User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 167

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    4
    Ewan McGregor stars as a troubled son. He just can't seem to handle a relationship with a woman and is preoccupied with sadness. Meanwhile, his father (Christopher Plummer) announces he's gay at 75, a subplot that adds the only life and warmth to the film. Oh yes, flashbacks to the childhood connection with his mother make regular appearances. All of this wandering thru a fluid timelineEwan McGregor stars as a troubled son. He just can't seem to handle a relationship with a woman and is preoccupied with sadness. Meanwhile, his father (Christopher Plummer) announces he's gay at 75, a subplot that adds the only life and warmth to the film. Oh yes, flashbacks to the childhood connection with his mother make regular appearances. All of this wandering thru a fluid timeline results in a numbingly navel-gazing, somewhat arty examination of life, love and happiness. Too heady to be enjoyable. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    1
    Punch Drunk Love. You wish. Its Punch Drunk Love without the drunk and Love. So its just punch.. Which is just a berry drink. And it has no alcohol. Its boring. Just like this film. And rambling. Like this review. This movie only tells one tale for me...that the director must be pompous and arrogant.
  3. Jun 8, 2011
    2
    It was painful to watch a badly produced movie when you see brilliant actors on a screen without direction. The "beginners" theme was lost before it began. The passion in the relationships was lackadaisical and pathetic. The purpose of the actors' lives was lost and perfunctory. The comments of some of the audience were "horrible movie" and such.. Personally, I kept waiting for a surgeIt was painful to watch a badly produced movie when you see brilliant actors on a screen without direction. The "beginners" theme was lost before it began. The passion in the relationships was lackadaisical and pathetic. The purpose of the actors' lives was lost and perfunctory. The comments of some of the audience were "horrible movie" and such.. Personally, I kept waiting for a surge of purpose and it never materialized. Please stop this release and save us the pain. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    3
    Beginners is a bad film with good parts. The only good parts in the film were that some scenes were funny and it wasent the most boring film ive ever seen. My problems witht he film is its a bit boring, they use alot of the same scenes over and over, it felt like the director didnt know what to put in the scene so he decided to put in that scene and the characters werent to interesting toBeginners is a bad film with good parts. The only good parts in the film were that some scenes were funny and it wasent the most boring film ive ever seen. My problems witht he film is its a bit boring, they use alot of the same scenes over and over, it felt like the director didnt know what to put in the scene so he decided to put in that scene and the characters werent to interesting to follow. I would only recommend seeing it if you really want to but for me i'd pass. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    A pointless pretentious, arty, waste of time. You don't care about the characters, the acting is sub-par and there's no plot or angle. I don't know how anyone can like this garbage. I do no recommend you wasting a minute of your time watching this trash.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Jul 18, 2011
    60
    With good performances and characters, Beginners is an enjoyable, amusing and occasionally poignant watch. Indie film fans will want to catch it, but it falls short of being a must-see.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 30, 2011
    88
    McGregor hasn't been this appealing or vulnerable in ages, and in both of the film's love stories, he exemplifies Mills' message.
  3. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jun 24, 2011
    100
    A lovably quirky comedy-drama with a rhythm all its own.