Warner Bros. Domestic Television Distribution | Release Date: September 27, 2000
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 60 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
4
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
KatherineJul 24, 2006
Yes I gave it an 8. While there were parts that made me laugh alot, I just could not really get into it. It's a great movie though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MovieBuffJun 24, 2002
The brilliance of the film lies in the slew of shockingly accurate portrayals, especially the easily glossed-over, yet priceless moments that kept my laughter rolling throughout ("We could talk, or not-talk, forever" ; The prideful The brilliance of the film lies in the slew of shockingly accurate portrayals, especially the easily glossed-over, yet priceless moments that kept my laughter rolling throughout ("We could talk, or not-talk, forever" ; The prideful open-mouth braces-twins ; " '...melon breasts.' 'Oh, Thank you Gerry! Thank you!") as well as the writer-director's ability to point out those ridiculous displays of humanity we can all identify with, while avoiding the more caustic mockery seen in something like "Waiting for Guffman" or "Bottle Rockets". The film has us fall in love with the imperfections of people we sometimes cannot endure, and the unsurmountable majesty of the crowning moment offered the purest glimpse of esctasy I've ever felt from a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyKNov 26, 2005
This 'mockumentary' does an exellent job of what it sets out to do: make people laugh, and make those same people want to attend a dog show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
As usual with Christopher Guest, the attention to detail is brilliant. The characters are all slightly odd but very, very real & Fred Willard is just amazing.
His line about his proctologist is up there with the greatest comedy quotes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aspentitanJul 18, 2011
A must see movie for anyone with pets and a sense of humor. They nailed satire perfectly. As I read reviews here though i see a lot of people didn't relate to the characters, I guess that's why I say this movie is for people who have petsA must see movie for anyone with pets and a sense of humor. They nailed satire perfectly. As I read reviews here though i see a lot of people didn't relate to the characters, I guess that's why I say this movie is for people who have pets that deep down they know they pamper them way too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
krogarJan 30, 2012
This is a masterpiece of humour! Once again I am puzzled by the negative reviews here. It is a delightful caricature made to look like a documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Feb 22, 2016
Fans of "This Is Spinal Tap," "Waiting For Guffman," or the entirety of the mockumentary genre will likely enjoy this stalwart piece from the master of deadpan himself - Christopher Guest. Though some of the more understated comedic momentsFans of "This Is Spinal Tap," "Waiting For Guffman," or the entirety of the mockumentary genre will likely enjoy this stalwart piece from the master of deadpan himself - Christopher Guest. Though some of the more understated comedic moments may be a bit of an acquired taste, there's no denying the true improvisational talent behind this engaging cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Hadi290Sep 20, 2016
one of half a dozen movies that i couldn't even finish watching! It's all about a dog show and peoples who are crazy about their dogs. It's supposed to be funny and have some kind of unique comedy and i see that a lot of people liked it. It'sone of half a dozen movies that i couldn't even finish watching! It's all about a dog show and peoples who are crazy about their dogs. It's supposed to be funny and have some kind of unique comedy and i see that a lot of people liked it. It's not my taste of comedy but that's the point what one considers funny, another does not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews