Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 11, 2013
    Directors Drew DeNicola and Olivia Mori’s film Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me looks at the band’s rise, such as it was, and its inevitable crumbling, as well as the influence its recorded legacy had on popular music. And it’s terrific.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jul 3, 2013
    Big Star was essentially Chris Bell's band, and emotionally, Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me is Bell's movie. Joining rock's dead-at-27 club via a 1978 car crash, he left behind a fine, then-unreleased album and two siblings who tell his story movingly. As they recount his final years, the sadness in Bell's songs comes to seem eerily prescient.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 4, 2013
    Fans will want to replay the extensive archival footage over and over. Newcomers are more likely to pause halfway through, search out the superlative soundtrack, and immerse themselves in the music that inspired this rare, fall-and-rise story in the first place.
  4. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 16, 2013
    [A] thoroughly detailed (though a bit long) doc that charts the band’s thwarted expectations.
  5. 75
    In the end, it’s the songs that provide the most eloquent and lasting testimony.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 1, 2013
    If Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me leads even one person to listen to Big Star for the first time, this movie will have done a great service.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Jul 1, 2013
    A rock-doc that mythologizes the tragicomic flame out of power pop's seminal band, and the fan-made afterlife that brought them long-delayed success.
  8. 75
    It’s a fascinating period in music and an equally fascinating story of promise, talent, expectations and failure. But you can’t help but feel that Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me won’t settle the most important argument of all to the unconverted — Were they as good as the hype?
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 3, 2013
    A skillfully rendered narrative that should satisfy fans and pique the interest of the uninitiated.
  10. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 2, 2013
    Big Star may not be the best introduction for those who don't yet have at least some passing familiarity with the bruised-knee wistfulness of songs like "Thirteen," or the quavery undersea despair of "Kangaroo." But for anyone already curious, Nothing Can Hurt Me delivers the goods.
  11. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Jul 2, 2013
    A deserved tribute that puts us inside the music, and the head space, of a great, lost band.
  12. Reviewed by: Cory Everett
    Jul 3, 2013
    While we still recommend it to fans of the band, be warned that it might leave you wanting an encore.

There are no user reviews yet.