User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 160
  2. Negative: 78 out of 160
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    3
    It's the worst argument in the history of cinema! Besides the argument is so typical and repeated ... The only thing I liked was that in the film are very good and famous actresses. Gore, pointless and nasty!
  2. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    1
    Truly terrible. Completely disappointing. Even actors such as Lacy Chabert who is brilliant in Mean Girls can't lift the completely predictable and boring plot. Yes, it is gory but the film feels so cheap and sleazy--complete waste of money. The idea of a scary Christmas film was different...but this film is just a rip off of films like Final Destination with the characters being Truly terrible. Completely disappointing. Even actors such as Lacy Chabert who is brilliant in Mean Girls can't lift the completely predictable and boring plot. Yes, it is gory but the film feels so cheap and sleazy--complete waste of money. The idea of a scary Christmas film was different...but this film is just a rip off of films like Final Destination with the characters being killed off one by one. I almost left early. Expand
  3. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    1
    This film is a poor versoin of the original, baring the same name. No film of last year was great, but this film was just awful. Everything about this movie is just terrible.
  4. DanA
    Jan 9, 2008
    0
    So stale. Nowadays the horror film doesn't consist of tactics to scare the audience, but instead we're treated to good looking women who are killed by random people with no story and all in the same exact way. I'm not kidding. Every single person in this movie other than the killers and one woman are stabbed to death. One person's stabbed with a pen, another with a So stale. Nowadays the horror film doesn't consist of tactics to scare the audience, but instead we're treated to good looking women who are killed by random people with no story and all in the same exact way. I'm not kidding. Every single person in this movie other than the killers and one woman are stabbed to death. One person's stabbed with a pen, another with a candy cane, and ice skate, a FREAKING unicorn decoration, an icicle magically falls through a woman's face. It's ridiculous. Expand
  5. JohnnyR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    0
    Duhh, it was great!!! random violence with no story is what makes film great! this is NOTHING like every single other 'teens running around getting stabbed and mutilated' movie out there, because movies like this are changing the game. these idiots are just rating it low because they don't understand how amazing and innovate teens running around screaming and dying is! this Duhh, it was great!!! random violence with no story is what makes film great! this is NOTHING like every single other 'teens running around getting stabbed and mutilated' movie out there, because movies like this are changing the game. these idiots are just rating it low because they don't understand how amazing and innovate teens running around screaming and dying is! this is a completely original formula! i'm fifteen and i've seen three movies in my entire life!! Expand
  6. AnitaP.
    Dec 30, 2006
    1
    Bad movie. Lots of gore, but a stupid story line. Not worth the money.
  7. JamesH.
    Dec 19, 2007
    2
    A clumsy remake that did much more to buitcher the plot and dark ending of its namesake than it did to butcher utterly forgettable sorority girls.
  8. BillyL.
    Mar 31, 2007
    0
    Worst movie I've seen in a long time. Putrid and shameful attempt to cash in on the success of horror remakes. Insulting to the viewer.
  9. RyanS.
    Apr 9, 2008
    0
    Probably one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Acting is terrible, story sucks...everything about this movie is horrible.
  10. KateR.
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I was so very disappointed to find that this flick, which I was hoping would fall into the "unintentionally comic" horror sub-genre, did not bolster my customary anti-Christmas spirit in the least. Although I did get one good laugh; my husband leaned over and whispered, in a tone of utter astonishment, "Is that Agnes chick played by Pauly Shore in a blonde wig?! He must've had a I was so very disappointed to find that this flick, which I was hoping would fall into the "unintentionally comic" horror sub-genre, did not bolster my customary anti-Christmas spirit in the least. Although I did get one good laugh; my husband leaned over and whispered, in a tone of utter astonishment, "Is that Agnes chick played by Pauly Shore in a blonde wig?! He must've had a really tough time of it since Biodome...". Expand
  11. BrinaK.
    Dec 22, 2006
    0
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand
  12. PatrickW.
    Dec 27, 2006
    0
    Complete garbage. This film can't decide whether it's playing it straight or for laughs, and therefore, it fails at both. Miserably. For the first 20 minutes, characters walk on screen simply to be slaughtered immediately. When we finally meet the major characters, they are the stupidest bunch of horror movie characters ever, making bizarre decisions that no one in their Complete garbage. This film can't decide whether it's playing it straight or for laughs, and therefore, it fails at both. Miserably. For the first 20 minutes, characters walk on screen simply to be slaughtered immediately. When we finally meet the major characters, they are the stupidest bunch of horror movie characters ever, making bizarre decisions that no one in their situation would. The hospital ending is just ludicrous. The audience booed long and long at the screening I attended. And I couldn't agree more. Expand
  13. May 29, 2011
    3
    There's been a lot of negativity about this movie, I never saw the original but I did think this film looked interesting after watching the trailer. Basically, this film is pure fun, it won't win any awards but it is enjoyable. It isn't scary but the over the top kills and gore make this film enjoyable to watch with friends. The acting is pretty good and the film tries it's best toThere's been a lot of negativity about this movie, I never saw the original but I did think this film looked interesting after watching the trailer. Basically, this film is pure fun, it won't win any awards but it is enjoyable. It isn't scary but the over the top kills and gore make this film enjoyable to watch with friends. The acting is pretty good and the film tries it's best to establish each character before the main bloodshed begins. I'd say my favourite characters were Melissa and Lauren, I like Melissa because of her loyalty and i liked Lauren because she had cracking lines. One of the bad things about this film is the slightly repetitive kills, OKAY! we get you like eyeballs!!!!! but i won't go to much detail here. One of the things the film did well was making you grow somewhat attached to the characters (apart from Kelli, she was just bland). Overall I'd say, go to this film if you like slasher films but don't go expecting a masterpiece. But for what it is, i thought it was a blast to watch, especially with a group of friends. Expand
  14. Feb 23, 2011
    3
    Very Scary... To Scary For Me :)
    The Plot Is Very Stupid, And Useless! I Do Like Two Of The Cast Members-
    Michelle Trachtenberg, And Lacy Chabert...
    Acting Is Pretty Bad But Its Fun, But Bad Fun :)
  15. Jun 5, 2014
    2
    Hilariously Dimension films thought that this film would market better by having Christmas related death scenes added to the trailer, of which none appear in the actual film. This should have been the first indication that maybe the movie needed to be tweaked. Far too much in your face and not enough suspense.
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Kat Brown
    20
    Bad film fans will think Christmas has come early, everyone else should ask for the receipt.
  2. Reviewed by: Jason Anderson
    25
    Lazy, perfunctory and free of tension, the new version will satisfy neither the admirers of the original nor anyone looking for a gory respite from seasonal good cheer.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    10
    It's debatable whether the original 1974 "Black Christmas" is, as its most rabid fans claim, the mother of all slasher movies. But there can be no argument regarding the scant merits of its slapdash, soporifically routine remake, suitable only for the least discriminating of gore hounds.