Big Momma's House Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Disguised as an old lady, an FBI agent (Lawrence) attempts to protect a beautiful federal witness and her son.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 13 out of 27
  1. When all's said and done, it turns out to be quite sweet-natured. OK. I laughed. So sue me.
  2. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    63
    It keeps its promise to throw an hour and a half of lively entertainment at audiences.
  3. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    63
    There's something about a plus-size floral housedress that brings out the best in many male comics, and Lawrence is no exception.
  4. 40
    Neither good nor terrible.
  5. Lawrence is so ON that he appears to be gunning for clockwork bursts of audience approval.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    20
    The sight and sound of Lawrence in fat-lady drag remains engaging throughout; script may often let him down, forcing him to keep things afloat almost single-handedly.
  7. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    10
    So you'll laugh during Big Momma's House -- but the laughs are so negligible you'll probably forget them before you get to the parking lot.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This is such a underrated movie. THIS IS A TRUE FUNNY FILM!!! Great acting, great storyline, Great humour/jokes. Classic film still watch it.This is such a underrated movie. THIS IS A TRUE FUNNY FILM!!! Great acting, great storyline, Great humour/jokes. Classic film still watch it. 10 out of 10 Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    This movie is generally good, however, the script is not amazing! One moment you are on the edge of your seat and the next you are rollingThis movie is generally good, however, the script is not amazing! One moment you are on the edge of your seat and the next you are rolling around on the floor laughing! A MUST SEE! 1O 1O 1O! Expand
  3. BrittanyR
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie! It was wonderful! I had a few laughs now and then, yes, but I wouldn't say it didn't keep me from laughing. I loved this movie! It was wonderful! I had a few laughs now and then, yes, but I wouldn't say it didn't keep me from laughing. This movie was the kind for entertainment. Always wanting more. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    BRILLIANT! This film is a must see and an excellent watch! The film is interesting,funny and action-packed! I loved it! It also has a bit ofBRILLIANT! This film is a must see and an excellent watch! The film is interesting,funny and action-packed! I loved it! It also has a bit of mystery and excitement that everyone enjoys! Expand
  5. May 26, 2012
    7
    Its not the most smart action comedy of the genre, but its got laughs and the characters are actually interesting.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Epic movie that I love to see the week-ends with the family, just hate how Often they are passing the film on television. But either way, is aEpic movie that I love to see the week-ends with the family, just hate how Often they are passing the film on television. But either way, is a comic movie, and with a little back story. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    Big Momma's House is not perfect in any means, but it is smart in its own way but tries to be hilarious in every single way possible and thatBig Momma's House is not perfect in any means, but it is smart in its own way but tries to be hilarious in every single way possible and that got on nerves because it doesn't always work. The plot is smart and the characters are fun although not deep enough to make us care for them. So if you are just looking for some old school popcorn movie to watch with friends on a Saturday afternoon this is it. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.