Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The remake of the classic 1974 horror thriller in which a sorority house is terrorized by a killer who makes frightening telephone calls before murdering the sorority sisters during the Christmas break. (Dimension Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. 50
    This film is an evocative, effective entry into the holiday blood-spray subgenre in its own right. And if it doesn't make your skin crawl ... you probably ate too much Christmas dinner.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    Silly, obvious, clumsy, and just gruesome enough to keep jaded genre fans from angrily throwing popcorn at the screen.
  3. Where the first film was a seminal forerunner of early stalker classics like "Halloween," this version feels as stale as old gingerbread.
  4. Reviewed by: Gregory Kirshling
    25
    Twice as many accidental laughs as scares.
  5. Props to the Weinstein Brothers for having the guts to release a slasher film on Christmas Day. Too bad this one is the cinematic equivalent of tryptophan.
  6. Reviewed by: Kat Brown
    20
    Bad film fans will think Christmas has come early, everyone else should ask for the receipt.
  7. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    0
    The product itself isn't so much afterthought as afterbirth -- a bloody mess to be dumped discreetly.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    bloody-disgusting made a good point, a horror film should be judged on it's own, not compared to the original, this film isn't great, but today, where everything else is either too gory, too sexual, or too moderated, this film kind of gets it right, and that's why it gets 10/10 - samarathenymph xoxo Expand
  2. JamesN.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Really, really good. The best slasher i have seen in years, all the actors were fine (especially Michelle Tratchtenberg, and she has the best scene in the movie as well). The mix of black comedy and gore really worked. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    When this movie ended i felt that it missed something on its way, but nonetherless the girls acting were good especially Mary Elizabeth Winsted, Cristal Lowe and Michelle Trachtenberg Expand
  4. JustinL
    Jan 14, 2007
    5
    I'm saying a 5 because they finally got it half right... the part that was half right was the gore. Finally a horror/slasher film, that ISN'T rated pg13. The other half was awful, the plot and characters felt thrown together. Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    3
    There's been a lot of negativity about this movie, I never saw the original but I did think this film looked interesting after watching the trailer. Basically, this film is pure fun, it won't win any awards but it is enjoyable. It isn't scary but the over the top kills and gore make this film enjoyable to watch with friends. The acting is pretty good and the film tries it's best to establish each character before the main bloodshed begins. I'd say my favourite characters were Melissa and Lauren, I like Melissa because of her loyalty and i liked Lauren because she had cracking lines. One of the bad things about this film is the slightly repetitive kills, OKAY! we get you like eyeballs!!!!! but i won't go to much detail here. One of the things the film did well was making you grow somewhat attached to the characters (apart from Kelli, she was just bland). Overall I'd say, go to this film if you like slasher films but don't go expecting a masterpiece. But for what it is, i thought it was a blast to watch, especially with a group of friends. Expand
  6. KateR.
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I was so very disappointed to find that this flick, which I was hoping would fall into the "unintentionally comic" horror sub-genre, did not bolster my customary anti-Christmas spirit in the least. Although I did get one good laugh; my husband leaned over and whispered, in a tone of utter astonishment, "Is that Agnes chick played by Pauly Shore in a blonde wig?! He must've had a really tough time of it since Biodome...". Expand
  7. BrinaK.
    Dec 22, 2006
    0
    As Jennifer Hudson proves to be one of the best actresses and best singers of our generation, Beyonce and Sharon Leal prove to be equally outstanding. I have never seen such a Oscar-worthy masterpiece filled with so many Oscar-worthy parts. Eddie Murphy may have erased his career mistakes and declared his best performance ever. A Oscar nomination in his spot would be more than appropriate. He showed tremendous talent in his singing and powerful acting. Jamie Foxx and his outstanding show could bring him another Oscar, this time as best supporting actor. Danny Glover and Anika Noni Rose, in smaller Parts are also outstanding. The movie is undeniably powerful and totally unforgettable. See it and cherish the memories weeks after, because this one will stick with you for life. It is life-changing and it is worth a 2000 dollar ticket if you ask me! It is a privilege to see a movie this amazing. A Genius Masterpiece. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.