Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Directors Drew DeNicola and Olivia Mori’s film Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me looks at the band’s rise, such as it was, and its inevitable crumbling, as well as the influence its recorded legacy had on popular music. And it’s terrific.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jul 3, 2013
    85
    Big Star was essentially Chris Bell's band, and emotionally, Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me is Bell's movie. Joining rock's dead-at-27 club via a 1978 car crash, he left behind a fine, then-unreleased album and two siblings who tell his story movingly. As they recount his final years, the sadness in Bell's songs comes to seem eerily prescient.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 4, 2013
    80
    Fans will want to replay the extensive archival footage over and over. Newcomers are more likely to pause halfway through, search out the superlative soundtrack, and immerse themselves in the music that inspired this rare, fall-and-rise story in the first place.
  4. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    [A] thoroughly detailed (though a bit long) doc that charts the band’s thwarted expectations.
  5. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Jul 5, 2013
    75
    In the end, it’s the songs that provide the most eloquent and lasting testimony.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 1, 2013
    75
    If Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me leads even one person to listen to Big Star for the first time, this movie will have done a great service.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Jul 1, 2013
    75
    A rock-doc that mythologizes the tragicomic flame out of power pop's seminal band, and the fan-made afterlife that brought them long-delayed success.
  8. 75
    It’s a fascinating period in music and an equally fascinating story of promise, talent, expectations and failure. But you can’t help but feel that Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me won’t settle the most important argument of all to the unconverted — Were they as good as the hype?
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 3, 2013
    70
    A skillfully rendered narrative that should satisfy fans and pique the interest of the uninitiated.
  10. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Big Star may not be the best introduction for those who don't yet have at least some passing familiarity with the bruised-knee wistfulness of songs like "Thirteen," or the quavery undersea despair of "Kangaroo." But for anyone already curious, Nothing Can Hurt Me delivers the goods.
  11. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Jul 2, 2013
    70
    A deserved tribute that puts us inside the music, and the head space, of a great, lost band.
  12. Reviewed by: Cory Everett
    Jul 3, 2013
    67
    While we still recommend it to fans of the band, be warned that it might leave you wanting an encore.
  13. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Nothing Can Hurt Me is frustratingly unfocused, petering out considerably after its first hour.
  14. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Whether this love letter is more preaching to the converted than a corrective is arguable.
  15. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jul 4, 2013
    38
    Big Star’s fans are so passionate that this film may well please some of them, but as for myself, I already knew their music was genius. By the end, I was muttering at every critic and musician and record producer, “Guys, tell me something I don’t know.”

There are no user reviews yet.