User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    3
    kind of the opposite of the other movie I watched today, I liked this one a lot less than I expected. Its gotten mixed reviews mostly on the good side Id say. Unfortunately it does not deserve the praise. What I did respect about the movie was the way the creature looked. It looked like they mostly used practical effects mixed with a little bit of cgi. This in my opinion was a great move on part of the directors. Using practical effects is almost a must for me. There has been a flood of cgi filled creature features and most of the time as soon as the crappy digitally animated creature shows up it pulls me right out of the movie. The creature in this movie looked great, Unfortunately the movie has nothing else going for it, The whole movie takes place around a group of teenagers stranded on a small boat. They make incredibly bad and unbelievable decisions that just piss you off and just over half way through I couldn't wait for this movie to end. It would have been nice to see them do something special with this cool creature and when it finds its first victim I thought things were looking up but they definitely went down from there. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Beneath follows a group of teenagers who show their true colors when trapped in the water. Nobody does indie horror better than Larry Fessenden. I liked The Last Winter better but enjoyed this.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Pretty good psycho horror flick. This movie is less about terror beneath the water than terror above the water. The real evil is the group "friends" on the boat. Some scary moments, but actually quite satisfying as the monster and the friends' strained relationships take their toll. The monster could look more real, though. Good music. Nice to see the wheel chair dude in Breaking Bad actually speak. He's pretty damn creepy. Collapse
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    A fun horror movie. It doesn't rely on CGI monsters and has a real "Lord of the Flies" vibe. Plus the actors make you believe lines that could've fallen flat.
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Beneath is a very effective horror movie that's more than just a simple scary ride. Beneath works on multiple levels... Although set on a lake with a monster in the water, at its core, the movie is really about life in high school (or at the office). The biggest threat our characters face is each other, rather than the monster. The use of a practical monster, rather than a cgi creation, adds to the gritty realism. The young, attractive cast plays the movie with necessary intenseness, and the cinematography is beautiful Ultimately, Beneath is a scary, funny and smart movie. My friends and I all enjoyed it. Definitely worth checking out! Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 18, 2013
    40
    That sly toying with audience sympathies is, alas, all that’s notable about this otherwise poverty-row quickie produced for the Chiller cable network.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 18, 2013
    63
    Ultimately, Beneath is better than your average Roger Corman clone because it is more serious than trivial.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Jul 16, 2013
    60
    Beneath may be an earnest goof, but any intended irony is so spiked with rainy-day-matinee movie love that the result is an oddly guileless horror exercise, unscary but rather adorable.