Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 10, 1995
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
157
Mixed:
32
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JasonLNov 10, 2005
Hey Gary F., you mean to say that beetlejuice was funnier than Billy Madison? Your saying that Michael Keaton is funnier than Adam Sandler, Norm McDonald, and the great Chris Farley? Who are you kidding, Billy Madison is a great comedy and Hey Gary F., you mean to say that beetlejuice was funnier than Billy Madison? Your saying that Michael Keaton is funnier than Adam Sandler, Norm McDonald, and the great Chris Farley? Who are you kidding, Billy Madison is a great comedy and shouldn't be analyzed so much, it's a shame all these magazines gave it such a bad score and that Gary here "film critic extrodanair" gave it such a bad rating.It's a hilarious movie and if you haven't seen it,go out and do so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
StabsMSep 4, 2008
A prime example of the kind of movie critics hate and the proles love. :) I expected a big disconnect between the "critic" score and the "user" score, but I'm still amazed the user score is an 8.7. Look, guys, I liked this movie OK too. A prime example of the kind of movie critics hate and the proles love. :) I expected a big disconnect between the "critic" score and the "user" score, but I'm still amazed the user score is an 8.7. Look, guys, I liked this movie OK too. Sandler's dance to "I'll Tumble For You" was funny. So was the dodgeball scene. So was the Meg Ryan/Jack Nicholson discussion. And a handful of others. But the humor that actually worked was limited to a handful of one liners, leaving the viewer with about an hour and twenty minutes of nothing at all. No plot, no interesting characters, no good acting (not even good comedic acting) nothing adventurous or exciting or subversive or anything that makes a comedy actually, you know, GOOD. 8.7? Come on. This is one of the best movies ever? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EC.Nov 10, 2006
Classic movie. Sandler at his very prime. I find the fact that critics didn't take this movie for what it is, a dumb comedy, absolutely ridiculous.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KevJan 24, 2006
Everyone loves Billy Madison. So what if it's mindless entertainment? Not everything has to be "brilliant."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BonehoC.Apr 16, 2006
This movie is the most referenced movie at our school. Once a kid said, "You know I never saw that movie," and I said, "Don't worry you're not missing anything," and my friend walks up and says, "Are you kidding? That's like This movie is the most referenced movie at our school. Once a kid said, "You know I never saw that movie," and I said, "Don't worry you're not missing anything," and my friend walks up and says, "Are you kidding? That's like greatest movie of our time," and I say, "For what, 10 minutes of laughes?" So I came here to check it out, and what do you know? The critics hate it, so I was at least somewhat right. I do admit though, there are some laugh at loud moments, but most of it is roll-your-eyes at material. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
one of my favs, so many good one liners. If your watching it for cinematic excellence you won't get it, look elsewhere. I saw this for the first time when I was 10 and I still quote it with my friends.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DarkToonLinkNov 4, 2012
Adam Sandler is not known for outstanding cinematography, moving storylines or intelligently-written scripts. He's known for his hilarious movies. This is one of his finest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Contains a few good moments, especially towards the end, but is overall fairly flat. I wished they would've developed their characters a bit more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Apr 16, 2013
It's an amusing 90's Comedy I'll give it that and probably one of Adam Sandler's more memorable roles but that doesn't mean it's a good movie. Very silly and borderline stupid, but for some reason there's enough nostalgia there and funnyIt's an amusing 90's Comedy I'll give it that and probably one of Adam Sandler's more memorable roles but that doesn't mean it's a good movie. Very silly and borderline stupid, but for some reason there's enough nostalgia there and funny moments to make it passable. I've never been a huge fan of Sandler or his style of Comedy but out of all his films this one is probably one of the funniest, if not for the wrong reasons, but there's no denying his fan base loves whatever he does! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuOct 20, 2013
16?! Billy Masison, one of the top five funniest movies I ever saw in my life has a critic score of 16? That is just flat out wrong. This movie is legend! There are so many scenes that burn themselves into your memory and never leave; O'Doyal16?! Billy Masison, one of the top five funniest movies I ever saw in my life has a critic score of 16? That is just flat out wrong. This movie is legend! There are so many scenes that burn themselves into your memory and never leave; O'Doyal rules, the beetroot faced angry bus-driver ("That'd end your precious field trip real quick!"), a psychotic Steve Busemi, the brain-hemorrhaging clown, "Hey you want to feed that donkey some beer and get it all messed up?", "He called the s**t poop!"... The list could go on and on. Absolutely legend! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
NoBodyJul 1, 2008
It's a travesty this movie is in the bottom 100.
6 of 8 users found this helpful
8
MichaelDApr 29, 2011
The movie wasn't witty but one crucial thing saved this movie, it's absolutely FANTASTIC humour. Every 5 minutes, I just couldn't help but laugh. Don't listen to the critics. All they want is some drama. WATCH THIS MOVIE!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This movie basically spawned my dislike of Adam Sandler. It's interesting that he always chooses to play characters that the viewer is suppose to sympathize but have no reason to deserve our sympathy. Oh, and on top of that it isn't funny -This movie basically spawned my dislike of Adam Sandler. It's interesting that he always chooses to play characters that the viewer is suppose to sympathize but have no reason to deserve our sympathy. Oh, and on top of that it isn't funny - it has scenes and lines that are meant to grab our attention, but that's about it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
DouglasMMay 13, 2008
Best movie ever made-(Full Stop).
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlexS.Jun 24, 2008
For me, Billy Madison fits into the same category as Wayne's World and The Cable Guy. Great comedies of the 90's which more than 10 years later and after dozens of views still have no problems in making me laugh.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BM.Jun 6, 2008
Honestly, I just don't trust professional reviewers with comedies. They are usually right with dramas, action flicks, sci fi stuff, etc., but with comedy, these people just don't get it! Why else are there thousands of comedians Honestly, I just don't trust professional reviewers with comedies. They are usually right with dramas, action flicks, sci fi stuff, etc., but with comedy, these people just don't get it! Why else are there thousands of comedians out there in the world instead of just a few? Because everybody likes different types of comedies! This is an amazingly hilarious movie, filled with a neverending stream of laughs. Only problem: It's a little immature. For some reason, the reviewers see this as a reason to give it a bad grade. But hey, who doesn't act a little immature from time to time? it's silly, it's stupid, it's unrealistic, and hey, I loved every minute of it! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MorganFJul 20, 2008
Why is this movie in the bottom 100? I found it hilarious. One of Sandler's best.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
mattbApr 2, 2009
It seems that all of adams movies got low grades because there immature, but the critics have somthing so far up there ass they dont realize how funny the imaturity is. And anyways who really cares, adam sandler made millions of his movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NickWMay 3, 2009
This is one of my favorite movies of all time, still. Of course that makes my score biased, but if I went from an completely unbiased point of view, I'd still give this movie a 8 or 9. It's funny and simple while still appealing to This is one of my favorite movies of all time, still. Of course that makes my score biased, but if I went from an completely unbiased point of view, I'd still give this movie a 8 or 9. It's funny and simple while still appealing to someone with an IQ over 10 - Which is a severe rarity these days. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
StevenH.Jun 15, 2008
Seeing the glaring red rating of "16" for BIlly Madison made me laugh nearly as much as the movie. As much as I love reading reviews, it just goes to show how seriously Critics take themselves; Billy Madison is so stupid that they Seeing the glaring red rating of "16" for BIlly Madison made me laugh nearly as much as the movie. As much as I love reading reviews, it just goes to show how seriously Critics take themselves; Billy Madison is so stupid that they wouldn't even allow themselves to laugh at it. Lighten Up! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KMMar 19, 2009
Love it, but the critics are right in saying it is mindless. That's the point though right??
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
sunshineWDec 11, 2008
The epitome of a ridiculously funny, absolutely enjoyable movie that is also, by all standards, a bad film, which lends even more to the charm. I'm going to watch it again right now. Its nudy magazine day!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
bladeagentMar 1, 2014
Billy Madison has inspired moments of lunacy, but doesn't exactly live up to classics like Wayne's World or Austin Powers. There is one good thing though: This is nothing compared to what Sandler will make later in his career.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Leinad177Nov 12, 2010
Funny. But rubbish.
If i wanted to see a grown man act like a stupid kid, i would watch a video on youtube.
Anyone who says this movie is the best movie they have ever seen, has obviously not seen good movies.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
KentC.Jan 13, 2008
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Definitely not worth a "16". It's probably the most quotable movie I've ever seen along with Big Daddy. Definitely Sandler's funniest movie and loads better than crap like Chuck One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Definitely not worth a "16". It's probably the most quotable movie I've ever seen along with Big Daddy. Definitely Sandler's funniest movie and loads better than crap like Chuck and Larry, I've seen this movie literally 10 times and it never gets old. This comedy classic is definitely something any fan of comedies should watch. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
candtJun 15, 2011
It's like everyone in this movie is funny except for Adam Sandler. Some parts made me laugh, others made me cringe. I didn't like the constant objectification of Ms. Vaughn either.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
AtTheMoviesDec 31, 2011
Absolutely pitiful garbage. Terribly acted, and even more pitifully written. A total and worthless piece of garbage that one should ever torture their reasoning enough to see.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
rdaviesNov 1, 2010
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
SamL.Jan 4, 2007
This is why I hate critics. This movie should not be taken seriously, and is one of the funniest ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SteveM.Apr 6, 2008
Adam Sandler's finest. He needs to stop making lame dramas and comedic-dramas, go back to his roots.
0 of 1 users found this helpful