Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: July 2, 2004
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 299 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
273
Mixed:
11
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
fearless11Oct 4, 2012
Astonishing. Not just incredibly well-written and wonderfully engaging - you never feel like it's film because there is always a great sense of reality to it.
Amazing.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
YssysG.Feb 7, 2008
The ending it's just perfect!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CJFeb 15, 2008
A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the decision to shoot the film in real-time in around 1.5 hours was very wise. It would have been impossible to capture the original magic of a full night, but this sequel has a different, more focused feel that fits where the characters are. And, I found the ending profoundly satisfying. It creeps up on you. Great! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
OltjonD.Dec 2, 2005
It's wonderful, and also a great story narrated in a great way. So romantic that cannot be described.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdisonF.Apr 6, 2006
I love this movie because there's a girl like Celine in my life. I could not be with her because I will go abroad this fall. What a pity! I hate reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CY.May 3, 2008
Strange hybrid of incandescent emotions and real life messiness; sublime yet grounded dialogue; and the most unabashedly romantic slice of life cinema since Brief Encounter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyM.Oct 31, 2005
I loved watching this movie...It is a pure art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SomethingSep 10, 2005
A masterpiece! Linklater is a genius! Entertainment like this is rare because it is at once provocative, funny, and breathtaking. Those who don't appreciate it know little about what cinema really is. One of the finest stories ever told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MandaSep 15, 2005
This movie is lovely. A friend and I stumbled upon Before Sunrise when we were maybe fifteen and we rented obsessively, never knowing anyone but us had ever even heard of the little film. When I saw they were doing a follow-up, I was This movie is lovely. A friend and I stumbled upon Before Sunrise when we were maybe fifteen and we rented obsessively, never knowing anyone but us had ever even heard of the little film. When I saw they were doing a follow-up, I was intrigued. I hadn't seen the first film in almost a decade, so seeing the characters again, years later, just as they were seeing each other again after so much time had passed was surreal. I would suggest anyone just coming upon these films watch one immediately and then hold off a month or two- sit with it for awhile before viewing the follow-up. It'll put you in their shoes a bit, in the best possible way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BedyMar 13, 2006
Thise is a romantic movie that must be seen. Its about two peaple who met 9 years ago and can´t forget about each other . Then they meet again 9 years later, and have only a few hours to realize that. It´s a very romantic story Thise is a romantic movie that must be seen. Its about two peaple who met 9 years ago and can´t forget about each other . Then they meet again 9 years later, and have only a few hours to realize that. It´s a very romantic story that is a bit unrealistic, and it is very different from other romantic movies since its only diallogue. Peaple who need action aren´t going to enjoye thise one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
P.S.Mar 22, 2006
Simply the best film of Linklater, at least so far. So simple, so real, so sincere. You can only love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Aug 28, 2006
I loved this flic almost as much as the prequel Before Sunrise. Is it possible that the rating given to the pair of movies is simply a reflection of our own romanticism? By the way. I'm an old fogie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnaC.May 17, 2007
A very captivating and interesting story. Celine's personality suites a woman's emotions and points of view. Hidding the emotions first, then bursting it all out when you're too overwhelmed by your emotions. You can't A very captivating and interesting story. Celine's personality suites a woman's emotions and points of view. Hidding the emotions first, then bursting it all out when you're too overwhelmed by your emotions. You can't appreciate the story if you won't put your full attention to into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.G.Jun 19, 2007
It is very clear from the wording of comments that rating is directly related to level of intellectualism and an experience of real sensational love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VianW.Aug 27, 2007
A Very clever - Romantic movie i ever saw, this movie tells a lot about the connection, meaning of love without a single 'I Love u' word, but we feel a lot of emotion and love experience from the start till the end. Standing A Very clever - Romantic movie i ever saw, this movie tells a lot about the connection, meaning of love without a single 'I Love u' word, but we feel a lot of emotion and love experience from the start till the end. Standing applause fo RIchard Linklater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SWilsonNov 21, 2007
classic. unique. real. I understand why your standard movie goer wouldn't get what they wanted out of this movie, and there's nothing wrong with that...but luckily I'm not that kind of person. If you're introspective and classic. unique. real. I understand why your standard movie goer wouldn't get what they wanted out of this movie, and there's nothing wrong with that...but luckily I'm not that kind of person. If you're introspective and extrospective about the world, this movie will work for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DLJan 15, 2008
This movie is absolutely amazing, I don't know what C.M. saw but I think it should get $4 worth of brain cells.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SandeepDSep 13, 2009
This is one of the movie which peers the life of the individual effortlessly.You know while watching this movie I have bring back everything from my past.this is really breathtaking. Great done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonW.Dec 12, 2005
I was so glad I saw this before I saw Before Sunrise. It is a much better movie. It probably didn't even need the original. People who don't like this movie are too lazy to work for it's rewards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelM.Dec 26, 2009
I rented this based solely upon the rating on this site. Truly, it was a unique story, though a bit slow off the mark. It came around enough for us to recommend, yes. The gal is compelling, the dialogue quite believable. The story involving I rented this based solely upon the rating on this site. Truly, it was a unique story, though a bit slow off the mark. It came around enough for us to recommend, yes. The gal is compelling, the dialogue quite believable. The story involving a "real-time" visit was very intriguing. The ending certainly left us to wonder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mrniceJan 8, 2013
How often can you study love on the big screen? My ex lent this to me as an example of what love "should be like". I guess I can only agree that it portrays romantic love as realistically as one could ask of a movie. The ending is great sinceHow often can you study love on the big screen? My ex lent this to me as an example of what love "should be like". I guess I can only agree that it portrays romantic love as realistically as one could ask of a movie. The ending is great since it makes you reflect on your own hopes and expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 19, 2015
A continuation of Richard Linklater's "stream of consciousness" romance trilogy, Before Sunset is better than Before Sunrise, but not by much, because both are still phenomenal pieces of cinema. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy are yet againA continuation of Richard Linklater's "stream of consciousness" romance trilogy, Before Sunset is better than Before Sunrise, but not by much, because both are still phenomenal pieces of cinema. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy are yet again fantastic in this film with their chemistry together on display for all to see. The two of them seem to just bounce off of one another and it gives the love between them a realistic feeling. Featuring the same hilarious moments, honest and riveting dialogue, and pure romance, as the first film, the thing that puts Before Sunset above Before Sunrise for me is the way in which the characters have grown. In the first film, they are innocent. They are both romantics who may not be open about this due to parts of their past, but deep down, they believe in love and "the one". Now, both are jaded and unhappy. Yet, though they claim otherwise, both are still romantics. They are simply both afraid to be hurt further and show the scars of love lost. There is a longing between both of them that has left both unsatisfied in other endeavors. Their dialogue suggests they are now both cynics who no longer believe in love, but in reality, it portrays them as people who deny their true feelings because they are afraid of it falling apart all over again. For this, Before Sunset shows great maturity amid its romance that leaves hope for the future, yet that hope is tempered and covered in doubt. What will happen? Will they find happiness? A brilliant film, Before Sunset shows Richard Linklater's talent as a writer and director for all to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
Even better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry betweenEven better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. This film cannot be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonJun 10, 2013
Back in 1995, Richard Linklater until then best-known for Slacker and Dazed And Confused left Kevin Smith to chronicle America's waster youth and made a small, offbeat romance called Before Sunrise. A deeply appealing two-hander about anBack in 1995, Richard Linklater until then best-known for Slacker and Dazed And Confused left Kevin Smith to chronicle America's waster youth and made a small, offbeat romance called Before Sunrise. A deeply appealing two-hander about an American backpacker (Hawke) and a French student (then-unknown Delpy) who meet on a train and talk their way around Vienna, Before Sunrise charmed romantically-inclined twentysomethings everywhere. The crux of the matter in that film, of course, is that at the end the pair agree to meet six months on. Would they be there? Would they live happily ever after? It was fun to daydream, but ultimately, was that even the point? It is now. A decade later, Linklater rejoined by his two stars, who share the writing credits has produced a "real-time" sequel, catching up with Jesse and Celine nine years down the road a prospect that must strike both joy and trepidation into the hearts of devotees. Have they spoilt it all? Conversely, will it mean anything to those new to the pair? Should it ever have been made? The answers to these are broadly no, yes (there are even helpful flashbacks to the first film but oh don't they show how shockingly gaunt Hawke has become!) and, well, the third could generate debates to rival those of our spirited protagonists. Certainly there are problems with the film. A mere 80 minutes long, like Before Sunrise the structure of Before Sunset two people wander aimlessly, arguing, flirting, ultimately rejoicing in each other is not on paper the stuff of high drama, and some will find the lack of a definite story arc undisciplined and unengaging. Potentially more damaging is the abruptness of the ending which, coupled with the short running time, could leave some viewers wondering if the last reel slipped down the back of a filing cabinet. Teasingly frustrating in its ambiguity, the final scene languid, heady, sexy as hell eschews a solid, conventionally dramatic conclusion, instead taunting us with yet more questions some will love this, but after the building tension of the preceding moments, others will demand more. That said, there is still so much to love about Linklater's literate, candid, and this time necessarily more sombre film. Jesse and Celine, now in their early 30s and in theory older and wiser, are still as delightfully real as they were ten years ago. All credit to Hawke and Delpy, who hardly seem to be acting; they just are these characters. Meeting up by (almost) chance in Paris with mere hours until Jesse has to leave, the shell-shocked pair walk the streets of Le Marais and the Latin Quarter, stumbling from awkwardly polite niceties to heartfelt confessions and anxieties touching the very core of their "grown-up" lives the poignancy of regret, the loneliness of failing relationships, the agonising conflict between desire and duty universal subjects that extend beyond the parameters of Jesse and Celine's story and will strike a chord even with those unfamiliar with the first film. While some might balk at such wordiness, the film is far from earnest or depressing, full of humour and joy and the three writers counter any chance of boredom by dropping mini bombshells at regular intervals; tiny ripples on the Richter Scale, perhaps, but hugely important twists in the context of this couple. Set against the beauty of Paris cinematographer Lee Daniel hardly has to try! it's near impossible not to be seduced by this picture, the director nevertheless cranking up the aesthetics by filming the city in long, golden-dappled tracking shots that soothe the eye just as he tightens the emotional screws. An involving and all too fleeting joy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
happydolphinApr 18, 2013
I re-watched both 'Sunrise' and 'Sunset' in preparation for 'Before Midnight'. 'Sunset' is my favourite of the two, perhaps the most beautifully romantic movie of all time! Kudos to the director that makes himself invisible and reels you inI re-watched both 'Sunrise' and 'Sunset' in preparation for 'Before Midnight'. 'Sunset' is my favourite of the two, perhaps the most beautifully romantic movie of all time! Kudos to the director that makes himself invisible and reels you in with his skill and kudos to the actors that absolutely make you fall in love with and root for them! What strikes me is how each time I watch this movie, I discover something new relatable in the conversation. And then there are the questions! Is duty more important than authenticity? Is time relevant? Is love worth the risk? The price? What does it mean being mature and responsible? Are the choices we make truly our own or is fate and circumstance the defining factor? I find Jesse to be the more hopeful about life in this round, in spite of his miserable marriage and Celine the more vulnerable in spite of all the armour she has built over the years to avoid pain. The boat and the car scene are for me among the most memorable moments I have ever experienced at the movies. The ending could not have been more fitting and perfect, but somehow I have no doubt about the outcome, he has no choice but to miss that plane. Can't wait to listen in on another walk and talk of these two in a month or so in 'Before Midnight'. Am I a goofball or what! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscNov 22, 2015
Our favorite couple is back in this nine year reunion, waiting to see this amazing absorbing couple finally will stay together or not or will be a couple or not. What Linklater is so good at when it comes to making these romance films isOur favorite couple is back in this nine year reunion, waiting to see this amazing absorbing couple finally will stay together or not or will be a couple or not. What Linklater is so good at when it comes to making these romance films is adding realism and making some factual messages about love and also shows us the talent that stars/co-writers Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy have in the screenplay, they make these words nuance erotic. The pacing is amazing, the cinematography is fabulous and the locations are spot on. Nine years later, Jesse (Ethan Hawke) travels around across Europe giving readings of his novel he wrote about him in Vienna with Celine (Julie Delpy). After his reading in Paris in a library Celine finds him and they spend a day before Jesse again has to leave for a flight. Their both in a relationships now, and Jesse has a son and a wife, but as their strong feelings for each other start to return, both confess a longing for more. The film still is engaging and the chemistry between Hawke and Delpy is charming and witty, it's equally good as the first one. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 2, 2016
A beautiful, moving, brilliant movie. This is a classic, just like 'Before Sunrise' when they first met.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-738-Before-Sunset-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews