Oscilloscope Laboratories | Release Date: August 5, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
4
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MarcDoyleAug 6, 2011
One of the rare films that lives up to the promise of the trailer, and Bellflower's trailer is incredibly cool. Evan Glodell does a terrific acting job as the lead character, but his script and direction are also spot on. The way the film isOne of the rare films that lives up to the promise of the trailer, and Bellflower's trailer is incredibly cool. Evan Glodell does a terrific acting job as the lead character, but his script and direction are also spot on. The way the film is unfocused, blurry, and jumps frames at certain high tension moments is highly effective. The relationship between the two old friend leads is somewhat reminiscent of the guys in Clerks, though their building of flamethrowers, fire-breathing cars, and in-dash whiskey fountains set them apart. I've heard this movie compared to Fight Club, but that's way off. This movie has a huge heart. So much action, betrayal, and pulp.... I'm fired up to see it again. It was great seeing and HEARing Medusa (the car) at the film's opening night at the Nuart in LA. Evan also spoke to the crowd - his humility and awe at the size of the crowd was refreshing. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
DJUtahSep 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this movie had extreme potential, and the acting was fantastic except for a few pregnant pauses and awkward plot situations, however it overall left a bad taste in my mouth and it was for me a poor job at a dating and cheating film that made an excuse to film gratuitous boobies. I loved the flame-throwing, the cars, and the bond and comedy between the two friends, but other than that I wanted to leave but couldn't because my friend bought the tickets so I was forced to sit through two hours in a film about basically nothing. There were also a few holes and a filming mistake where (spoiler alert) a character trades his car for a motorcycle, but you see a scene when he's driving home in the car. I really wanted to see this film be more about the muscle car and flame-throwing fantasy and less about the gratuitous boy meets girl then things go sour story. I found it boring and emotionally painful, and I kept saying to myself, "Why are films like these allowed to be played in major theaters?". The movie could not decide if it was a comedy or drama, and I would not call this film a black comedy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NKOASNov 17, 2012
In a year that brought big-budget entries from big names like Scorsese, Allen, Clooney, Payne and Fincher, it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CitizenCharlieSep 13, 2011
Bellflower is the result of some filthy filmmaking. I do not mean that as they did a poor job, far from it. I mean the shots are so real and intense that you can almost smell B.O., sweat, and whiskey while sitting in an air conditionedBellflower is the result of some filthy filmmaking. I do not mean that as they did a poor job, far from it. I mean the shots are so real and intense that you can almost smell B.O., sweat, and whiskey while sitting in an air conditioned theater. There is a road trip scene where it looks like the camera lens was cleaned with spit and a dirty paper towel. This is not the California you are used to seeing on screen.

Woodrow (Evan Glodell) and Aiden (Tyler Dawson) are lifelong best friends and share the same goal, to be ready for the apocalypse. In their spare time, which seems to be all of their time, they build their own flamethrower and Mad Max looking Road Warrior car with dual flamethrowers mounted on the back. This is the result of kids watching Mad Max 100 times. When the apocalypse happens, they will drive around in this ready for war vehicle with their hand-held flamethrower; wouldnâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
aj_nicolettiAug 10, 2011
I wish all parties involved in this film well, but it really didn't do anything for me except make me yawn and eventually wonder when it would all be over. I am really surprised by the acclaim being thrown on this film. Reading the positiveI wish all parties involved in this film well, but it really didn't do anything for me except make me yawn and eventually wonder when it would all be over. I am really surprised by the acclaim being thrown on this film. Reading the positive reviews makes me think of the children's story, "The Emperor's New Clothes." Decent music was well used, but the slacker story was messy and too over the top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JohnnyOla96Sep 24, 2012
Bellflower one of the worst independent films out there and these are my reason, it was painful to watch, the acting complete sucked, the dialogue was bland, the ending was the worst part. i can only praise its shoestring budget which was theBellflower one of the worst independent films out there and these are my reason, it was painful to watch, the acting complete sucked, the dialogue was bland, the ending was the worst part. i can only praise its shoestring budget which was the remarkable thing about it. Evan Glodell watches to much Tarantino. If you plan on watching it be prepared to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WraithswordDec 26, 2012
Perhaps this IS the film debut of a major avant-garde talent. Possibly, BELLFLOWER is the bleeding edge of a new and punishing cinematic style. Conceivably, this is the precocious work of a motion picture master. Then again, maybe the moviePerhaps this IS the film debut of a major avant-garde talent. Possibly, BELLFLOWER is the bleeding edge of a new and punishing cinematic style. Conceivably, this is the precocious work of a motion picture master. Then again, maybe the movie just sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
XavierBlaqDec 30, 2013
This film of very harsh realism and large amounts of symbolism definitely comes from the postmodern tradition, and was interesting and thought-provoking enough for the majority of it to be entertaining. But then came the final scene to ruinThis film of very harsh realism and large amounts of symbolism definitely comes from the postmodern tradition, and was interesting and thought-provoking enough for the majority of it to be entertaining. But then came the final scene to ruin the whole movie. Apart from the annoying repetition of the Mad-Max-influenced nickname "Lord Humungous," the scene destroys the deep insights gotten from the rest of the movie by seeming to make the whole film's theme a glorified version of "bros before hos." Still, the characters and filming was good enough to make the film not completely ruined, but very disappointing nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobertBroganSep 28, 2015
It's better to take this film as something made by young filmmakers than as a critically acclaimed sensation. It's more about the vibe, the look, the spirit of a work by young artists. It's not about having everything correct and beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews