Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 18, 2011
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
16
Negative:
37
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
WeKnowFilmsJun 6, 2011
Really enjoyed this film, but enough is enough for the ''Big Momma'' franchise! 1&2 were stronger but this one is still pretty amazing, and now it has a touch of music! Funny and it does have it's cliff hangers! 10 OUT OF 10!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son is an alright film. It has a few good laughs and Martin Lawerence does a solid performance. The problems with this film is the story isnt really good at all, alot of the scenes that try to be funny are justBig Mommas: Like Father, Like Son is an alright film. It has a few good laughs and Martin Lawerence does a solid performance. The problems with this film is the story isnt really good at all, alot of the scenes that try to be funny are just not funny at all and that last two big momma where more funnier and better then this one. I would give this a low rental. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
PaulaNRMar 3, 2011
They should stop making these. They either have good salesman or really stupid investors, i would like to know how and who does the research before they invest into these movies.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Tmacfan51Feb 24, 2011
This beautiful masterpiece is one of the best films I have ever seen. Martin Lawrence is masterful in the art of slap-stick comedy and intelligent humour. The subtle shakes and jiggles by his fat suit only magnify his artistic, majesticThis beautiful masterpiece is one of the best films I have ever seen. Martin Lawrence is masterful in the art of slap-stick comedy and intelligent humour. The subtle shakes and jiggles by his fat suit only magnify his artistic, majestic comedy abilities. This film is not only heartfelt, but also funny. I highly recommend this classic to anyone who enjoyed other classics as Citizen Kane, Psycho, and Godfather, as this film surpasses even those greats. Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
0
CazatuzFeb 26, 2011
Just 2 words are needed to describe this movie: Corney & Awkward. OMG, Boy was this thee worse movie Ive ever went to the movies to see!! For the first time, I actually couldn't wait for it to be over. This was a total waste of Money. I cantJust 2 words are needed to describe this movie: Corney & Awkward. OMG, Boy was this thee worse movie Ive ever went to the movies to see!! For the first time, I actually couldn't wait for it to be over. This was a total waste of Money. I cant believe people actually have the nerve to give this a 10. For once I actually agree with the critics on this one(rare). The other two 'Big Mommas' was really really good(great) & funny so I thought this one might be worth a watch but boy was I wrong, most movies fail with sequels & this is one of them. I should have trusted my instincts after watching the trailer. I did get approximately 3 laughs but that's nothing compared to the others, not much of a compliment here. This was quite utterly a Tasteless Comedy all the way through, It starts off slow, you hope it gets better but it hardly does, It wasnt even pieced together right. This was not good at all. Dont listen to the good reviews. It was actually Cringe Worthy & thats thee worse thing that can be said about any film, I was Embarrassed for the makers. Everything about it was wrong, it was awful, take it from me. Not Recommended. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
VFSteinFeb 26, 2011
Hollywood has done it again. What a thrill ride of a movie! An absolute delight and work of art. If this movie were a woman, I would most likely pleasure her with a reach around and a good rim job. Martin Lawrence is a divine God of comedy.Hollywood has done it again. What a thrill ride of a movie! An absolute delight and work of art. If this movie were a woman, I would most likely pleasure her with a reach around and a good rim job. Martin Lawrence is a divine God of comedy. Where does he come up with all his wacky, fun shinanigans? A Black masterpiece. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
Forrestgump1Mar 12, 2011
"As Unnecessary this film may be it does provide some laughs but nothing spectacular. The Story feels wasted and overused and acting is nothing short of terrible. But somehow i was surprised just enough to MILD MILD recommend it . just buy"As Unnecessary this film may be it does provide some laughs but nothing spectacular. The Story feels wasted and overused and acting is nothing short of terrible. But somehow i was surprised just enough to MILD MILD recommend it . just buy like a hair!" .. C Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMadnessJun 6, 2011
Not the best, but this film is a must see and an excellent watch! The film is interesting,funny and action-packed! I loved it! It also has a bit of mystery and excitement that everyone enjoys!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BrendanLFeb 24, 2011
Should've win a damn Oscar! The acting and screenplay is superb! Martin Lawrence is god's gift to Comedy. The way he portrays the fat black woman makes you feel as if YOU, yourself, are a fat black woman fighting crime. lol
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
ShiiraFeb 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Following in his father's footsteps, Trent(Brandon T. Jackson) falls for, in the immortal words of the late Rick James, "a very kinky girl," just like his dear old sweet mama. Like father, like son, indeed, or maybe it's just sloppy writing. A decade ago, in Raja Gosnell's "Big Momma's House", FBI agent Malcolm Turner(Martin Lawrence), a master of disguise, first put on his fat suit and wig as part of a federal investigation against Sherry Pierce(Nia Long), Trent's mother, whom the bureau had suspected of laundering money stolen by her thuggish boyfriend(Terrence Howard) during a holdup in the bank where she worked as a teller. Disguised as the person of interest's aunt, try as he might, Malcolm simply could not relate to his target as a 400-pound(by conservative estimates) mammy. His attention for Sherry would prove to be problematic, especially in the scene where the supposed niece crawls into bed with the undercover agent, and nearly blows his cover when their immediate closeness triggers a physiological change in the cross-dresser's anatomy. Although a flashlight explains away the first initial concentration of blood(obviously reallocated from his brain), Malcolm's state of sexual arousal persists, so when Sherry gets no answer to her inquiry about a possible second flashlight, as it's edited(the filmmaker cuts away to the next set-up), the moviegoer wonders if she eventually vacates herself from the highly-charged bed, because from her perspective, Hattie May Pierce must either be a man, or a hermaphrodite. In "Big Momma's: Like Father, Like Son", Trent(formerly played by Jascha Washington in the series' first two entries), an aspiring rap star, pays homage to his mother of indeterminate sexual orientation by dating a girl whose taste in potential partners are simpatico. Oblivious to his feminine environs, a school of the arts for girls, Trent pees standing up, just as Haley(Jessica Lewis), a talented pianist, sets foot into the dorm room, and similar to Sherry, the singer-songwriter seems unfazed by the implied organ-related anomaly at hand, since the force of the outgoing liquid in concert with the abiding urinal, would suggest a sex-based discomfiture of startling proportions. And yet, Trent goes unquestioned, despite being an obvious drag queen(Lawrence is marginably more successful as a woman), and continues to be accepted as being woman-like, which conveys an ambivalence in Haley about the second, more radical possibility. As his alter-ego Charmaine, the self-proclaimed "Prodigy" is ever mindful of staying in character as it relates to sexual boundaries, unlike his father who, after learning that Sherry had committed no crime, forgets his put-upon identity and kisses her, not particularly chaste-like, a beat too long, full, on the lips. Instead of reacting in outright horror and disbelief, Sherry gives Big Momma a look that intimates the opposite. Yes, "Big Momma's House" establishes the future Mrs. Turner as straight, but still, as a result of some slipshod writing, there's these gaps that preside over her ostensible heterosexuality. Likewise, in "Big Momma's: Like Father, Like Son", Haley falls for a man, the rapper(also a nascent Duke student), but perhaps she concurrently falls for the perceived hermaphrodite, as well. When Haley first lays eyes on "Charmaine" in the cafeteria from "Fame", she looks thunderstruck, giving the homely a frank appraisal of "her" loveliness(it must be love) with her twinkling eyes and outstretched mouth. At the year-end showcase(in other words, talent show), because Trent needs to remain incognito from his gun-totin' pursuers, he replaces himself with his doppleganger femme, who performs the hip-hop-tinged love ballad that he collaborated with Haley, a song in which the girl tells the hermaphrodite "you're the air that I breathe". Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
scbrotherFeb 26, 2011
ignore what the critics say and see it, you WILL laugh!
ignore what the critics say and see it, you WILL laugh!
ignore what the critics say and see it, you WILL laugh!
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
sergeysnlFeb 19, 2011
Too ****
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
xXAnthonyXxFeb 18, 2011
Once again, critics almost always hate the movie that have potential, I saw it and it is funny, and better than what the trailers do, I just don't get the rating, thank god for User Score.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
RazvApr 13, 2011
I want to say it was disappointing but that would be inaccurate because i went in knowing that it was going to be awful. I was right ! The movie is bad from top to bottom, from the poorly developed and uninteresting characters to theI want to say it was disappointing but that would be inaccurate because i went in knowing that it was going to be awful. I was right ! The movie is bad from top to bottom, from the poorly developed and uninteresting characters to the unrealistic and naive plot, from the humorless jokes and cheesy spontaneous songs to the lame, lame actors(and i'm not talking about Martin Lawrence which was pretty funny, although you couldn't laugh because any funny thing was followed by something really lame). Horrible. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
MrTeddyMar 21, 2011
This would have been a really funny movie if it was released ten years ago. Lacked creativity; and the acting was terrible. Although there were some funny moments.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
horsesbatchelorJul 27, 2011
I love this movie it was very very very funny. I would be great for a 12 to 13 year old kid, or even for an adult, family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGoer14Dec 27, 2013
Like Father, Like Son is the weakest of the series and one of the worst comedies ever made. Unoriginal, unfunny and very annoying. The jokes are outdated and cliches all over the place, it was a torturous experience for me, and this Big MommaLike Father, Like Son is the weakest of the series and one of the worst comedies ever made. Unoriginal, unfunny and very annoying. The jokes are outdated and cliches all over the place, it was a torturous experience for me, and this Big Momma has gone way too far from the original concept of solving big smart cons and crimes into simple ones. I did not like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
marcmyworksDec 20, 2016
A generic pile of crap, mixed with crap, add a dash of crap and then a pinch more crap. Martin Laurence finds another excuse to get into drag and drags his son along for the ride. Pun intended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews