Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2005
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
28
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
D.L.BrunnerDec 2, 2005
Not nearly as bad as I expected.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RayE.Aug 31, 2005
It's cute and funny. I enjoyed it very much. Don't know why others think it's lousy... Hope there's Part 2!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TonyB.Oct 28, 2005
A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley Maclaine and Michael Caine must stop playing themselves, and Will Ferrell is a bore. Fortunately, A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley Maclaine and Michael Caine must stop playing themselves, and Will Ferrell is a bore. Fortunately, Nicole Kidman, the highlight of this dud, can't seem to do anything wrong, even when confonted with essentially worthless material. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Tdi7457May 14, 2011
Though certain parts of this film were a little over the top, it's the charm and revival of a largely popular sitcom that keeps the film entertaining, with some aide from the cast.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DanyelleAug 30, 2005
Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie is beyond me. None of the characters are even 2 dimensional, let alone 3. They never develop and make you care about anyone. And my biggest disappointment is that it really never did anything having to do with the original Bewitched, there was like one scene redone (barely) from the old TV show and that was it. Man I was so disappointed, I can't even say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Sep 10, 2005
What we expect too much of, we assess too harshly. Any movie with Will Ferrell is going to be good for a few laughs, and since that was my only expectation going in, I was easily rewarded. Personal flashbacks to childhood tv watching ("oh What we expect too much of, we assess too harshly. Any movie with Will Ferrell is going to be good for a few laughs, and since that was my only expectation going in, I was easily rewarded. Personal flashbacks to childhood tv watching ("oh yeah, there was that guy paul lynde" "oh yeah, the absent-minded stammering aunt what's her name" "oh, that theme song really was catchy") were fun, though after seeing reruns of the show following seeing the movie, the flashbacks were better than the real thing. The only thing that wasn't better through memory than the original was Samantha ("oh yeah, elizabeth montgomery was much better looking and appealing than nicole kidman"). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StinkyStunkyAug 30, 2007
Good storyline. Shakey acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GregT.Nov 3, 2005
Oh My God!! When you look up "lame" in the dictionary, you see a trailer for this movie. Horrendous unfunny slapstick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeyK.Dec 26, 2005
It was amusing and entertaining. It had some funny parts, and the whole movie was cute. It was unexpectedly weird, though. Also, it's far from a remake. It's more a coincidental story about the TV series rather than a remake of it, It was amusing and entertaining. It had some funny parts, and the whole movie was cute. It was unexpectedly weird, though. Also, it's far from a remake. It's more a coincidental story about the TV series rather than a remake of it, which may surprise anyone who isn't expecting it, myself included. Not the best movie, but certainly a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Pretty good movie,better then most of the ones that have come out lately,surpriseingly a movie worth seeing ,not many of those lately,maybe they havent forgot to make a good movie out thier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AnnieEOct 29, 2005
Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed 'cruel and unusual punishment.' Couldn't even walk out! Let's have some new stories, not Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed 'cruel and unusual punishment.' Couldn't even walk out! Let's have some new stories, not just re-imaging or whatever the latest term might be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Aug 22, 2005
Nicole Kidman is capable of being very funny. When Kidman guest-hosted SNL, she and Mike Myers played children, and her schoolyard temptress character who tries to seduce a hypoglycemic Myers with a chocolate bar was very winning. In Nicole Kidman is capable of being very funny. When Kidman guest-hosted SNL, she and Mike Myers played children, and her schoolyard temptress character who tries to seduce a hypoglycemic Myers with a chocolate bar was very winning. In "Bewitched", Kidman looks embarrassed in some of her scenes with Will Ferrell, especially the one where Isabel, under the spell of a love potion, joins Jack Wyatt in song on a building roof under stars. Kidman isn't able to keep up with Ferrell's volatile silliness, and needed director Nora Ephron to step in and ask the SNL alumnus to dial it down a notch, or two. Perhaps, Cameron Diaz would know how to complement Ferrell. "Bewitched" was probably the wrong vehicle to show how the runaway ego of an A-list star can sink a television or film project. The idea of a Darren-centric take on "Bewitched" that could actually make its way onto a network fall lineup is too unbelievable, even for a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TinamarieD.Jun 18, 2007
It had no plot. I wish they would of made it more like the old bewitched. Nicole was really cute in it but her talents were wasted in that movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
A tremendous disappointment, Kidman's talent doesn't belong here and Ferrell should sue. Its charming, yes, but it has no substance whatsoever, the plot stinks all the way, and we never receive what we were waiting for through the A tremendous disappointment, Kidman's talent doesn't belong here and Ferrell should sue. Its charming, yes, but it has no substance whatsoever, the plot stinks all the way, and we never receive what we were waiting for through the entire projection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CuculizaO.Sep 22, 2005
I knew this movie was gonna be bad. But I would've never guessed it was gonna be THIS bad. I love Nicole and I love the old tv show, so I thought that was gonna be enough for me to like this movie. But it wasn't. Though you get I knew this movie was gonna be bad. But I would've never guessed it was gonna be THIS bad. I love Nicole and I love the old tv show, so I thought that was gonna be enough for me to like this movie. But it wasn't. Though you get charmed by Kidman's character and the whole movie in the first 30 minutes, what comes after it is just plain boring, 0 entertainment, never in my life I wanted to walk away from the theater because of the movie. I'm still shocked by the fact that this movie was done. Not even the incredible Nicole saves it. Sad, but true. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanMNov 22, 2005
Charming and silly. No it probably won't win any awards, but that's not what it's all about. I thought it was sweet, and Nicole Kidman did a fabulous job, she's a great actress. Will Ferrell is very good also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
Other than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will FerrellOther than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will Ferrell even seemed to be wondering what he had got himself into. There are worse Ferrell movies but Bewitched will probably only appeal to uber-fans of the TV series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
heyitsmegrif4Jul 21, 2012
Stupid over the top humor and Will Ferrel's unbearable performance, totally dismisses Nicole Kidman's spot on portrayal and witty performance. I give this movie 23%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I expect this filth from Will Ferrell but Nicole Kidman? ...and Shirley MacLaine? Two actresses well above this flick. Perhaps what is most disappointing is the clear lack of effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
It was nothing to think critically about. There wasn't even much of a story to it, but all those huge actors managed to make it fun and have an old Hollywood atmosphere about it. Just pleasant to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
This troubleshooting remake may not be Ferrel's worst farce, but its certainly the most boring of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 5, 2016
It's not the best movie ever, but I think they did a great job taking the mythical Bewitched '60s series to the big screen.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1741-Bewitched
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews