Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 8, 2012
    75
    What distinguishes Pattinson in the role is the sense he conveys of someone roiling and churning beneath a surface that is almost, but not quite, calm.
  2. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jun 6, 2012
    67
    This new Bel Ami has a lot to recommend it, but it never seems as artful or smart as "Dangerous Liaisons," the film it most resembles.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jun 7, 2012
    65
    On the whole Bel Ami is highly watchable.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Jun 7, 2012
    60
    Thurman, Meaney and Scott Thomas acquit themselves well, while Ricci's Clotilde is sweet yet posed. Pattinson, who has delivered some strong performances in non-"Twilight" fare, might be exploring the flip side of the Team Edward swoon factor but, finally, his Georges is merely vampiric.
  5. Reviewed by: Jane Crowther
    Jun 4, 2012
    60
    A good-looking yet curiously tame adaptation of a saucy classic that showcases Pattinson's ambition if not his full abilities.
  6. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    The supposedly cunning protagonist registers as a cipher, and the directors' tendency to shoot dialogue scenes in close-up blunts any understanding of the social milieu he's trying to conquer.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 20, 2012
    50
    The surprise for me is Christina Ricci, who I think of as undernourished and nervous, but who flowers here in warm ripeness.
  8. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Robert Pattinson isn't all that bad in Bel Ami. He just isn't right.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 4, 2012
    50
    A coherent characterization of Robert Pattinson's striving schemer is nowhere to be found in this pedestrian period piece.
  10. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 30, 2012
    50
    At least the set design and costumes are excellent. The movie feels overstuffed and undercooked but it always looks nice.
  11. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 10, 2012
    40
    The cast is intriguing, with Uma Thurman, Christina Ricci and Kristin Scott Thomas as the targets of Pattinson's ambitious amour. But they're not given a whole lot to do -- at least not much that's interesting.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    Although this is potentially juicy stuff, it is as dry and tasteless as a shrunken piece of fruit left in the refrigerator far too long.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    He's neither a fun villain or a secret good guy; the movie feels like a senseless venture because, even with his pants down on top of Clotilde or manhandling Virginie, he's the dullest scoundrel around.
  14. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    Though gorgeous to look at, the first feature from Declan Donnellan and Nick Ormerod has an undeniable void at its very center: an utterly blank leading man.
  15. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 5, 2012
    40
    The satire rarely stings, as first-time feature directors Declan Donnellan and Nick Ormerod give a polite Masterpiece Theatre gloss to this most impolite of tales.
  16. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Jun 5, 2012
    40
    Its the ladies who are worth tracking here, from Ricci's understated sensuality to Thomas's fragile angularity. They've supplemented beauty with good old-fashioned acting chops, something their cover-boy co-star would be wise to emulate.
  17. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jun 4, 2012
    40
    A flavorless literary adaptation sunk by a lead actor, screenwriter and co-directors that are all out of their depth.
  18. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jun 4, 2012
    40
    Even with a strong cast to gild its endless chambers and salons, there's barely a spark of soul to fuel its story. Pattinson is no Malkovich either.
  19. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 4, 2012
    40
    Robert Pattinson has to do an awful lot of hollow-eyed smouldering in this hammily enunciated French period drama, taken from the 1885 novel by Guy de Maupassant.
  20. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 4, 2012
    40
    "I had no conception of the depths of your emptiness!" a character shrieks in Bel Ami, and her words take on an unintended resonance as addressed to Robert Pattinson in the lead role.
  21. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 8, 2012
    38
    It's just that Pattinson's performance is so enervated that his Georges Duroy comes across as something of a cipher. He's not quite alive, yet also clearly not dead, given the amount of sex he has. He's undead, or at least uninteresting.
  22. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    Bel Ami is handsome enough, although the directorial skill runs mostly to careful framing of magnificent bosoms, Pattinson's included.
  23. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    With that cast, we rightfully expect fireworks. What we get is the film equivalent of a wet blanket.
  24. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    Laughably bad adaptation of a Guy de Maupassant novel.
  25. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2012
    25
    Pattinson portrays the monotonous Georges Duroy in two equally dry modes: scowls and smirks.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! It will not be everybodys cup of tea but I love this type of movie! I have read the book and think they did aI thoroughly enjoyed this movie! It will not be everybodys cup of tea but I love this type of movie! I have read the book and think they did a very solid adaptation. As usual Robert Pattinson has received a lot of undue criticism. He was exactly how I pictured the character in the book. A cad who is completely out of his depth in high society where he craves to be. He did a great job. I hope some day critics will get over their aversion to Twilight and just judge a performance without baggage. Honestly I see no other reason for the harsh reviews here. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Pattinson was actually very good in this movie!! The only acting down fall that I could see was Uma Therman but it was not enough to take fromPattinson was actually very good in this movie!! The only acting down fall that I could see was Uma Therman but it was not enough to take from the story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Good story and nicely shot. I was convinced by all the actors. They could have perhaps explained certain things a bit more but I still enjoyedGood story and nicely shot. I was convinced by all the actors. They could have perhaps explained certain things a bit more but I still enjoyed it as a movie. I would recommend it. Full Review »