User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kelam
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best documentary I have ever seen;far better than those dumbed down and biased movies of that judgmental prick Michael Moore
  2. tonydjr
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Great movie! About family, choices, the grayness of heroes, and the conflict between the regulation and usage of steroids for athletes, regular joes, and the ill, who need it the most. Makes you wonder about atheletes, their choices, how others perceive them, and what you would do given their situation.
  3. BDaddy
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    Documentary movies are usually boring, but this is informative and asks intelligent questions. I especially liked the interview of Carl Lewis and Ben Johnson -- 100m nemesis both caught using steroids. This will challenge your opinion as to why steroids are illegal -- it did mine.
  4. JayH
    Sep 27, 2008
    7
    Very well researched and informative, it has a good balance on view points. Decent narration. I was always interested in the film, but it does get a bit repetitive. Still fascinating and it certainly makes you think.
  5. DerekS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    I thought the movie was perfect at showing the truth about steroids. Lou Lumenick is a dolt though, Bell showed that only 15% of the population using roids are professional athletes, with 85% being the average gym rat.
  6. arbie
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    Really, really fantastic. A wonderfully produced film that shows great balance -- I enjoyed this almost more for its quality and approach to the material than the material itself. The subjects are utterly human. It's easy to really want them to succeed as a result of this film.
  7. JonH
    Nov 7, 2008
    0
    Some fat lazy deluded bible-bashing drug-taking family presenting their uninformed opinions on the silver screen as if they were scientific fact.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    3
    Bigger, Stronger, Faster has been one of the most interesting documentaries I have seen recently. Not interesting in the sense that the film maker presented a valid look into the hypocrisy of criticizing steroid use, but because he unknowingly created a film about his family's struggle with steroid use. This film is definitely one sided in favor of steroids and the way it's presentedBigger, Stronger, Faster has been one of the most interesting documentaries I have seen recently. Not interesting in the sense that the film maker presented a valid look into the hypocrisy of criticizing steroid use, but because he unknowingly created a film about his family's struggle with steroid use. This film is definitely one sided in favor of steroids and the way it's presented leaves you feeling like the primary goal for the film maker was to justify his brothers' use of steroids. I even suspected near the end that the film maker was still on the needle. Interviews are typically in favor of steroid use and even a majority of the people being interviewed are on steroids. The logic defending steroids in this film really holds no weight since it could be easily used to defend everything from crack to the behavior of financial institutions that caused the recession. So is it still cheating if everyone is doing it? Would you jump off a bridge if everyone was doing it? Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Bigger, Stronger, Faster is a portrait of a culture that claims to hate steroids but may, by now, be too pumped to do much about it.
  2. Reviewed by: Don R. Lewis
    90
    Bell's documentary is an absolute must see for anyone taking part in any kind of debate about steroids.
  3. This everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach not only makes for pacey entertainment, it also allows director Christopher Bell to delve deep into the matter at hand.