Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: July 2, 2004
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
308
Mixed:
14
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
KristinSep 21, 2005
I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is willing to walk out on his wife and 4 year old son for a fantasy relationship with a woman he has known for 9 hours.? Its disgusting, spineless and utterly selfish. Ethan Hwake's character needs to hurry home, help his wife with the dishes and take his son to tee ball. Delpy needs to stick with unmarried men and maybe volunteer caring for infants at a maternity ward or something. It seems to me that we should be cheering couples with children on rather than telling stories that romanticize abandoning one's family. Am I the only one who finds this profoundly disturbing? Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
2
MichaelD.Apr 3, 2006
Bought this DVD as saw it reviewed and favourably compared with 'Trainspotting' Alas it is light years away from the very good aforementioned flick. Possibly the most dreary, uninteresting movie my girlfriend and I have watched. Bought this DVD as saw it reviewed and favourably compared with 'Trainspotting' Alas it is light years away from the very good aforementioned flick. Possibly the most dreary, uninteresting movie my girlfriend and I have watched. Paris outshines the human cast in this movie. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
SamJ.Jan 7, 2005
Perhaps the most overated film of all-time! A dull, pompous and egotistical dialogue between two hopeless bores. It reeks of self-importance, but it goes nowhere.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
C.M.Sep 25, 2007
Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for something that is missing in their own lives. It is sad that so many reviewers mislabel an atrocious waste of film such as this as 'Art' and 'Romantic'. I feel like I have been robbed of an evening of my time and $4 DVD rental fee. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
DavidF.Jul 21, 2004
Talk about groupthink, what's everybody been smoking on this one? An exceedingly boring, talking heads, ain't I grand piece of garbage.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
NeilR.Jul 30, 2004
This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times before - and, guess what? They were all better. That said, it's superior to 'Sunrise'. At least I didn't walk out of this one! Maybe they got back together? Maybe they didn't? I stopped caring in the bookshop. In a word: 'shallow'. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
Clives.Aug 18, 2005
Boring Boring. A couple walking down a Paris street have a long conversation.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
KoreyE.Dec 27, 2004
A chick flick with out the flick- this should have only become a book. sorry.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
WestonC.Oct 31, 2005
Boring oh so boring, no climax and seems to be the cheapest movie ever made.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
LSNov 27, 2006
Worst movie I have ever seen. What is the point of this movie?
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ElleR.Apr 13, 2006
This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It was painfully boring.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
OshayneG.May 21, 2007
The movie is really different and monotonous being no exception. It doesn't progress, I'd recommend this to old people!
0 of 5 users found this helpful
0
TShawNov 14, 2004
This movie is really unintelligent. If you like watching boring dialog between two ignoramouses, rent this movie.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NikC.Dec 18, 2004
I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring that I would have been more interested in playing with a calcified poo. This movie is as bad as it gets and people who say it is good are either really old or without any real love in their lives. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroMar 21, 2011
I fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it wouldI fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it would be annihilated by the incredible amount of senseless words that come out of their mouths. The whole movie reminded me of two girls, or two housewifes, talking to each other. You see it every day. They talk for hours, and every man wonders: how can a person talk so much ? In addition, and that is what I was thinking during the entire movie, every man simply wants to scream: SHUT UP !!! Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
3
SmileATTJan 24, 2015
The idea of the movie wasn't bad but the actors and were painfully bad i mean french woman with no french accent and a retardet writer who try to hit on her maybe im not sure maybe he is trying to be friendly .The hole idea just walking andThe idea of the movie wasn't bad but the actors and were painfully bad i mean french woman with no french accent and a retardet writer who try to hit on her maybe im not sure maybe he is trying to be friendly .The hole idea just walking and talking just don't get it . Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews