Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
312
Mixed:
27
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlonsoC.Jul 11, 2009
A You-Must-See Movie, one of my favorite movies of all time, it has a funny part and has it serious and lovely part, you always learn something about life in this movie. And as Sam F. Says, this is one of those movie where you can say that A You-Must-See Movie, one of my favorite movies of all time, it has a funny part and has it serious and lovely part, you always learn something about life in this movie. And as Sam F. Says, this is one of those movie where you can say that if don't liked it, it's because you didn't get it. One of the greatest movies of all time (in MY opinion). Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
NedRyerson1Jul 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Big Fish is a peculiar movie, even for being a Tim Burton picture. It is about the life of a man whose father loves to tells stories from the time he was young, but the problem is that the anecdotes are hard to believe, because there are extremely rare and unlikely to happen; for example the story of the eye of a witch that can tell you when you are going to die, the one of a giant who is convinced to leave and stop terrifying a town, the circus that is managed by a werewolf or the scape from a war with two Siamese. All this produce constant fights between Edward and his son; and this is one of the topics that Tim Burton treats on his films. Although the other topics from this great director are less developed they are also noticeable: the gothic and expressionist characters (the witch, the giant and the circus manager) and environments (the forest and the witch house); and the contrast between two worlds represented graphically, the present in which Edward tells his stories (darker or opaque colors) and the past in which the stories take place (bright and attractive colors).
The thing is that does not matter if the anecdotes were real or not, you decide what you want to believe, you can live a boring life and had nothing interesting to tell, no dreams, no hope, no goals; or you can live an amazing life, with endless stories to tell and enjoy being a Big Fish.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
erixsMay 31, 2009
Very touching...!! My girlfriend cried after seeing this movie, TWICE !!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
samfApr 17, 2009
This is one of those movies where I can say that if you don't like it, it's because you don't get it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Oct 13, 2007
Tim Burton's masterpiece. A brilliant work of art that can greatly be felt as you lose yourself in this delightful fantasy. Great performances all around as well, especially Albert Finney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottDSep 3, 2008
There are few movies I would give a shameless perfect score, and this is one of them. Big Fish has been my number-one favorite movie ever since I saw it a few years ago. I have since watched it at least 15 more times, and every time I watch There are few movies I would give a shameless perfect score, and this is one of them. Big Fish has been my number-one favorite movie ever since I saw it a few years ago. I have since watched it at least 15 more times, and every time I watch it, I never fail to be amazed, touched, and interested. There are so many things to think about in this movie, and literally every time I watch it some new metaphor or parallel occurs to me. Do not listen to the critics, because obviously they are too heartless to understand how truly awe-inspiring and amazing this film is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
People who give this movie less then 6 doesn't understand it, and probably can't see past the archetypal clichés... This is one of my all-time favourite movies, visually magnificent and one of the best, moving and greatest People who give this movie less then 6 doesn't understand it, and probably can't see past the archetypal clichés... This is one of my all-time favourite movies, visually magnificent and one of the best, moving and greatest stories ever... This story is indeed "bigger than Life itself... Definitely Burton's best, his magnum opus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Mar 25, 2007
It is a wonderful, heartfelt, lyrical story!!!! Just see it with a open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnL.Mar 25, 2007
The movie is a delightful story to be seen and felt. It challenges our cynicism of adulthood and brings us back to where our imagination begins, where everything is possible, where the world full of magics and dreams. The movie is a touching The movie is a delightful story to be seen and felt. It challenges our cynicism of adulthood and brings us back to where our imagination begins, where everything is possible, where the world full of magics and dreams. The movie is a touching reminder to us: let imagination saturate our pragmatic, "scientific", factual lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaoloNov 14, 2005
This film is a test for your heart. Depending on your vote you can know if your heart is made of stone or not. If you are able to "understand" and "feel" what this film is trying to say then you can not give it less than 8. I'm glad to This film is a test for your heart. Depending on your vote you can know if your heart is made of stone or not. If you are able to "understand" and "feel" what this film is trying to say then you can not give it less than 8. I'm glad to see the vast majority of people does indeed have a heart :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaHOct 9, 2006
This movie is a great tall tale. Tim Burton really catches the attention of audiences with his work of art in this film. It must have taken lots of planning to make this wondrous film. No one film will be as amazing as this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RirenMar 3, 2007
An uncompromising compromise between morose reality and cartoonish fantasy. It reconciles the fairy tales of American youth, all the sweet things we enjoyed as children, with the cynicism and coldness with build up during maturity. In many An uncompromising compromise between morose reality and cartoonish fantasy. It reconciles the fairy tales of American youth, all the sweet things we enjoyed as children, with the cynicism and coldness with build up during maturity. In many senses, Big Fish is about the different kinds of love, and so many of the reasons we fall into them. Littered with over the top moments and brilliant visual art, it is probably Burton's best film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanJun 19, 2008
I absolutely adore this movie. Charming, beautiful, moving. A wonderful American fantasy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinD.Sep 11, 2008
Big Fish, though a bit wordy at the start, pulls together and will mesmerize any viewer that can recognize the contrasts between a creatively imaginative child and an adult that utilizes a standard, and sometimes dull worldview. I'm Big Fish, though a bit wordy at the start, pulls together and will mesmerize any viewer that can recognize the contrasts between a creatively imaginative child and an adult that utilizes a standard, and sometimes dull worldview. I'm starting to believe the critics aren't worthy of their role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaunMar 28, 2009
I am not easily moved by movies, mostly because most of them don't attempt to reach an emotional nerve without throwing on the cheese. This movie does it perfectly - a beautiful and moving story, well told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmandoA.Feb 19, 2006
Along with "Edward Scissorhands", this movie is just one of the best love stories ever told. Very original, very touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulienkaB.Feb 24, 2006
big fish is a beautiful movie, very sensitive, great characters, a diferent burton's movie, his best movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewG.Aug 14, 2006
incredible, burton is a genius, his dramas r the best,big fish is epic,one of the best movies i've seen ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CKAug 15, 2006
This is honeslty one of my favorite movies. I do not understand why it got mixed reviews. It is right up there with Lord of the Rings as the best movie of '03.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonSApr 27, 2008
While to me it resembles no Burton qualities, Tim is the perfect storyteller to tell a story about the perfect storyteller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSNov 25, 2008
Big Fish I Love You and I Will Cherish You! enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KandraaOct 8, 2010
One of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not thinkOne of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not think about it see it as a bad movie with crude and rude humor. But if you actually use your mind while watching you'll discover so much. It's a movie where you can't just turn off your brain for a couple hours. That's is what is so brilliant about it. Amazing cast and writers. MUST SEE MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
luiscperOct 23, 2011
The adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybeThe adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybe when our parents are narrating their adventures, we should imagine them like Tim does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bluemilkJan 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (7.0) i really think it´s is a magnificent and delicius movie, Sometimes in the real life, we have to incorpore fantastic beauty to find happiness and live better . :) I consider it´s freat, and NOT predictable as so much critics consider . i really love it . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
This is a great movie and one of the most underrated films by Tim Burton. The film takes all of Burton's strengths and puts them into one. I can't recommend this enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Comparable to The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Forrest Gump. Questions life and death in a fantastical manner.

Will Bloom: â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Dec 29, 2014
Big Fish is a touching, moving, heartwarming and breathtaking film that will appeal to everyone. It is very creative and Tim Burton brings to life all the characters. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Feb 23, 2013
This is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because heThis is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because he understands what it takes to create a film that is worth watching no matter how unusual they can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AutiTakahashiJul 13, 2012
What a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dyingWhat a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dying father and his doubtful son. After years of no communication, they are reunited when human age reaches its fragile state. The son sits on a chair as he observes his weak father, who lies in what could be his deathbed.

Old Edward Bloom (Albert Finney) is a devoted storyteller who believes that true stories could use a little fiction for entertainment purposes. On the day his only son, Will, was born, he was out of town selling home appliances. Not a very exciting story for such a very momentous event. When Will is set to be married, his father shares with everyone the false account of how he caught a really big fish with his wedding ring the same day Will was born. This draws smiles from his listeners, but not from Will, who has heard the same lie repeatedly throughout his life. He walks away. And he doesn't return until old Edward becomes confined to his bedroom/

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/big-fish/
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thatsmyrainbowMay 26, 2012
This movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. IThis movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. I enjoyed it so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews