Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The timeless romantic story of two questing hearts and minds whose powerful bond defies time and place. [Warner Independent Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This is one of the most wildly romantic movies in ages.
  2. Romantic, real and as generous as it is vulnerable, the art of conversation has rarely been so acute, honest and revealing.
  3. The result is a peculiar small gem, a true Linklater gem. The verity of the film, rather than any novelty or twist, keeps us fixed.
  4. This is a romance with minimal physical contact and sex--and that's part of what makes it work so well as a love story.
  5. The ex-lovers' new conversation is stimulating and banal, selfish and broad-minded, affectionate and recriminatory, insightful and obtuse - in short, the kind of dialogue two people might have while pouring out their hearts and poring over their pasts.
  6. 88
    In the midst of summer's cinematic thunder and lightning, this is a rare moment of tranquility.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 91
  2. Negative: 16 out of 91
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Astonishing. Not just incredibly well-written and wonderfully engaging - you never feel like it's film because there is always a great senseAstonishing. Not just incredibly well-written and wonderfully engaging - you never feel like it's film because there is always a great sense of reality to it.
    Amazing.
    Expand
  2. DavidS.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    I loved this flic almost as much as the prequel Before Sunrise. Is it possible that the rating given to the pair of movies is simply a I loved this flic almost as much as the prequel Before Sunrise. Is it possible that the rating given to the pair of movies is simply a reflection of our own romanticism? By the way. I'm an old fogie. Expand
  3. DL
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing, I don't know what C.M. saw but I think it should get $4 worth of brain cells.
  4. P.S.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Simply the best film of Linklater, at least so far. So simple, so real, so sincere. You can only love it.
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Even better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. BeforeEven better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. This film cannot be missed. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    4
    I am amazed that people have the same response to this film as they do to Before Sunrise. My experience was the polar opposite of the one II am amazed that people have the same response to this film as they do to Before Sunrise. My experience was the polar opposite of the one I had with the first film in this series. The dialogue in Before Sunrise was fresh, romantic, and funny. The characters were endearing, I cared what happened to them and I wanted them to be together. In Before Sunset the characters have become jaded. They have white people problems. Life just is not turning out how they had hoped. They have good jobs, and people who love them but it is not enough. They want the romance back in their life, for things to be new again. Where in the first film it felt like they respected each others opinion, they were free to disagree without judgement. Here it feels as though they are preaching at each other. I'm right because my experiences dictate that I'm right. Your opinions are less valuable then mine because you don't have the same worldly experiences as me. These are certainly not unusually drawn characters for 30 somethings with similar cultural backgrounds, and are probably accurate more times than not. However spending an hour and a half with no one but these two people was not the pleasure it was the first time around, and at times was insufferable.

    My respect for Hawke's character lessens even further in the third act when he begins to talk about his marriage. This is not a spoiler as we are to notice his ring right away and frequently throughout the first half. It is obvious he values little of the institution he has entered into, and instead has taken the typical modern approach to his vows. Perhaps and likely all of my issues with the film are Linklater's point. Perhaps these are typical views for people their age. my problem is I spent the first film with unique people. Characters who were looking at the world differently, with compassion and understanding. I couldn't wait to spend time with those people again. Those people are gone.
    Expand
  7. ElleR.
    Apr 13, 2006
    0
    This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It was painfully boring.

See all 91 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.