Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: January 12, 1996
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 521 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
373
Mixed:
16
Negative:
132
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ASDec 11, 2009
Yes, this movie is a comedy. But, I put it in a class of movies with the likes of Idiocracy: they aimed for laughs and ended up with a rather poignant commentary on the state of the world and associated attitudes. There are a lot of crude Yes, this movie is a comedy. But, I put it in a class of movies with the likes of Idiocracy: they aimed for laughs and ended up with a rather poignant commentary on the state of the world and associated attitudes. There are a lot of crude jokes in Bio-Dome, to be sure, but then, that's Pauly Shore's style. If you go into this movie thinking something else, you have no business critiquing movies (or any form of entertainment). I found the movie "funny enough". As for what the movie was trying to tell people, obviously the message got lost on a lot of people. Even the people that society views as degenerates can help foster change. The movie presents stoners that just want to party, but then they have a moment of clarity that allows them to see how they aren't contributing anything. Shore's speech about "now we can show the world how to fix things from where we really are" versus living in some kind of perfect world that doesn't exist made this movie AT LEAST a 5/10 on any scale. Voting it lower shows that someone was unable to see past the facade of the movie for the message. I remember someone telling me once "don't judge a book by its cover". Well, so-called professional critics, you would do well to heed that advice and rate movies more accurately and with less judgment. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NickF.Jan 13, 2008
I cried 17 times while while this movie. Not from laughter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NeilCJun 27, 2008
I can't believe the critics were so down on this movie! I mean, the scene where he goes to the cafe and shoots the cop and the gangster with the gun he finds in the toilet... oh wait, I'm thinking of 'The Godfather'. S***.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JonnyH.Mar 7, 2010
Side splittingly funny! If you don't like this get yourself checked out a cried for the 1hour 30 it was so terrifically funny!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisM.Apr 7, 2006
Retarded but funny. Sort of like dumb and dumber.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AviatorsManJan 15, 2008
This is one of the best movies ever. It is hilarious. Amazing plot sequence. I loved it and will always love it. Paul is my hero.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GreggP.May 15, 2009
This movie is funny, this critic is an asshole and has no sense of humor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GeoffGApr 2, 2009
Watched it for the first time since childhood (when I didn't understand a thing) recently. It's not even funny for it's ironic value!! It's just... plain awful.. so awful it angers me somehow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimTJan 27, 2008
Not everything has to challenge you.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
durfthesmurfMay 17, 2011
This movie was just insanely funny, id give it an 8 but since everyone on here either gives 10s or 0s, mostly 0's i have to give it a ten
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
KadeemluvmusicSep 10, 2011
C'mon you lousy critics. This is a Stoner comedy. STONER as in smoking weed and having some buds. Just like Half Baked, when is the last time a movie critic saw the movie? Oh yeah, nothing. But I enjoyed watching Bio-Dome. Pauly Shore is aC'mon you lousy critics. This is a Stoner comedy. STONER as in smoking weed and having some buds. Just like Half Baked, when is the last time a movie critic saw the movie? Oh yeah, nothing. But I enjoyed watching Bio-Dome. Pauly Shore is a great underrated comedian and someday soon I love to see a remake if that might happens in the future. One of the greatest comedies of the 90's. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
NathanidApr 7, 2016
In retrospect, this movie is an absolute masterpiece. The whole story is a clever metaphor for youthfull 'i've seen it all' dumbness ruining the world. i like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GomezS.Mar 16, 2004
I worship this man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.Oct 2, 2006
Mr. Shore gives a mixed performance. He is unbearable through stretches of the film, and in others he nails some great jokes. Baldwin steals the show with how he plays a late-90s dope-smoking Californian slacker. The scientist who goes nuts Mr. Shore gives a mixed performance. He is unbearable through stretches of the film, and in others he nails some great jokes. Baldwin steals the show with how he plays a late-90s dope-smoking Californian slacker. The scientist who goes nuts isn't realistic enough, but is fucking funny. The premise is good for a bunch of mindless gags and nothing more. Sue me, I like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanB.Feb 10, 2006
This movie, i felt, was made for pure entertainment. I found this film to be VERY entertaining, even if Paulie Shore plays the same character in every flick. Not all 'good' movies are entertaining. but entertaining movies are always good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanS.Jul 1, 2008
fantastic movie. I think it will go down in history for it's pure genius, people will be quoting "shave the pooche" for the next millennium and dancing to "you can dance" in true biodome fashion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelL.Jan 20, 2010
This movie was really funny, and the safety dance scene is the only thing I can remember from when I was 4 years old- I didn't love it, but It doesn't fail on any level, and these publications need to hire some people who This movie was really funny, and the safety dance scene is the only thing I can remember from when I was 4 years old- I didn't love it, but It doesn't fail on any level, and these publications need to hire some people who weren't born and raised in a 50000 sq. ft. mcmansion to review these movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Oct 29, 2003
Will go down in history as the quintessential politically incorrect movie. Pokes fun at sanctimonious environmentalists, so it got savaged by the liberal press, which is engaged in it's own subversion of youth far more gross and morally Will go down in history as the quintessential politically incorrect movie. Pokes fun at sanctimonious environmentalists, so it got savaged by the liberal press, which is engaged in it's own subversion of youth far more gross and morally bankrupt than anything Shore did on-screen. This move actually rates about a 6, but the ratings have been unnaturally skewed down. [Ed: a.k.a. normalization... see scoring explanation] The unprecedented 0 ratings across the board from liberal newspapers is proof of conspiracy to quash this move. Not a spellbinding plot or script, but comic relief to those who have been victimized by the humanity haters and their we-know-best green policies. Will become a cult classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillH.Jan 9, 2004
Not a good movie or anything, but entertaining goofy fun. Shut up critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HughM.Dec 5, 2005
Terrific movie, has to be taken for what it is, if you don't like Paulie Shore then don't watch the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jamieAug 28, 2005
VIVA LOS BIO DOME.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JorgenP.May 7, 2006
Look, the film is alright. It can't be all bad having Tenacious D (Jack Black and Kyle Gass) making a brief cameo appearence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitaA.Apr 29, 2007
Pauly Shore was a great actor and I love his movies. This movies will always be an alltime fave of mine right up there next to Encino Man! Enjoy a movie for what it is and don't be afraid to laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonA.Apr 18, 2008
I love Pauly shores movies... i think hes just as funny as all the other actors/comedians out there. this movie was freaking hilarious. Hell, I'm watching it right now. ROCK ON PAULY!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ARoMay 8, 2008
Funny funny movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisG.Nov 13, 2009
I guess the fact that this has been voted as the worst movie prooves that opinions defer. I like Pauly Shore movies, and I rate this as one of his best. I found it quite funny and cool, which is more than most comedies out there. If you like I guess the fact that this has been voted as the worst movie prooves that opinions defer. I like Pauly Shore movies, and I rate this as one of his best. I found it quite funny and cool, which is more than most comedies out there. If you like Pauly Shore, Wayne's World, and these type of buddy movies go for it. That's my advice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CassieFOct 2, 2009
I actually know nearly every line of this movie and I know other people that do too. If you take the movie for what it is (a 'stoner' comedy')...it is good. It actually has a lot going on...especially with the Faulkner I actually know nearly every line of this movie and I know other people that do too. If you take the movie for what it is (a 'stoner' comedy')...it is good. It actually has a lot going on...especially with the Faulkner character. It is just a movie about typical 'stoner' people adapting to the cultured life of scientists. They rub off on each other. The main characters evolve during the movie, which is more than can be said for 'Dude, Where's My Car'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenJun 3, 2009
It actually blows my mind that this is rated the worst movie ever. I understand not everyone appreciates the humour, but that doesn't make the movie bad. It is aimed at a particular subset and is part of the 'stoner' movie It actually blows my mind that this is rated the worst movie ever. I understand not everyone appreciates the humour, but that doesn't make the movie bad. It is aimed at a particular subset and is part of the 'stoner' movie genre, with other movies like Dude Where's My Car and Harold and Kumar go to White Castle. My opinion? Critic fail. Certain critics cannot judge a movie based on its merits to the people it is aimed at. In fact reading the reviews given to the movie, is looks like most of the people who reviewed it, didn't even try to look at it objectively. Off the top of my head I can think of ten movies which are far worse than biodome as movies within their genre. But whatever, it will always be one of my favourite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremySSep 4, 2009
Bio-Dome is something that takes a truly enlightened person to enjoy. I would say that only people who have converted to Buddhism, and then abandoned it for lack of profundity, and have become at One with the natural fractal flow of the Bio-Dome is something that takes a truly enlightened person to enjoy. I would say that only people who have converted to Buddhism, and then abandoned it for lack of profundity, and have become at One with the natural fractal flow of the Universal Tao will truly grasp the Eternal and Sacred Truths so humorously extolled in Bio-Dome. Hare Pauly Hare Pauly, Pauly Pauly, Hare Hare! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimI.Nov 20, 2005
This movie is the best movie that i have ever seen.....there will never be anything like it unless there is a sequel....which i believe they should do...because paulie shore and stephen baldwin are the two of the funniest men that i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinJ.Apr 30, 2006
For everyone who critiizes this movie...stop being so uptight. This isnt supposed to be anything but pauly shore and stephen baldwin going crazy....and they do a great job at that...even if you hate pauly shore you can finds laughs for just For everyone who critiizes this movie...stop being so uptight. This isnt supposed to be anything but pauly shore and stephen baldwin going crazy....and they do a great job at that...even if you hate pauly shore you can finds laughs for just how stupid this movie is...i love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Aug 23, 2006
this is the kind of movie that you either love or hate, i think it is amazing, all the haters are uptights and don't know a good movie when they see it. squirrly and stub are outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
vidManOct 1, 2007
I can't believe this is the crappiest movie ever. It is so much fun to watch two stooges messing around doing stupid things inside the supposed perfect environment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesusC.Dec 4, 2007
If you had an 11 i would give it that, it was wonderful. I have never scene a movie sooooo funny. It also made me very sad and i found myself crying at some points. I don't know who the heck didn't vote for it but this movie should If you had an 11 i would give it that, it was wonderful. I have never scene a movie sooooo funny. It also made me very sad and i found myself crying at some points. I don't know who the heck didn't vote for it but this movie should have won Best Picture because it will forever be known as the best movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadwOct 5, 2007
This movie is hysterical. Period. A 1 metacritic??? F*** off, Lighten up, get a better sense of humor. I own it and love this movie & always have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrindyS.Feb 28, 2007
Released more than a decade ago, "Bio-Dome" may prove to be the most enduring movie of the 1990's, far ahead of its time as we realize in this new century when global warming manifests itself. Shore is the allegorical 21st Century Man, Released more than a decade ago, "Bio-Dome" may prove to be the most enduring movie of the 1990's, far ahead of its time as we realize in this new century when global warming manifests itself. Shore is the allegorical 21st Century Man, clumsily coming to grips with his environment and the effect he has on it, and vice versa. His buffoonish character is mirrored in the antics of the current administration, denying at first the onset of environmental catastrophe before embarking on a journey of self-discovery and warmth, character development that the fate of the world hinges on. Stephen Baldwin, never more astute than in this film, is a composite of the tree-hugging fringe. This odd couple is a fine metaphor for the partnership and cooperation necessary to save Spaceship Earth from its occupants. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SkullAug 13, 2007
The critics gave this a 1 out of a 100 which means it's a thousand time better than the Star Wars prequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GirthE.Mar 27, 2008
I don't know what makes this movie funnier, the fact that it is done so poorly and scores as the worst movie here, or that all these people might actually like it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jayc.Apr 23, 2008
one of my favorite movies as a kid! it's dumb but hilarious, you have to appreciate the stupid humor of it . probably pauly shore's best haha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacR.Apr 27, 2008
Truly a triumph in comedy film! Pauly should run for President.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anonApr 27, 2008
In my day, never has such an epic winrar as this taken me by such force that I literally cried myself to sleep every night hoping that the tears would stop. Not tears of sadness or pain, but tears of shear beauty as this movie took my In my day, never has such an epic winrar as this taken me by such force that I literally cried myself to sleep every night hoping that the tears would stop. Not tears of sadness or pain, but tears of shear beauty as this movie took my brilliance virginity and made me think that my life was nothing until that moment where I SHAVE THE POOCHIE POOCHIE! SHAVE THE POOCHIE POOCHIE! !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryBNov 3, 2009
One of the funniest and most clever movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamB.Apr 17, 2009
Funny movie. A real classic. I don't know why it has so many bad ratings from movie reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickPJun 21, 2009
I liked the movie when it came out, and I still enjoy it today. I've seen it several times on TV over the years and it never fails to deliver what I expect. A stupid, funny, and timeless Pauly Shore movie that fits in well with all of I liked the movie when it came out, and I still enjoy it today. I've seen it several times on TV over the years and it never fails to deliver what I expect. A stupid, funny, and timeless Pauly Shore movie that fits in well with all of his classics; Son-In-Law, and In the Army Now. Plus, it has Stephen Baldwin! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DallinPJul 13, 2009
Plot is obviously not great, but a funny movie with small laughs throughout and a couple of absolutely hilarious moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilBAug 21, 2009
remember watching this with my best mate as a kid, stoned, and laughing so much i nearly peed! watched it somewhere between 10-20 times. maybe watching it again would seem dated and immature, but at the time we thought it was easily the best remember watching this with my best mate as a kid, stoned, and laughing so much i nearly peed! watched it somewhere between 10-20 times. maybe watching it again would seem dated and immature, but at the time we thought it was easily the best movie of the year for laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BoR.Jun 12, 2003
By Far One Of The Sweetest Movies Of All Time!!!! Everyone Should See This Flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulyS.Sep 16, 2005
I laughed, I cried. The movie of the millenia without a doubt. The sadness of the captivity of this two pitiful souls and their relationship from there on in is engaging. Shore is the highlight, however, bringing a warmth to the movie unlike I laughed, I cried. The movie of the millenia without a doubt. The sadness of the captivity of this two pitiful souls and their relationship from there on in is engaging. Shore is the highlight, however, bringing a warmth to the movie unlike any other. SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattV.Apr 27, 2006
if you're closed-minded, and pay attention to every simple small thing in the world then don't watch this movie. Take this movie for what it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimH.Dec 15, 2007
Bio dome is awesome it is extremely stupid and funny. and more people have to understand that movies don't have to be well made to be funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.Apr 14, 2007
The only reason people like this movie is because its probably the most pointless and idiotic movie ever created. The director obviously wasn't trying to make a blockbuster, but it was so horribly stupid that it became a blockbuster. The only reason people like this movie is because its probably the most pointless and idiotic movie ever created. The director obviously wasn't trying to make a blockbuster, but it was so horribly stupid that it became a blockbuster. That's what makes this movie great and thats why everyone, but the critics, love this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniSJan 31, 2008
I've seen this movie over 200 times and still love to watch it and laugh my ass off. One of my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryP.Apr 27, 2008
Please watch this movie! Yes, it is stupid. But, it is better than most of the crap that has been coming out lately. It makes me chuckle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanApr 27, 2008
If you don't like this movie, than you have no reason to live.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomY.May 28, 2008
this movie is an incredible masterpiece!!!!! it's miles better then Uwe bolls "alone in the dark". it's an absolute masterpiece with amazing actors. I'd give it an 11 out of 10 really!!! i would!!! p.ez ima hjocinn mun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankRJul 13, 2009
I've always liked this film. I can't put my finger on what it is about it that appeals to me, maybe it's something to do with the fact that my hands can touch everything, except themselves...oh, wait.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveTJul 22, 2009
As halarious today as it was when i was younger. pauly shore and Stephen Baldwin are a halarious duo and this movie, while it may not appeal to everyone, it still a funny Pauly shore classic. this is why i never read critics reviews..who As halarious today as it was when i was younger. pauly shore and Stephen Baldwin are a halarious duo and this movie, while it may not appeal to everyone, it still a funny Pauly shore classic. this is why i never read critics reviews..who cares what these people think as long as the viewers like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieBAug 13, 2009
I don't understand people who don't like this movie, then feel it necessary to put people down who do. Was I bored when I watched it? Hell no. It was so retarded that I couldn't stop watching... and laughing. I can completely I don't understand people who don't like this movie, then feel it necessary to put people down who do. Was I bored when I watched it? Hell no. It was so retarded that I couldn't stop watching... and laughing. I can completely understand not liking it, but to put everyone down who can find enjoyment in this type of movie? C'mon, grow up A-holes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaG.Nov 22, 2005
This movie was awsome i love it and pauly and steven baldwin was awsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brat1976Mar 2, 2011
t's a brainless gem of childish giggles and one liners. Just the right cup of tea for dull morning.
Plus the environmental message is there (obviously)...
Overall I chuckle every time I watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CactusManApr 21, 2011
First of all let me just start off by saying that whoever says is a bad movie is a stuck up person. They have put tons of thought into making this movie and it blew my mind. Things that people waste ther money on when they should be buyingFirst of all let me just start off by saying that whoever says is a bad movie is a stuck up person. They have put tons of thought into making this movie and it blew my mind. Things that people waste ther money on when they should be buying this movie: Milk its a scam, Car its a conspiracy, and anything to do with Rebbeca Black cuz she sucks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnSmithyJan 3, 2014
This movie is so terrible it is amazing. The irony is totally lost and the acting is awful, but I recommend this as a must-see for everybody, if not to enjoy it, to truly understand the epitome of a terrible film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews