Renaissance Films | Release Date: March 9, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 13 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
10
Mixed:
1
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnL.May 5, 2008
As a Missionary, I was deeply touched by this movie. The sadness of how humanity treats humanity, and how no one stepped in to try to stop it... I recommend it to all who have never set foot in other countries, and to all who need a shock As a Missionary, I was deeply touched by this movie. The sadness of how humanity treats humanity, and how no one stepped in to try to stop it... I recommend it to all who have never set foot in other countries, and to all who need a shock awakening as to what is going on elsewhere in the world besides here in the US. A fine depiction of both the Depravity of Man and the inability/unwillingness of governments to do what they ought to...unless there is something at stake for them to gain or prevent the loss of. A staunch reminder that Man's ways don't work, and that while God permits us to do these kinds of things to ourselves and our fellow humans, His ways are way so above ours and are what is needed in this world, if we would only permit Him to operate through us to effect the necessary changes. Think of it as a Prelude to/indication of what the tiniest bit of the coming Tribulation will be like, except the Tribulation will be on a MUCH larger scale and will be much much worse!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TonyB.Mar 8, 2007
A Film that tries too hard at being like honest and moving and instead falls to the hollywood stereotypes and political obsessions like so many africa-based films these days do. Entertaining, well acted, and at times powerful, but overall it A Film that tries too hard at being like honest and moving and instead falls to the hollywood stereotypes and political obsessions like so many africa-based films these days do. Entertaining, well acted, and at times powerful, but overall it comes up empty and brings little light to a done-with issue that has already been covered. A box office flop and a dull film. 3.2/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogerO.Mar 8, 2007
A profoundly moving and beautiful film that gets right to the point in a real-life depiction of a horrendous genocide build up. It shows you what really happened while delivering excellent acting performances. Not afraid to tell you the A profoundly moving and beautiful film that gets right to the point in a real-life depiction of a horrendous genocide build up. It shows you what really happened while delivering excellent acting performances. Not afraid to tell you the truth, and always in your face to show it. One of the best films of March. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Mar 8, 2007
I have studied both genocide, Rwanda, and cinema and I have seen "Hotel Rwanda" and the famous PBS documentary on the autocracies. This movie is well-made, smart, well-acted, and very entertaining. It is mostly accurate and defintly brutal I have studied both genocide, Rwanda, and cinema and I have seen "Hotel Rwanda" and the famous PBS documentary on the autocracies. This movie is well-made, smart, well-acted, and very entertaining. It is mostly accurate and defintly brutal in its honesty about a matter that was nothing but brutal. However, dispite the films innocent goodness, it is somewhat stupid. It tries so hard to educated you, as if you knew nothing, and instead achives a repetitive, dry one-perspective white story. The film gives you content, but no real backround of a situation. The greatest failure of the film, written by David Wolstencroft, is its inability to enter into the lives of the Rwandans, Tutsi and Hutu alike. The movie never moves beyond the tragic facts to show us the human face of either victims or perpetrators. All we get are white people shaking their heads and cursing Western governments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaN.Mar 8, 2007
John Hurt is magnetic as a Catholic priest running a school where terrified Tutsi have taken refuge, while Hugh Dancy, as a naive teacher, represents white commitment to black Africa at its most impotent and unreliable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanH.Mar 16, 2007
It is one of the most intense, riveting and honest pieces of cinema I have ever seen. I mean no disrespect towards "Hotel Rwanda" which is a very strong and important film, but I can tell you that it simply pales in comparison to "Beyond the It is one of the most intense, riveting and honest pieces of cinema I have ever seen. I mean no disrespect towards "Hotel Rwanda" which is a very strong and important film, but I can tell you that it simply pales in comparison to "Beyond the Gates" which was shot in Rwanda at the actual locations in and around Kigali. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful