Before Sunrise

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 212

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    Not corny not cheesy but original, the film’s locations are spot on and the dialogue is enthralling, is it predictable? Yes at times, but the script by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan is thought-provoking, and engaging, make twist and turns when you don’t expect it to be. Linklater and Krizan create these characters that are spellbinding, Hawke and Delpy bring so much elegance into theirNot corny not cheesy but original, the film’s locations are spot on and the dialogue is enthralling, is it predictable? Yes at times, but the script by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan is thought-provoking, and engaging, make twist and turns when you don’t expect it to be. Linklater and Krizan create these characters that are spellbinding, Hawke and Delpy bring so much elegance into their characters that’s awe-inspiring also beyond spectacular. On his way to Vienna, an American named Jesse (Ethan Hawke) meets Celine (Julie Delpy), a student returning to Paris. After a prolonged conversations a connection starts between them, Jesse convinces Celine to get of the train with him in Vienna and start a journey. Jesse’s flight doesn’t depart till tomorrow, so he has no money for lodging. They wander off in the city sharing experiences with one and another. As the night progresses so does their bond for each other. The performances are a tour de force under the direction Linklater and this is Richard Linklater’s magnum opus. Linklater creates a tremendous atmosphere which the second reason why the film is so perfect, and has the perfect tone to it. As soon as the film ends you can’t get enough of these characters, they're so interesting and irresistible, but after you watch the next one. Grade A+ Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most romantic and close to reality love story. Liking and falling for some one, takes a lot of conversation to know the person. The biggest surprise, you never get tired hearing lovers talking about everything in 24hrs.

    The idea that I gained form watching this film; when love and compatibility falls into perfect place we doubt it's possibility that it's already happening,
    This is the most romantic and close to reality love story. Liking and falling for some one, takes a lot of conversation to know the person. The biggest surprise, you never get tired hearing lovers talking about everything in 24hrs.

    The idea that I gained form watching this film; when love and compatibility falls into perfect place we doubt it's possibility that it's already happening, and that's when we miss the love really meant for us.
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2015
    8
    Worthy of the acclaim it has received over the years, Before Sunrise is a beautiful film that oozes with romance and works in brilliantly some comedic elements throughout that only add to the natural feeling of the film. A film that is essentially just a "day in a life" featuring two characters who simply run into each other and decide to spend the next day together, it is one that manyWorthy of the acclaim it has received over the years, Before Sunrise is a beautiful film that oozes with romance and works in brilliantly some comedic elements throughout that only add to the natural feeling of the film. A film that is essentially just a "day in a life" featuring two characters who simply run into each other and decide to spend the next day together, it is one that many will complain about "nothing happening", yet that is its brilliance. It is simply a film about a chance encounter between two people with a major connection between them. What ensues is one of the best romantic films ever made with phenomenal writing (seriously, some of the dialogue here is perfection), great direction from Richard Linklater, and terrific acting from Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. Both leads turn in very natural performances that fit in perfectly with the feel this one gives. Honestly, it feels like a documentary about two people who actually fell in love in Vienna. The film is also exquisitely shot, which is quite appropriate since the film as a whole is beautiful. Overall, Before Sunrise is a great film that will continue to stand tall for a long, long time to come. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2015
    8
    "Can the greatest romance of your life last only one night?" After watching Before Sunrise, my answer is a resounding "yes!" This a wonderfully romantic movie.
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    Although this is not a bad film, the also isn't much to like as it is about a young man and woman who meet on a train and get to know one another. The movie is just a conversation they have and there isn't any more to the plot. If they weren't likeable people, the movie would be a total bust. If you are looking for a video to watch, I'm sure you could do better without having to look to hard.
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    Before Sunrise is a film that is magical in a unique way; it talks with the viewer. That said, the film does not literally converse with the audience. However, the way the film progresses and the conversations held by the protagonists make us feel like a comfortable third wheel. It’s like we’re walking along by
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    Before Sunrise is a film that is magical in a unique way; it talks with the viewer. That said, the film does not literally converse with the audience. However, the way the film progresses and the conversations held by the protagonists make us feel like a comfortable third wheel. It’s like we’re walking along by our protagonists (and director Richard Linklater, since he has spilled so much uch of his persona and soul into this artistic venture it feels like we already know him) through Vienna.
    Another highlight of this film is the powerful chemistry that the protagonists share. It’s as if there is an innate connection between the two that has just now been discovered like siblings separated at birth (although not quite for romantic reasons). Their spontaneity and inquisitive, skeptical approach towards life and people clicks like a lock. This pitch-perfect compatibility motivates the film and makes for a very moving conclusion as time runs out before sunrise.
    The film is very talkative, I will not deny that. At some points, it also lingers as the conversations drift into simple chatter and the plotline seems to have no clear direction. However, no moment in the film is wasted, as every conversation further develops each character's personality as well as their sweet relationship.
    In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Before Sunrise is a magical and enlightening gift to anyone who views it and has enough patience to make it through the dragging conversations between its lovers. Before you know it, the film will be talking to you more loudly than the protagonists talk to each other.

    FINAL SCORE: 82.5 (excitingly great -----o--------------- almost perfect)
    Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    I have to admit that, on the face of it, this film really didn’t have much going for it from my point of view. But, as usual, I went into it with a very open mind and found I was quite pleasantly surprised. I don’t know it was because the film touched those parts of the human psyche that relate to the interaction of the sexes; but I did find their conversations quite enthralling at timesI have to admit that, on the face of it, this film really didn’t have much going for it from my point of view. But, as usual, I went into it with a very open mind and found I was quite pleasantly surprised. I don’t know it was because the film touched those parts of the human psyche that relate to the interaction of the sexes; but I did find their conversations quite enthralling at times whilst at the same time quite entertaining. I guess it’s like eavesdropping on a conversation, you know it’s wrong but you just can’t help it. I thought it was well made, using Vienna very well without becoming a kind of travelogue. I guess it did its job because I’m keen to know what happens next!

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.7/10
    Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    This was the first time I saw a movie that had nothing close to a human antagonist, yet it kept me glued to the screen. Sure I've read a few novels of the kind but surely they weren't "oh I'm glued" stuff. Everybody at least once in their life dreams of something like this and this movie makes it believable. After watching the movie I really thought that Ethan & Julie must have datedThis was the first time I saw a movie that had nothing close to a human antagonist, yet it kept me glued to the screen. Sure I've read a few novels of the kind but surely they weren't "oh I'm glued" stuff. Everybody at least once in their life dreams of something like this and this movie makes it believable. After watching the movie I really thought that Ethan & Julie must have dated 'cause their conversations were just flowing. Definitely a must see. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Céline (Delpy), an easy-going Parisian, is on her way back from Budapest to study at the Sorbonne; Jesse (Hawke), a young American, is at the end of a Eurorail tour. They meet on a train just outside Vienna; by the time they reach the station, they've hit it off well enough for Jesse to propose that Céline spend the next 14 hours wandering the city with him, until his flight leaves for theCéline (Delpy), an easy-going Parisian, is on her way back from Budapest to study at the Sorbonne; Jesse (Hawke), a young American, is at the end of a Eurorail tour. They meet on a train just outside Vienna; by the time they reach the station, they've hit it off well enough for Jesse to propose that Céline spend the next 14 hours wandering the city with him, until his flight leaves for the States. Intrigued, she accepts. So begins an unexpected adventure of the heart. What's magical about Linklater's entrancing movie is the way he and his actors manage to convey the emotional truths that underlie all the talk as the potential lovers test each other's opinions and commitment. Funny, poignant and perceptive, this is a brilliant gem. Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Before watching this film I had always regarded The Godfather as my favorite film of all time. Since then, every film I have watched has not met the bar which had been set so very high… until Before Sunrise. Why is this the best film of all time? Because you will struggle to find another film like it. The plot is so straightforward; a boy is on a train to catch a flight which will head himBefore watching this film I had always regarded The Godfather as my favorite film of all time. Since then, every film I have watched has not met the bar which had been set so very high… until Before Sunrise. Why is this the best film of all time? Because you will struggle to find another film like it. The plot is so straightforward; a boy is on a train to catch a flight which will head him back to America alongside a girl on the same train who is travelling back to France. They both meet in conversation and together, decide to spend the next 24 hours within the beautiful and gorgeous city of Vienna. Sounds like an easy and simple plot but what makes this film so enthralling and interesting is what happens in Vienna and the thoughts and feelings expressed by the two lead characters, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy who portray such outstanding and realistic performances which make you forget that they are just acting. This is a film which consists heavily of pure dialogue which may put off some people; however that is the beauty of the film. There are no explosions, car chases or action scenes but simply two people exploring each other inside a wonderful city debating about such topics such as Reincarnation, Death, Love and many more. The conversations are so real, so vivid and so dreamlike that it makes the film it own. It's almost as though they are in an alternate reality where their normal routine life is put to a hold and they escape inside a dream world. Towards the end where the night is over and the sun has risen, Ethan Hawke's character Jesse quotes that they have gone back into "real time" which shows that the moments they have shared and the collection of memories that they have made, are those which will last forever in their own little world and time. A classical romance which does well to stray away from the old cheesy and clichéd films of that genre, Before Sunrise is superbly filmed and wonderfully acted with rich, pure and realistic dialogue making it one of those rare films that shine with magnificence, a film that everyone has to see. Expand
  11. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    The story could not be more simplistic. An American Male meets a French Female on a train and asks her to spend the evening with him in Vienna. What is not simplistic is the wonderful characters, and exceptional dialogue in Linklater's film. It is obvious that Jesse (Hawke) and Celine (Delpy) have a connection after their first conversation. As their day progresses their connection to eachThe story could not be more simplistic. An American Male meets a French Female on a train and asks her to spend the evening with him in Vienna. What is not simplistic is the wonderful characters, and exceptional dialogue in Linklater's film. It is obvious that Jesse (Hawke) and Celine (Delpy) have a connection after their first conversation. As their day progresses their connection to each other deepens as does our connection with them. Before Sunrise is so special because we are not manipulated into connecting with them through tragedy, or violence, or sex. We connect with them as we do with people in everyday life, through the life experiences they share with us little by little as our relationship grows. This is true intimacy and is beautifully achieved here.

    The intimate, personal moments that Jesse and Celine share throughout the film are sprinkled amidst a plethora of other conversations during their night together. They discuss everything from palm reading to dancing, the conversation is never boring and never unnecessary. They don't agree on everything and through that disagreement we we are invited further into their personalities as their connection grows. Jesse and Celine do interact with other characters in the course of the film. Linklater perfectly blends these interactions as well. The supporting characters add to the film without over powering the main characters. These characters are also just odd enough to further strengthen Jesse and Celine's connection as kindred spirits, without ever becoming caricatures.

    Before Sunrise is a beautiful film. It made me want to rush off to Europe and spend aimless evenings wandering around foreign cities looking for romance. I suppose I will have to settle for revisiting this film and these characters in the future.
    Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    In Before Sunrise we have an intriguing and alluring physical attraction and intellectual interest between two characters that “destiny” has united on a train. We follow them through an exhilaratingly spontaneous evening as their youthfully curious sensual dynamism develops. Their dialogue is interesting and sincere, and their attraction is sweet and sort of nostalgia-evoking. For aIn Before Sunrise we have an intriguing and alluring physical attraction and intellectual interest between two characters that “destiny” has united on a train. We follow them through an exhilaratingly spontaneous evening as their youthfully curious sensual dynamism develops. Their dialogue is interesting and sincere, and their attraction is sweet and sort of nostalgia-evoking. For a slow and very talky romantic movie, I really enjoyed it. Expand
  13. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Breathtaking and refreshingly authentic. I could watch this from now until forever. It hints of Woody Allen at his best, but yet it feels entirely original. Who would have thought that a movie seemingly in real time could be so captivating, as if caught up in a wonderful and fantastic dream about a love once known. You will never want it to end.
  14. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    A thoughtful film carried by it's natural dialogue before sunrise feels like an experiment that worked for most of it's running time. In parts my mind started to dwindle but my attention was eventually regained. The great part about the film is that it uses it's dialogue to make us feel for the characters instead of over dramatic contrived situations. The last few shots of the film have noA thoughtful film carried by it's natural dialogue before sunrise feels like an experiment that worked for most of it's running time. In parts my mind started to dwindle but my attention was eventually regained. The great part about the film is that it uses it's dialogue to make us feel for the characters instead of over dramatic contrived situations. The last few shots of the film have no dialogue but they are more touching then any other part of the film Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Beautiful, one of the best films I have ever seen. The naive optimism of love and intelligent honest dialogue was amazing. Anyone who has fallen in love and has been optimistic of the future will love it.
  16. SalvoA.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    The best romantic-comedy I've ever seen: I'll never forget this movie,cause it represents a dream that every person has lived at least once in his/her life.
  17. gargaroj
    Jun 28, 2009
    0
    Worst movie EVER! Don't care about these insanely boring characters or their stupid conversations. Put me out of my misery.
  18. sarahf
    Mar 26, 2009
    0
    I would rather have you poop in my mouth than to have to watch this again
  19. JerryB.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest movies ever made! The scene in the music booth is priceless!
  20. GeorgeB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The best romantic movie of all time. The only possible reaction to it is "why did that never happen to me?". How did it miss the BBC's top 100?
  21. RichardT.
    Mar 18, 2007
    2
    This film was one of my most painful film experiences. Drenched in pop intellectual 'musings', that are delivered relentlessly (and without any visible thought or idea retreival) and interspersed with cliched spontanaity and calculated 'happenings', the film does a great job at ignornig the mundane parts of life Jesse believed in so much that he wanted to make a tv This film was one of my most painful film experiences. Drenched in pop intellectual 'musings', that are delivered relentlessly (and without any visible thought or idea retreival) and interspersed with cliched spontanaity and calculated 'happenings', the film does a great job at ignornig the mundane parts of life Jesse believed in so much that he wanted to make a tv series about them! I was aware the entire time that this was a film, and that the characters were acting - it was even possible to spot the bits of the film that were improvised slightly. Despite it's wholesome intensions it's overall lack of authenticity makes it sickening. Whilst trying to explore the supposed truths and quirks about the reality of human relations it simply reinforces an unrealistc and unattainable ideal of falling in love. Expand
  22. DavidS.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    I'm an old fogie but this film brought me back to being 23 again. This is thw best romantic movie I've ever seen. (It puts An Affair to Remember to shame) And the sequel Before Sunset is almost as great.
  23. rauls.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    If someone ever had or someone never wanted a night like this one in the movie...just tell me so I can be gelous...it's a perfect movie to watch by yourslef, alone, and hope you will someday be at least close to a night like that one and to fealings like both characters shared.
  24. RobT.
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    There are two movies we have here, Before Sunrise and Before Sunset. Before Sunrise is for the the romantic, a film meant for people looking towards the future. The film is warm and beautiful, featuring intelligent dialogue. If you're young, and looking towards the future much like the characters, Before Sunris is going to be the superior film to you. However, if you're older, There are two movies we have here, Before Sunrise and Before Sunset. Before Sunrise is for the the romantic, a film meant for people looking towards the future. The film is warm and beautiful, featuring intelligent dialogue. If you're young, and looking towards the future much like the characters, Before Sunris is going to be the superior film to you. However, if you're older, and more mature, looking back on your past with a slight regret, Before Sunset is going to be your favorite. I love both films, but prefer the first, because of its intelligence and optimism. While I found Before Sunrise to be warm and optimistic, I though Before Sunset was bitter and realistic, but that honesty alone makes the film a gem as well. Expand
  25. AddyF.
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    They don't make movies like this anymore. Intelligent, funny, and a touch of the human spirit.
  26. JohnA.
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    Great movie. One of the best I have ever seen. Incredibly smart and well-written. A true masterpiece. A true work of art.
  27. velvetg.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    The most memorable film I've ever seen!
  28. PatC.
    May 11, 2005
    8
    Two thoughtful young adults meet and soon find they have the hots for each other. A simplistic but tastefully done expose' of a relationship germinating through honest dialogue and assertion of personal freedom. The story just kinda materializes, as there are no real plot pivots or dramatic climaxes, so the audience appeal is selective, but those who have met a romantic interest Two thoughtful young adults meet and soon find they have the hots for each other. A simplistic but tastefully done expose' of a relationship germinating through honest dialogue and assertion of personal freedom. The story just kinda materializes, as there are no real plot pivots or dramatic climaxes, so the audience appeal is selective, but those who have met a romantic interest equivalent in personal power to themselves will be impressed by the accuracy of the mood and the natural chemistry between the two main players. The European flavor allows for authentic interaction that would be pre-empted by formula in the States. The running action in actual locations rather than stage sets is vivid and the sound uncluttered - techniques impressively used 9 years later in the sequel Before Sunset Expand
  29. WillieBee
    Feb 13, 2005
    0
    A "friend" dragged me to this, and I will never forgive her. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy's characters may be the single two most utterly boring human beings ever. Non-stop talk which is neither interesting nor funny; after about a half hour you can't help wondering, when are they gonna shut up and get a room? Lon-n-n-n-n-ng one-camera takes (is there any other kind?) as the two A "friend" dragged me to this, and I will never forgive her. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy's characters may be the single two most utterly boring human beings ever. Non-stop talk which is neither interesting nor funny; after about a half hour you can't help wondering, when are they gonna shut up and get a room? Lon-n-n-n-n-ng one-camera takes (is there any other kind?) as the two wander through Vienna. The poem a stranger by the river writes for them--for a price--was completely lame. Richard Linklater needs someone to tell him to eliminate the drivel. Slacker, his first film, was a lot more tedious than this one, only because Julie Delpy wasn't in it. Linklater has no interesting ideas whatsoever. I would rather go potpourri shopping with my grandmother's friends than to sit through another film as bad as this one. Expand
  30. ZeynepZ
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    The most wonderful romance movie i have ever seen... It's more complex than it shows... amazing!!
  31. IreneB
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    Most real and beautiful movie about romance ever!
  32. AB
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Great!!!!!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Watching and listening to these two is a charming experience; their conversation has the ring of veracity, and rarely does the viewer's interest stray.
  2. 75
    Before Sunrise is so much like real life - like a documentary with an invisible camera - that I found myself remembering real conversations I had experienced with more or less the same words.
  3. What Mr. Linklater does best here is to come up with conversational gambits that have just the right fancifulness to suit this situation.