Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2003
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 412 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
368
Mixed:
28
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
JonA.Jan 13, 2004
First of all, this was a wonderful movie. In a world of the fantastical revolving around violence and crude humor, this film brings back the wonder to real, natural life in a beautiful way. As for the racist comments by our first First of all, this was a wonderful movie. In a world of the fantastical revolving around violence and crude humor, this film brings back the wonder to real, natural life in a beautiful way. As for the racist comments by our first commentator; I sympathize with your frustration, but quiet frankly, if you attack this movie for being racist, etc. you have not seen a lot of other movies in this day in age. The father separates his "cool friends" from his family because he leaves it ambiguous to whether they actually existed or not. People, pick up a book once in a while~ have we lost contact with our own imagination? Whew... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronS.Jan 9, 2004
What the heck are you people talking about? This is one Great movie. It is definately one of Burton's best movies. The acting is superb, music is wonderful, the cinematography and costuming are extremely good. The story is magical and What the heck are you people talking about? This is one Great movie. It is definately one of Burton's best movies. The acting is superb, music is wonderful, the cinematography and costuming are extremely good. The story is magical and enchanting. GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidneyF.Feb 3, 2004
A masterpiece of life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchO.Mar 8, 2004
This movie rocks!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Oct 13, 2007
Tim Burton's masterpiece. A brilliant work of art that can greatly be felt as you lose yourself in this delightful fantasy. Great performances all around as well, especially Albert Finney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottDSep 3, 2008
There are few movies I would give a shameless perfect score, and this is one of them. Big Fish has been my number-one favorite movie ever since I saw it a few years ago. I have since watched it at least 15 more times, and every time I watch There are few movies I would give a shameless perfect score, and this is one of them. Big Fish has been my number-one favorite movie ever since I saw it a few years ago. I have since watched it at least 15 more times, and every time I watch it, I never fail to be amazed, touched, and interested. There are so many things to think about in this movie, and literally every time I watch it some new metaphor or parallel occurs to me. Do not listen to the critics, because obviously they are too heartless to understand how truly awe-inspiring and amazing this film is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlonsoC.Jul 11, 2009
A You-Must-See Movie, one of my favorite movies of all time, it has a funny part and has it serious and lovely part, you always learn something about life in this movie. And as Sam F. Says, this is one of those movie where you can say that A You-Must-See Movie, one of my favorite movies of all time, it has a funny part and has it serious and lovely part, you always learn something about life in this movie. And as Sam F. Says, this is one of those movie where you can say that if don't liked it, it's because you didn't get it. One of the greatest movies of all time (in MY opinion). Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HoldenCaulfieldJan 10, 2004
Absolutely brilliant! Burton takes us into a completely different world of the likes that will never be seen again untill Burton gets his hands another script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebC.Jan 13, 2004
I loved it! special connection to this movie helped me give it a 10. i thought it was like reading a book. i love this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FuzzyDiceJan 15, 2004
Warmth, nuance and childhood (as well as adult!) fantasy abound in Burton's best film since PeeWee's Big Adventure!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Dec 8, 2004
This is my all-time favourite movie, I love the story, the characters and the message. It is all about the power of imagination, and it is a perfect movie. I have seen it multiple times and I could watch it daily and never get sick of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyH.Jan 4, 2004
I thought this was an excellent movie. The story was great. I was smiling the entire movie. Really Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicsaMay 2, 2004
One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
benJan 9, 2005
I can't believe the mixed reviews this film got, and i'm simply in disbelief that it didn't win best picture. it was funny and absolutely heartbreaking, honestly one of the best films i've seen. it's near the top of I can't believe the mixed reviews this film got, and i'm simply in disbelief that it didn't win best picture. it was funny and absolutely heartbreaking, honestly one of the best films i've seen. it's near the top of the list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
People who give this movie less then 6 doesn't understand it, and probably can't see past the archetypal clichés... This is one of my all-time favourite movies, visually magnificent and one of the best, moving and greatest People who give this movie less then 6 doesn't understand it, and probably can't see past the archetypal clichés... This is one of my all-time favourite movies, visually magnificent and one of the best, moving and greatest stories ever... This story is indeed "bigger than Life itself... Definitely Burton's best, his magnum opus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Mar 25, 2007
It is a wonderful, heartfelt, lyrical story!!!! Just see it with a open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxwellS.Dec 30, 2003
Because I'm so tired, I'll keep this short. The film is flawlessly incredible. Burton delivers once again with probably his best film thus far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewC.Dec 9, 2003
The most beautiful and moving film I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Jan 11, 2004
I was shocked to see a score of 56 on MetaCritic. I was expecting to see something in the 90s. This was the best movie for 2003 that I saw. A lot of my friends have already seen this and not one has had anything bad to say about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KippaBoyNov 28, 2004
From reading everyone elses comments, it seems that everyone has mixed feelings about this movie. I never thought that such a film that i had not heard of would be and could be so inspiring and entertaining, i am a 21 year old engineer who From reading everyone elses comments, it seems that everyone has mixed feelings about this movie. I never thought that such a film that i had not heard of would be and could be so inspiring and entertaining, i am a 21 year old engineer who enjoys rugby and all other sports, i see myself as a hard man, this fil made me cry like a baby, never before have i been so involved and gripped. It has even made me want to turn on the computer and write this, something i thought that only sad people who had too much time on their hands did! Inspiring, awesome, incredible. who cares what everyone else thinks this film is myb absolute all time favourite!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuyI.Jan 12, 2004
Matthew T. Dude, you have problems. LOL. This is a great film for people of all races and cultures to enjoy. Saw an early preview a while back and it reddemed my faith in Hollywood amid all the crap it has been spewing out lately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinD.Jan 17, 2004
What the heck is the problem with all of these critics? Can't they tell one good movie from another? The reviews are nothing but a whangdoodle(except for the good ones). Big Fish is one of the best pictures created that touches the What the heck is the problem with all of these critics? Can't they tell one good movie from another? The reviews are nothing but a whangdoodle(except for the good ones). Big Fish is one of the best pictures created that touches the heart. It is one of the best movies I've ever seen about family, love, and friendship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.DiddyJan 19, 2004
This is the best movie i've seen in a long time. i had no idea what its about when i went to see it and i was pleasantly suprised, that its about the beauty of the moment.. a beautiful story that may or may not lead somewhere.. it isThis is the best movie i've seen in a long time. i had no idea what its about when i went to see it and i was pleasantly suprised, that its about the beauty of the moment.. a beautiful story that may or may not lead somewhere.. it is refreshingly different from the usual hollywood garbage. i cant believe papers like washington post gave it a bad rating. from what they said it was missing exactly what pathetic hollywood movies attempt to deliver. recipe for maximum audience. !@#$ washington post & @#$ movie critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJan 21, 2004
Liked it a lot. It's a story about life in how we are remembered. The cast was outstanding. The facts don't really matter only the legend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolAnnC.Jan 30, 2004
I adored this film. It was just a celebration of life even if most of it was a figment of imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Feb 6, 2004
Ignore the critics on this one. Big Fish is one of the best movies of any year. So what if Ed's stories aren't 100% factual. This movie knows that life is more than just marking off days on the calendar. Enjoy the movie as a Ignore the critics on this one. Big Fish is one of the best movies of any year. So what if Ed's stories aren't 100% factual. This movie knows that life is more than just marking off days on the calendar. Enjoy the movie as a celebration of a life worth living. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.Mar 7, 2004
Creative storytelling, ingenious cinematography and a wholesome atmosphere make this a memorable fantasy. I left the theatre feeling as if I had seen a real movie for a change.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KajmanAug 13, 2004
Fabulous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaoloNov 14, 2005
This film is a test for your heart. Depending on your vote you can know if your heart is made of stone or not. If you are able to "understand" and "feel" what this film is trying to say then you can not give it less than 8. I'm glad to This film is a test for your heart. Depending on your vote you can know if your heart is made of stone or not. If you are able to "understand" and "feel" what this film is trying to say then you can not give it less than 8. I'm glad to see the vast majority of people does indeed have a heart :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RohanW.Jan 21, 2005
The number of critics prepared to influence the public not to see this film is appalling. I'm infinitely saddened that a film with this much charm and heart is "outshined" by generic trash fueled by guns and blades and sex - and The number of critics prepared to influence the public not to see this film is appalling. I'm infinitely saddened that a film with this much charm and heart is "outshined" by generic trash fueled by guns and blades and sex - and I'm a 22 year old guy. See this film as soon as possible and make up your own mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SiobhanT.Jun 27, 2005
FANTASTIC film but be prepared for a good cry. Lovely story and ending but I had to phone my Dad after I watched it! Hope everyone else enjoys it as much as I did!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaHOct 9, 2006
This movie is a great tall tale. Tim Burton really catches the attention of audiences with his work of art in this film. It must have taken lots of planning to make this wondrous film. No one film will be as amazing as this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanJun 19, 2008
I absolutely adore this movie. Charming, beautiful, moving. A wonderful American fantasy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
erixsMay 31, 2009
Very touching...!! My girlfriend cried after seeing this movie, TWICE !!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilDec 9, 2003
It's magical! It's a living fairy tail! It's brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottJan 11, 2004
Did Jessica Lange speak?!? She ONLY delivered the most potent, heartfelt, and unforgettable line of dialogue of the past several years: "I don't think I'll ever dry out......." Big Fish is an altogether incredible film. I honestly Did Jessica Lange speak?!? She ONLY delivered the most potent, heartfelt, and unforgettable line of dialogue of the past several years: "I don't think I'll ever dry out......." Big Fish is an altogether incredible film. I honestly do not understand the negative reviews. It's a perfect film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamienP.Jan 19, 2004
I found this movie to be vastly entertaining while also delivering a great message. There was only a few moments of misguided direction, otherwise I think it was flawless for what it was trying to accomplish. When a movie can relate to I found this movie to be vastly entertaining while also delivering a great message. There was only a few moments of misguided direction, otherwise I think it was flawless for what it was trying to accomplish. When a movie can relate to possible relationships the viewer can relate to, it connects that much closer. All in all a good family movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryDec 17, 2004
Simply remarkable, my all-time favourite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJBozoFeb 11, 2004
The Art of Storytelling!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MontyS.Apr 26, 2004
Fabulous movie. Moving. I found it very interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraKaMay 24, 2004
Perfect film. Not being a small statement since my world consists of flicks, movies and films. This was budda. Too bad most people want their entertainment spoon-fed. I do feel sorrow for those who struggled with this film or left before it Perfect film. Not being a small statement since my world consists of flicks, movies and films. This was budda. Too bad most people want their entertainment spoon-fed. I do feel sorrow for those who struggled with this film or left before it was finished. I guess there isn't enough Fast-n-Friveless or Die Hard 82's out to get this one past the general public. Too much advertising is this ones only falut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulienkaB.Feb 24, 2006
big fish is a beautiful movie, very sensitive, great characters, a diferent burton's movie, his best movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewG.Aug 14, 2006
incredible, burton is a genius, his dramas r the best,big fish is epic,one of the best movies i've seen ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CKAug 15, 2006
This is honeslty one of my favorite movies. I do not understand why it got mixed reviews. It is right up there with Lord of the Rings as the best movie of '03.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luiscperOct 23, 2011
The adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybeThe adventures of a father, narrated by himself, that captivates the senses of any spectator except his son. It's brilliant how Tim draw this adventures, full of bizarre facts, details and characters and show us in a lyrical way that maybe when our parents are narrating their adventures, we should imagine them like Tim does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
This is a great movie and one of the most underrated films by Tim Burton. The film takes all of Burton's strengths and puts them into one. I can't recommend this enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Dec 29, 2014
Big Fish is a touching, moving, heartwarming and breathtaking film that will appeal to everyone. It is very creative and Tim Burton brings to life all the characters. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Feb 23, 2013
This is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because heThis is a film for anybody that has some concept of what it means to believe in imagination, magic, and stories. It is so enriching and emotionally powerful. Tim Burton may be different than other directors, but that is only because he understands what it takes to create a film that is worth watching no matter how unusual they can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thatsmyrainbowMay 26, 2012
This movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. IThis movie is for daydreamers. This movie is so perfectly done that I dont know how people dont like it. Tim Burton, a genius. The whole analiysis you can make about this movie is incredible. How everything has a etymological meaning. I enjoyed it so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
catkiller182Aug 2, 2012
One of my all time favorite movies an amazing story heart warming a must watch recommend to all great family adventure first time I watched it went straight out & bought it its that kinda good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieOranJun 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is simply not a movie...it's a tall tale of an old dieing mans life and the magic that bestows him, the places he goes the people he meets, and how he became what he always was a BIG FISH IN A SMALL RIVER....and there's no doubt that didnt make me cry Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Sep 4, 2015
Big Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it whenBig Fish is really a delightful and touching movie, it truly is one of my favorite movies of all time. While i've often found Tim Burton movies to be a little on the odd side, this one was odd but also had a sweet and serious touch to it when you see beautifully done movie about a man whose life becomes a legend through the stories he told his kid growing up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HarmonicAug 6, 2014
The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important.The Tim Burton's masterpiece, as good as Sleepy Hollow, in a different way... I loved this relation father/son and the lesson that we can learn : yes, maybe the stories told by your parents were not true... But it's not the most important. The most important is having a free-imagination ! And I love Ewan McGregor's acting !! And I love Danny Elfman's soundtrack ! In short, I love the atmosphere of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeanollyApr 24, 2016
This movie is amazing. It has a believable conflict, the story is beautiful. You may get confused along the way, but if you can stick with it you will be surprised on how much you liked it. My favorite part was the ending it was very bitter-sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MandellS.Jan 1, 2004
A lyrical gem of a movie. It affirms both the power of art and the power of love. Big Fish presents a series of tall tales that evoke Twain's Gothic images of the American South as well as Homer's Oddesy. You have to have a heart A lyrical gem of a movie. It affirms both the power of art and the power of love. Big Fish presents a series of tall tales that evoke Twain's Gothic images of the American South as well as Homer's Oddesy. You have to have a heart of stone not be moved by this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanI.Jan 10, 2004
I just got back from watching this film, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading recent reviews about the Big Fish I was afraid that it wasn't going to be as good as the original reviews made it out to be. Fortunatly, it was I just got back from watching this film, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading recent reviews about the Big Fish I was afraid that it wasn't going to be as good as the original reviews made it out to be. Fortunatly, it was everything and more. It was a feel good movie that was sappy, but not so sappy that you are ashamed to be at the movie with your friends. In fact I got lost in the movie itself and was feeling almost like I was a child again listening to tall tales. The acting was great, and the direction was all that you would expect from Tim Burton. From top to bottom this was the feel good film that I would suggest to anybody that is at all intrested in seeing this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillS.Jan 13, 2004
A beautifully whimsical tale woven together by Burton who shows remarkable depth of spirit and heart without any reliance on special effects or artificial fantasy characters. There was no 'racism' here - what a ludicrous thing to A beautifully whimsical tale woven together by Burton who shows remarkable depth of spirit and heart without any reliance on special effects or artificial fantasy characters. There was no 'racism' here - what a ludicrous thing to claim. Instead, you will find much soul and a deeper message about who we are and how we view our lives than you'll find in any other movie out right now. A delicately told yet quasi-imaginary sniffle-inspiring work, certainly worthy of more than the action-figure generation critics seem to be willing to give. Impatience, rather than any lack of moral or visual merit, is the source of most negative commets. Hint: Don't walk out of RETURN OF THE KING and expect to be equally deafened by BIG FISH. Leave the less-sensitive friends and family at home for this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamalFeb 16, 2004
Jamal liked it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeroyL.May 7, 2004
The only thing that prevents me from giving this delightful flick a 10 is one tiny, insulting flashback when Will Bloom (Crudup) meets Jenny (Bonham Carter). C'mon, unless you'd been snoozing through the film it was plainly The only thing that prevents me from giving this delightful flick a 10 is one tiny, insulting flashback when Will Bloom (Crudup) meets Jenny (Bonham Carter). C'mon, unless you'd been snoozing through the film it was plainly obvious. Probably a producer's insistence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnJul 27, 2005
A wonderful story that incorporates superb characters and acting with splendid visuals to create a very moving film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnL.Mar 25, 2007
The movie is a delightful story to be seen and felt. It challenges our cynicism of adulthood and brings us back to where our imagination begins, where everything is possible, where the world full of magics and dreams. The movie is a touching The movie is a delightful story to be seen and felt. It challenges our cynicism of adulthood and brings us back to where our imagination begins, where everything is possible, where the world full of magics and dreams. The movie is a touching reminder to us: let imagination saturate our pragmatic, "scientific", factual lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.BluthDec 10, 2003
Don't read this, just GO. This is one really beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredSSJan 10, 2004
What a splendid film! Easily one of the 5 best of the year, possibly top 3, as well as one of the 5 best films that Tim Burton's ever made (that's saying a lot coming from a Burton-aholic like myself). I think people that What a splendid film! Easily one of the 5 best of the year, possibly top 3, as well as one of the 5 best films that Tim Burton's ever made (that's saying a lot coming from a Burton-aholic like myself). I think people that aren't enjoying this film need their heads examined, and I think the Academy are going to need their heads examined when they don't even give Burton a nomination for Best Director. I know they won't, purely because he's Tim Burton, nobody takes him seriously enough. WHEN ARE PEOPLE GOING TO REALIZE THAT TIM BURTON IS AN ARTIST!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattANov 2, 2004
Great movie. It was fun entertainment with good laughs, some good morals, and some heart warming moments. All together, Big fish is a great movie to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshleyG.Jan 23, 2004
I genuinely loved this movie...it was hilarious and very moving. It did lag a tad bit at a few points though, that's why it's not a perfect 10. VERY much worth the money to see it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshW.Jan 29, 2004
This was a very fine film with some real heart to it. Its also nice to see a director like Burton expand his language as a film maker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenA.Jun 10, 2004
WHAT! How did this movie get such luke warm reviews? 56? This was one of the best movies of 03. This was just a beautiful movie. I don't have much more to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Mar 5, 2005
Different, interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
matta.Jul 15, 2005
Honestly, the crtiics blew it on this one. Beautiful fantasy film with exceptional performances from the two leads, McGregor and Finney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RirenMar 3, 2007
An uncompromising compromise between morose reality and cartoonish fantasy. It reconciles the fairy tales of American youth, all the sweet things we enjoyed as children, with the cynicism and coldness with build up during maturity. In many An uncompromising compromise between morose reality and cartoonish fantasy. It reconciles the fairy tales of American youth, all the sweet things we enjoyed as children, with the cynicism and coldness with build up during maturity. In many senses, Big Fish is about the different kinds of love, and so many of the reasons we fall into them. Littered with over the top moments and brilliant visual art, it is probably Burton's best film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinD.Sep 11, 2008
Big Fish, though a bit wordy at the start, pulls together and will mesmerize any viewer that can recognize the contrasts between a creatively imaginative child and an adult that utilizes a standard, and sometimes dull worldview. I'm Big Fish, though a bit wordy at the start, pulls together and will mesmerize any viewer that can recognize the contrasts between a creatively imaginative child and an adult that utilizes a standard, and sometimes dull worldview. I'm starting to believe the critics aren't worthy of their role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattS.Dec 16, 2003
I was in New York last weekend and bought a bootlegged dvd of this, [Ed: Bad form!] the picture and audio wasn't perfect, but you got to expect some faults for $5. This movie is a very delightful surprise. It is told as a fable or I was in New York last weekend and bought a bootlegged dvd of this, [Ed: Bad form!] the picture and audio wasn't perfect, but you got to expect some faults for $5. This movie is a very delightful surprise. It is told as a fable or fairytale. It has a very good cast and the story is very touching. It is a father/son story and is a good holiday movie, it runs sorta as two tales, reality and fantasy, I find that the fantasy scenes with Mcgregor are great while the reality scenes get a bit dry. I hope it comes to theaters everywhere, the only bad part is seeing Danny Devito's Buttocks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PasserByFeb 29, 2004
A film that is close to a 10... The general feel of this film begins with something that you don't know what to believe... As it progresses on, you start to piece together each bit of Ed's life... And little by little, it touches A film that is close to a 10... The general feel of this film begins with something that you don't know what to believe... As it progresses on, you start to piece together each bit of Ed's life... And little by little, it touches you heart with the warmth of it all... The love and bond between father and son shines throughout. Definitely not one to miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Apr 15, 2004
A little confusing at parts, but otherwise, well made, acted, funny, and touching at the same time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonT.May 31, 2004
A very touching film, that thanks to Burton's steady hand is able to be emotional without being corny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmandoA.Feb 19, 2006
Along with "Edward Scissorhands", this movie is just one of the best love stories ever told. Very original, very touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
samfApr 17, 2009
This is one of those movies where I can say that if you don't like it, it's because you don't get it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelI.Dec 12, 2003
Warm, delightful, often brilliant, great characters, beautifully put together. Burton at his better-than-best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSNov 25, 2008
Big Fish I Love You and I Will Cherish You! enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KandraaOct 8, 2010
One of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not thinkOne of my favorite movies. It is a fantastic story full of imagination and creativity. It really has a way of making you think. Not many people get the movie or think about it long enough to understand it fully. People who tend to not think about it see it as a bad movie with crude and rude humor. But if you actually use your mind while watching you'll discover so much. It's a movie where you can't just turn off your brain for a couple hours. That's is what is so brilliant about it. Amazing cast and writers. MUST SEE MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AutiTakahashiJul 13, 2012
What a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dyingWhat a magical movie this is. "Big Fish" challenges our faith and imagination with tales that sound too marvelous to be true, too extraordinary to be believable. But the strongest emotions are found between the broken relationship of a dying father and his doubtful son. After years of no communication, they are reunited when human age reaches its fragile state. The son sits on a chair as he observes his weak father, who lies in what could be his deathbed.

Old Edward Bloom (Albert Finney) is a devoted storyteller who believes that true stories could use a little fiction for entertainment purposes. On the day his only son, Will, was born, he was out of town selling home appliances. Not a very exciting story for such a very momentous event. When Will is set to be married, his father shares with everyone the false account of how he caught a really big fish with his wedding ring the same day Will was born. This draws smiles from his listeners, but not from Will, who has heard the same lie repeatedly throughout his life. He walks away. And he doesn't return until old Edward becomes confined to his bedroom/

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/big-fish/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 30, 2013
An incredibly well acted film combines the style of Tim Burton with a story that works emotionally and visually. This is one of Tim Burton's best films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SamSkJun 30, 2013
I loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy itI loved Big Fish. It was very uplifting and had a Forrest Gump feel to it. All the fairy tales told were engaging and heartwarming. I experienced a variety of emotions during this film and it almost drove me to tears. If you did not enjoy it then it is possible you did not understand it. I certainly did understand it and I still continue to love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other
Tim Burton's ''Big Fish'' is by far Tim Burton's second best movie he has made in his career running close second behind ''Batman (1989)''.
This is before Burton's crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans got the better of him, because in this movie his crazy mind and love for make-up, big sets, special effects and other shenanigans still worked very effectively. Tim Burton may be the biggest name attached to Big Fish, but its really screenwriter John Augusts' movie, as he masterfully adapts a book about storytelling into a movie about storytelling with ease.

''Big Fish'' is simply put a great film, it has everything to succeed as a heartwarming and charming, emotional yet funny, family film. Great acting from an impressive cast including late and great Albert Finney and up and coming Ewan McGregor both playing the same character. The story is absolutely brilliant and fun, it's original and special, i absolutely love it.

In the end you'll just have to experience this one of a kind movie, and i guarantee you'll love it. It's a movie for young and old.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GinoE.Jun 9, 2004
Big Fish is a magical story like you've never seen before... The stories are so amaginful and diffrent and always tell what you would never expect. Some happy, some sad and all beautiful.The sets and cinematography are just great! Same Big Fish is a magical story like you've never seen before... The stories are so amaginful and diffrent and always tell what you would never expect. Some happy, some sad and all beautiful.The sets and cinematography are just great! Same goes for Ewan's performance. The only thing I felt that was wrong is showing too much of the dramatic life that Edward has now. Cause the stories are wat more fun to wacht. If you liked Forrest Gump, You'll love this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyM.Dec 17, 2003
All right, I admit, I'm a sucker for father/son reconciliation films. This one is a beauty - arguably the best screenplay Burton has worked with. (as much as I love, say, "Nightmare Before Christmas," some of the writing is, well, lame) All right, I admit, I'm a sucker for father/son reconciliation films. This one is a beauty - arguably the best screenplay Burton has worked with. (as much as I love, say, "Nightmare Before Christmas," some of the writing is, well, lame) I especially loved identifying all of the little images from his other films. The movie is about the power of storytelling and, as such, invites us to decide whether a good story is better than a true story - or if the truth of a story is entirely in the ears of the hearer. A terrific cast (McGregor and Devito especially made me smile) and a (yes, I'll sa it) heartwarming story make this a pleasant night at the movies. Not for all tastes, but definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlancoA.Dec 3, 2003
This is definitely a Tim Burton film. Extremely original, but that goes without saying. Jessica Lange delivers a nuanced performance, and the GIANT is amazing! I don't know if it's a must-see, but certainly a should-see. Also, we This is definitely a Tim Burton film. Extremely original, but that goes without saying. Jessica Lange delivers a nuanced performance, and the GIANT is amazing! I don't know if it's a must-see, but certainly a should-see. Also, we need to see Billy Crudup in more movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JannaA.Jan 20, 2004
Liked it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LabinotK.May 24, 2004
It's different from the other movies, it's nice story. I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NettalaApr 21, 2005
I dont know why people say this film is rasist, im doing cousework on tim burton, and if you really read into the film you'll actually find that tim burton is the one speaking out, he is showing how society treats different people as I dont know why people say this film is rasist, im doing cousework on tim burton, and if you really read into the film you'll actually find that tim burton is the one speaking out, he is showing how society treats different people as outcasts. I think this film is highly emotion with a fantastic cast.! the visuals are amazing and typicall burtonesgue i love its simplicity and eccentricity!! but i'll give it 8 because i dont think its burtons best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GreggDec 8, 2003
Fantastic cast. Beautifully designed and shot, though not as much the outre Burton as I might have liked, but just enough that I will want to watch this again with my parents over Christmas so I can cry some more. Billy Crudup's OK, but Fantastic cast. Beautifully designed and shot, though not as much the outre Burton as I might have liked, but just enough that I will want to watch this again with my parents over Christmas so I can cry some more. Billy Crudup's OK, but more Jessica Lange in movies please. Her acting fills in the blanks that weren't written for her character. And more Ewan in general wouldn't hurt either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelD.Jan 31, 2004
This is just a really fun and facinating story that develops around a much darker, sadder reality. The conrast is exquisit and warm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenK.Feb 8, 2004
I really wasn't sure what to expect out of this movie, but must say I was pleasantly surprised...It tempts us to have an open mind and explore a sense of adventure and freedom through imagination, in the face of a comparitively dull and I really wasn't sure what to expect out of this movie, but must say I was pleasantly surprised...It tempts us to have an open mind and explore a sense of adventure and freedom through imagination, in the face of a comparitively dull and boring reality. Though this is it's main focus, it also challenges us, in a broader sense, on father/son relationships, as well as life and death. The story seemed awkward at times, but was still easy to get lost in and managed to be touching and inspirational. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckM.Jul 28, 2005
Good movie - fine acting, although Ewan's combination British / southern accent was a little jarring at times. This is a fine fairy tale, one that I am glad that I saw - I wanted to see it in the theaters but never quite got around to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaunMar 28, 2009
I am not easily moved by movies, mostly because most of them don't attempt to reach an emotional nerve without throwing on the cheese. This movie does it perfectly - a beautiful and moving story, well told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BuniT.Dec 18, 2003
Big Fish is a fantastic journey, convincing us that every life (even the most boring) can be an adventure if we are willing to open our minds. McGregor makes us want to believe that the stories he tells are true, no matter how incredible. Big Fish is a fantastic journey, convincing us that every life (even the most boring) can be an adventure if we are willing to open our minds. McGregor makes us want to believe that the stories he tells are true, no matter how incredible. This movies makes the innerchild, who is willing to believe anything, resurface and smile. TWO THUMBS UP. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewJan 14, 2004
As for the racism- I think that's a hasty conclusion to make- many of the people whom he "excludes" from his home life are white are people of his class and color: the poet arthur winslow and his mistress jenny. Likewise his "real life" As for the racism- I think that's a hasty conclusion to make- many of the people whom he "excludes" from his home life are white are people of his class and color: the poet arthur winslow and his mistress jenny. Likewise his "real life" is populated by a french woman and a black doctor. I think the lines you are seeing drawn are imaginary, or exist only for you- they certainly aren't in the film. As for the movie itself, I don't understand the glut of bad reviews. The movie had some pacing problems, and the direction was a bit scattered- Billy Crudup's performance, though skillful, seemed out of place with the rest of the characters, for instance. But the film has such imaginative storytelling and a large heart that it wound up being powerful. Most interestingly, those two elements were inextricably related- without the heart the stories would seem empty, and without the stories the film would not have been moving at all. I have not seen Burton's earlier films (except for "The Nightmare Before Christmas" when I was very young) and I think I am better for it by not having the expectations that I think influenced many of the negative reviews logged here. Instead, I saw the film itself, ignorant and absent of the director's usual habits and eccentricities. Those things shouldn't matter anyway: when it comes down to it you have only the 110 minutes of film to judge. The history of its actors and director should not significatnly bear on your criticism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MacM.Jan 29, 2004
A fine tale and visual delight. This is pure cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonSApr 27, 2008
While to me it resembles no Burton qualities, Tim is the perfect storyteller to tell a story about the perfect storyteller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SethF.Dec 12, 2003
I can see why it's gotten mixed reviews, it's a bizarre movie which gyrates between "reality" and "fantasy" and implores us to not think in those terms. If you like Tim Burton movies, you'll like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful