Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2003
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 419 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
374
Mixed:
28
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A very interesting film. It's beautiful and unique. It's very entertaining and it is great because it causes you to question the boundary between fact and fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 12, 2015
I watched this for the first time a year and a half ago and I am not entirely sure what I missed. I hated it initially, but this time, it was marvelous. Maybe my tastes have simply just changed in that time, but wow, this was awesome. BillyI watched this for the first time a year and a half ago and I am not entirely sure what I missed. I hated it initially, but this time, it was marvelous. Maybe my tastes have simply just changed in that time, but wow, this was awesome. Billy Crudup is stellar, as are Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Marion Cotillard, and Jessica Lange. A fantastical adventure through the stories told to a man by his now dying father, Big Fish is a touching film that should strike a chord with every man in some way, in terms of his relationship with his father. This film is very much imperfect. The story could have told better for sure and the film can be a bit distant at times, but none of that matters because Big Fish touches you in a way that many films cannot. An imaginative film that is very much about the men it concerns more so than the stories told here, Big Fish is a winner because of the heart at its core, more so than the stories it told that may not make much sense and could have been told better. After a while, the tall tales told here become entirely endearing, which is just too darn appropriate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
catkiller182Aug 2, 2012
One of my all time favorite movies an amazing story heart warming a must watch recommend to all great family adventure first time I watched it went straight out & bought it its that kinda good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OutATimeJul 26, 2016
I enjoy this tale to be honest. I like to think of it as a look into the life of a film maker, always telling tall tales, about different things. I like the imagery and the characterizations and the little stories woven together andI enjoy this tale to be honest. I like to think of it as a look into the life of a film maker, always telling tall tales, about different things. I like the imagery and the characterizations and the little stories woven together and in-universe 'fact' blending with 'fiction'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Feb 13, 2013
Some of the fantasy elements are decidedly hammy, but overall "Big Fish" still manages to entertain the audience with charming visuals, rich sentimentality, and a fine performances from Albert Finney and Ewan McGregor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 30, 2013
An incredibly well acted film combines the style of Tim Burton with a story that works emotionally and visually. This is one of Tim Burton's best films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieOranJun 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is simply not a movie...it's a tall tale of an old dieing mans life and the magic that bestows him, the places he goes the people he meets, and how he became what he always was a BIG FISH IN A SMALL RIVER....and there's no doubt that didnt make me cry Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SamSkJun 30, 2013
I loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy itI loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy it then it is possible you did not understand it. I certainly did understand it and I still continue to love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Sep 4, 2015
Big Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it whenBig Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it when you see beautifully done movie about a man whose life becomes a legend through the stories he told his kid growing up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HarmonicAug 6, 2014
The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important.The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important. The most important is having a free-imagination ! And I love Ewan McGregor's acting !! And I love Danny Elfman's soundtrack ! In short, I love the atmosphere of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeanollyApr 24, 2016
This movie is amazing. It has a believable conflict, the story is beautiful. You may get confused along the way, but if you can stick with it you will be surprised on how much you liked it. My favorite part was the ending it was very bitter-sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans got the better of him, because in this movie his crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans still worked very effectively. Tim Burton may be the biggest name attached to Big Fish, but its really screenwriter John Augusts' movie, as he masterfully adapts a book about storytelling into a movie about storytelling with ease.

''Big Fish'' is simply put a great film, it has everything to succeed as a heartwarming and charming, emotional yet funny, family film. Great acting from an impressive cast including late and great Albert Finney and up and coming Ewan McGregor both playing the same character. The story is absolutely brilliant and fun, it's original and special, i absolutely love it.

In the end you'll just have to experience this one of a kind movie, and i guarantee you'll love it. It's a movie for young and old.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews