Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: July 2, 2004
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
308
Mixed:
14
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleJun 19, 2015
A continuation of Richard Linklater's "stream of consciousness" romance trilogy, Before Sunset is better than Before Sunrise, but not by much, because both are still phenomenal pieces of cinema. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy are yet againA continuation of Richard Linklater's "stream of consciousness" romance trilogy, Before Sunset is better than Before Sunrise, but not by much, because both are still phenomenal pieces of cinema. Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy are yet again fantastic in this film with their chemistry together on display for all to see. The two of them seem to just bounce off of one another and it gives the love between them a realistic feeling. Featuring the same hilarious moments, honest and riveting dialogue, and pure romance, as the first film, the thing that puts Before Sunset above Before Sunrise for me is the way in which the characters have grown. In the first film, they are innocent. They are both romantics who may not be open about this due to parts of their past, but deep down, they believe in love and "the one". Now, both are jaded and unhappy. Yet, though they claim otherwise, both are still romantics. They are simply both afraid to be hurt further and show the scars of love lost. There is a longing between both of them that has left both unsatisfied in other endeavors. Their dialogue suggests they are now both cynics who no longer believe in love, but in reality, it portrays them as people who deny their true feelings because they are afraid of it falling apart all over again. For this, Before Sunset shows great maturity amid its romance that leaves hope for the future, yet that hope is tempered and covered in doubt. What will happen? Will they find happiness? A brilliant film, Before Sunset shows Richard Linklater's talent as a writer and director for all to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonJun 10, 2013
Back in 1995, Richard Linklater until then best-known for Slacker and Dazed And Confused left Kevin Smith to chronicle America's waster youth and made a small, offbeat romance called Before Sunrise. A deeply appealing two-hander about anBack in 1995, Richard Linklater until then best-known for Slacker and Dazed And Confused left Kevin Smith to chronicle America's waster youth and made a small, offbeat romance called Before Sunrise. A deeply appealing two-hander about an American backpacker (Hawke) and a French student (then-unknown Delpy) who meet on a train and talk their way around Vienna, Before Sunrise charmed romantically-inclined twentysomethings everywhere. The crux of the matter in that film, of course, is that at the end the pair agree to meet six months on. Would they be there? Would they live happily ever after? It was fun to daydream, but ultimately, was that even the point? It is now. A decade later, Linklater rejoined by his two stars, who share the writing credits has produced a "real-time" sequel, catching up with Jesse and Celine nine years down the road a prospect that must strike both joy and trepidation into the hearts of devotees. Have they spoilt it all? Conversely, will it mean anything to those new to the pair? Should it ever have been made? The answers to these are broadly no, yes (there are even helpful flashbacks to the first film but oh don't they show how shockingly gaunt Hawke has become!) and, well, the third could generate debates to rival those of our spirited protagonists. Certainly there are problems with the film. A mere 80 minutes long, like Before Sunrise the structure of Before Sunset two people wander aimlessly, arguing, flirting, ultimately rejoicing in each other is not on paper the stuff of high drama, and some will find the lack of a definite story arc undisciplined and unengaging. Potentially more damaging is the abruptness of the ending which, coupled with the short running time, could leave some viewers wondering if the last reel slipped down the back of a filing cabinet. Teasingly frustrating in its ambiguity, the final scene languid, heady, sexy as hell eschews a solid, conventionally dramatic conclusion, instead taunting us with yet more questions some will love this, but after the building tension of the preceding moments, others will demand more. That said, there is still so much to love about Linklater's literate, candid, and this time necessarily more sombre film. Jesse and Celine, now in their early 30s and in theory older and wiser, are still as delightfully real as they were ten years ago. All credit to Hawke and Delpy, who hardly seem to be acting; they just are these characters. Meeting up by (almost) chance in Paris with mere hours until Jesse has to leave, the shell-shocked pair walk the streets of Le Marais and the Latin Quarter, stumbling from awkwardly polite niceties to heartfelt confessions and anxieties touching the very core of their "grown-up" lives the poignancy of regret, the loneliness of failing relationships, the agonising conflict between desire and duty universal subjects that extend beyond the parameters of Jesse and Celine's story and will strike a chord even with those unfamiliar with the first film. While some might balk at such wordiness, the film is far from earnest or depressing, full of humour and joy and the three writers counter any chance of boredom by dropping mini bombshells at regular intervals; tiny ripples on the Richter Scale, perhaps, but hugely important twists in the context of this couple. Set against the beauty of Paris cinematographer Lee Daniel hardly has to try! it's near impossible not to be seduced by this picture, the director nevertheless cranking up the aesthetics by filming the city in long, golden-dappled tracking shots that soothe the eye just as he tightens the emotional screws. An involving and all too fleeting joy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscNov 22, 2015
Our favorite couple is back in this nine year reunion, waiting to see this amazing absorbing couple finally will stay together or not or will be a couple or not. What Linklater is so good at when it comes to making these romance films isOur favorite couple is back in this nine year reunion, waiting to see this amazing absorbing couple finally will stay together or not or will be a couple or not. What Linklater is so good at when it comes to making these romance films is adding realism and making some factual messages about love and also shows us the talent that stars/co-writers Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy have in the screenplay, they make these words nuance erotic. The pacing is amazing, the cinematography is fabulous and the locations are spot on. Nine years later, Jesse (Ethan Hawke) travels around across Europe giving readings of his novel he wrote about him in Vienna with Celine (Julie Delpy). After his reading in Paris in a library Celine finds him and they spend a day before Jesse again has to leave for a flight. Their both in a relationships now, and Jesse has a son and a wife, but as their strong feelings for each other start to return, both confess a longing for more. The film still is engaging and the chemistry between Hawke and Delpy is charming and witty, it's equally good as the first one. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 2, 2016
A beautiful, moving, brilliant movie. This is a classic, just like 'Before Sunrise' when they first met.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-738-Before-Sunset-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
Even better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry betweenEven better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. This film cannot be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrniceJan 8, 2013
How often can you study love on the big screen? My ex lent this to me as an example of what love "should be like". I guess I can only agree that it portrays romantic love as realistically as one could ask of a movie. The ending is great sinceHow often can you study love on the big screen? My ex lent this to me as an example of what love "should be like". I guess I can only agree that it portrays romantic love as realistically as one could ask of a movie. The ending is great since it makes you reflect on your own hopes and expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fearless11Oct 4, 2012
Astonishing. Not just incredibly well-written and wonderfully engaging - you never feel like it's film because there is always a great sense of reality to it.
Amazing.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
JohnP.Oct 16, 2004
Truly worth the wait. Movies can't get any better than this! A hopeless romantic's dream come true. Truly, for all of us that have been in love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RShawDec 20, 2004
How utterly strange that a movie with average acting can be so enthralling and loaded with truth and truthful moments. Something about Hawke and Delpy's acting remind me of Christopher Reeve at his best, not quite convincing but very How utterly strange that a movie with average acting can be so enthralling and loaded with truth and truthful moments. Something about Hawke and Delpy's acting remind me of Christopher Reeve at his best, not quite convincing but very much charming. Yet there is a kernel of verisimilitude about the nature of love in this movie that is so fresh in execution and so powerful in the end that it overwhelms any of this small movie's flaws. This is a film that rises about its humble exterior, becoming an instant classic on the subject of true love, shaming the collective triteness of mainstream Hollywood's offerings. Before Sunset caused me to think back on my own painful and repressed memories of love lost and won. I was deeply touched. Those that gave this movie a low score are probably the ones in life who can't see the heartrending beauty in life's less grandiose moments, and more likely have never experienced true love. But let me console you with this thought: You'll know it when you find it... or lose it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenS.Aug 15, 2004
The two main characters have just met in Paris for the first time in about nine years. Hawke as the semi-famous writer goes off to have coffee with Delpy as the luminous French woman he loved and misplaced. Before you know it, you?re feeling The two main characters have just met in Paris for the first time in about nine years. Hawke as the semi-famous writer goes off to have coffee with Delpy as the luminous French woman he loved and misplaced. Before you know it, you?re feeling all their emotions in real time as they twist and turn through the Parisian back streets in a real-time take. If, in real life, you?ve ever met and loved the love of your life, you can?t help but feel an extra frisson. Watch for the wonderful scene near the end where Delpy sings her song to Hawke, a song that she actually wrote (or is that improvised?) herself. If Richard Linklater can make such a fine movie just with a two-hander and some intelligent dialogue, why can?t it be done more often? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RosselineSep 9, 2004
I love a film where the words are the story and the characters are like people you'd meet on the street. Yet, like it's equally entrancing predeessor, the conversations are too many, and they blend into one another. Afterwords, I love a film where the words are the story and the characters are like people you'd meet on the street. Yet, like it's equally entrancing predeessor, the conversations are too many, and they blend into one another. Afterwords, they don't really have the grip you, or they, would like. Still, a beautiful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterJ.Feb 1, 2005
While the movie started very slow and almost bored me into stopping it, it did eventually pick up and held me interest to the end. Although the ending does make you wonder if I have to wait 9 more years to see what happens?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NirmalK.Feb 6, 2005
Must see for everyone in relationship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LLApr 3, 2005
Every single line is GREAT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleMcMay 26, 2005
I adore this film. I watched both "before sunrise" and "before sunset" in a day, and i think the films have changed me in a way. You feel so much in such a small space of time, and it leaves you excited about falling in love. The dialogue is I adore this film. I watched both "before sunrise" and "before sunset" in a day, and i think the films have changed me in a way. You feel so much in such a small space of time, and it leaves you excited about falling in love. The dialogue is brilliant and it leaves you wishing that one day you will meet someone with whom you can talk like this to. My favorite scene is when Celine sings to Jesse, The waltz was brilliant, as was she, and i was so nervous in the last few moments of the film as i had no idea what would happen!! All hopeless romantics will agree that they end up together...that jesse stays in paris. I would reecommend this to anyone...its such a beautiful story that speaks to all those who have loved, and who have loved and lost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryH.Jul 2, 2004
Brilliant. Thank you to all involved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevieGJul 3, 2004
This is a very effective film. The script is well written and well acted by the two leads. Having Paris as a background does not suck either. The characters and their emotions are more mature than one usually sees in movies. They are honest This is a very effective film. The script is well written and well acted by the two leads. Having Paris as a background does not suck either. The characters and their emotions are more mature than one usually sees in movies. They are honest about their feelings and ultimately reveal the desperation in their lives caused by their failing to follow through on their previous commitment. There is also an intriguing seduction going on. I loved the abrupt ending too. This is a very unusual American movie. There are no car chases or shootings. There is no nudity. There is an hour or so of two people talking in one of the most romantic places on earth. Some people will characterize this as a "chick flick," which it may be on some level. But it is a beautiful and touching film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JinC.Jul 3, 2004
Wow, jesse and celine's story resolves in a way that i could not have imagined. after all this time, i would have anticipated a straight forward love rekindled plot to simply cash in, or a tale about two people who have simply moved on Wow, jesse and celine's story resolves in a way that i could not have imagined. after all this time, i would have anticipated a straight forward love rekindled plot to simply cash in, or a tale about two people who have simply moved on and will now simply be friends. instead, we get a story that is 'achingly' romantic and devastatingly sad. behind all the laughter and smiles, it is a story of two people whose destinies and hearts have been stolen from them and who have been subsisting on chaff and the memories of a singular night which they may have idealized in the interim... and yet, not in any way that undermines the reality: that these two were made to be together. a heart breaking tale of lost love that yet holds out a hope that is left for the audience to take. spare, beautiful and real, the film succeeds entirely on the skills and charisma of this truly unique collaborative knit together under linklater. great movie. if you have someone special to go with, take them. if not, go anyway and be prepared to feel again. p.s. greatest last lines since 'say anything'.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyA.Aug 11, 2004
I was so genuinely touched by this movie. The honesty and sincerety of the writing is unlike anything I've seen in a long time. What an amazing collaborative effort this was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulD.Aug 10, 2004
Terrific script--romantic, yet revealing. Julie Delpy is simply wonderful. Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeB.Aug 14, 2004
It is the the kind of movie you think about days after. everyone seemed to miss the picture of celine and the grandma after she said she died. So why wasnt she there in Vienna.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldVSep 7, 2004
I was completely hypnotised by these two utterly utterly believable characters. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OltjonD.Dec 2, 2005
It's wonderful, and also a great story narrated in a great way. So romantic that cannot be described.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mariakJan 8, 2005
It was beautifully written and very honest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyFeb 10, 2005
Very good movie. Even better if you have seen before sunrise. It's not really a date movie as much as an observational one, of which we all know how these characters feel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
markw.Feb 17, 2005
I'm hoping for a same kind of intervention after watching this film! 9 years is a long time, but maybe love is worth the wait.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TLSuttonFeb 6, 2005
Although I strongly recommend seeing "Before Sunrise" before seeing this one, it can and does stand alone. If you like free-ranging, witty, observant and emotional conversation, you'll love this picture. If not, then not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AAndrewsMar 5, 2005
Beautiful. Sensual. Emotional. Perfect. It will blow you away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
blownawayMay 7, 2005
People who didn't find it beautiful just probably haven felt love in that surreal way... the whole show, the dialogues and the unspoken feelings just blows you away... definately one of my best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdisonF.Apr 6, 2006
I love this movie because there's a girl like Celine in my life. I could not be with her because I will go abroad this fall. What a pity! I hate reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YssysG.Feb 7, 2008
The ending it's just perfect!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CY.May 3, 2008
Strange hybrid of incandescent emotions and real life messiness; sublime yet grounded dialogue; and the most unabashedly romantic slice of life cinema since Brief Encounter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MimiW.Oct 12, 2004
Brilliant!! The best love story i have ever seen so far......good play by Ethan & Julie which create a powerful chemistry between them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceH.Jul 12, 2004
All the critics seem to be going on and on about the ending of this movie...and for the first time, I have to agree. The last 10 minutes of this film, not to give anything away, is the some of the most beautiful & poignant screenwriting and All the critics seem to be going on and on about the ending of this movie...and for the first time, I have to agree. The last 10 minutes of this film, not to give anything away, is the some of the most beautiful & poignant screenwriting and acting this year. The last line uttered by Jesse is brilliant and very fitting. Any fans of the first film (or especially fans of the biggest influence of the film, French director Eric Rohmer) will be hugely impressed by this supremely romantic and assured film, made by a master filmmaker in the making (Linklater has already proven himself to be a better filmmaker than overrated American directors like Tarantino & Fincher). I have seen close to 80 movies so far in 2004, and this is the best (with Eternal Sunshine... in close 2nd). All cinema lovers should see this, and if you don't like it, don't complain and go buy a ticket for "White Chicks". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianeC.Jul 19, 2004
I adored this movie. Can I look forward to a Trilogy?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jul 23, 2004
If you love "Before Sunset", this might interest you. Leonard Cohen wrote a song called "Take This Waltz", and the opening lyric is "Now in Vienna, there's ten pretty women..." You will really understand the degree to which Celine If you love "Before Sunset", this might interest you. Leonard Cohen wrote a song called "Take This Waltz", and the opening lyric is "Now in Vienna, there's ten pretty women..." You will really understand the degree to which Celine regrets not meeting up with Jesse in Italy. "Take This Waltz" is incredibly romantic, and as she listened to the album "I'm Your Man", Cohen's majestic lyrics conjured images of dancing in Vienna and "Hungarian lanterns in the midst of some sweet afternoon," to trigger a regret that inspired release in songwriting. Celine realizes that Jesse was "The Man". There's more to "A Waltz for the Night" that meets the ears, but Delpy's song is pretty terrific in its own right. There's nothing pretentious about her heart. "Tape" was the Ethan Hawke Show. "Before Sunset" is the Julie Delpy Show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveHJul 31, 2004
No Hollywood tripe or drivel. This is as honest as it gets - very natural and believable. A veritable masterpiece - and this is from someone who loves has a disinclination for even the better "chick flicks" like Serindipity, Bridget Jones No Hollywood tripe or drivel. This is as honest as it gets - very natural and believable. A veritable masterpiece - and this is from someone who loves has a disinclination for even the better "chick flicks" like Serindipity, Bridget Jones Dialry and Hope Floats and prefers the likes of Alien and Independence Day. I did like Lost In Translation though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jul 3, 2004
Wonderful-This is even BETTER than Before Sunrise. This will be one of this year's best films. Just terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillM.Jan 12, 2005
I thought this was one of the all time best date films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyM.Oct 31, 2005
I loved watching this movie...It is a pure art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sophiecFeb 16, 2005
Fantastic - can't wait for the next instalment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkbarJ.Feb 21, 2005
You don't want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Ni444Feb 28, 2005
The most beutifully directed movie ever!! The dialogues... just take ur breath away..!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
eternalsunshineApr 16, 2005
One of the best films, I ever saw - or 100 times saw. I love the dialouges, the song, the poem in Vienna, the memories of their childhoods, every single word. And it wasn't only a one-night stand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BBMay 13, 2005
So well written and played!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.May 9, 2005
Two people in search of romantic closure. A little spotty on the moral compass implications that would arise after such a long separation, but genuine as far as it goes. All is revealed in a stroll through the Latin Quarter of Paris, with Two people in search of romantic closure. A little spotty on the moral compass implications that would arise after such a long separation, but genuine as far as it goes. All is revealed in a stroll through the Latin Quarter of Paris, with awesome sound work that crisply captures the dialogue as the action moves in long takes through live settings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaH.Jun 24, 2005
I loved this movie. It emulates me and too many of us who are lost. The characters are so real, beautiful. So honest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinF.Jul 16, 2005
I just saw both movies in a row yeasterday and thought they were awesome, in before sunset the acting and directing are trying to make a point about their connection, we all know what that connection is all about, it's beyond words or I just saw both movies in a row yeasterday and thought they were awesome, in before sunset the acting and directing are trying to make a point about their connection, we all know what that connection is all about, it's beyond words or even physical expression, they don't share a kiss or say I love you in the whole movie...but their looks, the sexual tension (specially when they are going upstaris to her apartment are great) just loved it, thought it was as simple and as complex as it needed to be...their acwardness in the first minutes until everything pops back up to the surfece and passion and all sorts of feelings from then on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SomethingSep 10, 2005
A masterpiece! Linklater is a genius! Entertainment like this is rare because it is at once provocative, funny, and breathtaking. Those who don't appreciate it know little about what cinema really is. One of the finest stories ever told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MandaSep 15, 2005
This movie is lovely. A friend and I stumbled upon Before Sunrise when we were maybe fifteen and we rented obsessively, never knowing anyone but us had ever even heard of the little film. When I saw they were doing a follow-up, I was This movie is lovely. A friend and I stumbled upon Before Sunrise when we were maybe fifteen and we rented obsessively, never knowing anyone but us had ever even heard of the little film. When I saw they were doing a follow-up, I was intrigued. I hadn't seen the first film in almost a decade, so seeing the characters again, years later, just as they were seeing each other again after so much time had passed was surreal. I would suggest anyone just coming upon these films watch one immediately and then hold off a month or two- sit with it for awhile before viewing the follow-up. It'll put you in their shoes a bit, in the best possible way. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BedyMar 13, 2006
Thise is a romantic movie that must be seen. Its about two peaple who met 9 years ago and can´t forget about each other . Then they meet again 9 years later, and have only a few hours to realize that. It´s a very romantic story Thise is a romantic movie that must be seen. Its about two peaple who met 9 years ago and can´t forget about each other . Then they meet again 9 years later, and have only a few hours to realize that. It´s a very romantic story that is a bit unrealistic, and it is very different from other romantic movies since its only diallogue. Peaple who need action aren´t going to enjoye thise one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
P.S.Mar 22, 2006
Simply the best film of Linklater, at least so far. So simple, so real, so sincere. You can only love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Aug 28, 2006
I loved this flic almost as much as the prequel Before Sunrise. Is it possible that the rating given to the pair of movies is simply a reflection of our own romanticism? By the way. I'm an old fogie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnaC.May 17, 2007
A very captivating and interesting story. Celine's personality suites a woman's emotions and points of view. Hidding the emotions first, then bursting it all out when you're too overwhelmed by your emotions. You can't A very captivating and interesting story. Celine's personality suites a woman's emotions and points of view. Hidding the emotions first, then bursting it all out when you're too overwhelmed by your emotions. You can't appreciate the story if you won't put your full attention to into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.G.Jun 19, 2007
It is very clear from the wording of comments that rating is directly related to level of intellectualism and an experience of real sensational love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VianW.Aug 27, 2007
A Very clever - Romantic movie i ever saw, this movie tells a lot about the connection, meaning of love without a single 'I Love u' word, but we feel a lot of emotion and love experience from the start till the end. Standing A Very clever - Romantic movie i ever saw, this movie tells a lot about the connection, meaning of love without a single 'I Love u' word, but we feel a lot of emotion and love experience from the start till the end. Standing applause fo RIchard Linklater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MitchM.Dec 7, 2004
As I squirmed through the first 40 minutes of this updated, real-time, MyDinnerWithAndre, with the incessant chatter, opinion, small talk, catching up ... I wondered where it was going. The 2nd half shifts abruptly and gathers momentum as As I squirmed through the first 40 minutes of this updated, real-time, MyDinnerWithAndre, with the incessant chatter, opinion, small talk, catching up ... I wondered where it was going. The 2nd half shifts abruptly and gathers momentum as the characters realize that their time together is fleeting, and there are issues unresolved, building to a crescendo, then a perfect ending that tosses the "ending" back in the viewers lap to ponder and reflect on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BuniT.Jul 12, 2004
I enjoyed the movie while watching it, but what surprised me most is that I keep thinking about it long after. With such critical acclaim, why aren't people flocking to the theater to watch this movie? This movie really left an imprint I enjoyed the movie while watching it, but what surprised me most is that I keep thinking about it long after. With such critical acclaim, why aren't people flocking to the theater to watch this movie? This movie really left an imprint on my heart and reminded me of the joys of romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcK.Jul 21, 2004
My "7" shows that I think this is a movie worth seeing, but I fail to agree with the near-universal critical slobbering this film has received. I definitely agree this film is similar to "My Dinner With Andre", which I didn't care for My "7" shows that I think this is a movie worth seeing, but I fail to agree with the near-universal critical slobbering this film has received. I definitely agree this film is similar to "My Dinner With Andre", which I didn't care for very much (but I digress). I think the film starts out slow and boring, but builds momentum as the generic pleasantries finally progress to more meaningful feelings. One criticism though: The lyrics to Delpy's "Waltz" song at the end seemed just a bit too contrived for the movie. Wouldn't she just sing that song to him anyway rather than have him choose it off of the "generic" Waltz term? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SethP.Jul 21, 2004
The end. Apparently, for some not too bright people (and critics), the end is too vague and open-ended. Frustrating, it says in several of the reviews. Did you watch Before Sunrise? What would you have expected based on that movie? All I The end. Apparently, for some not too bright people (and critics), the end is too vague and open-ended. Frustrating, it says in several of the reviews. Did you watch Before Sunrise? What would you have expected based on that movie? All I could say when the credits came up at the end was "right on". It was a perfect ending. As for David F.'s 0 rating - don't let it discourage you from seeing the movie. But don't go in expecting Spiderman. And, just so you know, I can't stand pretentious crap, even when some of my film geek friends call me an idiot for not liking something. If you liked the first movie, I think you'll like this one. If not, then probably not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyTSep 27, 2004
I saw this film over 3 months ago at the Auckland film festival. And yet here I am scrolling thru Metacritic reading reviews trying to recapture the magic of those 80 minutes! Everything about this movie, and especially its ending, haunts I saw this film over 3 months ago at the Auckland film festival. And yet here I am scrolling thru Metacritic reading reviews trying to recapture the magic of those 80 minutes! Everything about this movie, and especially its ending, haunts me. Perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChileHJan 25, 2005
It's sad when people don't like dialogue in their movies. This is one of the best movies of the last 10 years (as is Before Sunrise). I didn't want it to end. I could watch these two talk all night. If you like to see things It's sad when people don't like dialogue in their movies. This is one of the best movies of the last 10 years (as is Before Sunrise). I didn't want it to end. I could watch these two talk all night. If you like to see things blow up, don't go. and don't post a review of this movie. It's not for you. If your girlfriend had to drag you along, maybe she'll find a nicer, more intelligent, and thoughtful guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MWinegarJan 31, 2005
I loved the first film, and found the second one was unbelievably even better than the first. I was thrilled to find out that the two actors and the director co-wrote the film together. The real time aspect worked very well, making me feel I loved the first film, and found the second one was unbelievably even better than the first. I was thrilled to find out that the two actors and the director co-wrote the film together. The real time aspect worked very well, making me feel physically what the characters were feeling as their inner longing is gradually revealed during their short time together. The way they put off that last moment of goodbye as long as possible is excruciating, but it feels good to be so hooked into a movie and feeling what the characters are feeling in real time. During the moments in her apt., where he looks at the pictures on her bulletin board, you feel how much they still have to discover about each other, how their conversation could go on and on... and you feel like they do, absolutely robbed of this opportunity. Still, my husband and I had no doubt that finally, they ended up together. I thought it was great that when she agreed to sing a song, she gave him three choices, including "the one about my cat" and "the waltz", and he knew to ask her to sing the one she hesitated about. That's where he would find ouf what she was still holding back. I was afraid that the movie would make me really sad, but it didn't. Halfway through the film, before you know whether they might end up together or not, Celine says something about never getting over someone she has loved, how each person has these specific details, the memories of which never leave her. That moment felt good, because I wanted to see both characters acknowledge that the connection between them had been real, no matter how their relationship turned out. It was interesting because I have known these characters for years, as long as they had supposedly known each other, and have grown and changed in my thoughts about romance, life, etc. during that time as the actors/characters/writers all had. Again the real time aspect enhanced my experience. I liked the more mature Jesse, who, as the gypsy woman said, in the first movie was "still learning!" Nobody is doing dialogue that sounds as real as this film. Much less contrived as, say, "Clerks," (which I enjoyed in spite of the fact that it was too fast and too smart to sound "real.") This film felt absolutely real to me every moment. Pretentious? I don't get that at all. I must be one of the pretentious people, since I've had a lot of conversations that sound like this. How can a movie be so smart, so real, so non-sentimental, and so - sweet, all at the same time. Sigh! What a fulfilling cinematic experience! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianL.May 19, 2005
I really loved this movie. It affected me emotionally. It's amazing how much you get to know the characters in a short period of time. I think my favorite part of the movie was the fact that there seemed to be so much unsaid between the I really loved this movie. It affected me emotionally. It's amazing how much you get to know the characters in a short period of time. I think my favorite part of the movie was the fact that there seemed to be so much unsaid between the characters but you could sense there was more going on than meets the eye. I found myself truly loving Julie Delpy, or rather her character. I was almost sad to see the movie end and wanting to see the happy ending. I replayed the ending a few times looking for clues of what might really happen. I hope that a third installment is made. Part of me wanted to know what happened at the end but the other half of me thought it was best left to the audiences own device. I would highly recommend this movie. C'est l'amour n'est pas? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SWilsonNov 21, 2007
classic. unique. real. I understand why your standard movie goer wouldn't get what they wanted out of this movie, and there's nothing wrong with that...but luckily I'm not that kind of person. If you're introspective and classic. unique. real. I understand why your standard movie goer wouldn't get what they wanted out of this movie, and there's nothing wrong with that...but luckily I'm not that kind of person. If you're introspective and extrospective about the world, this movie will work for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DLJan 15, 2008
This movie is absolutely amazing, I don't know what C.M. saw but I think it should get $4 worth of brain cells.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJFeb 15, 2008
A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the decision to shoot the film in real-time in around 1.5 hours was very wise. It would have been impossible to capture the original magic of a full night, but this sequel has a different, more focused feel that fits where the characters are. And, I found the ending profoundly satisfying. It creeps up on you. Great! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SandeepDSep 13, 2009
This is one of the movie which peers the life of the individual effortlessly.You know while watching this movie I have bring back everything from my past.this is really breathtaking. Great done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.IllidgeNov 14, 2004
Perfect, from beginning to end to beginning again. Consider that, romance aside, these two people are worlds apart in their innermost propensities as ideals (he to unconditional committment--she to unconditional freedom), it's doubtful Perfect, from beginning to end to beginning again. Consider that, romance aside, these two people are worlds apart in their innermost propensities as ideals (he to unconditional committment--she to unconditional freedom), it's doubtful an 'external' bond would have survived their individual journeys had they re-met as promised and tried to 'make it' work. Now, they can find balance with each other from their accomplished extremes -- with romance as an oasis of middle ground -- again for the time. But how they will return to their lives, or stay together (without forsaking who they 'are' in either case) is another story-- and the perfect ending for this one. It gives us an opportunity to ponder whether life is, at every moment complete and perfect beyond our vision or wisdom -- if we are 'unconditioned' enough to accept it --and then let it go.... P.S. Those who hated the movie because it did not end in sex don't stand a chance. (smile). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeanS.Nov 29, 2004
You will either love or hate this fil. It is different. IT is really a film adapted from a bok. A lot of talk just striaght out from a novel. I like it it. I saw the fist film and they used the same actors in this film. The author takes a You will either love or hate this fil. It is different. IT is really a film adapted from a bok. A lot of talk just striaght out from a novel. I like it it. I saw the fist film and they used the same actors in this film. The author takes a subject and looks at "What if? about a summer romance between a man and a woman who meet years later. It will be intresting to see the third installment when they are older and look back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonW.Dec 12, 2005
I was so glad I saw this before I saw Before Sunrise. It is a much better movie. It probably didn't even need the original. People who don't like this movie are too lazy to work for it's rewards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelM.Dec 26, 2009
I rented this based solely upon the rating on this site. Truly, it was a unique story, though a bit slow off the mark. It came around enough for us to recommend, yes. The gal is compelling, the dialogue quite believable. The story involving I rented this based solely upon the rating on this site. Truly, it was a unique story, though a bit slow off the mark. It came around enough for us to recommend, yes. The gal is compelling, the dialogue quite believable. The story involving a "real-time" visit was very intriguing. The ending certainly left us to wonder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
happydolphinApr 18, 2013
I re-watched both 'Sunrise' and 'Sunset' in preparation for 'Before Midnight'. 'Sunset' is my favourite of the two, perhaps the most beautifully romantic movie of all time! Kudos to the director that makes himself invisible and reels you inI re-watched both 'Sunrise' and 'Sunset' in preparation for 'Before Midnight'. 'Sunset' is my favourite of the two, perhaps the most beautifully romantic movie of all time! Kudos to the director that makes himself invisible and reels you in with his skill and kudos to the actors that absolutely make you fall in love with and root for them! What strikes me is how each time I watch this movie, I discover something new relatable in the conversation. And then there are the questions! Is duty more important than authenticity? Is time relevant? Is love worth the risk? The price? What does it mean being mature and responsible? Are the choices we make truly our own or is fate and circumstance the defining factor? I find Jesse to be the more hopeful about life in this round, in spite of his miserable marriage and Celine the more vulnerable in spite of all the armour she has built over the years to avoid pain. The boat and the car scene are for me among the most memorable moments I have ever experienced at the movies. The ending could not have been more fitting and perfect, but somehow I have no doubt about the outcome, he has no choice but to miss that plane. Can't wait to listen in on another walk and talk of these two in a month or so in 'Before Midnight'. Am I a goofball or what! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews