Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2005
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 129 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
28
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
D.L.BrunnerDec 2, 2005
Not nearly as bad as I expected.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
GuilhemH.Jun 23, 2005
I think that, like in the sitcom they are trying to shoot within the movie, Nora Ephron has done so many cuts and changes that at this end, it doesn't make sense anymore. There were a few funny moments but not enough to satisfy the I think that, like in the sitcom they are trying to shoot within the movie, Nora Ephron has done so many cuts and changes that at this end, it doesn't make sense anymore. There were a few funny moments but not enough to satisfy the audience. And how can the audience relate to this hollywood talking about its own little problems? There's another world out there! And what about the end - if we can call that "an end"!...I think she just said "Cut" and it was over. Poor Samantha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RayH.Jul 2, 2005
Bewitched was an overall entertaining movie. I felt that the script was original, but the love story sucked big rotten eggs. I still enjoyed the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanyelleAug 30, 2005
Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie is beyond me. None of the characters are even 2 dimensional, let alone 3. They never develop and make you care about anyone. And my biggest disappointment is that it really never did anything having to do with the original Bewitched, there was like one scene redone (barely) from the old TV show and that was it. Man I was so disappointed, I can't even say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Sep 10, 2005
What we expect too much of, we assess too harshly. Any movie with Will Ferrell is going to be good for a few laughs, and since that was my only expectation going in, I was easily rewarded. Personal flashbacks to childhood tv watching ("oh What we expect too much of, we assess too harshly. Any movie with Will Ferrell is going to be good for a few laughs, and since that was my only expectation going in, I was easily rewarded. Personal flashbacks to childhood tv watching ("oh yeah, there was that guy paul lynde" "oh yeah, the absent-minded stammering aunt what's her name" "oh, that theme song really was catchy") were fun, though after seeing reruns of the show following seeing the movie, the flashbacks were better than the real thing. The only thing that wasn't better through memory than the original was Samantha ("oh yeah, elizabeth montgomery was much better looking and appealing than nicole kidman"). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StinkyStunkyAug 30, 2007
Good storyline. Shakey acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimB.Jun 25, 2005
We went to see this to escape the extreme heat and knew that it had generally bad reviews. However, any kid who grew up in the 1960s was completely charmed by Elizabeth Montgomery and once the word leaked out about the sly hipness of the We went to see this to escape the extreme heat and knew that it had generally bad reviews. However, any kid who grew up in the 1960s was completely charmed by Elizabeth Montgomery and once the word leaked out about the sly hipness of the rest of the cast the show seemed to grow in stature. In my opinion, Ephron recaptured the spirit of that show and Nicole Kidman has every bit the charm of Montgomery, even if she plays Samantha/Isabel differently. It is a charming throwaway to be sure, but a well-executed charming throwaway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.Jun 29, 2005
To the credit of writer/director Nora Ephron (You've Got Mail) and cowriter Delia Ephron (The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) they DON'T try to do a straight big-screen translation of the popular but overrated, one-joke 1960s To the credit of writer/director Nora Ephron (You've Got Mail) and cowriter Delia Ephron (The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) they DON'T try to do a straight big-screen translation of the popular but overrated, one-joke 1960s sitcom. It's just as well, because big-screen movie versions of small-screen comedies simply do not work (maybe the Ephrons sat in on some rushes of The Honeymooners and confirmed that truth for themselves), and because the most successful elements of the original show were its charming star Elizabeth Montgomery and such funny supporting players as Agnes Moorehead and Paul Lynde. What the Ephrons have done instead is used Bewitched as a springboard for a postmodern showbiz comedy-romance that has some amusing and pertinent sequences and observations...but doesn't work either. Will Ferrell plays Jack, an egotistical movie star who seeks to overcome a career slump by casting himself as witch's mortal hubby Darrin in a second TV take on the original series, finding an unknown actress to play witchy wife Samantha, and then upstaging her like there's no tomorrow. Enter Isabel (a cute, appealing Nicole Kidman), a naive witch who acts as though she's visiting Earth from another planet rather than the family and coven she's attempting to assert her independence from, and the sparks fly. Even though this is a seriously flawed concept from the get-go (TV show do-overs are historically very risky propositions, and BOTH Darrins were the most boring characters and actors on the original Bewitched, so Jack looks to be flushing his career even farther down the pipes with this venture), the first half of this movie is surprisingly bubbly, well-observed fun: the staging of TV scenes designed to spotlight Jack and all but completely obscure Isabel are nicely done, and when Isabel catches on and takes supernatural revenge, the bit in which she forces Jack to completely bollix one line over and over is as hysterical as anything I've seen in a movie this year. I thought I was home free, and was honestly wondering why all the critical hostility...and then came the Inside the Actors' Studio interview, the rewind device, and twenty other missteps that all the nose-twitching, ear-wiggling or whatever in the world can't cure, but which completely flatten the souffle, making Bewitched as unfocused, desperate and totally unfunny as the Ephrons' previous exercise in total mirthlessness, Mixed Nuts. The ONLY even remotely amusing aspect of the movie's final 45 minutes was the soundtrack contribution of Steve Lawrence, crooning the lyrics (!!) to the classic TV theme in his best faux-Sinatra voice, but trust me: everything else completely dies, withers and rots, and even Kidman and Ferrell seem completely lost in the dark. Then again, maybe the fault is just as much that of the original show as it is this take on it: let's face it, when you have a central character who can get anything she wants by possessing people into saying whatever she wants them to say, or can perform redos of mistakes or uncomfortable situations by simply making them cease to exist, the result inevitably is no conflict, no drama...and no comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TinamarieD.Jun 18, 2007
It had no plot. I wish they would of made it more like the old bewitched. Nicole was really cute in it but her talents were wasted in that movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
A tremendous disappointment, Kidman's talent doesn't belong here and Ferrell should sue. Its charming, yes, but it has no substance whatsoever, the plot stinks all the way, and we never receive what we were waiting for through the A tremendous disappointment, Kidman's talent doesn't belong here and Ferrell should sue. Its charming, yes, but it has no substance whatsoever, the plot stinks all the way, and we never receive what we were waiting for through the entire projection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattJun 25, 2005
Wow, I'm shocked at the bad reviews. I'm not the type who easily laughs out loud at movies and I did a few times at some good lines/sight gags. Kidman and Farrell aren't a dynamic duo but they are charming and appropriately Wow, I'm shocked at the bad reviews. I'm not the type who easily laughs out loud at movies and I did a few times at some good lines/sight gags. Kidman and Farrell aren't a dynamic duo but they are charming and appropriately cartoonish at times. A silly superfluous plot but I wasn't surprised by that. Perhaps the critics had higher expectations and I didn't???? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LisaM.Jun 26, 2005
Enough funny lines to make it enjoyable, but a lot of the plot just didn't hang together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
Other than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will FerrellOther than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will Ferrell even seemed to be wondering what he had got himself into. There are worse Ferrell movies but Bewitched will probably only appeal to uber-fans of the TV series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews