Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 30, 2013
    100
    Though everyone is older this time around, and the themes are darker, harder to enjoy, the conversation is just as engrossing. So is the film.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight surpasses the two previous films in this trilogy in terms of its intelligence, narrative design, and vivacity. It’s a grand accomplishment, and I feel greedy about wanting to see this film series continue.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 6, 2013
    100
    If the first two films belong with the greatest (if talkiest) movie romances of all time, the new film is richer, riskier, and more bleakly perceptive about what it takes for love to endure (or not) over the long haul.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    88
    A rich, smart, funny, sometimes acidic portrayal of a couple who can be spectacular when they’re in tune — and toxic when they’re at each other’s throats.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 24, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight is the fullest and richest and saddest of the three movies in the trilogy. Make it a quartet, I say.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 22, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight confounds expectations in powerful and even haunting ways. It's not just darker than the previous two films. It's bigger, deeper, and more searching. It follows the characters through a tale of embattled love that extends far beyond them.
  7. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight manages to be an emotionally astute and tremendously enjoyable conclusion to this rather improbable trilogy.
  8. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Feb 10, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight is the rare cinematic achievement that implicates alert viewers in its mission to understand the mysteries of intimate connections.
  9. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 23, 2013
    90
    The films have only gotten better by letting the relationship marinate. "Midnight's" more disgruntled edge reflects what creeps up on couples as years pass, regrets stack up, kids factor in, real life intervenes.
  10. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 9, 2013
    88
    The film is far from a downer. If anything, more than any of the films in the trilogy, this one may be the most hopeful - and the most affecting.
  11. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Delpy and Hawke, who’ve invested this trilogy with the fine shadings of life lived, do extraordinary things with small moments.
  12. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Making a movie this warm, funny, and rigorously truthful about lovers trying to remain partners is even harder.
  13. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 23, 2013
    90
    Delpy and Hawke have never been more persuasive. Nor has the series.
  14. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 7, 2013
    100
    This is a movie that mines deep beneath the surface of human feeling. It will make you think - about love, about life, about two people who aren't real, except that they've become so for so many of us in this improbably successful indie franchise.
  15. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2013
    100
    It's a rare and powerful thing to confront something honest and real on the big screen. It stays with you in a way that nothing else can. Before Midnight is fiction but it might as well be a documentary.
  16. Reviewed by: Pablo Villaça
    Jun 6, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight is moving because it acknowledges that even love stories that began as beautifully as Jesse and Celine's must still endure the wear and tear of real life.
  17. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Whatever a modern love story is, Before Midnight takes it to the next level. It's damn near perfect.
  18. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 23, 2013
    100
    The latest in the wonderful "Before" series does three important things: It breaks out of the courtship formula, yet retains the series' quality, and it moves the lives of Celine (Julie Delpy) and Jesse (Ethan Hawke) forward in ways that are satisfying and believable. True, a romance you once envied might now be a relationship you'd not want to be in, but as long as Celine and Jesse are still talking, there's hope.
  19. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Apr 24, 2013
    88
    These films have always been about the power of words, their ability to bridge gulfs of time and space, the thrill of ideas and opinions taking definitive shape.
  20. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 22, 2013
    100
    Just as swoon-worthy, and essential, as its predecessors, Before Midnight reveals the full scope of Linklater’s ambition. This is not just another stellar follow-up, but the latest entry in what’s shaping up to be a grand experiment — the earnest attempt to depict the life of a relationship onscreen, decade by increasingly tumultuous decade. In the process of justifying its own existence, Before Midnight redeems the very notion of sequels.
  21. 88
    It plays like documented fact, a kind of "7 Up" primer on life’s romantic vicissitudes.
  22. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight is intimate and intelligent, and also undemanding in the best possible way,
  23. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 10, 2013
    100
    The work Richard Linklater and company started in 1995's Before Sunrise retains a clarity of spirit undimmed by 18 years.
  24. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight is a wonderful paradox: a movie passionately committed to the ideal of imperfection that is itself very close to perfect.
  25. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 3, 2013
    100
    What follows is astounding: a thirty-minute fight, which, in its bitterness, complication, and psychological revelation, recalls episodes from Ingmar Bergman's "Scenes from a Marriage." [27 May 2013, p.86]
  26. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    Where we might have expected a gentle or rueful coda, we get a battle of the sexes as blistering as the best of Tracy/Hepburn, and infinitely more frank.
  27. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    May 27, 2013
    90
    Bravely and with penetrating intelligence, Before Midnight elevates instead the practical, a partnership: frayed by disappointment, worn by time, but for the very luckiest—which we sincerely and selfishly hope includes Jesse and Celine—durable for the long day’s journey into night.
  28. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 21, 2013
    100
    That’s the subtle level this movie operates on, and by the time it arrives at its powerhouse climax, a ruinous argument in a hotel room where all lingering doubts are finally and furiously outed, there’s nowhere left for them to ramble. They’re pinned down and have to improvise, but this glorious movie has infinite space to roam.
  29. Reviewed by: Philip Kemp
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    A more-than-worthy, expectations-exceeding chapter in one of modern cinema’s finest love stories. As honest, convincing, funny, intimate and natural as its predecessors.
  30. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 23, 2013
    88
    Bittersweet, intelligently written, deftly acted and painfully honest.
  31. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Feb 10, 2013
    100
    Honoring all that was memorable about its forebears while taking the story to new depths of catharsis, Before Midnight stands as a unique and uniquely satisfying entry in what has shaped up to be an outstanding screen trilogy
  32. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 21, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight—visually stunning, in a late-summer way—is more vital and cutting than another recent marriage picture, Michael Haneke's old-folks-together death march Amour; it has none of Amour's tasteful restraint, and in the end, it says more about the nature of long-term love.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Maybe its the fact that I have grown with these characters, and maybe its because I am currently going through a divorce, but the biting dialogue about marriage, life, death, and parenthood cut through me from the opening scene in the airport to the closing scene on a dock. Breathtaking. A must see. Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    My wife and I went to this movie because of the overwhelming positive reviews, and ended up disappointed. FYI, we did not see either of the prequels, and knew little of the premise. The movie is extremely well written and acted. The key to our disappointment was that this movie is 95% dialogue! The entire movie could have been done on stage. Certainly, the dialogue was excellent, biting and emotional. At times, I felt like I was back watching "Virginia Woolf" again. For us, the entertainment value was not there. I felt like I might have gotten the same enjoyment from reading this script, as from watching the movie. We go the the movies to be entertained. Ergo the mixed review.....excellent dialogue....minimal entertainment value. Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    I have no idea how this movie gets any positive reviews. The director must have a lot of friends. My wife and I walked out. Scenes are unbearably long with rambling dialogue about nothing. There is no plot to this movie. It's just uninteresting people talking. Full Review »