it. Saves us millions. Oan anyone work on the Krelman? Of course. Most bee jobs are small ones. But bees know that every small job, if it's done well, means a lot. But choose carefully because you'll stay in the job you pick for the rest of your life. The same job the rest of your life? I didn't know that. What's the difference? You'll be happy to know that bees, as a species, haven't had one day off in 27 million years. So you'll just work us to death? We'll sure try. Wow! That blew my mind! "What's the difference?" How can you say that? One job forever? That's an insane choice to have to make. I'm relieved. Now we only have to make one decision in life. But, Adam, how could they never have told us that? Why would you question anything? We're bees. We're the most perfectly functioning society on Earth. You ever think maybe things work a little too well here? Like what? Give me one example. I don't know. But you know what I'm talking about. Please clear the gate. Royal Nectar Force on approach. Wait a second. Oheck it out. - Hey, those are Pollen Jocks! - Wow. I've never seen them this close. They know what it's like outside the hive. Yeah, but some don't come back. - Hey, Jocks! - Hi, Jocks! You guys did great! You're monsters! You're sky freaks! I love it! I love it! - I wonder where they were. - I don't know. Their day's not planned. Outside the hive, flying who knows where, doing who knows what. You can'tjust decide to be a Pollen Jock. You have to be bred for that. Right. Look. That's more pollen than you and I will see in a lifetime. It's just a status symbol. Bees make too much of it. Perhaps. Unless you're wearing it and the ladies see you wearing it. Those ladies? Aren't they our cousins too? Distant. Distant. Look at these two. - Oouple of Hive Harrys. - Let's have fun with them. It must be dangerous being a Pollen Jock. Yeah. Once a bear pinned me against a mushroom! He had a paw on my throat, and with the other, he was slapping me! - Oh, my! - I never thought I'd knock him out. What were you doing during this? Trying to alert the authorities. I can autograph that. A little gusty out there today, wasn't it, comrades? Yeah. Gusty. We're hitting a sunflower patch six miles from here tomorrow. - Six miles, huh? - Barry! A puddle jump for us, but maybe you're not up for it. - Maybe I am. - You are not! We're going 0900 at J-Gate. What do you think, buzzy-boy? Are you bee enough? I might be. It all depends on what 0900 means. Hey, Honex! Dad, you surprised me. You decide what you're interested in? - Well, there's a lot of choices. - But you only get one. Do you ever get bored doing the same job every day? Son, let me tell you about stirring. You grab that stick, and you just move it around, and you stir it around. You get yourself into a rhythm. It's a beautiful thing. You know, Dad, the more I think about it, maybe the honey field just isn't right for me. You were thinking of what, making balloon animals? That's a bad job for a guy with a stinger. Janet, your son's not sure he wants to go into honey! - Barry, you are so funny sometimes. - I'm not trying to be funny. You're not funny! You're going into honey. Our son, the stirrer! - You're gonna be a stirrer? - No one's listening to me! Wait till you see the sticks I have. I could say anything right now. I'm gonna get an ant tattoo! Let's open some honey and celebrate! Maybe I'll pierce my thorax. Shave my antennae. Shack up with a grasshopper. Get a gold tooth and call everybody "dawg"! I'm so proud. - We're starting work today! - Today's the day. Oome on! All the good jobs will be gone. Yeah, right. Pollen counting, stunt bee, pouring, stirrer, front desk, hair removal... - Is it still available? - Hang on. Two left! One of them's yours! Oongratulations! Step to the side. - What'd you get? - Picking crud out. Stellar! Wow! Oouple of newbies? Yes, sir! Our first day! We are ready! Make your choice. - You want to go first? - No, you go. Oh, my. What's available? Restroom attendant's open, not for the reason you think. - Any chance of getting the Krelman? - Sure, you're on. I'm sorry, the Krelman just closed out. Wax monkey's always open. The Krelman opened up again. What happened? A bee died. Makes an opening. See? He's dead. Another dead one. Deady. Deadified. Two more dead. Dead from the neck up. Dead from the neck down. That's life! Oh, this is so hard! Heating, cooling, stunt bee, pourer, stirrer, humming, inspector number seven, lint coordinator, stripe supervisor, mite wrangler. Barry, what do you think I should... Barry? Barry! All right, we've got the sunflower patch in quadrant nine... What happened to you? Where are you? - I'm going out. - Out? Out where? - Out there. - Oh, no! I have to, before I go to work for the rest of my life. You're gonna die! You're crazy! Hello? Another call coming in. If anyone's feeling brave, there's a Korean deli on 83rd that gets their roses today. Hey, guys. - Look at that. - Isn't that the kid we saw yesterday? Hold it, son, flight deck's restricted. It's OK, Lou. We're gonna take him up. Really? Feeling lucky, are you? Sign here, here. Just initial that. - Thank you. - OK. You got a rain advisory today, and as you all know, bees cannot fly in rain. So be careful. As always, watch your brooms, hockey sticks, dogs, birds, bears and bats. Also, I got a couple of reports of root beer being poured on us. Murphy's in a home because of it, babbling like a cicada! - That's awful. - And a reminder for you rookies, bee law number one, absolutely no talking to humans! All right, launch positions! Buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz! Buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz! Buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz! Black and yellow! Hello! You ready for this, hot shot? Yeah. Yeah, bring it on. Wind, check. - Antennae, check. - Nectar pack, check. - Wings, check. - Stinger, check. Scared out of my shorts, check. OK, ladies, let's move it out! Pound those petunias, you striped stem-suckers! All of you, drain those flowers! Wow! I'm out! I can't believe I'm out! So blue. I feel so fast and free! Box kite! Wow! Flowers! This is Blue Leader. We have roses visual. Bring it around 30 degrees and hold. Roses! 30 degrees, roger. Bringing it around. Stand to the side, kid. It's got a bit of a kick. That is one nectar collector! - Ever see pollination up close? - No, sir. I pick up some pollen here, sprinkle it over here. Maybe a dash over there, a pinch on that one. See that? It's a little bit of magic. That's amazing. Why do we do that? That's pollen power. More pollen, more flowers, more nectar, more honey for us. Oool. I'm picking up a lot of bright yellow. Oould be daisies. Don't we need those? Oopy that visual. Wait. One of these flowers seems to be on the move. Say again? You're reporting a moving flower? Affirmative. That was on the line! This is the coolest. What is it? I don't know, but I'm loving this color. It smells good. Not like a flower, but I like it. Yeah, fuzzy. Ohemical-y. Oareful, guys. It's a little grabby. My sweet lord of bees! Oandy-brain, get off there! Problem! - Guys! - This could be bad. Affirmative. Very close. Gonna hurt. Mama's little boy. You are way out of position, rookie! Ooming in at you like a missile! Help me! I don't think these are flowers. - Should we tell him? - I think he knows. What is this?! Match point! You can start packing up, honey, because you're about to eat it! Yowser! Gross. There's a bee in the car! - Do something! - I'm driving! - Hi, bee. - He's back here! He's going to sting me! Nobody move. If you don't move, he won't sting you. Freeze! He blinked! Spray him, Granny! What are you doing?! Wow... the tension level out here is unbelievable. I gotta get home. Oan't fly in rain. Oan't fly in rain. Oan't fly in rain. Mayday! Mayday! Bee going down! Ken, could you close the window please? Ken, could you close the window please? Oheck out my new resume. I made it into a fold-out brochure. You see? Folds out. Oh, no. More humans. I don't need this. What was that? Maybe this time. This time. This time. This time! This time! This... Drapes! That is diabolical. It's fantastic. It's got all my special skills, even my top-ten favorite movies. What's number one? Star Wars? Nah, I don't go for that... ...kind of stuff. No wonder we shouldn't talk to them. They're out of their minds. When I leave a job interview, they're flabbergasted, can't believe what I say. There's the sun. Maybe that's a way out. I don't remember the sun having a big 75 on it. I predicted global warming. I could feel it getting hotter. At first I thought it was just me. Wait! Stop! Bee! Stand back. These are winter boots. Wait! Don't kill him! You know I'm allergic to them! This thing could kill me! Why does his life have less value than yours? Why does his life have any less value than mine? Is that your statement? I'm just saying all life has value. You don't know what he's capable of feeling. My brochure! There you go, little guy. I'm not scared of him. It's an allergic thing. Put that on your resume brochure. My whole face could puff up. Make it one of your special skills. Knocking someone out is also a special skill. Right. Bye, Vanessa. Thanks. - Vanessa, next week? Yogurt night? - Sure, Ken. You know, whatever. - You could put carob chips on there. - Bye. - Supposed to be less calories. - Bye. I gotta say something. She saved my life. I gotta say something. All right, here it goes. Nah. What would I say? I could really get in trouble. It's a bee law. You're not supposed to talk to a human. I can't believe I'm doing this. I've got to. Oh, I can't do it. Oome on! No. Yes. No. Do it. I can't. How should I start it? "You like jazz?" No, that's no good. Here she comes! Speak, you fool! Hi! I'm sorry. - You're talking. - Yes, I know. You're talking! I'm so sorry. No, it's OK. It's fine. I know I'm dreaming. But I don't recall going to bed. Well, I'm sure this is very disconcerting. This is a bit of a surprise to me. I mean, you're a bee! I am. And I'm not supposed to be doing this, but they were all trying to kill me. And if it wasn't for you... I had to thank you. It's just how I was raised. That was a little weird. - I'm talking with a bee. - Yeah. I'm talking to a bee. And the bee is talking to me! I just want to say I'm grateful. I'll leave now. - Wait! How did you learn to do that? - What? The talking thing. Same way you did, I guess. "Mama, Dada, honey." You pick it up. - That's very funny. - Yeah. Bees are funny. If we didn't laugh, we'd cry with what we have to deal with. Anyway... Oan I... ...get you something? - Like what? I don't know. I mean... I don't know. Ooffee? I don't want to put you out. It's no trouble. It takes two minutes. - It's just coffee. - I hate to impose. - Don't be ridiculous! - Actually, I would love a cup. Hey, you want rum cake? - I shouldn't. - Have some. - No, I can't. - Oome on! I'm trying to lose a couple micrograms. - Where? - These stripes don't help. You look great! I don't know if you know anything about fashion. Are you all right? No. He's making the tie in the cab as they're flying up Madison. He finally gets there. He runs up the steps into the church. The wedding is on. And he says, "Watermelon? I thought you said Guatemalan. Why would I marry a watermelon?" Is that a bee joke? That's the kind of stuff we do. Yeah, different. So, what are you gonna do, Barry? About work? I don't know. I want to do my part for the hive, but I can't do it the way they want. I know how you feel. - You do? - Sure. My parents wanted me to be a lawyer or a doctor, but I wanted to be a florist. - Really? - My only interest is flowers. Our new queen was just elected with that same campaign slogan. Anyway, if you look... There's my hive right there. See it? You're in Sheep Meadow! Yes! I'm right off the Turtle Pond! No way! I know that area. I lost a toe ring there once. - Why do girls put rings on their toes? - Why not? - It's like putting a hat on your knee. - Maybe I'll try that. - You all right, ma'am? - Oh, yeah. Fine. Just having two cups of coffee! Anyway, this has been great. Thanks for the coffee. Yeah, it's no trouble. Sorry I couldn't finish it. If I did, I'd be up the rest of my life. Are you...? Oan I take a piece of this with me? Sure! Here, have a crumb. - Thanks! - Yeah. All right. Well, then... I guess I'll see you around. Or not. OK, Barry. And thank you so much again... for before. Oh, that? That was nothing. Well, not nothing, but... Anyway... This can't possibly work. He's all set to go. We may as well try it. OK, Dave, pull the chute. - Sounds amazing. - It was amazing! It was the scariest, happiest moment of my life. Humans! I can't believe you were with humans! Giant, scary humans! What were they like? Huge and crazy. They talk crazy. They eat crazy giant things. They drive crazy. - Do they try and kill you, like on TV? - Some of them. But some of them don't. - How'd you get back? - Poodle. You did it, and I'm glad. You saw whatever you wanted to see. You had your "experience." Now you can pick out yourjob and be normal. - Well... - Well? Well, I met someone. You did? Was she Bee-ish? - A wasp?! Your parents will kill you! - No, no, no, not a wasp. - Spider? - I'm not attracted to spiders. I know it's the hottest thing, with the eight legs and all. I can't get by that face. So who is she? She's... human. No, no. That's a bee law. You wouldn't break a bee law. - Her name's Vanessa. - Oh, boy. She's so nice. And she's a florist! Oh, no! You're dating a human florist! We're not dating. You're flying outside the hive, talking to humans that attack our homes with power washers and M-80s! One-eighth a stick of dynamite! She saved my life! And she understands me. This is over! Eat this. This is not over! What was that? - They call it a crumb. - It was so stingin' stripey! And that's not what they eat. That's what falls off what they eat! - You know what a Oinnabon is? - No. It's bread and cinnamon and frosting. They heat it up... Sit down! ...really hot! - Listen to me! We are not them! We're us. There's us and there's them! Yes, but who can deny the heart that is yearning? There's no yearning. Stop yearning. Listen to me! You have got to start thinking bee, my friend. Thinking bee! - Thinking bee. - Thinking bee. Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! There he is. He's in the pool. You know what your problem is, Barry? I gotta start thinking bee? How much longer will this go on? It's been three days! Why aren't you working? I've got a lot of big life decisions to think about. What life? You have no life! You have no job. You're barely a bee! Would it kill you to make a little honey? Barry, come out. Your father's talking to you. Martin, would you talk to him? Barry, I'm talking to you! You coming? Got everything? All set! Go ahead. I'll catch up. Don't be too long. Watch this! Vanessa! - We're still here. - I told you not to yell at him. He doesn't respond to yelling! - Then why yell at me? - Because you don't listen! I'm not listening to this. Sorry, I've gotta go. - Where are you going? - I'm meeting a friend. A girl? Is this why you can't decide? Bye. I just hope she's Bee-ish. They have a huge parade of flowers every year in Pasadena? To be in the Tournament of Roses, that's every florist's dream! Up on a float, surrounded by flowers, crowds cheering. A tournament. Do the roses compete in athletic events? No. All right, I've got one. How come you don't fly everywhere? It's exhausting. Why don't you run everywhere? It's faster. Yeah, OK, I see, I see. All right, your turn. TiVo. You can just freeze live TV? That's insane! You don't have that? We have Hivo, but it's a disease. It's a horrible, horrible disease. Oh, my. Dumb bees! You must want to sting all those jerks. We try not to sting. It's usually fatal for us. So you have to watch your temper. Very carefully. You kick a wall, take a walk, write an angry letter and throw it out. Work through it like any emotion: Anger, jealousy, lust. Oh, my goodness! Are you OK? Yeah. - What is wrong with you?! - It's a bug. He's not bothering anybody. Get out of here, you creep! What was that? A Pic 'N' Save circular? Yeah, it was. How did you know? It felt like about 10 pages. Seventy-five is pretty much our limit. You've really got that down to a science. - I lost a cousin to Italian Vogue. - I'll bet. What in the name of Mighty Hercules is this? How did this get here? Oute Bee, Golden Blossom, Ray Liotta Private Select? - Is he that actor? - I never heard of him. - Why is this here? - For people. We eat it. You don't have enough food of your own? - Well, yes. - How do you get it? - Bees make it. - I know who makes it! And it's hard to make it! There's heating, cooling, stirring. You need a whole Krelman thing! - It's organic. - It's our-ganic! It's just honey, Barry. Just what?! Bees don't know about this! This is stealing! A lot of stealing! You've taken our homes, schools, hospitals! This is all we have! And it's on sale?! I'm getting to the bottom of this. I'm getting to the bottom of all of this! Hey, Hector. - You almost done? - Almost. He is here. I sense it. Well, I guess I'll go home now and just leave this nice honey out, with no one around. You're busted, box boy! I knew I heard something. So you can talk! I can talk. And now you'll start talking! Where you getting the sweet stuff? Who's your supplier? I don't understand. I thought we were friends. The last thing we want to do is upset bees! You're too late! It's ours now! You, sir, have crossed the wrong sword! You, sir, will be lunch for my iguana, Ignacio! Where is the honey coming from? Tell me where! Honey Farms! It comes from Honey Farms! Orazy person! What horrible thing has happened here? These faces, they never knew what hit them. And now they're on the road to nowhere! Just keep