Millennium Entertainment | Release Date: April 27, 2012
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
29
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
imthenoobAug 29, 2012
It was a pretty solid move that is helped greatly by the wonderful performance by Jack Black. The biggest problem I had was that there was really very little of the actual plot. The film largely oonsisted of numerous actors/actressesIt was a pretty solid move that is helped greatly by the wonderful performance by Jack Black. The biggest problem I had was that there was really very little of the actual plot. The film largely oonsisted of numerous actors/actresses discussing things that Bernie does and what he is like, what his relationship is like with the female lead. That was a little disapointing because Black's performance was so good that it really should have been expanded on and he should have had more dialogue and better interaction with the female lead as well.

Overall, It was a solid movie. A decently made film that is worth checking out.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
JamesLMay 29, 2012
This film was not dark enough for me. I found it biased toward the Bernie character as it skirted the issue of homosexuality and I did not believe at all his excuse for killing the 81 year old woman. The movie would have been more appealingThis film was not dark enough for me. I found it biased toward the Bernie character as it skirted the issue of homosexuality and I did not believe at all his excuse for killing the 81 year old woman. The movie would have been more appealing if it had been slightly more detailed and graphic. I wanted to know more about the relationship not just skimming the surface. I did enjoy the approach of using the town people to tell the story but that make it more of a light comedy not a dark comedy. Still, it intrigued me enough to go home and search the internet for information on the murder. I side with the district attorney that Bernie is not such a harmless guy. Original but it could have been so much better. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithMay 10, 2013
Way overrated. There are a couple of amusing moments, but it's just pointless overall. It' drags the least important scenes on forever. Jack Black is the movie's anchor and is funnier in the role than anyone else could probably be but theWay overrated. There are a couple of amusing moments, but it's just pointless overall. It' drags the least important scenes on forever. Jack Black is the movie's anchor and is funnier in the role than anyone else could probably be but the movie surrounding him is just so... boring. It could have been hilarious, but is far from it. Not recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
KivaJun 25, 2013
This film came as a surprise to me. A disappointing surprise. First of all the film is not a comedy and i expected much more for the director of School of Rock. The film is based on true events but the movie is still bad. I saw the goodThis film came as a surprise to me. A disappointing surprise. First of all the film is not a comedy and i expected much more for the director of School of Rock. The film is based on true events but the movie is still bad. I saw the good reviews and I thought that it would be funny as hell as Jack Black was on the cast. Jack Black impressed me with his magnificent performance. That's the best thing on that film ,despite the fact I watched that movie in order to laugh.This is certainly on of the worst films of 2012 and it looked more like a documentary or a reality -tv show. It did not seem like a movie. Thumbs up ONLY for Jack Black. 4/10 for that reason because only his performance is extraordinary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
poewilsonFeb 6, 2014
Bernie is a film that lives and dies on Jack Black's blade. Those who want Black to be no more than a bumbling fat man, will find no enjoyment in this film for this is Black's attempt to be a little something more and kudos on his effort itBernie is a film that lives and dies on Jack Black's blade. Those who want Black to be no more than a bumbling fat man, will find no enjoyment in this film for this is Black's attempt to be a little something more and kudos on his effort it is enjoyable to watch him. Linklater continues to push his attempts at being different and I happy to see him trying to work around the system as best he can. As for McConaughey this is the performance that brought a man's career back from the dead and it is always a pleasure to see an actor prove you wrong.
What makes the film entertaining is sadly what also hurts it cinematically and this is the interviews and cuts with the locals.
The film if one is into dark comedies should warrant an entertainment value of a 7.5, but on the Poe Scale it is a 6.5.

Acting: 1/2
Cinematography: 1/2
Editing: 1.5/2
Effects and Design 1/2
Writing: 2/2
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
warrenworldMay 3, 2014
While Bernie's script contains some dialogue that doesn't truly fit with the pleasant scenery of Carthage, TX, the film also contains a very genuine template and very earnest acting talent that is undeniable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DankkuMar 16, 2017
Having seen another Jack Black and Richard Linklater film - School of Rock - that I loved so much, I had high hopes for Bernie. This one is kind of fiction and kind of talking-heads documentary, but ultimately ends up being a weird andHaving seen another Jack Black and Richard Linklater film - School of Rock - that I loved so much, I had high hopes for Bernie. This one is kind of fiction and kind of talking-heads documentary, but ultimately ends up being a weird and strange hybrid of the two. I'm still a massive fan of Jack Black, and he did a great job here, but as a whole, this based-on-true-events flick drags its feet in super heavy mud, and I found myself getting bored with an hour still left of the film. Yawn!

Watch it if you enjoy Jack Black. Avoid it if you want to see a really good film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews