Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39
  1. It's funny, easily the funniest and least self-conscious movie that director Nora Ephron has made.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    60
    As long as it stays focused on showbiz, Bewitched is light, frothy fun. But Ephron insists on turning Bewitched into a love story, and that's when the fun starts to seep out of the movie.
  3. A romantic comedy that's pleasant, if not exactly spellbinding.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    40
    Bewitched means to be a civilized entertainment, which occasionally it is. But the gentility of this antique sitcom cannot be recaptured at this late date.
  5. This isn’t Nicole Kidman’s first dalliance with witchcraft, and it is one of Bewitched’s unfortunate achievements that it actually makes one pine for Kidman’s 1998 dud, "Practical Magic." That witch at least had some sass; this cardigan-clad witch, alas, is an altogether more benign being, and by "benign" I mean boring.
  6. 38
    Forget chemistry: There's no biology to the star casting.
  7. This hackneyed, hapless and utterly useless redo of an overrated 1960s sitcom is excruciating to sit through for a dozen reasons.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 70
  2. Negative: 28 out of 70
  1. RayE.
    Aug 31, 2005
    9
    It's cute and funny. I enjoyed it very much. Don't know why others think it's lousy... Hope there's Part 2!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. SusanM
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    Charming and silly. No it probably won't win any awards, but that's not what it's all about. I thought it was sweet, and Charming and silly. No it probably won't win any awards, but that's not what it's all about. I thought it was sweet, and Nicole Kidman did a fabulous job, she's a great actress. Will Ferrell is very good also. Collapse
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    It was nothing to think critically about. There wasn't even much of a story to it, but all those huge actors managed to make it fun and haveIt was nothing to think critically about. There wasn't even much of a story to it, but all those huge actors managed to make it fun and have an old Hollywood atmosphere about it. Just pleasant to watch. Expand
  4. Danyelle
    Aug 30, 2005
    4
    Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think Well, now I was looking forward to this and I just love Will Ferrell and the Daily Show people, but the movie was missing a story. I think story is kinda the whole point. They never utilized the Daily Show comics, why they even did the movie is beyond me. None of the characters are even 2 dimensional, let alone 3. They never develop and make you care about anyone. And my biggest disappointment is that it really never did anything having to do with the original Bewitched, there was like one scene redone (barely) from the old TV show and that was it. Man I was so disappointed, I can't even say. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    4
    Other than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. NicoleOther than one scene (the Will Ferrell scene crying and talking in Spanish about his dog) the movie was unfunny and rather boring. Nicole Kidman seemed as if she would have preferred to be doing any movie other than this one and Will Ferrell even seemed to be wondering what he had got himself into. There are worse Ferrell movies but Bewitched will probably only appeal to uber-fans of the TV series. Expand
  6. TonyB.
    Oct 28, 2005
    3
    A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley A waste of time for those who made it and for those who sat through it, Bewitched has to be one of the big disappointments of 2005. Shirley Maclaine and Michael Caine must stop playing themselves, and Will Ferrell is a bore. Fortunately, Nicole Kidman, the highlight of this dud, can't seem to do anything wrong, even when confonted with essentially worthless material. Expand
  7. AnnieE
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed Bad enough to have to sit through this dog once on an eastbound flight, but then to get it again on the westbound flight was indeed 'cruel and unusual punishment.' Couldn't even walk out! Let's have some new stories, not just re-imaging or whatever the latest term might be. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.