Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 3, 2008
4.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
13
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DarrellB.Oct 13, 2008
If you go in expecting a very weak plot, then this movie with entice a few laughs. Not a horrible way to spend an afternoon although I won't be seeing it again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LaurenSJan 20, 2009
As a teen, it's AWFUL! The movie lacks a good story line, and talking animals seem to always have a very bad reputation for being in movies. It's about pampered dogs, and what happens when they aren't getting spoiled? They As a teen, it's AWFUL! The movie lacks a good story line, and talking animals seem to always have a very bad reputation for being in movies. It's about pampered dogs, and what happens when they aren't getting spoiled? They bark. Useless, even as a kids film, the movie is just... stupid. I know its for kids, (i don't care if i'm really a kid, i'm a teen tho) but anyways, it still sucks! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Feb 22, 2009
5.5/10. Cute story, but the talking dogs thing wears thin after about 45 minutes. A good film for the whole family though, adults and kids will both be amused. Nothing deep or great, but quite watchable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CabriniR.Oct 24, 2008
Great, but I dont think this should be a kids movie; several times in the movie the say the word gringo which means white boy (racist term) in spanish (oh and about the not being a kids movie i mean for 7 and under).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Oct 6, 2008
Had this children's movie the ambition to take its theme of class-consciousness with just a modicum of gravity and levity, "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" might have challenged Chris Noonan's "Babe" for best of breed: the talking animal Had this children's movie the ambition to take its theme of class-consciousness with just a modicum of gravity and levity, "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" might have challenged Chris Noonan's "Babe" for best of breed: the talking animal movie division. If the high society lady's fully-grown children in Douglas Sirk's "All That Heaven Allows" bought their lonely mother a chihuahua instead of a television, the lapdog and the gardener's hunting dog might have suggested to Cary Scott(Jane Wyman) that she belongs with Ron Kirby(Rock Hudson). "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" stands on the periphery of the 1956 melodrama that inspired Todd Haynes' "Far From Heaven", as Papi(George Lopez) the landscaper's dog, falls for Chloe(Drew Barrymore) the high-maintenance chihuahua, but the film is too timid to take that extra step. Chloe's poolside friends drool over the hunky utilitarian canine because he's the forbidden fruit(the dog you don't take home to meet your master), but what would these pampered pooches say if the queen bee-otch(remember: a female dog is a bitch) declared her love for Papi. Ostracization from dog society? Even more daunting: Imagine Chloe's dilemma if she had to choose between Papi and her owner Viv(Jamie Lee Curtis). One suspects that madame wouldn't want Chloe to birth puppies with an unregistered dog. Although "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" is mostly informed by girly films such as "Clueless" and "Totally Legal", it does manage to smuggle in a reference to Rainier Werner Fassbinder's "Ali: Fear Eats the Soul"(German title: "Angst essen Seele auf") when Viv explains to Rachel(Piper Perabo) that Chloe doesn't like Berlin. In the German reimagining of the Douglas Sirk sudser, it's not just class warfare, but also a divergence in race(she's German; he's Moroccoan), that keeps the lovers apart. Chloe, quite pointedly, is identified as a "gringo" by one of the stray dogs down Mexico way, while Papi unmistakably sounds Hispanic in nature. Predictably, being around mutts, a rat, and inexplicably, an iguana, Chloe learns how the other half lives, and loses her elitist mentality. But how does one explain Viv's transformation? While Delgado(a German shephard voiced by Andy Garcia) regains his sense of smell which allows him to rejoin the police dog force, Viv's nose suggests a more tolerant worldview when she smiles and voices her approval about Chloe's new "earthy" smell. Unless Viv is some sort of dog medium, and relives Chloe's adventures in Tijuana, the privileged woman's newfound well-roundedness seems largely unearned; completely out of the blue. Do you know what's Pixar's secret? They make children's films that go a little too far. That's why they achieve transcendence. "Beverly Hills Chihuahua", on the other hand, plays out like "Far From Heaven" with a happy ending, sans the Brechtian distanciation. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewUltimateOct 22, 2010
This movie is quite underrated. Not underrated with hype, underrated with -- I don't even need to tell you. Though some parts of the plot may seem flawed, I thought the movie was funny and cute. Interesting style of humor also, it hasn'tThis movie is quite underrated. Not underrated with hype, underrated with -- I don't even need to tell you. Though some parts of the plot may seem flawed, I thought the movie was funny and cute. Interesting style of humor also, it hasn't really been done before. So it was fresh and original too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FreedomFightersNov 14, 2016
"Beverly Hills Chihuahua" is everything you expect it to be, and whether or not that's a good thing really depends on whether or not those expectations are "good" in your eyes. It's your obvious Disney film with some cute and fun moments, but"Beverly Hills Chihuahua" is everything you expect it to be, and whether or not that's a good thing really depends on whether or not those expectations are "good" in your eyes. It's your obvious Disney film with some cute and fun moments, but nothing spectacular or new. It's a well-meaning film that should provide plenty of fun for your kids, but ultimately, that's the only crowd I can truly recommend this film to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diegonelliSep 13, 2015
This film is boring as **** that I never ended it, I always get bored and change the channel, so I don't even know the 100% story. And Chloe acts so unbearable. just ew. I'll give it 5 because I watched the 2 and the 3 and I like them more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
Beverly Hills Chihuahua is as lovely as ever and you'll pretty much enjoy the movie if you're into dogs. It's pretty much an average score of okay to decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews