Bewitched

Bewitched Image
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39
  1. It's funny, easily the funniest and least self-conscious movie that director Nora Ephron has made.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    60
    As long as it stays focused on showbiz, Bewitched is light, frothy fun. But Ephron insists on turning Bewitched into a love story, and that's when the fun starts to seep out of the movie.
  3. A romantic comedy that's pleasant, if not exactly spellbinding.
  4. Reviewed by: Simon Braund
    40
    It’s neither funny nor charming enough, proving a disappointing treatment of fabulous source material.
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    40
    Using R.E.M.'s impassioned "Everybody Hurts"--written by Michael Stipe after the suicide of Kurt Cobain--to underscore shots of Kidman and Ferrell feeling blue about their inability to pair off is an aesthetic crime. The Ephrons should be fined and forced to do a few hundred hours of community service.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    Bewitched presents a phony and cynical look at how Hollywood might make or remake a television show. It's as grating, laughless, and narcissistic (though, to its credit, not as cruel) as that new Lisa Kudrow show-within-a-show-within-a-show, "The Comeback."
  7. This hackneyed, hapless and utterly useless redo of an overrated 1960s sitcom is excruciating to sit through for a dozen reasons.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 71
  2. Negative: 28 out of 71
  1. RayE.
    Aug 31, 2005
    9
    It's cute and funny. I enjoyed it very much. Don't know why others think it's lousy... Hope there's Part 2!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. stanleyh.
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    Pretty good movie,better then most of the ones that have come out lately,surpriseingly a movie worth seeing ,not many of those lately,maybe Pretty good movie,better then most of the ones that have come out lately,surpriseingly a movie worth seeing ,not many of those lately,maybe they havent forgot to make a good movie out thier. Expand
  3. May 14, 2011
    8
    Though certain parts of this film were a little over the top, it's the charm and revival of a largely popular sitcom that keeps the filmThough certain parts of this film were a little over the top, it's the charm and revival of a largely popular sitcom that keeps the film entertaining, with some aide from the cast. Expand
  4. Danyelle
    Aug 30, 2005
    4
    Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie is beyond me. None of the characters are even 2 dimensional, let alone 3. They never develop and make you care about anyone. And my biggest disappointment is that it really never did anything having to do with the original Bewitched, there was like one scene redone (barely) from the old TV show and that was it. Man I was so disappointed, I can't even say. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    4
    Other than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. NicoleOther than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will Ferrell even seemed to be wondering what he had got himself into. There are worse Ferrell movies but Bewitched will probably only appeal to uber-fans of the TV series. Expand
  6. TonyB.
    Oct 28, 2005
    3
    A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley Maclaine and Michael Caine must stop playing themselves, and Will Ferrell is a bore. Fortunately, Nicole Kidman, the highlight of this dud, can't seem to do anything wrong, even when confonted with essentially worthless material. Expand
  7. AnnieE
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed 'cruel and unusual punishment.' Couldn't even walk out! Let's have some new stories, not just re-imaging or whatever the latest term might be. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.