thinkfilm | Release Date: October 26, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 358 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
292
Mixed:
35
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
PhilNFeb 20, 2008
A mystifyingly overrated film. The biggest flaw - which I found completely crippling - was that it was impossible to root for any of the characters. Attempts to justify the two leads' actions fall short (especially when it later becomes A mystifyingly overrated film. The biggest flaw - which I found completely crippling - was that it was impossible to root for any of the characters. Attempts to justify the two leads' actions fall short (especially when it later becomes clear an alternative was available), and as human beings they are simply despicable, exhibiting infantile selfishness and irresponsibility. Good film & TV (such as The Sopranos, There Will Be Blood) has shown us we can care deeply about monstrous people, or at least care about their fate, but this film fails to invoke any such feeling - I could have left half way through and would never have wondered about these two losers again. Furthermore, the plot is shaky and unconvincing and descends into hackneyed TV-movie gibberish toward the end. Albert Finney's character, who initially seems like the only glimmer of humanity and perhaps the movie's saving grace, unfortunately also turns into a cliche in his final - almost nonsensical - scenes. The non-linear, POV-switching storytelling is nothing more than a gimmick - nothing is revealed through these shifts, there's simply no reason for them to be there and they make the film needlessly cumbersome. The dreadful audio/visual effect that accompanies each shift is ugly and jarring, making them even more annoying. Positives: the film is nicely shot and the performances are good (but these too are overrated - the two great actors here, PSH and Finney, are coasting, nowhere near the height of their powers). The best thing is really the premise, which had potential but ultimately the film is a pointless waste of time and talent. Certainly not the worst film I've ever seen, but one I find impossible to recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
FDT44Feb 11, 2011
Another installment in the POV thriller, this one, packing more emotion and melodramatic "fluff" than anything seen on "General Hospital." The plot is innately simple and intriguing, but is suddenly contrived with non-linearity. On theAnother installment in the POV thriller, this one, packing more emotion and melodramatic "fluff" than anything seen on "General Hospital." The plot is innately simple and intriguing, but is suddenly contrived with non-linearity. On the upside, however, each scene is shot delicately, drawing great amounts of real-life feeling. Seymour delivers his usual, banal acting job, bailed out only by solid writing. The real firmness and direction is lead by Finney, whose genuinately is more than able and deserving. As for Tomei...well, what you see is what you get. Don't let me stray you from thinking any differently, the film is very well done: methodical, concise, and enlivening. The subtle undertones and suggestions are superb, the anticipation is live, the direction is vague, and the irony is delicious. The biggest quandary, though, Hollywood's obsession to aggrandize...I guess simpler isn't always better...? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
incognitoWhittakerNov 12, 2007
This film fools a lot of people because there is pretty good acting in it. Besides the acting and Marisa Tomei's new rack, this is just a bad picture. I don't understand why it got good reviews. It's tiresome, pointless This film fools a lot of people because there is pretty good acting in it. Besides the acting and Marisa Tomei's new rack, this is just a bad picture. I don't understand why it got good reviews. It's tiresome, pointless melodrama. Don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ET.Nov 14, 2007
All the female characters a bithces. All the men are losers. This is the first film I have walked out of!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
rbNov 24, 2007
Terrible. Do not step foot in that theater. This is the worst film I have ever seen in my life,( I don't think I have ever said that!) and I am an avid film buff. I can not imagine how the reviewers came to their ratings, the only thing Terrible. Do not step foot in that theater. This is the worst film I have ever seen in my life,( I don't think I have ever said that!) and I am an avid film buff. I can not imagine how the reviewers came to their ratings, the only thing I can imagine is either they were bought out, or are completely brainwashed and deluded in to thinking that dark pointless depressing stories equal depth. And it could not be farther from the truth. If you feel like seeing sad characters you don't care about do things that make you wretch, and leave feeling depressed, then go for it, otherwise, know this is the most over rated film on the planet. The reviewers were blinded by the director's fame and their misguided notion that grim stories equal edgy and profound, when that idea could not be more passe'. I should have followed the lead of the several people who walked out during the middle. BUYER BEWARE. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndrewS.Apr 21, 2008
This was a truly terrible movie. Everything about it from the cheesy look of the sets, to the awful soundtrack to the not so dramatic, unrealistic end, sucked. The plot line of regular guy in desperate times finds himself first compromising This was a truly terrible movie. Everything about it from the cheesy look of the sets, to the awful soundtrack to the not so dramatic, unrealistic end, sucked. The plot line of regular guy in desperate times finds himself first compromising himself a little bit, then ends up doing terrible things he never thought he was capable of, was tired and has been done. Don't be taken in by the acclaim on the jacket, this was a boring waste of 2 hours. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EldonApr 22, 2008
It's as bad as others here have already stated. I hated watching every minute of it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A superbly seductive and savagely satisfying crime melodrama that sizzles with brilliant performances fueled by an ingenious script.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
StevenK.Nov 4, 2007
While lurching from horror to horror that this family wreaks upon itself the affect curiously only decreases the pace and makes the movie seem longer.No great movie this. Great acting though from Hoffman makes it worth the ride.I don't While lurching from horror to horror that this family wreaks upon itself the affect curiously only decreases the pace and makes the movie seem longer.No great movie this. Great acting though from Hoffman makes it worth the ride.I don't understand those high ratings though.No player elicits any sympathy except the mother and I suspect if we knew her better we would hate her too. If the intent is to instill sheer disgust at the human condition it succeeds in a very unrealistic way because the characters are one dimensionally venal..Not since "Pan's Labyrinth" has unabashed critical acclaim been so misplaced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimR.Nov 4, 2007
Vastly over rated. no one in my group cared about anyone in the movie. yes the acting is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErichH.Nov 6, 2007
Lumet is back as slick as ever with a sexy, smart, crime-drama/family-study. Bravura turns by Ethan Hawke and Philip Seymour Hoffman. Top notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NatT.Nov 8, 2007
I have a art theatre and this is one of those films you know your audience will enjoy. I can't wait to open it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ClayS.Nov 9, 2007
This movie was an absolute bore. Nobody really gave a convincing performance, and the show-you-the-future-before-showing-the-past mechanism is evidenced as a way too milked approach that lends nothing to storyline. Good? Far from it. This movie was an absolute bore. Nobody really gave a convincing performance, and the show-you-the-future-before-showing-the-past mechanism is evidenced as a way too milked approach that lends nothing to storyline. Good? Far from it. Interesting? Maybe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyS.Nov 10, 2007
A outstanding piece of cinema with a first rate performance by phillip seymour hoffman and a great story told with a magicians touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkBNov 11, 2007
Ending was poorly handled, film lost steam the story between Gina and Andy was not told well enough, Gina needed more, while Hank and his wife's part in the movie really needed only the first scene with the addition of the kid asking Ending was poorly handled, film lost steam the story between Gina and Andy was not told well enough, Gina needed more, while Hank and his wife's part in the movie really needed only the first scene with the addition of the kid asking about the Lion King. Acting was first rate, writing and directing brought it down. Not using Marisa Tomei better - seeing her breasts was all they gave us - is the biggest misgiving that and flubbing an easy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chardamusNov 12, 2007
This is a meditation on Mens lives at its worst and tightest. Everyman knows this horror story. I was so glad when it was over and it wasn't my life. You can read this kind of story dailey in the newspapers, men leading secret, This is a meditation on Mens lives at its worst and tightest. Everyman knows this horror story. I was so glad when it was over and it wasn't my life. You can read this kind of story dailey in the newspapers, men leading secret, compulsive, unfeeling lives that lead them to do and act in ways they never thought they were capable of. This is a modern tragedy and depicts the oppression of men very well. See it if you dare. Baby. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackS.Nov 13, 2007
This is not a bad move. It's deifnitely better than most. The performances are great. And the direction is decent. But comparison's to Lumet's other works in his heyday (Dog Day Afternoon & Serpico) are completely off. Those This is not a bad move. It's deifnitely better than most. The performances are great. And the direction is decent. But comparison's to Lumet's other works in his heyday (Dog Day Afternoon & Serpico) are completely off. Those are classics. This is a good film of the moment and I can't imagine ever seeing it again because once you know the plot, the majority of the tension is gone. And in the end, I didn't care who lived or died. This is pretty similar to how I felt about characters in "The Departed". But in the case of that film, I felt more empathy with the characters and am still shocked at twists/turns in that film since the direction there was truly artful and well done. Happy to see Sidney Lumet still in control, but I feel people are praising this film more than it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberF.Nov 15, 2007
This film is incredible. The writing, the acting, the timing, the directing . . . everything, impeccable. Nothing I write here will even do it justice. But I will try, if everyone makes every effort to go and see this film. Lumet reveals the This film is incredible. The writing, the acting, the timing, the directing . . . everything, impeccable. Nothing I write here will even do it justice. But I will try, if everyone makes every effort to go and see this film. Lumet reveals the crucial moment in the first ten minutes, before you've had a chance to empathize with the characters or understand their motivations. That quickly changes, as the film cuts to the circumstances leading up to and after the event, a botched jewelery store robbery. And this is not your average robbery, which is part of what makes this film so captivating. Two down-and-out brothers, Andy and Hank, believe robbing their parent's jewelery store provides a quick fix to their looming problems, including Hank's (Ethan Hawke) child support payments and disdainful treatment from his ex-wife and daughter and Andy's (Phillip Seymour Hoffman) drug addictions, painful marriage and IRS trouble at work. When everything that can go wrong with the robbery does, viewers are left with the aftermath, which builds suspense, empathy and regret to a level no crime drama has ever reached. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamS.Nov 16, 2007
See it for the tatas. Great characters, great acting, great directing, but all overshadowed by Marisa Tomei's babilicious breastitude. If you only see one set of tatas this Christmas, see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EllenNov 16, 2007
Can't recommend this one. The plot is dark, the characters are unlikeable, and their motivations are so vaguely drawn you find yourself inventing reasons for their savage behavior. I have to think that the love this picture is getting Can't recommend this one. The plot is dark, the characters are unlikeable, and their motivations are so vaguely drawn you find yourself inventing reasons for their savage behavior. I have to think that the love this picture is getting from critics has more to do with respect for Sidney Lumet than it does for the film itself. There are a lot of dark dramas out there. Go see another one. (Rated 5 for acting and direction only; but those elements can't save this movie.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardW.Nov 17, 2007
Brilliantly envisioned and executed by a master craftsman with actors at the height of their game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FilmfanNov 18, 2007
I resented every moment of this film. Do yourself a big favor and read the Salon review and the reader reviews of Ellen, ET and Jim. I strongly suspect some of the positive User reviews were planted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Nov 19, 2007
I had a hard time rating this movie. It was a disturbing movie on many fronts. Movie starts with graphic sex scene and ends with a murder. The acting was excellent and the action suspenseful, but the time-shifting between the days was I had a hard time rating this movie. It was a disturbing movie on many fronts. Movie starts with graphic sex scene and ends with a murder. The acting was excellent and the action suspenseful, but the time-shifting between the days was distracting at best. This movie is definitely not for the squeamish or those embarrassed by nudity. The pathetic nature of the characters was unredeeming and I found it hard to empathize with the sons. Definitely not a first date movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarlNov 19, 2007
Great performances, masterful storytelling. This movie provoked more post-show dinner discussion and analysis than any other this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerNov 23, 2007
Baby boomer parents, 3 kids, and a tragedy. This is the most nightmarish scenario I could have ever dreamed up happening to a family like mine -- all I can say is I'm lucky to have escaped from, and rediscovered my family. The Baby boomer parents, 3 kids, and a tragedy. This is the most nightmarish scenario I could have ever dreamed up happening to a family like mine -- all I can say is I'm lucky to have escaped from, and rediscovered my family. The performances in this movie, especially an Oscar worthy one by PSH, are worth seeing by themselves. Go see this one and then clean your palate with this year's more lighthearted baby boomer + 3 kids + death in the family movie: The Darjeeling Limited. Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexP.Nov 24, 2007
Best Ensemble Acting I Have Ever Seen. Hoffman's work in particular is the stuff of legend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Nov 24, 2007
Regardless of its box office receipts, there's one thing you can always count on in a Sidney Lumet film, actors giving award worthy performances. In Before The Devil Knows You're Dead, Lumet can add Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ethan Regardless of its box office receipts, there's one thing you can always count on in a Sidney Lumet film, actors giving award worthy performances. In Before The Devil Knows You're Dead, Lumet can add Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ethan Hawke, Albert Finney and Marisa Tomei to his gallery of actors who do their best work under his midas touch. (18 acting Oscar nominations)The man is the Ever-ready bunny of directors, he just keeps going and going and if it says "A Film by Sidney Lumet", I'll keep going and going and... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
C.MooreNov 27, 2007
This movie was well made I suppose, but hardly seems a story worth telling in its portrayal of moral free fall. Things are shit in the beginning and just get shittier and shittier for all involved until the movie ends. I felt contaminated as This movie was well made I suppose, but hardly seems a story worth telling in its portrayal of moral free fall. Things are shit in the beginning and just get shittier and shittier for all involved until the movie ends. I felt contaminated as I left the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeakBNov 28, 2007
Very dark movie. It is good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewO.Dec 1, 2007
Great flick! I can't believe Lumet is 83 years old. You'll definitely enjoy this very well constructed thriller. Great performances from everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankF.Dec 1, 2007
Painful but fascinating cinema. Could not take eyes off screen. Fantastic acting by all. Not for the squeamish. Tradecraft in this film is a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JustynaP.Dec 3, 2007
I have seen movies with no other reason than that they were rated in the 80s-90s on Metacritic, and I've always ended up loving them too. Until this one. I have to agree with Ellen that the positive critic reviews are really directed I have seen movies with no other reason than that they were rated in the 80s-90s on Metacritic, and I've always ended up loving them too. Until this one. I have to agree with Ellen that the positive critic reviews are really directed more towards Lumet than towards the movie itself. I would not recommend the film to anyone - there are many better ones out there currently playing that are actually worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamS.Dec 3, 2007
Relentlessly dark, the film revels in the pain of its characters without providing a commentary on the forces responsible for their suffering. The high ratings listed above are either the predictable applause given to Hoffman, or a more Relentlessly dark, the film revels in the pain of its characters without providing a commentary on the forces responsible for their suffering. The high ratings listed above are either the predictable applause given to Hoffman, or a more sinister symptom of the desires driving movie making and movie criticism today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCRDec 4, 2007
This is an incredibly engrossing film where the stakes are raised with each successive scene. Hoffman is a virtuoso of pain and rage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WillT.Dec 5, 2007
A self-important, highly unlikely mess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdM.Dec 7, 2007
Fine acting by all, and an inventive script, elevates this film beyond the normal caper melodrama. I'm not sure I get the camera work, though -- dark, somewhat underexposed interiors and closeups, while the outdoor scenes are Fine acting by all, and an inventive script, elevates this film beyond the normal caper melodrama. I'm not sure I get the camera work, though -- dark, somewhat underexposed interiors and closeups, while the outdoor scenes are overexposed and harsh. Different. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MatthewU.Dec 9, 2007
I felt that the film was well made, however, it seemed to drag for me, and the characters were mostly unlikeable. I did not really care one way or the other what happened to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Dec 15, 2007
Is there such a thing as an uplifting downer? That can be the only apt way to describe "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead", which to me, plays like "Death of a Salesman" as film noir. A palpable excitement will build inside your Is there such a thing as an uplifting downer? That can be the only apt way to describe "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead", which to me, plays like "Death of a Salesman" as film noir. A palpable excitement will build inside your cerebral cortex as you watch Andy(Phillip Seymour Hoffman) and Hank(Ethan Hawke) descend into hell. The entire story takes place almost entirely in broad daylight. The dark places are inside their hearts. It's like watching two cockroaches with no place to hide. "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead" scorches the screen with old familial resentments and betrayals. There's no redemption for Andy, the ringleader, only comeuppance. The look on Charles' face(Albert Finney's face) is unfatherly, understandable, and unbelievably hateful. For once, the non-linear structure of the screenplay doesn't feel arbitrary. The stops and reverses help amplify and clarify the next great, gut-wrenching pitstop, en route to a wonderfully malevolent realization of catharsis for the vigilante. "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead" is a great white-knuckle ride. It will drain you. It's a near-masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickG.Dec 23, 2007
Ethan hawk's acting is horrible. the jumbled plotting is done for effect but has no real person. A mighty bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanB.Dec 26, 2007
It is well-done and acted, but it feels much longer than its length, not one of the characters is even a little likeable, and the end is not believable. Any one of these things alone is fine... together, in this movie... eh. I felt like the It is well-done and acted, but it feels much longer than its length, not one of the characters is even a little likeable, and the end is not believable. Any one of these things alone is fine... together, in this movie... eh. I felt like the film was trying to be "gritty" or "honest" or "real". But it wasn't, because every character was so ugly and it's not "real" that one group of people will be so dysfunctional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NastyJan 1, 2008
Great movie. Lumet shows at his age that he can direct drastic and emotionally pulverizing film with excellent support from actors Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Ethan Hawke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
erike.Jan 11, 2008
This "pointless, redemption-less wallow in misery" isn't in any way describable as a Greek Tragedy as many reviewers have stated - it flirts with the basic plot of a tragedy - characters suffer a reversal of fortune brought about by This "pointless, redemption-less wallow in misery" isn't in any way describable as a Greek Tragedy as many reviewers have stated - it flirts with the basic plot of a tragedy - characters suffer a reversal of fortune brought about by their fatal character flaws or mistakes in judgement - but unlike a tragedy, I at no point cared about these people or their misfortune because they seemed to bring it unnecessarily upon themselves and were at the start unredeemably nasty and ugly people - causing it to have no emotional impact, evoking no empathetic concern - very anti-cathartic - add to that the predictable heist gone wrong plot, the stiff pacing, uncompelling twists, absurd plot holes, the mediocre dialogue - and the above average acting doesn't come close to saving this film from its abysmal failure. - The critics can praise this all they want but I would dissuade others from seeing this, just as I would attempt to shield a loved one from unnecessarily walking in on a gruesome murderscene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnEJan 19, 2008
Two hours of people who are constantly dour, morose, and depressed, all because of their own stupid decisions. You'll likely loath virtually every character in the movie and secretly cheer each death since it marks the end of that Two hours of people who are constantly dour, morose, and depressed, all because of their own stupid decisions. You'll likely loath virtually every character in the movie and secretly cheer each death since it marks the end of that particular character's complaining and self-pity. Hitchcock is often quoted as saying that audiences needed a break during a movie, something to change the pacing. This movie ignores that axiom and fails because of it, even with incredible acting from all involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaborA.Jan 31, 2008
As you zoom in on things their flaws become more apparent. Before The Devil Knows is the opposite. If you take the entire film its imperfections are clear and feels like too much. But each of this films parts are near perfect. Every scene is As you zoom in on things their flaws become more apparent. Before The Devil Knows is the opposite. If you take the entire film its imperfections are clear and feels like too much. But each of this films parts are near perfect. Every scene is tight, tense, and mesmerizing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronMFeb 4, 2008
Very entertaining movie overall. Simple story, but masterfully done. The non-linear, multiple point of view storytelling works wonderfully and it seems Phillip Seymour Hoffman just continues to give great acting performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
Very well made. Great acting. The most depressing film I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnieP.lFeb 8, 2008
Easily Lumet's best film since "The Verdict", but also one of the best films he's ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous}Feb 24, 2008
Bizarre premise with superb cast, outrageously funny, with oh so many levels of recognizable relationships,
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YvonneY.Feb 27, 2008
I thought it was a very interesting film and VERY well acted. I couldn't imagine what the ending would be, it certainly kept me enthralled.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamC.Mar 3, 2008
Well shot and acted, but I'll be damned if it wasn't the most depressing film I saw in all of 2007.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulW.Mar 5, 2008
A totally uninteresting been-there-done-that experience with a completely unimpressive, made-for-TV-feel atmosphere and a throw-away script to top the turd. No plausible or believable motivations are given for any of the character's A totally uninteresting been-there-done-that experience with a completely unimpressive, made-for-TV-feel atmosphere and a throw-away script to top the turd. No plausible or believable motivations are given for any of the character's actions, scenes are superfluously stretched adding exactly nothing to nought and the "Pulp Fiction-style" flashbacks with bits being repeated made it painfully obvious that no original thought was ever meant to be put into this astonishingly tired effort at 'clever' film-making. Only recommended for the repeated showing of Marisa Tomei's incredibly handsome fanny, the most Oscar-worthy display of a rear-end since Portman's lapdance in 'Closer'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexSassoonC.Mar 15, 2008
A film anchored by a rock-solid central performance from Philip Seymour Hoffman, and not quite undone by Ethan Hawke's acting-by-numbers hackery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaseyS.Mar 16, 2008
Grossly overlooked at the Oscars. In a year without "There Will Be Blood" and "No Country for Old Men," this movie would not have been overlooked. Chilling, entertaining, almost Shakespearean melodrama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Mar 17, 2008
Brilliant; the acting was the best I've seen in some while, the directing marks an incredible mastery by the aging Lumet, and the minor-key score works perfectly in cohesion with the rest of the film. The only thing to note was that the Brilliant; the acting was the best I've seen in some while, the directing marks an incredible mastery by the aging Lumet, and the minor-key score works perfectly in cohesion with the rest of the film. The only thing to note was that the ending-- while the only sensible way to go-- was too predictable, which took away much of the impact; which, in turn, also stole the scenes of its emotional impact due to its predictability, while it still retained its mesmerizing imagery. Though, undoubtedly, for those who somehow did not foresee the conclusion, it was a very emotional ending, but I would like to reccommend to those who thought that this was actually a depressing movie to watch Requiem for a Dream, Darren Aronofsky's masterpiece-- it will sap the will to live out of you, while simultanesouly also being one of the most beautiful films you have ever seen (and while the score on Metacritic is a bit biased, other compilation sites prove the film is a very well-reviewed film, for any who might have doubts.) But as for Before the Devil Knows You're Dead, the verdict remains: it's brilliant, and definitely one of the best under-looked films of 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJMar 23, 2008
A distressing, tense, and and dark character film that is like having a 2 hour long anxiety attack. This twisting and turning story really ratchets up the stress leading to its conclusion. Interestingly, none of the characters are likeable A distressing, tense, and and dark character film that is like having a 2 hour long anxiety attack. This twisting and turning story really ratchets up the stress leading to its conclusion. Interestingly, none of the characters are likeable (though well acted). Definatley worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulC.Mar 24, 2008
ethan hawk and philip Seymour Hoffman take you on rocky journey and you to watch every beautifully tragic moment. Sri k it all in. Even the horrific end. Humor of humanity is smattered throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenS.Mar 28, 2008
Often gripping, but not totally great, is this gloomy Sidney Lumet tale of a failed Westchester NY jewellery heist. When brothers Andy and Bobby screw up the daylight robbery of their own parents
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Apr 4, 2008
Superb thriller, thanks in large part to director Sideny Lumet. The acting is excellent, especially Philip Seymour Hoffman. Tense and exciting throughout, excellent pace, writng and editing. Top notch in all ways. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N@d@SurfApr 16, 2008
Great movie! Hoffman is GOD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ToddApr 17, 2008
Horrible. The perfect ratings this movie received is lunacy. This might have been the worst movie I have seen all year. Boring, predictable, overplayed and drawn out like to no end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlixN.Apr 20, 2008
This is, from the opening shot, one ugly movie, surely without cdibility, or any virtue at all--shoddy sets, poor directing, some good acting now and then but not worth the price of sitting through this trash, which managed to fool the This is, from the opening shot, one ugly movie, surely without cdibility, or any virtue at all--shoddy sets, poor directing, some good acting now and then but not worth the price of sitting through this trash, which managed to fool the critics into giving Lumet at 83 all sorts of praise, I think mainly for the fact that he had the chutzpah to to do it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayM.Apr 20, 2008
In recent years the importance of family has been glorified beyond measure. Before the Devil turns this extollment upside down and inside out in this searing white hot noir about a robbery gone wrong. Sidney Lumet's direction is a In recent years the importance of family has been glorified beyond measure. Before the Devil turns this extollment upside down and inside out in this searing white hot noir about a robbery gone wrong. Sidney Lumet's direction is a marvel to behold-there are several long beautiful takes-and his legendary rapport with actors is ever present throughout. This is a nasty, sometimes shocking although thoroughly compelling work that ranks among the 10 or 12 best films of 2007. Features several nude scenes of Marisa Tomei that should more than satisfy the George Constanza's among us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FredXApr 20, 2008
Critics - these fine actors does not make this film any better than it really is, so give it the score it deserves. Something to hate about it, the "time jumps" which I think actually make the movie worse than it could have been. Apart from Critics - these fine actors does not make this film any better than it really is, so give it the score it deserves. Something to hate about it, the "time jumps" which I think actually make the movie worse than it could have been. Apart from that irritating aspect, the movie is plain boring and predictable and everything is dragged out forever. AVOID! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasS.Apr 22, 2008
Every scene is essential and economical. All the fat has been trimmed and what is left is a story so simple you want to scream at Hoffman and Hawke's characters for not anticipating the outcome. And Marisa Tomei!!! I'm speechless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeB.Apr 23, 2008
I agree with the Baltimore Sun evaluation... good acting, but not an enjoyable movie. This is an ugly movie in tone and essence, ultimately meaningless, which seemed to be the theme. I didn't care about the characters one whit, and the I agree with the Baltimore Sun evaluation... good acting, but not an enjoyable movie. This is an ugly movie in tone and essence, ultimately meaningless, which seemed to be the theme. I didn't care about the characters one whit, and the directorial drive towards pointless tragedy told without any kind of vision left me feeling like I was abused by the film. I pity the poor actors forced to live those characters for however long the project look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EdP.Apr 24, 2008
The actors were okay It was nice of Ms. Tomei to show us the results of her "operation". It became increasingly inplausible (the usually wonderful Albert Finney's silly pursuit of his sons) as the film careened to a conclusion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillCApr 24, 2008
Pretty solid all the way around. As for complaints about the story line jumping back and forth, you get used to it.It's a style , that's all.(Think Pulp Fiction) It's still a good entertaining story with solid acting and Pretty solid all the way around. As for complaints about the story line jumping back and forth, you get used to it.It's a style , that's all.(Think Pulp Fiction) It's still a good entertaining story with solid acting and writing.Easly better than 95% of the films in theaters today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyJN.Apr 28, 2008
This is a great movie: it should become a classic. On DVD commentary, director Sidney Lumet continually refers to film as a 'melodrama." Malybe he does this to protect himself, but he should refer to it as a "tragedy." It feels like a This is a great movie: it should become a classic. On DVD commentary, director Sidney Lumet continually refers to film as a 'melodrama." Malybe he does this to protect himself, but he should refer to it as a "tragedy." It feels like a Greek tragedy to me, though I haven't quite figured out why yet. Only faults I can find: film--was "filmed" digitally---seems overposed (intentionally) in many places and ending probably unslatisfactory for most viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RussH.Apr 29, 2008
What a gem. A dark gem, but a gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LindaL.May 7, 2008
I was expecting something dark and gritty but with some humanity -- like "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" or "Layer Cake," for example. But this was just one morally moronic person after another lapsing into one bloody calamity after I was expecting something dark and gritty but with some humanity -- like "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" or "Layer Cake," for example. But this was just one morally moronic person after another lapsing into one bloody calamity after another. Love the lead actors, but never believed them as brothers. A depressing waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jwMay 10, 2008
(8.5) Admiration without enjoyment is a good way to put it. Like a late Picasso, one can appreciate its mastery without actually finding it beautiful. Hoffman's performance is on par with what he did in Magnolia and Love Liza. He sort (8.5) Admiration without enjoyment is a good way to put it. Like a late Picasso, one can appreciate its mastery without actually finding it beautiful. Hoffman's performance is on par with what he did in Magnolia and Love Liza. He sort of teeters there on a wire. Finney is far, and yet not so far from the bitter, self-consumed husband he was at times in Two for the Road. Hawke gives the movie all its top-heavy forward momentum. One wonders what brick wall he will smack into next. And I could never, for the life of me, describe what Tomei does with her character, I just know that it was brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KHendersonMay 10, 2008
Disappointingly terrible and implausible ending. The dark themes are fine but the writers seems to have lost their footing about how to resolve their story. Sure there's some nice acting here and there but the story fails. Miss it if you can!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GonzoG.May 10, 2008
I agree with Timothy JN (above individual critic) that this movie reminds one of a greek tragedy. And it is a perfect, tragic story. The characters are doomed from the begining to the end. The main tragic figure is Andy, and his tragic flaw I agree with Timothy JN (above individual critic) that this movie reminds one of a greek tragedy. And it is a perfect, tragic story. The characters are doomed from the begining to the end. The main tragic figure is Andy, and his tragic flaw is drug addiction. The plot spins helplessly /,along with the tragic screams of Andy in his driving home brow beaten by a father, who is pre-destined to undo the hero. Oh Sophocles where are you when we need you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KIrkN.May 11, 2008
Fascinating movie from beginning to end. A terrific character study of normal people under desperate times, being influenced by a true monster who wasn't normal to begin with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.May 16, 2008
With a spare and wrenching style, Lumet invests a melodramatic premise with the annihilating power of Greek tragedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kyledMay 23, 2008
This movies was soo amazing. I cannot believe that it was completely ignored by the Academy. I found this movie better than No Country For Old Men.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoxisA.May 25, 2008
An absolute Greek Tragedy with brilliant peformances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MorganB.May 27, 2008
Generally good movie, a lot of jumping around that had me confused at some points but other than that fairly made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougM.Jun 4, 2008
This was a great movie. Great drama. If you want to see flashing colors or explosions, this movie isn't for you. It is a story that unfolds in a unique way. Great acting. Great story line. Great directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyG.Jun 8, 2008
I can't believe that more people have not seen this movie. It is probably the most intense movie that I have ever seen. Some of the best acting coupled with some of the best directing and a killer story has made a movie one should not I can't believe that more people have not seen this movie. It is probably the most intense movie that I have ever seen. Some of the best acting coupled with some of the best directing and a killer story has made a movie one should not miss for anything, but I doubt that most have even heard of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulD.Jun 13, 2008
Good adult crime drama with great performances by all the leads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephL.Jun 21, 2008
Excellent movie. Very depressing, but really well put together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trfegyhhgJul 24, 2008
I love this movie, one of my favorites. Hoffman and Hawke do a good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TanyaM.Oct 3, 2008
Over all quite boring, endless flashbacks get so repetitive that leaves you wanting the movie to just get to the point already! and it takes a while before it does. Very surprised it got such a high rating here since it's below average at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizOct 18, 2008
Excellent film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DirkDec 5, 2008
Terrible. Ethan Hawk is a lame actor and Hoffman made a mistake taking on this role. Don't waste your time or your money on this rubbish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PenelopeR.Feb 28, 2009
This movie is absurd: a relentless tumble from one horrible sequence of events to the next In essence, the viewer is inundated with each of the character's sins, ranging from homosexual heroin liaisons; to inter-family infidelities; to This movie is absurd: a relentless tumble from one horrible sequence of events to the next In essence, the viewer is inundated with each of the character's sins, ranging from homosexual heroin liaisons; to inter-family infidelities; to its filicidal climax... The characters lack any humanity, are impossible to sympathize with--particularly once the viewer, half an hour in, starts to understand that they are merely the author's little self-destruct machines. By the end, my partner and I were amusing ourselves by guessing in what contrived way it was about get worse. Correctly guessing, I might add. Predictability. Another of its sins. Only our shock-hungry generation cynical could buy this depiction of characters plowing so purposefully to their dooms as a morality tale. Depressiobitionist is more like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeH.Aug 25, 2009
I can't imagine a movie which begins with an anal sex scene developing into anything worth watching... and this was no exception. Another perfect example of how stupid and WRONG professional movie critics are. A movie that the general I can't imagine a movie which begins with an anal sex scene developing into anything worth watching... and this was no exception. Another perfect example of how stupid and WRONG professional movie critics are. A movie that the general public will not like = a high rating from critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Oct 26, 2007
I don't get all the hype. This is a cheap looking movie with an outdated director and a story that falls into completely ridiculous melodrama by the end. No thanks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BettJ.Oct 26, 2007
Great movie. Hoffman is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrockN.Oct 26, 2007
Even the cameos (notably Michael Shannon) were outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StevenG.Oct 28, 2007
The professional reviewers have confused over the top melodrama with substance. This movie portrays sex, drugs and murder in an messy implausible scenario. Marisa Tomei will not win an Oscar this time, but she sure is in great shape.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RonGOct 29, 2007
Very forced melodrama. Unconvincing, formulaic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CharlesS.Nov 1, 2007
Laudable but forced. Hoffman is mis-cast as a down-and-out businessman with a huge gut and addiction. Hawke vastly overplays his jittery sad-sack baby brother approach. Even the estimable Finney can't seem to find anything except a Laudable but forced. Hoffman is mis-cast as a down-and-out businessman with a huge gut and addiction. Hawke vastly overplays his jittery sad-sack baby brother approach. Even the estimable Finney can't seem to find anything except a one-note, lumbering, mouth-agape tone to his character, because the film is so two-dimensional in its concerns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnPNov 2, 2007
Amazing movie all around - performances, directing, music. Best work Hawke has ever done. Best nude scenes Tomei has ever done, too ! Hoffman is, of course, riveting. The last half hour will mess you up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimMNov 2, 2007
It takes only a few minutes for this movie to devolve into an absurd and alienating little moral play. Does it still count as a tragedy when you have no sympathy for anyone on screen? Did we really need to be trusted so little as to have to It takes only a few minutes for this movie to devolve into an absurd and alienating little moral play. Does it still count as a tragedy when you have no sympathy for anyone on screen? Did we really need to be trusted so little as to have to watch the same scenes played out repeatedly in case...what? We missed something? Not at this leisurely pace, we didn't. The characters motivations felt false; the broken narrative was gimmicky in the worst way; Marisa Tomei was utterly wasted in a slight, pathetic role; and lord, that overbearing score made we want to run screaming from the theater. Overripe, dated, and silly, this must be the most overrated film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DWillyNov 3, 2007
The actors are strong enough, and the story gives them enough room to flex, to sustain this film beyond the limitations of its primitive filmmaking. I know that's an odd comment to make about a Sidney Lumet film, but, at 83 and working The actors are strong enough, and the story gives them enough room to flex, to sustain this film beyond the limitations of its primitive filmmaking. I know that's an odd comment to make about a Sidney Lumet film, but, at 83 and working with a very limited budget, maybe he had only enough strength to get those great performances. There is one exception: as Ethan Hawk's ex-wife, the overpraised Amy Wright from "Gone Baby Gone" turns in the same shallow crap here, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillD.Nov 3, 2007
If I were one of those sell-out "The perfect date movie" critics, this one would be "The anti-feel good movie of the year." The story telling, the structure, the acting -- everything is perfect. Except the story is so depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HermanL.Oct 24, 2009
Excellent film with wonderful acting. Lumet is a genius. By the way, Mike H. describes the opening scene as anal sex. Was he on the set with a flashlight? Has he heard of rear entry sex or doing it doggy-style? An amazing reason to give the Excellent film with wonderful acting. Lumet is a genius. By the way, Mike H. describes the opening scene as anal sex. Was he on the set with a flashlight? Has he heard of rear entry sex or doing it doggy-style? An amazing reason to give the film a 0! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SuzanneM.Nov 29, 2009
One of the worst movies I've ever started to watch. Got half way though it, and shut it off. Not worth the energy to run it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful