Metascore
16

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Billy Madison (Sandler) is the heir to the Madison Hotel millions but in order to win his father's respect, and his Fortune 500 company, grown-up goof-off Billy must repeat all 12 grades of school ' in just 24 weeks. (Universal)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 11 out of 13
  1. It succeeds as a reasonably smart no-brainer. If you've ever had a yen to relive the third grade, this must be the next best thing.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    There are a few bursts of sheer, irresistible idiocy -- along the lines of "Wayne's World" or even "Pee-wee's Big Adventure"-- but not enough to sustain the more arid stretches.
  3. 30
    A more kid-friendly version of "Dumb and Dumber." And there's even a moral: "Yahoo for education," though the movie doesn't really put any muscle behind it.
  4. By the end, you feel like a drill sergeant-you want to wipe that stupid grin off Sandler's face.
  5. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    20
    The film should have featured more absurd and nonsensical elements. Certainly the plot is ridiculous, and so completely illogical that to see it fall by the wayside in favor of some inspired lunacy would not have been a loss.
  6. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    20
    Okay, a couple of sniggers sneak out, but on the whole the effect is stone cold.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    0
    One of the most execrable movies ever made. [6 March 1995, p.100]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite Adam Sandler films I ever watched. If I tell my friends to watch a movie with Adam Sandler, Billy Madison is the movie to see in your entire life. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Adam Sandler is not known for outstanding cinematography, moving storylines or intelligently-written scripts. He's known for his hilarious movies. This is one of his finest. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    A quite good movie with a dorky actor. It is a corny movie for the most crude. Many references to male body parts that are just plain gross and not funny. This movie is basically what you would expect from a movie with Adam Sandler as a dorky adult goof-off. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    16?! Billy Masison, one of the top five funniest movies I ever saw in my life has a critic score of 16? That is just flat out wrong. This movie is legend! There are so many scenes that burn themselves into your memory and never leave; O'Doyal rules, the beetroot faced angry bus-driver ("That'd end your precious field trip real quick!"), a psychotic Steve Busemi, the brain-hemorrhaging clown, "Hey you want to feed that donkey some beer and get it all messed up?", "He called the s**t poop!"... The list could go on and on. Absolutely legend! Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    It's like everyone in this movie is funny except for Adam Sandler. Some parts made me laugh, others made me cringe. I didn't like the constant objectification of Ms. Vaughn either. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2014
    6
    Billy Madison has inspired moments of lunacy, but doesn't exactly live up to classics like Wayne's World or Austin Powers. There is one good thing though: This is nothing compared to what Sandler will make later in his career. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. Adam Sandler: All Films Considered

    Adam Sandler: All Films Considered Image
    Published: June 23, 2010
    Can an actor become a box office success without ever making a good movie? Adam Sandler -- whose new comedy "Grown Ups" arrives this week -- may fall into that category, if you ask critics. Of course, fans find plenty to like about his work. We pick some of Sandler's best and worst films to date.