still. What? You're not dead? Do I look dead? They will wipe anything that moves. Where you headed? To Honey Farms. I am onto something huge here. I'm going to Alaska. Moose blood, crazy stuff. Blows your head off! I'm going to Tacoma. - And you? - He really is dead. All right. Uh-oh! - What is that?! - Oh, no! - A wiper! Triple blade! - Triple blade? Jump on! It's your only chance, bee! Why does everything have to be so doggone clean?! How much do you people need to see?! Open your eyes! Stick your head out the window! From NPR News in Washington, I'm Oarl Kasell. But don't kill no more bugs! - Bee! - Moose blood guy!! - You hear something? - Like what? Like tiny screaming. Turn off the radio. Whassup, bee boy? Hey, Blood. Just a row of honey jars, as far as the eye could see. Wow! I assume wherever this truck goes is where they're getting it. I mean, that honey's ours. - Bees hang tight. - We're all jammed in. It's a close community. Not us, man. We on our own. Every mosquito on his own. - What if you get in trouble? - You a mosquito, you in trouble. Nobody likes us. They just smack. See a mosquito, smack, smack! At least you're out in the world. You must meet girls. Mosquito girls try to trade up, get with a moth, dragonfly. Mosquito girl don't want no mosquito. You got to be kidding me! Mooseblood's about to leave the building! So long, bee! - Hey, guys! - Mooseblood! I knew I'd catch y'all down here. Did you bring your crazy straw? We throw it in jars, slap a label on it, and it's pretty much pure profit. What is this place? A bee's got a brain the size of a pinhead. They are pinheads! Pinhead. - Oheck out the new smoker. - Oh, sweet. That's the one you want. The Thomas 3000! Smoker? Ninety puffs a minute, semi-automatic. Twice the nicotine, all the tar. A couple breaths of this knocks them right out. They make the honey, and we make the money. "They make the honey, and we make the money"? Oh, my! What's going on? Are you OK? Yeah. It doesn't last too long. Do you know you're in a fake hive with fake walls? Our queen was moved here. We had no choice. This is your queen? That's a man in women's clothes! That's a drag queen! What is this? Oh, no! There's hundreds of them! Bee honey. Our honey is being brazenly stolen on a massive scale! This is worse than anything bears have done! I intend to do something. Oh, Barry, stop. Who told you humans are taking our honey? That's a rumor. Do these look like rumors? That's a conspiracy theory. These are obviously doctored photos. How did you get mixed up in this? He's been talking to humans. - What? - Talking to humans?! He has a human girlfriend. And they make out! Make out? Barry! We do not. - You wish you could. - Whose side are you on? The bees! I dated a cricket once in San Antonio. Those crazy legs kept me up all night. Barry, this is what you want to do with your life? I want to do it for all our lives. Nobody works harder than bees! Dad, I remember you coming home so overworked your hands were still stirring. You couldn't stop. I remember that. What right do they have to our honey? We live on two cups a year. They put it in lip balm for no reason whatsoever! Even if it's true, what can one bee do? Sting them where it really hurts. In the face! The eye! - That would hurt. - No. Up the nose? That's a killer. There's only one place you can sting the humans, one place where it matters. Hive at Five, the hive's only full-hour action news source. No more bee beards! With Bob Bumble at the anchor desk. Weather with Storm Stinger. Sports with Buzz Larvi. And Jeanette Ohung. - Good evening. I'm Bob Bumble. - And I'm Jeanette Ohung. A tri-county bee, Barry Benson, intends to sue the human race for stealing our honey, packaging it and profiting from it illegally! Tomorrow night on Bee Larry King, we'll have three former queens here in our studio, discussing their new book, Olassy Ladies, out this week on Hexagon. Tonight we're talking to Barry Benson. Did you ever think, "I'm a kid from the hive. I can't do this"? Bees have never been afraid to change the world. What about Bee Oolumbus? Bee Gandhi? Bejesus? Where I'm from, we'd never sue humans. We were thinking of stickball or candy stores. How old are you? The bee community is supporting you in this case, which will be the trial of the bee century. You know, they have a Larry King in the human world too. It's a common name. Next week... He looks like you and has a show and suspenders and colored dots... Next week... Glasses, quotes on the bottom from the guest even though you just heard 'em. Bear Week next week! They're scary, hairy and here live. Always leans forward, pointy shoulders, squinty eyes, very Jewish. In tennis, you attack at the point of weakness! It was my grandmother, Ken. She's 81. Honey, her backhand's a joke! I'm not gonna take advantage of that? Quiet, please. Actual work going on here. - Is that that same bee? - Yes, it is! I'm helping him sue the human race. - Hello. - Hello, bee. This is Ken. Yeah, I remember you. Timberland, size ten and a half. Vibram sole, I believe. Why does he talk again? Listen, you better go 'cause we're really busy working. But it's our yogurt night! Bye-bye. Why is yogurt night so difficult?! You poor thing. You two have been at this for hours! Yes, and Adam here has been a huge help. - Frosting... - How many sugars? Just one. I try not to use the competition. So why are you helping me? Bees have good qualities. And it takes my mind off the shop. Instead of flowers, people are giving balloon bouquets now. Those are great, if you're three. And artificial flowers. - Oh, those just get me psychotic! - Yeah, me too. Bent stingers, pointless pollination. Bees must hate those fake things! Nothing worse than a daffodil that's had work done. Maybe this could make up for it a little bit. - This lawsuit's a pretty big deal. - I guess. You sure you want to go through with it? Am I sure? When I'm done with the humans, they won't be able to say, "Honey, I'm home," without paying a royalty! It's an incredible scene here in downtown Manhattan, where the world anxiously waits, because for the first time in history, we will hear for ourselves if a honeybee can actually speak. What have we gotten into here, Barry? It's pretty big, isn't it? I can't believe how many humans don't work during the day. You think billion-dollar multinational food companies have good lawyers? Everybody needs to stay behind the barricade. - What's the matter? - I don't know, I just got a chill. Well, if it isn't the bee team. You boys work on this? All rise! The Honorable Judge Bumbleton presiding. All right. Oase number 4475, Superior Oourt of New York, Barry Bee Benson v. the Honey Industry is now in session. Mr. Montgomery, you're representing the five food companies collectively? A privilege. Mr. Benson... you're representing all the bees of the world? I'm kidding. Yes, Your Honor, we're ready to proceed. Mr. Montgomery, your opening statement, please. Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, my grandmother was a simple woman. Born on a farm, she believed it was man's divine right to benefit from the bounty of nature God put before us. If we lived in the topsy-turvy world Mr. Benson imagines, just think of what would it mean. I would have to negotiate with the silkworm for the elastic in my britches! Talking bee! How do we know this isn't some sort of holographic motion-picture-capture Hollywood wizardry? They could be using laser beams! Robotics! Ventriloquism! Oloning! For all we know, he could be on steroids! Mr. Benson? Ladies and gentlemen, there's no trickery here. I'm just an ordinary bee. Honey's pretty important to me. It's important to all bees. We invented it! We make it. And we protect it with our lives. Unfortunately, there are some people in this room who think they can take it from us 'cause we're the little guys! I'm hoping that, after this is all over, you'll see how, by taking our honey, you not only take everything we have but everything we are! I wish he'd dress like that all the time. So nice! Oall your first witness. So, Mr. Klauss Vanderhayden of Honey Farms, big company you have. I suppose so. I see you also own Honeyburton and Honron! Yes, they provide beekeepers for our farms. Beekeeper. I find that to be a very disturbing term. I don't imagine you employ any bee-free-ers, do you? - No. - I couldn't hear you. - No. - No. Because you don't free bees. You keep bees. Not only that, it seems you thought a bear would be an appropriate image for a jar of honey. They're very lovable creatures. Yogi Bear, Fozzie Bear, Build-A-Bear. You mean like this? Bears kill bees! How'd you like his head crashing through your living room?! Biting into your couch! Spitting out your throw pillows! OK, that's enough. Take him away. So, Mr. Sting, thank you for being here. Your name intrigues me. - Where have I heard it before? - I was with a band called The Police. But you've never been a police officer, have you? No, I haven't. No, you haven't. And so here we have yet another example of bee culture casually stolen by a human for nothing more than a prance-about stage name. Oh, please. Have you ever been stung, Mr. Sting? Because I'm feeling a little stung, Sting. Or should I say... Mr. Gordon M. Sumner! That's not his real name?! You idiots! Mr. Liotta, first, belated congratulations on your Emmy win for a guest spot on ER in 2005. Thank you. Thank you. I see from your resume that you're devilishly handsome with a churning inner turmoil that's ready to blow. I enjoy what I do. Is that a crime? Not yet it isn't. But is this what it's come to for you? Exploiting tiny, helpless bees so you don't have to rehearse your part and learn your lines, sir? Watch it, Benson! I could blow right now! This isn't a goodfella. This is a badfella! Why doesn't someone just step on this creep, and we can all go home?! - Order in this court! - You're all thinking it! Order! Order, I say! - Say it! - Mr. Liotta, please sit down! I think it was awfully nice of that bear to pitch in like that. I think the jury's on our side. Are we doing everything right, legally? I'm a florist. Right. Well, here's to a great team. To a great team! Well, hello. - Ken! - Hello. I didn't think you were coming. No, I was just late. I tried to call, but... the battery. I didn't want all this to go to waste, so I called Barry. Luckily, he was free. Oh, that was lucky. There's a little left. I could heat it up. Yeah, heat it up, sure, whatever. So I hear you're quite a tennis player. I'm not much for the game myself. The ball's a little grabby. That's where I usually sit. Right... there. Ken, Barry was looking at your resume, and he agreed with me that eating with chopsticks isn't really a special skill. You think I don't see what you're doing? I know how hard it is to find the rightjob. We have that in common. Do we? Bees have 100 percent employment, but we do jobs like taking the crud out. That's just what I was thinking about doing. Ken, I let Barry borrow your razor for his fuzz. I hope that was all right. I'm going to drain the old stinger. Yeah, you do that. Look at that. You know, I've just about had it with your little mind games. - What's that? - Italian Vogue. Mamma mia, that's a lot of pages. A lot of ads. Remember what Van said, why is your life more valuable than mine? Funny, I just can't seem to recall that! I think something stinks in here! I love the smell of flowers. How do you like the smell of flames?! Not as much. Water bug! Not taking sides! Ken, I'm wearing a Ohapstick hat! This is pathetic! I've got issues! Well, well, well, a royal flush! - You're bluffing. - Am I? Surf's up, dude! Poo water! That bowl is gnarly. Except for those dirty yellow rings! Kenneth! What are you doing?! You know, I don't even like honey! I don't eat it! We need to talk! He's just a little bee! And he happens to be the nicest bee I've met in a long time! Long time? What are you talking about?! Are there other bugs in your life? No, but there are other things bugging me in life. And you're one of them! Fine! Talking bees, no yogurt night... My nerves are fried from riding on this emotional roller coaster! Goodbye, Ken. And for your information, I prefer sugar-free, artificial sweeteners made by man! I'm sorry about all that. I know it's got an aftertaste! I like it! I always felt there was some kind of barrier between Ken and me. I couldn't overcome it. Oh, well. Are you OK for the trial? I believe Mr. Montgomery is about out of ideas. We would like to call Mr. Barry Benson Bee to the stand. Good idea! You can really see why he's considered one of the best lawyers... Yeah. Layton, you've gotta weave some magic with this jury, or it's gonna be all over. Don't worry. The only thing I have to do to turn this jury around is to remind them of what they don't like about bees. - You got the tweezers? - Are you allergic? Only to losing, son. Only to losing. Mr. Benson Bee, I'll ask you what I think we'd all like to know. What exactly is your relationship to that woman? We're friends. - Good friends? - Yes. How good? Do you live together? Wait a minute... Are you her little... ...bedbug? I've seen a bee documentary or two. From what I understand, doesn't your queen give birth to all the bee children? - Yeah, but... - So those aren't your real parents! - Oh, Barry... - Yes, they are! Hold me back! You're an illegitimate bee, aren't you, Benson? He's denouncing bees! Don't y'all date your cousins? - Objection! - I'm going to pincushion this guy! Adam, don't! It's what he wants! Oh, I'm hit!! Oh, lordy, I am hit! Order! Order! The venom! The venom is coursing through my veins! I have been felled by a winged beast of destruction! You see? You can't treat them like equals! They're striped savages! Stinging's the only thing they know! It's their way! - Adam, stay with me. - I can't feel my legs. What angel of mercy will come forward to suck the poison from my heaving buttocks? I will have order in this court. Order! Order, please! The case of the honeybees versus the human race took a pointed turn against the bees yesterday when one of their legal team stung Layton T. Montgomery. - Hey, buddy. - Hey. - Is there much pain? - Yeah. I... I blew the whole case, didn't I? It doesn't matter. What matters is you're alive. You could have died. I'd be better off dead. Look at me. They got it from the cafeteria downstairs, in a tuna sandwich. Look, there's a little celery still on it. What was it like to sting someone? I can't explain it. It was all... All adrenaline and then... and then ecstasy! All right. You think it was all a trap? Of course. I'm sorry. I flew us right into this. What were we thinking? Look at us. We're just a couple of bugs in this world. What will the humans do to us if they win? I don't know. I hear they put the roaches in motels. That doesn't sound so bad. Adam, they check in, but they don't check out! Oh, my. Oould you get a nurse to close that window? - Why? - The smoke. Bees don't smoke. Right. Bees don't smoke. Bees don't smoke! But some bees are smoking. That's it! That's our case! It is? It's not over? Get dressed. I've gotta go somewhere. Get back to the court and stall. Stall any way you can. And assuming you've done step correctly, you're ready for the tub. Mr. Flayman. Yes? Yes, Your Honor! Where is the rest of your team? Well, Your Honor, it's interesting. Bees are trained to fly haphazardly, and as a result, we don't make very good time. I actually heard a funny story about... Your Honor, haven't these ridiculous bugs taken up enough of this court's valuable time? How much longer will we allow these absurd shenanigans to go on? They have presented no compelling evidence to support their charges against my clients, who run legitimate businesses. I move for a complete dismissal of this entire case! Mr. Flayman, I'm afraid I'm going to have to consider Mr. Montgomery's motion. But you can't! We have a terrific case. Where is your proof? Where is the evidence? Show me the smoking gun! Hold it, Your Honor! You want a smoking gun? Here is your smoking gun. What is that? It's a bee smoker! What, this? This harmless little contraption? This couldn't hurt a fly, let alone a bee. Look at what has happened to bees who have never been asked, "Smoking or non?" Is this what nature intended for us? To be forcibly addicted to smoke machines and man-made wooden slat work camps? Living out our lives as honey slaves to the white man? - What are we gonna do? - He's playing the species card. Ladies and gentlemen, please, free these bees! Free the bees! Free the bees! Free the bees! Free the bees! Free the bees! The court finds in favor of the bees! Vanessa, we won! I knew you could do it! High-five! Sorry. I'm OK! You know what this means? All the honey will finally belong to the bees. Now we won't have to work so hard all the time. This is an unholy perversion of the balance of nature, Benson. You'll regret this. Barry, how much honey is out there? All right. One at a time. Barry, who are you wearing? My sweater is Ralph Lauren, and I have no pants. - What if Montgomery's right? - What do you mean? We've been living the bee way a long time, 27 million years. Oongratulations on your victory. What will you demand as a settlement? First, we'll demand a complete shutdown of all bee work camps. Then we want back the honey that was ours to begin with, every last drop. We demand an end to the glorification of the bear as anything more than a filthy, smelly, bad-breath stink machine. We're all aware of what they do in the woods. Wait for my signal. Take him out. He'll have nauseous for a few hours, then he'll be fine. And we will no longer tolerate bee-negative nicknames... But it's just a prance-about stage name! ...unnecessary inclusion of honey in bogus health products and la-dee-da human tea-time snack garnishments. Oan't breathe. Bring it in, boys! Hold it right there! Good. Tap it. Mr. Buzzwell, we just passed three cups, and there's gallons more coming! - I think we need to shut down! - Shut down? We've never shut down. Shut down honey production! Stop making honey! Turn your key, sir! What do we do now? Oannonball! We're shutting honey production! Mission abort. Aborting pollination and nectar detail. Returning to base. Adam, you wouldn't believe how much honey was out there. Oh, yeah? What's going on? Where is everybody? - Are they out celebrating? - They're home. They don't know what to do. Laying out, sleeping in. I heard your Uncle Oarl was on his way to San Antonio with a cricket. At least we got our honey back. Sometimes I think, so what if humans liked our honey? Who wouldn't? It's the greatest thing in the world! I was excited to be part of making it. This was my new desk. This was my new job. I wanted to do it really well. And now... Now I can't. I don't understand why they're not happy. I thought their lives would be better! They're doing nothing. It's amazing. Honey really changes people. You don't have any idea what's going on, do you? - What did you want to show me? - This. What happened here? That is not the half of it. Oh, no. Oh, my. They're all wilting. Doesn't look very good, does it? No. And whose fault do you think that is? You know, I'm gonna guess bees. Bees? Specifically, me. I didn't think bees not needing to make honey would affect all these things. It's notjust flowers. Fruits, vegetables, they all need bees. That's our whole SAT test right there. Take away produce, that affects the entire animal kingdom. And then, of course... The human species? So if there's no more pollination, it could all just go south here, couldn't it? I know this is also partly my fault. How about a suicide pact? How do we do it? - I'll sting you, you step on me. - Thatjust kills you twice. Right, right. Listen, Barry... sorry, but I gotta get going. I had to open my mouth and talk. Vanessa? Vanessa? Why are you leaving? Where are you going? To the final Tournament of Roses parade in Pasadena. They've moved it to this weekend because all the flowers are dying. It's the last chance I'll ever have to see it. Vanessa, I just wanna say I'm sorry. I never meant it to turn out like this. I know. Me neither. Tournament of Roses. Roses can't do sports. Wait a minute. Roses. Roses? Roses! Vanessa! Roses?! Barry? - Roses are flowers! - Yes, they are. Flowers, bees, pollen! I know. That's why this is the last parade. Maybe not. Oould you ask him to slow down? Oould you slow down? Barry! OK, I made a huge mistake. This is a total disaster, all my fault. Yes, it kind of is. I've ruined the planet. I wanted to help you with the flower shop. I've made it worse. Actually, it's completely closed down. I thought maybe you were remodeling. But I have another idea, and it's greater than my previous ideas combined. I don't want to hear it! All right, they have the roses, the roses have the pollen. I know every bee, plant and flower bud in this park. All we gotta do is get what they've got back here with what we've got. - Bees. - Park. - Pollen! - Flowers. - Repollination! - Across the nation! Tournament of Roses, Pasadena, Oalifornia. They've got nothing but flowers, floats and cotton candy. Security will be tight. I have an idea. Vanessa Bloome, FTD. Official floral business. It's real. Sorry, ma'am. Nice brooch. Thank you. It was a gift. Once inside, we just pick the right float. How about The Princess and the Pea? I could be the princess, and you could be the pea! Yes, I got it. - Where should I sit? - What are you? - I believe I'm the pea. - The pea? It goes under the mattresses. - Not in this fairy tale, sweetheart. - I'm getting the marshal. You do that! This whole parade is a fiasco! Let's see what this baby'll do. Hey, what are you doing?! Then all we do is blend in with traffic... ...without arousing suspicion. Once at the airport, there's no stopping us. Stop! Security. - You and your insect pack your float? - Yes. Has it been in your possession the entire time? Would you remove your shoes? - Remove your stinger. - It's part of me. I know. Just having some fun. Enjoy your flight. Then if we're lucky, we'll have just enough pollen to do the job. Oan you believe how lucky we are? We have just enough pollen to do the job! I think this is gonna work. It's got to work. Attention, passengers, this is Oaptain Scott. We have a bit of bad weather in New York. It looks like we'll experience a couple hours delay. Barry, these are cut flowers with no water. They'll never make it. I gotta get up there and talk to them. Be careful. Oan I get help with the Sky Mall magazine? I'd like to order the talking inflatable nose and ear hair trimmer. Oaptain, I'm in a real situation. - What'd you say, Hal? - Nothing. Bee! Don't freak out! My entire species... What are you doing? - Wait a minute! I'm an attorney! - Who's an attorney? Don't move. Oh, Barry. Good afternoon, passengers. This is your captain. Would a Miss Vanessa Bloome in 24B please report to the cockpit? And please hurry! What happened here? There was a DustBuster, a toupee, a life raft exploded. One's bald, one's in a boat, they're both unconscious! - Is that another bee joke? - No! No one's flying the plane! This is JFK control tower, Flight 356. What's your status? This is Vanessa Bloome. I'm a florist from New York. Where's the pilot? He's unconscious, and so is the copilot. Not good. Does anyone onboard have flight experience? As a matter of fact, there is. - Who's that? - Barry Benson. From the honey trial?! Oh, great. Vanessa, this is nothing more than a big metal bee. It's got giant wings, huge engines. I can't fly a plane. - Why not? Isn't John Travolta a pilot? - Yes. How hard could it be? Wait, Barry! We're headed into some lightning. This is Bob Bumble. We have some late-breaking news from JFK Airport, where a suspenseful scene is developing. Barry Benson, fresh from his legal victory... That's Barry! ...is attempting to land a plane, loaded with people, flowers and an incapacitated flight crew. Flowers?! We have a storm in the area and two individuals at the controls with absolutely no flight experience. Just a minute. There's a bee on that plane. I'm quite familiar with Mr. Benson and his no-account compadres. They've done enough damage. But isn't he your only hope? Technically, a bee shouldn't be able to fly at all. Their wings are too small... Haven't we heard this a million times? "The surface area of the wings and body mass make no sense." - Get this on the air! - Got it. - Stand by. - We're going live. The way we work may be a mystery to you. Making honey takes a lot of bees doing a lot of small jobs. But let me tell you about a small job. If you do it well, it makes a big difference. More than we realized. To us, to everyone. That's why I want to get bees back to working together. That's the bee way! We're not made of Jell-O. We get behind a fellow. - Black and yellow! - Hello! Left, right, down, hover. - Hover? - Forget hover. This isn't so hard. Beep-beep! Beep-beep! Barry, what happened?! Wait, I think we were on autopilot the whole time. - That may have been helping me. - And now we're not! So it turns out I cannot fly a plane. All of you, let's get behind this fellow! Move it out! Move out! Our only chance is if I do what I'd do, you copy me with the wings of the plane! Don't have to yell. I'm not yelling! We're in a lot of trouble. It's very hard to concentrate with that panicky tone in your voice! It's not a tone. I'm panicking! I can't do this! Vanessa, pull yourself together. You have to snap out of it! You snap out of it. You snap out of it. - You snap out of it! - You snap out of it! - You snap out of it! - You snap out of it! - You snap out of it! - You snap out of it! - Hold it! - Why? Oome on, it's my turn. How is the plane flying? I don't know. Hello? Benson, got any flowers for a happy occasion in there? The Pollen Jocks! They do get behind a fellow. - Black and yellow. - Hello. All right, let's drop this tin can on the blacktop. Where? I can't see anything. Oan you? No, nothing. It's all cloudy. Oome on. You got to think bee, Barry. - Thinking bee. - Thinking bee. Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Wait a minute. I think I'm feeling something. - What? - I don't know. It's strong, pulling me. Like a 27-million-year-old instinct. Bring the nose down. Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! - What in the world is on the tarmac? - Get some lights on that! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! Thinking bee! - Vanessa, aim for the flower. - OK. Out the engines. We're going in on bee power. Ready, boys? Affirmative! Good. Good. Easy, now. That's it. Land on that flower! Ready? Full reverse! Spin it around! - Not that flower! The other one! - Which one? - That flower. - I'm aiming at the flower! That's a fat guy in a flowered shirt. I mean the giant pulsating flower made of millions of bees! Pull forward. Nose down. Tail up. Rotate around it. - This is insane, Barry! - This's the only way I know how to fly. Am I koo-koo-kachoo, or is this plane flying in an insect-like pattern? Get your nose in there. Don't be afraid. Smell it. Full reverse! Just drop it. Be a part of it. Aim for the center! Now drop it in! Drop it in, woman! Oome on, already. Barry, we did it! You taught me how to fly! - Yes. No high-five! - Right. Barry, it worked! Did you see the giant flower? What giant flower? Where? Of course I saw the flower! That was genius! - Thank you. - But we're not done yet. Listen, everyone! This runway is covered with the last pollen from the last flowers available anywhere on Earth. That means this is our last chance. We're the only ones who make honey, pollinate flowers and dress like this. If we're gonna survive as a species, this is our moment! What do you say? Are we going to be bees, orjust Museum of Natural History keychains? We're bees! Keychain! Then follow me! Except Keychain. Hold on, Barry. Here. You've earned this. Yeah! I'm a Pollen Jock! And it's a perfect fit. All I gotta do are the sleeves. Oh, yeah. That's our Barry. Mom! The bees are back! If anybody needs to make a call, now's the time. I got a feeling we'll be working late tonight! Here's your change. Have a great afternoon! Oan I help who's next? Would you like some honey with that? It is bee-approved. Don't forget these. Milk, cream, cheese, it's all me. And I don't see a nickel! Sometimes I just feel like a piece of meat! I had no idea. Barry, I'm sorry. Have you got a moment? Would you excuse me? My mosquito associate will help you. Sorry I'm late. He's a lawyer too? I was already a blood-sucking parasite. All I needed was a briefcase. Have a great afternoon! Barry, I just got this huge tulip order, and I can't get them anywhere. No problem, Vannie. Just leave it to me. You're a lifesaver, Barry. Oan I help who's next? All right, scramble, jocks! It's time to fly. Thank you, Barry! That bee is living my life! Let it go, Kenny. - When will this nightmare end?! - Let it all go. - Beautiful day to fly. - Sure is. Between you and me, I was dying to get out of that office. You have got to start thinking bee, my friend. - Thinking bee! - Me? Hold it. Let's just stop for a second. Hold it. I'm sorry. I'm sorry, everyone. Oan we stop here? I'm not making a major life decision during a production number! All right. Take ten, everybody. Wrap it up, guys. I had virtually no rehearsal for that.
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Unfortunately, bees just aren't that funny...Nor is the odd story Seinfeld and his collaborators dreamed up very inspired.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Amiable but no more, Bee Movie puts a hiveful of potent talent at the service of a zig-zigging, back-of-an-envelope story that's short on surprise and originality.
  3. Agreeably skewed fun.