Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2003
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
371
Mixed:
28
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MichaelI.Dec 12, 2003
Warm, delightful, often brilliant, great characters, beautifully put together. Burton at his better-than-best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SethF.Dec 12, 2003
I can see why it's gotten mixed reviews, it's a bizarre movie which gyrates between "reality" and "fantasy" and implores us to not think in those terms. If you like Tim Burton movies, you'll like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSNov 25, 2008
Big Fish I Love You and I Will Cherish You! enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KandraaOct 8, 2010
One of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not thinkOne of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not think about it see it as a bad movie with crude and rude humor. But if you actually use your mind while watching you'll discover so much. It's a movie where you can't just turn off your brain for a couple hours. That's is what is so brilliant about it. Amazing cast and writers. MUST SEE MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
luiscperOct 23, 2011
The adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybeThe adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybe when our parents are narrating their adventures, we should imagine them like Tim does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bluemilkJan 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (7.0) i really think it´s is a magnificent and delicius movie, Sometimes in the real life, we have to incorpore fantastic beauty to find happiness and live better . :) I consider it´s freat, and NOT predictable as so much critics consider . i really love it . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
This is a great movie and one of the most underrated films by Tim Burton. The film takes all of Burton's strengths and puts them into one. I can't recommend this enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers. Bottom Line: Comparable to The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Forrest Gump. Questions life and death in a fantastical manner.

Will Bloom: â
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Dec 29, 2014
Big Fish is a touching, moving, heartwarming and breathtaking film that will appeal to everyone. It is very creative and Tim Burton brings to life all the characters. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Feb 23, 2013
This is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because heThis is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because he understands what it takes to create a film that is worth watching no matter how unusual they can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AutiTakahashiJul 13, 2012
What a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dyingWhat a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dying father and his doubtful son. After years of no communication, they are reunited when human age reaches its fragile state. The son sits on a chair as he observes his weak father, who lies in what could be his deathbed.

Old Edward Bloom (Albert Finney) is a devoted storyteller who believes that true stories could use a little fiction for entertainment purposes. On the day his only son, Will, was born, he was out of town selling home appliances. Not a very exciting story for such a very momentous event. When Will is set to be married, his father shares with everyone the false account of how he caught a really big fish with his wedding ring the same day Will was born. This draws smiles from his listeners, but not from Will, who has heard the same lie repeatedly throughout his life. He walks away. And he doesn't return until old Edward becomes confined to his bedroom/

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/big-fish/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thatsmyrainbowMay 26, 2012
This movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. IThis movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. I enjoyed it so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A very interesting film. It's beautiful and unique. It's very entertaining and it is great because it causes you to question the boundary between fact and fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 12, 2015
I watched this for the first time a year and a half ago and I am not entirely sure what I missed. I hated it initially, but this time, it was marvelous. Maybe my tastes have simply just changed in that time, but wow, this was awesome. BillyI watched this for the first time a year and a half ago and I am not entirely sure what I missed. I hated it initially, but this time, it was marvelous. Maybe my tastes have simply just changed in that time, but wow, this was awesome. Billy Crudup is stellar, as are Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Marion Cotillard, and Jessica Lange. A fantastical adventure through the stories told to a man by his now dying father, Big Fish is a touching film that should strike a chord with every man in some way, in terms of his relationship with his father. This film is very much imperfect. The story could have told better for sure and the film can be a bit distant at times, but none of that matters because Big Fish touches you in a way that many films cannot. An imaginative film that is very much about the men it concerns more so than the stories told here, Big Fish is a winner because of the heart at its core, more so than the stories it told that may not make much sense and could have been told better. After a while, the tall tales told here become entirely endearing, which is just too darn appropriate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
catkiller182Aug 2, 2012
One of my all time favorite movies an amazing story heart warming a must watch recommend to all great family adventure first time I watched it went straight out & bought it its that kinda good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OutATimeJul 26, 2016
I enjoy this tale to be honest. I like to think of it as a look into the life of a film maker, always telling tall tales, about different things. I like the imagery and the characterizations and the little stories woven together andI enjoy this tale to be honest. I like to think of it as a look into the life of a film maker, always telling tall tales, about different things. I like the imagery and the characterizations and the little stories woven together and in-universe 'fact' blending with 'fiction'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Feb 13, 2013
Some of the fantasy elements are decidedly hammy, but overall "Big Fish" still manages to entertain the audience with charming visuals, rich sentimentality, and a fine performances from Albert Finney and Ewan McGregor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 30, 2013
An incredibly well acted film combines the style of Tim Burton with a story that works emotionally and visually. This is one of Tim Burton's best films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieOranJun 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is simply not a movie...it's a tall tale of an old dieing mans life and the magic that bestows him, the places he goes the people he meets, and how he became what he always was a BIG FISH IN A SMALL RIVER....and there's no doubt that didnt make me cry Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SamSkJun 30, 2013
I loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy itI loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy it then it is possible you did not understand it. I certainly did understand it and I still continue to love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Sep 4, 2015
Big Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it whenBig Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it when you see beautifully done movie about a man whose life becomes a legend through the stories he told his kid growing up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HarmonicAug 6, 2014
The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important.The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important. The most important is having a free-imagination ! And I love Ewan McGregor's acting !! And I love Danny Elfman's soundtrack ! In short, I love the atmosphere of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
thomasljoguesNov 14, 2014
A most imaginative film, this movie shows some thought in plot construction. However, there is no sense of pacing or climax until the movie's end is 4 minutes away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeanollyApr 24, 2016
This movie is amazing. It has a believable conflict, the story is beautiful. You may get confused along the way, but if you can stick with it you will be surprised on how much you liked it. My favorite part was the ending it was very bitter-sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans got the better of him, because in this movie his crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans still worked very effectively. Tim Burton may be the biggest name attached to Big Fish, but its really screenwriter John Augusts' movie, as he masterfully adapts a book about storytelling into a movie about storytelling with ease.

''Big Fish'' is simply put a great film, it has everything to succeed as a heartwarming and charming, emotional yet funny, family film. Great acting from an impressive cast including late and great Albert Finney and up and coming Ewan McGregor both playing the same character. The story is absolutely brilliant and fun, it's original and special, i absolutely love it.

In the end you'll just have to experience this one of a kind movie, and i guarantee you'll love it. It's a movie for young and old.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 11, 2017
Tim Burton fait souvent dans le burlesque plus ou moins gnangnan et c'est de ce fait rarement réussi. Ce gros poisson ne va pas nous contredire puisqu'il s'agit d"un condensé d'inepties à même de ravir éventuellement la marmaille peuTim Burton fait souvent dans le burlesque plus ou moins gnangnan et c'est de ce fait rarement réussi. Ce gros poisson ne va pas nous contredire puisqu'il s'agit d"un condensé d'inepties à même de ravir éventuellement la marmaille peu regardante ou les adultes un peu simples. En outre, pour ne rien arranger, ça dure des milions d'années (en temps subjectif) : un cinéma-tortue ramolli du fion qui avance comme un petit vieux, comme ce petit vieux dans le film qui claironne en boucle ses conneries de contes de fées à la mords-moi-le-noeud. Cette andouille d'Ewan McGregor n'arrange pas non plus les affaires de ce film décidément bien pitoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews