User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 295 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 295
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Astonishing. Not just incredibly well-written and wonderfully engaging - you never feel like it's film because there is always a great sense of reality to it.
    Amazing.
  2. YssysG.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    The ending it's just perfect!
  3. MWinegar
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    I loved the first film, and found the second one was unbelievably even better than the first. I was thrilled to find out that the two actors and the director co-wrote the film together. The real time aspect worked very well, making me feel physically what the characters were feeling as their inner longing is gradually revealed during their short time together. The way they put off that I loved the first film, and found the second one was unbelievably even better than the first. I was thrilled to find out that the two actors and the director co-wrote the film together. The real time aspect worked very well, making me feel physically what the characters were feeling as their inner longing is gradually revealed during their short time together. The way they put off that last moment of goodbye as long as possible is excruciating, but it feels good to be so hooked into a movie and feeling what the characters are feeling in real time. During the moments in her apt., where he looks at the pictures on her bulletin board, you feel how much they still have to discover about each other, how their conversation could go on and on... and you feel like they do, absolutely robbed of this opportunity. Still, my husband and I had no doubt that finally, they ended up together. I thought it was great that when she agreed to sing a song, she gave him three choices, including "the one about my cat" and "the waltz", and he knew to ask her to sing the one she hesitated about. That's where he would find ouf what she was still holding back. I was afraid that the movie would make me really sad, but it didn't. Halfway through the film, before you know whether they might end up together or not, Celine says something about never getting over someone she has loved, how each person has these specific details, the memories of which never leave her. That moment felt good, because I wanted to see both characters acknowledge that the connection between them had been real, no matter how their relationship turned out. It was interesting because I have known these characters for years, as long as they had supposedly known each other, and have grown and changed in my thoughts about romance, life, etc. during that time as the actors/characters/writers all had. Again the real time aspect enhanced my experience. I liked the more mature Jesse, who, as the gypsy woman said, in the first movie was "still learning!" Nobody is doing dialogue that sounds as real as this film. Much less contrived as, say, "Clerks," (which I enjoyed in spite of the fact that it was too fast and too smart to sound "real.") This film felt absolutely real to me every moment. Pretentious? I don't get that at all. I must be one of the pretentious people, since I've had a lot of conversations that sound like this. How can a movie be so smart, so real, so non-sentimental, and so - sweet, all at the same time. Sigh! What a fulfilling cinematic experience! Expand
  4. CJ
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the decision to shoot the film in real-time in around 1.5 hours was very wise. It would have been impossible to capture the original magic of a full night, but A profoundly satisfying follow up on the original (which you should definitely watch first). Although some of the conversation is just cute, at several points the characters expressed insights that I could relate to. I also think the decision to shoot the film in real-time in around 1.5 hours was very wise. It would have been impossible to capture the original magic of a full night, but this sequel has a different, more focused feel that fits where the characters are. And, I found the ending profoundly satisfying. It creeps up on you. Great! Expand
  5. MarcK.
    Jul 21, 2004
    7
    My "7" shows that I think this is a movie worth seeing, but I fail to agree with the near-universal critical slobbering this film has received. I definitely agree this film is similar to "My Dinner With Andre", which I didn't care for very much (but I digress). I think the film starts out slow and boring, but builds momentum as the generic pleasantries finally progress to more My "7" shows that I think this is a movie worth seeing, but I fail to agree with the near-universal critical slobbering this film has received. I definitely agree this film is similar to "My Dinner With Andre", which I didn't care for very much (but I digress). I think the film starts out slow and boring, but builds momentum as the generic pleasantries finally progress to more meaningful feelings. One criticism though: The lyrics to Delpy's "Waltz" song at the end seemed just a bit too contrived for the movie. Wouldn't she just sing that song to him anyway rather than have him choose it off of the "generic" Waltz term? Expand
  6. Kristin
    Sep 21, 2005
    2
    I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is willing to walk out on his wife and 4 year old son for a fantasy relationship with a woman he has known for 9 hours.? Its disgusting, spineless and I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is willing to walk out on his wife and 4 year old son for a fantasy relationship with a woman he has known for 9 hours.? Its disgusting, spineless and utterly selfish. Ethan Hwake's character needs to hurry home, help his wife with the dishes and take his son to tee ball. Delpy needs to stick with unmarried men and maybe volunteer caring for infants at a maternity ward or something. It seems to me that we should be cheering couples with children on rather than telling stories that romanticize abandoning one's family. Am I the only one who finds this profoundly disturbing? Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    4
    I am amazed that people have the same response to this film as they do to Before Sunrise. My experience was the polar opposite of the one I had with the first film in this series. The dialogue in Before Sunrise was fresh, romantic, and funny. The characters were endearing, I cared what happened to them and I wanted them to be together. In Before Sunset the characters have become jaded.I am amazed that people have the same response to this film as they do to Before Sunrise. My experience was the polar opposite of the one I had with the first film in this series. The dialogue in Before Sunrise was fresh, romantic, and funny. The characters were endearing, I cared what happened to them and I wanted them to be together. In Before Sunset the characters have become jaded. They have white people problems. Life just is not turning out how they had hoped. They have good jobs, and people who love them but it is not enough. They want the romance back in their life, for things to be new again. Where in the first film it felt like they respected each others opinion, they were free to disagree without judgement. Here it feels as though they are preaching at each other. I'm right because my experiences dictate that I'm right. Your opinions are less valuable then mine because you don't have the same worldly experiences as me. These are certainly not unusually drawn characters for 30 somethings with similar cultural backgrounds, and are probably accurate more times than not. However spending an hour and a half with no one but these two people was not the pleasure it was the first time around, and at times was insufferable.

    My respect for Hawke's character lessens even further in the third act when he begins to talk about his marriage. This is not a spoiler as we are to notice his ring right away and frequently throughout the first half. It is obvious he values little of the institution he has entered into, and instead has taken the typical modern approach to his vows. Perhaps and likely all of my issues with the film are Linklater's point. Perhaps these are typical views for people their age. my problem is I spent the first film with unique people. Characters who were looking at the world differently, with compassion and understanding. I couldn't wait to spend time with those people again. Those people are gone.
    Expand
  8. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2006
    2
    Bought this DVD as saw it reviewed and favourably compared with 'Trainspotting' Alas it is light years away from the very good aforementioned flick. Possibly the most dreary, uninteresting movie my girlfriend and I have watched. Paris outshines the human cast in this movie.
  9. SamJ.
    Jan 7, 2005
    0
    Perhaps the most overated film of all-time! A dull, pompous and egotistical dialogue between two hopeless bores. It reeks of self-importance, but it goes nowhere.
  10. C.M.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for something that is missing in their own lives. It is sad that so many reviewers mislabel an atrocious waste of film such as this as 'Art' and Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for something that is missing in their own lives. It is sad that so many reviewers mislabel an atrocious waste of film such as this as 'Art' and 'Romantic'. I feel like I have been robbed of an evening of my time and $4 DVD rental fee. Expand
  11. DavidF.
    Jul 21, 2004
    0
    Talk about groupthink, what's everybody been smoking on this one? An exceedingly boring, talking heads, ain't I grand piece of garbage.
  12. NeilR.
    Jul 30, 2004
    2
    This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times before - and, guess what? They were all better. That said, it's superior to 'Sunrise'. At least I didn't walk out of this one! This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times before - and, guess what? They were all better. That said, it's superior to 'Sunrise'. At least I didn't walk out of this one! Maybe they got back together? Maybe they didn't? I stopped caring in the bookshop. In a word: 'shallow'. Expand
  13. GingerL.
    May 28, 2005
    4
    Like his "Before Sunrise," Linklater's egostistical, superifical, pseudo-intellectual "Before Sunset" is both boring and embarrassing. You feel the director straining so hard to convey himself (through his characters) to us as smart and profound. Linklater directs his characters as ham-handedly as a puppetmaster, having them mouth awkward, faux-deep, "meaningful" lines and--it Like his "Before Sunrise," Linklater's egostistical, superifical, pseudo-intellectual "Before Sunset" is both boring and embarrassing. You feel the director straining so hard to convey himself (through his characters) to us as smart and profound. Linklater directs his characters as ham-handedly as a puppetmaster, having them mouth awkward, faux-deep, "meaningful" lines and--it appears in Hawke's case--doing an impersonation of Linklater (either that or Ethan Hawke is a worse actor than I thought). Linklater has created some good films. And the Before series is great in concept, but in reality his thoughts on life, love, living truly are neither original nor thought-provoking--and the audience is supposed to think they are. It's like hearing your precocious 15-year-old neice go on and on about her figuring out the meaning of life. One reviewer above suggests this would have been better as a book than a movie. I'm not 100% sure if that's true, but maybe the dialogue would flow better if not spoken aloud. As it was, I was squirming with embarrassment at the bad directing and puerile, pretentious philosophizing for most of the flick. Expand
  14. Clives.
    Aug 18, 2005
    1
    Boring Boring. A couple walking down a Paris street have a long conversation.
  15. KoreyE.
    Dec 27, 2004
    3
    A chick flick with out the flick- this should have only become a book. sorry.
  16. MikeS.
    Jan 24, 2005
    5
    This whole movie, has two actors talking to each other for 80mins!!! now some people find this boring, like me.
  17. WestonC.
    Oct 31, 2005
    1
    Boring oh so boring, no climax and seems to be the cheapest movie ever made.
  18. LS
    Nov 27, 2006
    1
    Worst movie I have ever seen. What is the point of this movie?
  19. ElleR.
    Apr 13, 2006
    0
    This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It was painfully boring.
  20. OshayneG.
    May 21, 2007
    2
    The movie is really different and monotonous being no exception. It doesn't progress, I'd recommend this to old people!
  21. TShaw
    Nov 14, 2004
    0
    This movie is really unintelligent. If you like watching boring dialog between two ignoramouses, rent this movie.
  22. NikC.
    Dec 18, 2004
    0
    I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring that I would have been more interested in playing with a calcified poo. This movie is as bad as it gets and people who say it is good are either really I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring that I would have been more interested in playing with a calcified poo. This movie is as bad as it gets and people who say it is good are either really old or without any real love in their lives. Expand
  23. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    I fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it would be annihilated by the incredible amount of senseless words that come out of their mouths. The whole movie reminded me of two girls, or two housewifes,I fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it would be annihilated by the incredible amount of senseless words that come out of their mouths. The whole movie reminded me of two girls, or two housewifes, talking to each other. You see it every day. They talk for hours, and every man wonders: how can a person talk so much ? In addition, and that is what I was thinking during the entire movie, every man simply wants to scream: SHUT UP !!! Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2015
    3
    The idea of the movie wasn't bad but the actors and were painfully bad i mean french woman with no french accent and a retardet writer who try to hit on her maybe im not sure maybe he is trying to be friendly .The hole idea just walking and talking just don't get it .
  25. JohnP.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    Truly worth the wait. Movies can't get any better than this! A hopeless romantic's dream come true. Truly, for all of us that have been in love.
  26. RShaw
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    How utterly strange that a movie with average acting can be so enthralling and loaded with truth and truthful moments. Something about Hawke and Delpy's acting remind me of Christopher Reeve at his best, not quite convincing but very much charming. Yet there is a kernel of verisimilitude about the nature of love in this movie that is so fresh in execution and so powerful in the end How utterly strange that a movie with average acting can be so enthralling and loaded with truth and truthful moments. Something about Hawke and Delpy's acting remind me of Christopher Reeve at his best, not quite convincing but very much charming. Yet there is a kernel of verisimilitude about the nature of love in this movie that is so fresh in execution and so powerful in the end that it overwhelms any of this small movie's flaws. This is a film that rises about its humble exterior, becoming an instant classic on the subject of true love, shaming the collective triteness of mainstream Hollywood's offerings. Before Sunset caused me to think back on my own painful and repressed memories of love lost and won. I was deeply touched. Those that gave this movie a low score are probably the ones in life who can't see the heartrending beauty in life's less grandiose moments, and more likely have never experienced true love. But let me console you with this thought: You'll know it when you find it... or lose it. Expand
  27. StephenS.
    Aug 15, 2004
    9
    The two main characters have just met in Paris for the first time in about nine years. Hawke as the semi-famous writer goes off to have coffee with Delpy as the luminous French woman he loved and misplaced. Before you know it, you?re feeling all their emotions in real time as they twist and turn through the Parisian back streets in a real-time take. If, in real life, you?ve ever met and The two main characters have just met in Paris for the first time in about nine years. Hawke as the semi-famous writer goes off to have coffee with Delpy as the luminous French woman he loved and misplaced. Before you know it, you?re feeling all their emotions in real time as they twist and turn through the Parisian back streets in a real-time take. If, in real life, you?ve ever met and loved the love of your life, you can?t help but feel an extra frisson. Watch for the wonderful scene near the end where Delpy sings her song to Hawke, a song that she actually wrote (or is that improvised?) herself. If Richard Linklater can make such a fine movie just with a two-hander and some intelligent dialogue, why can?t it be done more often? Expand
  28. Rosseline
    Sep 9, 2004
    8
    I love a film where the words are the story and the characters are like people you'd meet on the street. Yet, like it's equally entrancing predeessor, the conversations are too many, and they blend into one another. Afterwords, they don't really have the grip you, or they, would like. Still, a beautiful film.
  29. PeterJ.
    Feb 1, 2005
    7
    While the movie started very slow and almost bored me into stopping it, it did eventually pick up and held me interest to the end. Although the ending does make you wonder if I have to wait 9 more years to see what happens?
  30. NirmalK.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Must see for everyone in relationship.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hanson
    80
    The sequel is an uninterrupted 80-minute dialogue between two richly imagined and performed characters.
  2. This is one of the most wildly romantic movies in ages.
  3. 75
    There is something uniquely unforgettable in the way Linklater, Hawke and Delpy (equal collaborators on the script) find nuance, art and eroticism in words, spoken and unspoken. The actors shine.