User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 941 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 941
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    The intensity of this film elevates the artistic portrayal of Swan Lake far beyond what you may expect. Aronofsky enthralls the audience with this mesmerizing piece of art, coupled with Natalie Portman's phenomenal portrait as a troubled young dancer.
  2. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    Natalie Portman gives a career-defining performance as a ballerina who's been chosen to dance the title role in "Swan Lake." Her lack of confidence and obsession with perfection rise to hallucinatory levels before it's all over. Director Darren Aronofsky knows how to create a character's world that's intimate and potent. This time he and Portman have plumbed the depths and emerged with aNatalie Portman gives a career-defining performance as a ballerina who's been chosen to dance the title role in "Swan Lake." Her lack of confidence and obsession with perfection rise to hallucinatory levels before it's all over. Director Darren Aronofsky knows how to create a character's world that's intimate and potent. This time he and Portman have plumbed the depths and emerged with a dark, compelling character study. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    7
    Black Swan has all the sexy hype, but it's not a finished movie. It's half baked at times. The photography is brilliant and Darren has good direction after his past films. Natalie Portman was great as Lily and Kunis as Nina. The film is visually good but the story is very cheesy. It's dark and romantic, but Black Swan holds its barriers till the end- which dissapoints. It's a twisted andBlack Swan has all the sexy hype, but it's not a finished movie. It's half baked at times. The photography is brilliant and Darren has good direction after his past films. Natalie Portman was great as Lily and Kunis as Nina. The film is visually good but the story is very cheesy. It's dark and romantic, but Black Swan holds its barriers till the end- which dissapoints. It's a twisted and psychic film. It works for the most part. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Black swan is a fantastic and dark film. the acting my Portman is flawless. A daring a film with scary moments at times but never boring. some might be turned off by the ballet part but trust me this film delivers stuff for everyone to enjoy.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    "Black Swan" is a fearless movie that unveils the psychological horror of perfectionism and observes the deepest, darkest personalities of mankind. All of this is created and formed with Keen, sensitive direction and a frightfully perfect performance from Natalie Portman (as expected, she won a Oscar for her performance). Ultimately, this masterpiece is a beautiful dark twisted movie you"Black Swan" is a fearless movie that unveils the psychological horror of perfectionism and observes the deepest, darkest personalities of mankind. All of this is created and formed with Keen, sensitive direction and a frightfully perfect performance from Natalie Portman (as expected, she won a Oscar for her performance). Ultimately, this masterpiece is a beautiful dark twisted movie you must, and will watch. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Never lost my attention for a second. My mind was so invested into what would occur next. Natalie Portman and the rest of the cast were great. It was freaky and passionate which makes it truly stand alone.
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    Darren Aronofsky is quickly becoming one of my favorite directors and Black Swan is a shining example of why that is happening. Here, he crafts a film that perfectly fits the bill of "psychological thriller" as this one is absolutely terrifying at times, but always leaves you searching for answers as you are never quite certain what exactly happened. Throughout, we follow the clearlyDarren Aronofsky is quickly becoming one of my favorite directors and Black Swan is a shining example of why that is happening. Here, he crafts a film that perfectly fits the bill of "psychological thriller" as this one is absolutely terrifying at times, but always leaves you searching for answers as you are never quite certain what exactly happened. Throughout, we follow the clearly disturbed Nina, played by Natalie Portman, who absolutely kills it here. Her descent into madness is beautifully constructed and portrayed by Aronofsky as it almost makes us feel as though we are going insane right along with her. Mila Kunis and Vincent Cassel also have good supporting roles here. The only thing against this one was that it was a little slow going in the beginning, however, once it really kicks in high gear, it is completely engrossing as you follow every twist and turn and try to wrap your head around what you just watched. This film is certainly jarring and is "perfect", just as Nina would want. Really, this one deserves all of the plaudits it received and really lived up to the hype for me. Expand
  8. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    My favorite movie from 2010. It's beautifully dark and intensely made by Darren Aronofsky, who has kind of a streak with me (my favorite 2008 movie The Wrestler). Natalie Portman's haunting performance is amazing. The whole cast brings their A-game. Mila Kunis (her rival), Vincent Cassel (the creepy director), and Barbra Hershey (the crazy-ass mother). I know it's not categorized as aMy favorite movie from 2010. It's beautifully dark and intensely made by Darren Aronofsky, who has kind of a streak with me (my favorite 2008 movie The Wrestler). Natalie Portman's haunting performance is amazing. The whole cast brings their A-game. Mila Kunis (her rival), Vincent Cassel (the creepy director), and Barbra Hershey (the crazy-ass mother). I know it's not categorized as a horror movie, but it sure feels like it and it's nice to see some recognition from the academy. Expand
  9. May 12, 2012
    7
    Black Swan is an inscrutable film that makes for uncomfortable viewing. It's actually a little harrowing in it's own way, sporting a type of psychological darkness that both repulses and intrigues. The film is excellently acted across the board and throws up a whole bunch of unhinged surprises. Black swan does wear it's obtuse tendencies feverishly on it's sleeve, thus it tends to bury theBlack Swan is an inscrutable film that makes for uncomfortable viewing. It's actually a little harrowing in it's own way, sporting a type of psychological darkness that both repulses and intrigues. The film is excellently acted across the board and throws up a whole bunch of unhinged surprises. Black swan does wear it's obtuse tendencies feverishly on it's sleeve, thus it tends to bury the needle a touch too far into the pretentious. Overall, Black Swan is a good film and one that will baffle and inspire debate. A strong stomach is required! Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Black Swan is gripping, dramatic, intense and passionate and Natalie Portman brings all that in her unforgettable performance. This movie also has a strong performance from Mila Kunis and has some cool visual effects that fit the movie. I give this movie 93%.
  11. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Yes! Another brilliant masterpiece from director, Darren Aronofsky. For me, Black Swan is the perfect example of a modern classic film. A true piece of art, simply astounding in every way.

    Immediately after the opening credits, the film left a tense, uneasy feeling in my gut. The atmosphere was established, and I was instantly at the edge of my seat, knowing that something was off. I
    Yes! Another brilliant masterpiece from director, Darren Aronofsky. For me, Black Swan is the perfect example of a modern classic film. A true piece of art, simply astounding in every way.

    Immediately after the opening credits, the film left a tense, uneasy feeling in my gut. The atmosphere was established, and I was instantly at the edge of my seat, knowing that something was off. I was immediately taken into the film, making the experience one of the best I've ever had.

    The brilliant musical score was very effective in establishing the dark tones, as was the perfect cinematography. The use of color in the film was excellent. Blacks and Whites dominated the color palette of the film, establishing the dark tone, but also to furthur emphasizing the idea of good vs. evil.

    The acting was excellent. Stunning performances by supporting cast members Barbara Hershey, Winona Ryder, Vincent Cassel, and especially Mila Kunis, who is really showing herself to be a talented young actress with a bright future. Natalie Portman gives the best performance though. In fact, it's the best of her career...she is this film. She portrayed every emotion with a level of maturity and grace that I have never seen before. Her character, Nina, changes so much as the film goes on, but Portman handles the role perfectly. It truly was a brilliant performance, worthy of every praise it received. She more than definitely deserved her Oscar for Best Actress!

    The last 40 minutes of the film were pure gold. Some of the best film scenes I have ever seen. The intensity, conflict, horror, art, music, acting, emotion, passion, cinematography, choreography...it was perfect! "I felt it. Perfect. It was perfect!"

    Black Swan is a brilliant, brilliant film. Nominated for 5 Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Cinematography, and winner of 1 Academy Award (Best Actress - Natalie Portman), this film is must see! Unlike any other film. Black Swan: I recommend it!
    Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Black Swan, as has come to be expected from Darren Aronofsky's films, is not an easy watch. It's multiple layers of reality, heady themes and dark, surreal imagery may put some viewers off. If you enjoy challenging, original filmmaking that works on multiple levels, then Black Swan could be the ideal film for you. There is no weak link in the casting. Natalie Portman quite rightly won the Academy Award for Best Actress, and her powerful and intricately complex performance as the massively paranoid ballet dancer Nina Sayers will remain with you long after the end credits roll. Mila Kunis, Vincent Cassel and Barbara Hershey all leave their own marks on the film as Nina's rebellious but talented rival Lily, her womanising director Thomas and her over-protective, domineering mother respectively. Also worth a mention is Winona Ryder playing Beth MacIntyre, a huge ballet star forced into early retirement and replaced by Nina - it's a relatively small but crucial role, and Ryder's best performance in years. The film looks fantastic, with Matthew Libatique's cinematography and Andrew Weisblum's editing evolving with the mood of the film - as story becomes more fractured and erratic, the camera movements become less smooth, the editing choppier and more jarring. The style of the whole film is designed to create a steadily increasing sense of unease, so as Nina steadily loses her grip on reality, so do we as viewers. We don't quite know what is as isn't real from about halfway through the film, so much of it is open to interpretation. My only gripe is in the final act where Nina appears to physically transform into a swan with the assistance of expensive-looking CGI. I almost wish Aronofsky saved his money here, as the simpler visuals he employs are far more effective (Portman's reflection moving of its own accord is a far creepier way to represent Nina's fractured identity as a result of her obsession with the black swan role than her physically sprouting feathers). Despite this minor annoyance, Black Swan remains an extremely powerful, intelligent and thought-provoking film that you'll be hard-pressed to forget. Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At the end of Rob Marshall's "Chicago", in an effort to clear up any lingering doubts from moviegoers about what they just saw, the titles proudly trumpet that the principal actors did all their own singing and dancing. So adept were Richard Gere, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Renee Zelwegger at both performing arts, some audience members may have presumed that professionals were called in to do all the heavy lifting, especially the dancing, where, as is the norm for any movie that requires multi-tasking(stunt work, stripping, etc...) of its actors, a double can be inserted whenever the camera catches the body without a head. Knowing this, the novelty aspect behind a Hollywood starlet, a veritable household name, casting vanity aside and trying to disappear into the role of a top-flight ballerina is dispelled, right off the bat, when the filmmaker establishes his subject's competence(or dare I say, mastery) in dramatic fashion. Dancing by herself, establishing shots of Natalie Portman in balletic repose, give way to a close-up of disembodied feet, whose legs, cut off somewhere above the knee, could belong to anybody, but are indeed Portman's, when a camera tilt, along with the dancer's contortions, reorientates the actress to her lowest extremities, right after those thought-to-be-anonymous feet go from horizontal to vertical(in other words, "on point"), and then in gilded motion, like a pro. It's a goosebump moment, believe me. It's really her, the stripper who wouldn't strip in Mike Nichols' "Closer"...doing THAT! With Portman's credibility issues out of the way, this neo-"Repulsion" story becomes the focal point, which wouldn't be the case if Nina Sayers, a woman-girl with mommy issues(and sexuality issues) who's losing it, was heavily subordinated by a Julliard-trained stand-in to do all the hard stuff. The camera doesn't lie, especially a hand-held one, a probing thing that gets in Nina's grille(on and off-the-job), and Portman's body, all sinewy muscle and bone, is the truth, and passes with flying colors. The unbridled passion and masochism and predilection for self-sacrifice that every hungry, up-and-coming dancer possesses is captured in unerring detail by Portman, who on a short-time basis, obviously, went through the same taxing process herself, because you can see, actually see, that she's thinking, as opposed to acting, like a dancer in the cut-throat world of New York City swan-making. When asked by her lecherous ballet director(Vincent Cassell) to embody the second swan with the same assuredness as its white doppleganger, the virginal Nina goes down a rabbit hole of repression and self-hatred when the unformed girl is forced to ruminate over sex, a subject she clearly deflects through overcompensation, in which ballet has proven to be a stunting mechanism for this grown woman(who still lives with her mom and has a room populated with a menagerie stuffed animals), thereby creating a vast disconnect between her emotional and chronological age. When you get right down to it, "Black Swan" is all about f*cking. In her room, Nina touches herself, and is made to feel guilty about having desire, all at once, upon discovery of her mother asleep in a bedside chair(or is she?), indicating a past history in which Erica(Barbara Hershey), a failed dancer who has mixed emotions about her daughter's success, impeded Nina's sexual development through calculated sheltering. Not wanting to draw comparisons with Michael Haneke's "The Piano Teacher", Nina and her mother sleep in separate rooms, but the disturbance created by Erica, her seeming entitlement to be in such close proximity to her adult daughter, suggests that the bedtime arrangements are still new. In a sense, the mother helped birth the black swan that haunts Nina. As a result of her psycho-sexuality, Nina stabs the dark bird, stabs Lily(Mila Kunis), for awakening her greatest fear, inflaming the fragile ballerina to stab herself, out of self-hatred for not being the white swan, mother's "sweet girl". Expand
  14. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Bravo! Encore! The best film I have seen for a very long time.
    A spectacular film, through the brilliant mind of Aranofsky who never ceases to impress me. The story is gripping, with strong contrast between beauty and elegance with darkness and insanity. The score is really moving and adds to the suspense and the surprisingly the previously shallow Portman brings a rich in layer and
    Bravo! Encore! The best film I have seen for a very long time.
    A spectacular film, through the brilliant mind of Aranofsky who never ceases to impress me. The story is gripping, with strong contrast between beauty and elegance with darkness and insanity. The score is really moving and adds to the suspense and the surprisingly the previously shallow Portman brings a rich in layer and depth performance worthy of many awards!
    Expand
  15. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    If I would have seen just one more scene of her picking at her bloody fingers or back I think I would have walked out. I am a fan of Natalie Portman so I went to see this movie with a friend. We both had the same reaction - "What is the big deal about this movie"? The film goes back and forth between reality and her dual personality which is a bit confusing. The lead is supposed to beIf I would have seen just one more scene of her picking at her bloody fingers or back I think I would have walked out. I am a fan of Natalie Portman so I went to see this movie with a friend. We both had the same reaction - "What is the big deal about this movie"? The film goes back and forth between reality and her dual personality which is a bit confusing. The lead is supposed to be perfection at playing the "white swan", but Natalie Portman looks like she's about to cry even when she dances as the white swan. Lots of mommie dearest scenes, drugs, masturbation, and festering bloody sores. Not what I would call entertaining. In the end, a very polarizing film. You either like this style or not. I didn't. I have to give it credit for some great visual style, however. Expand
  16. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This film was extraordinary like Requiem was. Natalie Portman was more than fabulous and gorgeous. The plot is really smart and first-saw. Mila Kunis was great too. I liked the ending and that twist that it had. Black Swan is one of the greatest thriller ever made in the history of cinema and i think it's a masterpiece
  17. May 29, 2011
    8
    If someone stole the whole show was Natalie Portman. She delivers the performance of a lifetime. Forget "Star Wars", "V for Vendetta" and keep a bit of "Leon" and "Garden State"... You are not the best young actress at the moment but you are definitely on the top one! If Natalie doesn't deserve an Oscar for her portraying of Nina Sayers then nobody ever did. This movie takes the story ofIf someone stole the whole show was Natalie Portman. She delivers the performance of a lifetime. Forget "Star Wars", "V for Vendetta" and keep a bit of "Leon" and "Garden State"... You are not the best young actress at the moment but you are definitely on the top one! If Natalie doesn't deserve an Oscar for her portraying of Nina Sayers then nobody ever did. This movie takes the story of dual personalities to a whole new level of unknown, which is beautifully portrayed by Natalie Portman, taking her to a spot where the Oscar doesn't look like just a dream anymore. It's a touching story, based around a small group of characters, and that's a place where Aronofsky is at his best (i.e. Requiem for a dream). Also, it would be unfair to forget Vincent Cassel, who showed himself in a totally different manner creating a strong, patriarchal character. In the end, this work of art is worth every single dollar and minute you spend on it. It's a guaranteed classic! Expand
  18. Lyn
    Jan 4, 2011
    8
    This movie is like "Requiem for a Dream," but with ballet. (Awarded an extra point for Portman's performance -- and actually, Hershey is excellent as well.) I found the mix of blood-sex-fantasy and lunacy quite riveting, but if you want a "ballet movie," rent "The Turning Point."
  19. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    I found "Black Swan" to be very intriguing as an allegory of human nature. While also exposing the dark side of a career in ballet, it makes some specific points on human violence, desire to succeed even by harming others, and struggle for finding someone's way in life. Nina is, perhaps, an (anti-)hero of our times, trying to balance her inner strengths and weaknesses against outerI found "Black Swan" to be very intriguing as an allegory of human nature. While also exposing the dark side of a career in ballet, it makes some specific points on human violence, desire to succeed even by harming others, and struggle for finding someone's way in life. Nina is, perhaps, an (anti-)hero of our times, trying to balance her inner strengths and weaknesses against outer difficulties and superior forces. Portman's terrific performance (even if it is not hard to do otherwise) and Aronofsky's distinctive direction make this picture a must-see.
    Mansell's adaptation of Tchaikovsky's "Swan Lake" is exceptionally good and successful in expressing aspects of Nina's insanity. The result is a satisfying psychological thriller, that deserves praise for its originality.
    Expand
  20. chw
    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Black Swan was a pretty good movie, very well acted, but it was so disturbing at times that made me have to take a breather because it was THAT disturbing.
  21. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    "Black Swan is a disturbing , shocking , moving sadistic tale , that is captivating , compulsive and a work of art just shy of a masterpiece and will be no surprise when Natalie Portmen wins the Oscar for Best Actress" ... A-
  22. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    I don't even know where to go with reviewing this movie. It's a dark, thrilling, disturbing, and even terrifying movie that succeeds primarily because of Natalie Portman's fantastic performance in both acting and dancing. Black Swan begins as a simple drama about a ballet dancer that just wants to succeed and get the leading role in Swan Lake before taking a very dark turn into aI don't even know where to go with reviewing this movie. It's a dark, thrilling, disturbing, and even terrifying movie that succeeds primarily because of Natalie Portman's fantastic performance in both acting and dancing. Black Swan begins as a simple drama about a ballet dancer that just wants to succeed and get the leading role in Swan Lake before taking a very dark turn into a disturbing horror film about how this ballerina completely loses touch with reality and delves into a living nightmare. Black Swan is grotesque, beautiful, and dramatic all at the same time. Expand
  23. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    I like how Aronofsky can make that depressive atmosphere in his movies and you feel that tension and constant menace all along. This one is even more a thriller rather than a drama. Very good characters by Natalie Portman, Vincent Cassel, Mila Kunis and Barbara Hershey . Also Winona Ryder made a decent job though I didn't even recognize her.
  24. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Black Swan is almost as perfect as it's protagonist's final performance. With an incredibly detailed, perfected, yet subtle performance by Natalie Portman - a career best, most certainly - Black Swan manages to keep ones attention fully throughout the length of the film. Not only does Portman shine, but so does the supporting cast, especially Barbara Hershey and Mila Kunis. With manyBlack Swan is almost as perfect as it's protagonist's final performance. With an incredibly detailed, perfected, yet subtle performance by Natalie Portman - a career best, most certainly - Black Swan manages to keep ones attention fully throughout the length of the film. Not only does Portman shine, but so does the supporting cast, especially Barbara Hershey and Mila Kunis. With many fantastical aspects to the film, it is somewhat confusing and keeps one on the edge of their seat, since we never know what is really happening with Nina (Portman) and her surrounding. The cinematography is beautiful and the editing is done quite superbly. The musical score is very appropriate, with beautiful music by Tchaikovsky, including a techno-redo for a club scene, done by the Chemical Brothers.
    The only aspect of the film that left me wanting more was a pre-story to Nina's situation. Yes, the focus of the film is rather appropriate, but a nice extra 5-10 minutes at the beginning to set the stage would be nice. Or some sort of flashbacks? That, of course, would take away from the mystique of the film, but by the end I did feel I wanted to know more about Nina and how she got to where she was. The film did that in many ways effectively, but I still felt there were some things Aronofsky could have worked out.
    Nonetheless, one of the best films of the year, by far! Excellent!!
    Expand
  25. Dec 18, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautiful, seriously flawed, at times laughable, melodrama. The only suspense, soon disposed of, is whether we are witnessing the descent into madness or a ghost story. Descent into madness it is! Sit back and watch her unravel, or rather metamorphize. Vincent Cassell is out of his depth in a role that requires more than his usual fetid pathological intensity. Natalie is sweet but her ultimate transformation seems like more than she can, or is allowed to, emote. The ultimate problem lies in the often weak direction which seems engrossed in pulp fiction or comic strip camp instead of the exploration of driven ambition. Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    this movie is the best I saw in 2010, amazing, one of the best music underscore.! Portman just wonderful, everything was spectacular ... This combination of psychological drama is a mixture of feelings that you uncoordinated and keeps you glued to the screen until the last minute
  27. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    The little girl in LEON: THE PROFESSIONAL (1994) had grown up now. Natalie Portman is at her peak performance so far. Team up with heavy-caliber Director Darren Aronofsky, they made a beautiful story but horrifying at the same time. Aronofsky is invincible, especially when he explored human desperation, like in his previous films REQUIEM OF A DREAM (2000), THE FOUNTAIN (2006) and THEThe little girl in LEON: THE PROFESSIONAL (1994) had grown up now. Natalie Portman is at her peak performance so far. Team up with heavy-caliber Director Darren Aronofsky, they made a beautiful story but horrifying at the same time. Aronofsky is invincible, especially when he explored human desperation, like in his previous films REQUIEM OF A DREAM (2000), THE FOUNTAIN (2006) and THE WRESTLER (2008). For about 100 minutes of the movie, I felt like I was experiencing the theater performance, not just like a common movie. It filled with beautiful images and great orchestra. Nina (Portman) is a chosen ballerina to fulfil her dual roles all at once, to be irresistible innocence White Swan and also to become seductive evil Black Swan. Slowly but sure, the darker side of Black Swan absorbs her real life. I love the brilliant Cinematography. Aronofsky seemed to use two techniques of camera work. One was for The Long Shot, he used steady conventional method. And the second for The Close-up, he used Hand-held Camera. I had ever said that Hand-held Camera is modern technique in today cinematic world. Not only for Action, but recently for Drama as well, Hand-shake Camera is able to effectively drag you into the middle of ongoing situation, if you are not using Hand-held Camera, you are out of date now. The Cast is amazingly fit. Vincent Cassel is fit for provocative and ambitious Ballet Instructor. Mila Kunis is fit for seductive and ambitious Nina colleague. Barbara Hershey is fit for authoritarian and ambitious mother. And even a brief but impressive appearance by Winona Ryder as anxious and ambitious competitor. Yeah, it is all about ambition and you can see it in each character, all of them have their own ambition. However, the star of all stars above is Portman herself. She shows her darker side successfully, you could literally feel her pain, pressure and paranoia situation. The movie becomes more mysterious with some unusual sex scenes. For the last half hour of film duration, she drives us into beautiful but ironic condition, sometimes absurdity become the part of it. Those last scenes are extremely horrified, with broken fingernail, peeling skin and fractured bone for the elements. I almost could categorize thiz movie as a Horror movie. The movie emphasizes in every beautifulness of ballet, there is dark side that we never know before. Finally, I just want to say, It was perfect.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection--a major theme of the film and ultimately what it achieves. Portman is stunning. Aronofsky's direction is masterful. The cinematography and sound are interesting and integral to the story. This is simply a masterpiece in the psychological horror oeuvre.
  29. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Depuis son rôle dans Léon, Natalie Portman n'a plus eu de chanche pour nous éblouir. Avec Black Swan, nous pouvons admirer cette actrice une nouvelle fois, à sa juste valeur, dans un film en tout point prenant, sensuel et superbement mis en scène. Drame, "érotique", thriller, horreur...presque tous les genres seDepuis son rôle dans Léon, Natalie Portman n'a plus eu de chanche pour nous éblouir. Avec Black Swan, nous pouvons admirer cette actrice une nouvelle fois, à sa juste valeur, dans un film en tout point prenant, sensuel et superbement mis en scène. Drame, "érotique", thriller, horreur...presque tous les genres se sont donnés rendez-vous pour faire de cette oeuvre l'un des meilleurs films de cette année! Expand
  30. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I've never used this word before but this movie was breath taking. It started out a little slow but man does the pace pick up as the movie goes along. Portman deserves Oscar consideration for an amazing performance. The camera work was fantastic. I've never attended a ballet before. I think I'd like to go to one now.
  31. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I really love Natalie Portman's performance ever in this dark twisted movie. She really scared everyone in the audience. Black Swan is a perfect film that shows a character who really wanted to become a perfect ballerina so she can be in the musical stage and then she got split personality on herself that she couldn't control herself all because of the fears of practicing ballet. ButI really love Natalie Portman's performance ever in this dark twisted movie. She really scared everyone in the audience. Black Swan is a perfect film that shows a character who really wanted to become a perfect ballerina so she can be in the musical stage and then she got split personality on herself that she couldn't control herself all because of the fears of practicing ballet. But also,I really love for my personally favorite is to all of you men,that we love to see Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis are making out in this picture,that's it! Expand
  32. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    This movie was good but the story limited the effect as one knew what the outcome would be. They did a great job of keeping you rattled and not sure of what was real and unreal. Portman dazzled as did Hershey who creeped me out. This will make my top ten but not the first five.
  33. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Two things are vital in pulling a movie so histrionic and artsy off. The first is directing, where Aronofsky displays his natural talent as a director, as he weaves the scenes flawlessly, in an odd combination of lo-fi hand-held naturalism, and hyberbolic artsiness. He is a true visionary. The second is the performance by the lead, Natalie Portman, which, needless to say, is a revelation.Two things are vital in pulling a movie so histrionic and artsy off. The first is directing, where Aronofsky displays his natural talent as a director, as he weaves the scenes flawlessly, in an odd combination of lo-fi hand-held naturalism, and hyberbolic artsiness. He is a true visionary. The second is the performance by the lead, Natalie Portman, which, needless to say, is a revelation. Many will criticize it as being over-the-top, which it certainly is, but it seems natural all the way through, largely due to her obsession with the art form. And that is the underlying terror in Black Swan. The need to unleash your dark side to master art, but being afraid of what might come out. Expand
  34. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    Considering my disinterest in ballet this movie kept me interested until the end. Brilliantly directed with some excellent camera work it is an interesting tale of a ballerinas slow degradation into insanity. May not be for everyone but it is well worth watching
  35. May 25, 2012
    9
    Natalie Portman certainly deserved the Best Actress awards because her performance in this film was superb. The whole story was just fantastic, it has depth and excitement. I can really feel the mood of the film which makes me ecstatic. This is just a fantastic film..........
  36. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Not a type of movie that I would typically enjoy but I did enjoy this one. It was really dark and played with your mind a lot which I though was really well done. Good acting by all makes this an enjoyable watch.
  37. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    Dark, frivolous, psychotic, schizophrenic, ironic, surreal, astonishing. A great allegory. A complete success regarding filming, scenes, scenarios, performances, plot and twists. A crazy precious pearl. A slap in the face and mind.
  38. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    It's a truly masterpiece. Aranofsky's amazing direction is aided by a good supporting cast, a cinematography of highest level and a brilliant, terrific and memorable performance by Natalie Portman.
  39. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    sorry to break it to you fan boys but this movie is overrated the story is confusing Natalie Portman performance was solid but that can be said about anyone that will take her part in the movie the writing was awkward and don't even get me started on the homosexual parts of the movie.
  40. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Man what a film. Forget whether you do or don't like ballet, this is a surreal and intense thriller/horror almost in the vain of some of Stephen kings old stuff. Brilliant, disturbing imagery in parts, a great pace, always entertaining and suspenseful. Drags you deeper and deeper into madness and totally delivers at the end. A masterpiece really.
  41. May 20, 2011
    8
    Natalie Portman deserves a lot of props. she was excellent in this film. it was gorgeous to look at. the ending was the best. it was acted to perfection by Portman. the choreography was good. Natalie Portman deserved the Oscar
  42. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Black Swan deserves the title of psychological thriller more than simple drama because, although its about a ballet dancer that wants to get the leading role in the Swan Lake, shows the journey that has to make an obsessive and disturbed girl throw her subconscious to change her personality. But this will become more difficult because she will have to struggle not only against herself butBlack Swan deserves the title of psychological thriller more than simple drama because, although its about a ballet dancer that wants to get the leading role in the Swan Lake, shows the journey that has to make an obsessive and disturbed girl throw her subconscious to change her personality. But this will become more difficult because she will have to struggle not only against herself but also with an overprotective mother who tries to fulfill her broken dreams through Nina.
    Changes start physically and with the help of the director of the ballet company and another dancer, Nina will discover her alter ego. This concept is pursued by Darren Aronofsky, and it can also be notice in The Wrestler. The idea is to show the other side of reality, the one that scares us, our other personality hidden deeply in ourselves.
    The performances are as remarkable as the plot, and in the final scene, Natalie Portman gives an incredible presentation, which is impulsive and seductive at the same time, culminating her transformation and achieving perfection.
    The amazing thing about this movie is that all the elements: plot, performances, music, dialogues, confusing and frightening images, leads to complete madness. And because of this is hard to distinguish if the things that you see in the movie are fact or fiction, but that topic is for your own interpretation.
    Expand
  43. May 30, 2012
    10
    This Is My Favorite Movie Of All Time (Excluding Everything Studio Ghibli)
    The Writing And The Acting Are 100% Amazing! Mila Kunis Reveals That She Is A Real Actor And Shocked Me At The Wonderful Performance She Has During The Movie!
  44. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I am now a fan of Natalie Portman - who played both naughty and nice in the same movie pertaining to her actual role as black swan. The movie left me confused in many parts but I do understand its use of psychology of those that delve into perfectionism. This movie was not something I looked forward to watching - but I'm glad I did.
  45. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Black Swan is not a psychological thriller that's privy to holding hands with its audience. In fact, you're expected to comprehend its entirety on your own. If you have problems understanding obsessive compulsive disorders and elaborate hallucinations mixed with other psychotic tendencies, Black Swan will confuse you. But in the midst of the confusion is the pure value of the film -- thisBlack Swan is not a psychological thriller that's privy to holding hands with its audience. In fact, you're expected to comprehend its entirety on your own. If you have problems understanding obsessive compulsive disorders and elaborate hallucinations mixed with other psychotic tendencies, Black Swan will confuse you. But in the midst of the confusion is the pure value of the film -- this stuff is WORTH studying. Natalie Portman's quest to perform her greatest role isn't a high school drama escapade, it's a disturbing reality that traumatizes and destroys the life of real people. Black Swan is one of the best productions in recent memory, and it's a must watch for anyone curious. Expand
  46. Jan 10, 2011
    4
    As I was watching "Black Swan," I started counting the times the camera lingered on Natalie Portman staring pointlessly at herself in a mirror and lost count at eight billion. Guess that means I'm not one of the many crying "bravo" for this film. I love Vincent Cassel, but here he's wasted as one more catalyst for the flowering of Natalie Portman's neurosis into capital-A Art. It'sAs I was watching "Black Swan," I started counting the times the camera lingered on Natalie Portman staring pointlessly at herself in a mirror and lost count at eight billion. Guess that means I'm not one of the many crying "bravo" for this film. I love Vincent Cassel, but here he's wasted as one more catalyst for the flowering of Natalie Portman's neurosis into capital-A Art. It's interesting to me that Winona Ryder showed up as the has-been dancer because Portman seemed to base her character on the timid mental patient Ryder played in "Girl, Interrupted" (watchable only for Angelina Jolie's much more dynamic sociopath). The difference here is that we experience manifestations of Portman's disintigration and are clearly supposed to wonder whether she is, in fact, being sabotaged. That would be the thriller part. But it's evident from the first 10 minutes of the movie that this chick is way too screwed up for anyone to bother sabotaging; all an intelligent rival would have to do is stand around, smoke a cigarette or two, and wait for her to self-destruct. So "thrills," for me, along with surprises, were in pretty short supply. I was mildly interested in how she'd finally sex up her Black Swan (hint: no sex involved) but rolled my eyes when it finally happened. I'm happy for all the people who swooned with delight at this film, but I was definitely not one of them. Plusses: some nice dancing. Vincent Cassel putting the mack on Portman then walking off in disgust. Barbara Hershey's scary facelifts finally used to advantage. Expand
  47. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    Mind-blowing and a horrific epic movie, '' Black Swan '' is one of the best dramas I ever saw. Natalie Portman plays, remarkably amazing, Nina Sayers, a ballet dancer who struggles with her role as the ''Swan Queen'', which she must both be the White Swan (the good side) and the famous Black Swan (the evil side, witch she loses control). Very artistic and interesting movie. The chemistryMind-blowing and a horrific epic movie, '' Black Swan '' is one of the best dramas I ever saw. Natalie Portman plays, remarkably amazing, Nina Sayers, a ballet dancer who struggles with her role as the ''Swan Queen'', which she must both be the White Swan (the good side) and the famous Black Swan (the evil side, witch she loses control). Very artistic and interesting movie. The chemistry between the actors was brilliant ! You can really feel the emotion going on. It was very unique and even if you're not into ballet, you will still enjoy this thriller. But the ending disturb me a little bit. Everything was perfect until the last tiny ten seconds. It's still a amazing film. Definitely worth to watch Expand
  48. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    This is a psychological movie. It is all within the mind, or is it? Dark, daring and incredibly well acted...this may very well be a classic one day. I enjoyed i! Great acting, script, direction. A thriller!
  49. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    It is one film of the year where I walk out of the theater and went, Hmm, nice! Well, that doesn't mean it's better than some other films I saw this year, but this is an impressive. Black Swan offers plenty of drama, plenty of thrilling moments, and plenty of sexiness. With a thrilling and perplexed performance by Natalie Portman, and stylish directing from Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan canIt is one film of the year where I walk out of the theater and went, Hmm, nice! Well, that doesn't mean it's better than some other films I saw this year, but this is an impressive. Black Swan offers plenty of drama, plenty of thrilling moments, and plenty of sexiness. With a thrilling and perplexed performance by Natalie Portman, and stylish directing from Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan can go far. The story is more complicated than you think it is. It is not just about a ballet dancer, it is about a ballet dancer with deep mental issues. Nina is professional ballet dancer who got promoted to play the key role in a ballet performance, the Swan Queen. With a lot of pressure on her, the story proposes that she is obviously hallucinating about her body being deform. At first, I thought all of this was real because Natalie Portman is so believable. But as the story developed, I know for a fact that this girl has some serious mental issues. A summary about the film really doesn't do it justice, go watch it and you'll see exactly what I'm talking about. Black Swan demonstrates how ballet is as exciting and thrilling as an action movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger in it. Natalie Portman might even win the Best Actress Oscar, that is if she beat Annette Bening (but she already locked herself an Oscar nod). Darren Aronofsky will probably snatch the Best Director nod, but Black Swan will definitely have a chance at the Best Picture run. Expand
  50. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    How far is able to get people to achieve unattainable perfection? because in this film, Aronofsky shows us how a simple ballerina, destroys everything around it for only perfect in an innocent role (in my opinion) and white swan and the evil Black Swan in the famous production of lake of swans, but all it gives a great turn and finish destroying it completely. 'black swan' talks about whatHow far is able to get people to achieve unattainable perfection? because in this film, Aronofsky shows us how a simple ballerina, destroys everything around it for only perfect in an innocent role (in my opinion) and white swan and the evil Black Swan in the famous production of lake of swans, but all it gives a great turn and finish destroying it completely. 'black swan' talks about what to sacrifice a performer to embody a role. Leave out the downside because the script demands it can be a way to open a Pandora's box that was better than remain under lock and key. Using all the resources of traditional horror, such as sound scares, sudden apparitions or visions, confusions Aronofsky creates numerous situations of fear, coupled with the interpretation and dramatic context of the rest of the film, may seem out of tune. The film is borderline, and with a tap to the side, lose balance and be grotesque or ridiculous. But the movie has its own elegance in its production design, but the music reminds me a little of the music of Harry Potter, not me, I just rang me. Of course not all the music, just a song, because as the same sound with Potter, it may not be true, but that I think. We are facing a psychological horror film, a genre that I like a lot but here sule used that concept very well, the large team of writers has done an excellent job of being able, not only to portray the madness and spreading despair, but also to exploit the full potential, but without going over, though, as I say, they were close to the line.
    Now if, now if Natalie Portman Starring achieving a majestic, splendid in all facets of his character and surprising in its transformation. The effort of the actress to embody the rich and complicated role that has faced is more than rewarded, definitivament the Oscar goes to her. Other characters serve a different purpose each involution in suffering going swan queen.
    An interesting paper which makes Mila Kunis who surprises with a brilliant interpretation, that works sometimes counterpoint and other alter ego of the principal. Vincent Cassel is perfect in an enigmatic character who carries the catalyst to trigger all the fire that Nina had inside: it is the motivation for her to undergo metamorphosis.
    The movie is good in every sense, but you have to admit you have scenes and boring and pointless, plus lots of sex scene, I think that influence aydo to see this film, but it's a good book to enjoy. Definitely not to be missed.
    My Score: 9.3
    Expand
  51. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Outstanding Acting, Directing, and story. One of the best thriller movie i seen. Outstanding performance by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. On of the year best films. This movie is going catch your attention from beginning to end. I enjoy this movie a lot. Natalie Portman gave such a good performance in this movie. I love thriller movies like this. I think this is a movie ever body wouldOutstanding Acting, Directing, and story. One of the best thriller movie i seen. Outstanding performance by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. On of the year best films. This movie is going catch your attention from beginning to end. I enjoy this movie a lot. Natalie Portman gave such a good performance in this movie. I love thriller movies like this. I think this is a movie ever body would enjoy. Very crazy and amazing movie. Expand
  52. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    This is the most OVERRATED movie of 2010, it has pretty bad picture, the story was kind of interesting but at the same time it make me think that it was just someone's wet dream brought to the big screen. It has a very bad ending too. Couldn't see the artistic part of the movie. But it may be a good option to watch on a weekend if you couldn't find anything else on the T.V.
  53. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    Aronofsky brings to public a film full of anguish. "Black Swan" is Odyssey of madness. Nina leads us to obsessive way. Since first moment, you known that Nina isn't right. It could be horror, familiar and professional pressure but Nina brings us self-destructive spiral. We are witnesses of beautiful insanity. Film is wonderful but it is not totally original. Satoshi Kon's "Perfect Blue" isAronofsky brings to public a film full of anguish. "Black Swan" is Odyssey of madness. Nina leads us to obsessive way. Since first moment, you known that Nina isn't right. It could be horror, familiar and professional pressure but Nina brings us self-destructive spiral. We are witnesses of beautiful insanity. Film is wonderful but it is not totally original. Satoshi Kon's "Perfect Blue" is more perfect than "Black Swan" although "Black Swan" is great too. Expand
  54. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    Warns that inexorable perfectionism may lead to insanity. Picturing two opposite, and problematic extremes of living: safe, or self-destructive; eventually leaving the audience to conclude for themselves, that it would be best to pursue a balanced middle way. Sympathetic character, some quite shocking moments.
  55. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    This movie is two people. Darren Aronofsky is back to his deep psychological best and Natalie Portman in a definate Oscar nomination role. This movie will not be for everyone, but if you've seen Requiem For A Dream (in my opinion still Aronofskys best work) and could handle the tough but powerful scenes and performances then this is for you. A deep and dark delight.
  56. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Nina Sayers wakes up in the morning and shares the marvelous dream she had with her single mother, Erica. She was on stage, performing the lead role in Tchaikovsky's ballet masterpiece, "Swan Lake." Other hard-working female ballet dancers also dream of this role, and with great reason. To star in an event of this magnitude is not only to share your love for this art. It also provides anNina Sayers wakes up in the morning and shares the marvelous dream she had with her single mother, Erica. She was on stage, performing the lead role in Tchaikovsky's ballet masterpiece, "Swan Lake." Other hard-working female ballet dancers also dream of this role, and with great reason. To star in an event of this magnitude is not only to share your love for this art. It also provides an opportunity on the grandest scale to finally show the world the passion that you, for so long, spent years to perfect.
    The ballet company that Nina occupies is starting a new season, and its director, Thomas (Vincent Cassel), is looking for a new star. Nina is eventually chosen, but the preparations will not be easy. She is required to play two characters of opposite nature, the White Swan and the Black Swan. Disciplined, controlled, and performing according to technique, Nina is a candidate who is more than ideal for the White Swan. But she lacks the qualities that are essential to embody the Black Swan, which demands her to follow feelings, and not methods.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/black-swan-movie-review/
    Expand
  57. Dec 5, 2010
    8
    Black Swan is an imperfect film. But it is thought provoking and interesting. I am not a fan of ballet; in person it bores me to tears. But I do respect the athleticism and talent involved in the process. The ballet in this movie is merely the context of the story, not the point. This is also not about a rivalry between two ballerinas, which was written by another user. That may beBlack Swan is an imperfect film. But it is thought provoking and interesting. I am not a fan of ballet; in person it bores me to tears. But I do respect the athleticism and talent involved in the process. The ballet in this movie is merely the context of the story, not the point. This is also not about a rivalry between two ballerinas, which was written by another user. That may be implied by the trailer but it is not what's going on; I bet that person did not see the movie. This is about a woman who is losing her mind, imagining lots of things including a rivalry that is more about her limitations and flaws than anything else. My only complaint about the movie is either about how Natalie Portman played Nina or how Nina was written or how Arronofsky wanted Nina to come across. I'm not quite sure which one. The problem is that Nina is so sheltered and so scared and so naive and so timid and so repressed that her character doesn't ultimately make sense. The time and effort that go into such a career are monumental, as is the amount of rejection and judgement to which these people are subject. It simply is not realistic on any level that Nina could have gotten as far as she did in the world of ballet while being on such a weak psychological precipice. It makes the story easier to believe, Portman looks on the verge of tears many times in this movie. But anyone who had gotten that far in such a difficult profession quite frankly would have more mettle. But that person wouldn't psychologically crumble as easy as Nina. Still it is interesting. Is Nina's mom living vicariously through her daughter (because she had to give up her career) or is the mom so over-protective that she has kept her daughter in a state of perpetual childhood. I suspect a little of both. Is Lily a potential ally or is she the rival Nina perceives her to be? Did Lily help Nina by giving her ecstasy or did that hasten Nina's downfall? I had hoped that it would have been less clear what was real vs. imagined. It sure seemed pretty obvious. Expand
  58. Dec 20, 2010
    4
    Considering all the laudatory reviews and the number of 10 ratings one might assume a masterpiece had birthed. Alas not for this viewer. Natalie did a fine job, no problem there, but talk about an overwrought Polanski rip-off. If this is masterful film making today, I'm depressed. It had the makings of an interesting, dramatic thriller. But where was the subtlety, the craft of a work thatConsidering all the laudatory reviews and the number of 10 ratings one might assume a masterpiece had birthed. Alas not for this viewer. Natalie did a fine job, no problem there, but talk about an overwrought Polanski rip-off. If this is masterful film making today, I'm depressed. It had the makings of an interesting, dramatic thriller. But where was the subtlety, the craft of a work that gradually seduces you. Not here. I'm only seen a couple major reviewers that have really questioned the artfulness of this project. I felt like I had been hammered by it. It was so over the top. Expand
  59. May 23, 2011
    10
    Well, y'know... It was a brilliant idea to pursue it with Natalie Portman in mind you know. She was just amazing and her depth! Oh how she scared the sh*t outta me? Dear Lord, your movie is the horror film of the year because of Portman and... Barbara Hershey! Scariest lady since Sylvia Ganush! Damn, I also commend Vincent Cassel and Mila Kunis! But oh, I couldn't put into words how much IWell, y'know... It was a brilliant idea to pursue it with Natalie Portman in mind you know. She was just amazing and her depth! Oh how she scared the sh*t outta me? Dear Lord, your movie is the horror film of the year because of Portman and... Barbara Hershey! Scariest lady since Sylvia Ganush! Damn, I also commend Vincent Cassel and Mila Kunis! But oh, I couldn't put into words how much I admire this. Forget the Step Up 3D sh*t, this is the best dance movie of 2010! Expand
  60. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    At first, I was hesitant towards this movie seeing as melodramas and ballet dancing aren't really my thing. But when I saw it I thought it really was rather good, at least in the wonderfully directed and choreographed dance sequences. It also makes a very effective thriller at times, with some horrific hallucinations that actually shocked me. The acting is over the top and the plot is veryAt first, I was hesitant towards this movie seeing as melodramas and ballet dancing aren't really my thing. But when I saw it I thought it really was rather good, at least in the wonderfully directed and choreographed dance sequences. It also makes a very effective thriller at times, with some horrific hallucinations that actually shocked me. The acting is over the top and the plot is very overly complicated and confusing, but if you like classical music, ballet and drama at its highest level, go see this film. Expand
  61. Dec 3, 2010
    8
    Coming from a successful award circuit with The Wrestler - which consequently restarted Mickey Rourke's acting career - director Darren Aronofsky returns with the ballet-based psychological thriller Black Swan. Following in the footsteps of Aronofsky's previous films (Pi, Requiem For A Dream), Black Swan is a dark psychological nightmare with disturbing cinematography that freely crawlsComing from a successful award circuit with The Wrestler - which consequently restarted Mickey Rourke's acting career - director Darren Aronofsky returns with the ballet-based psychological thriller Black Swan. Following in the footsteps of Aronofsky's previous films (Pi, Requiem For A Dream), Black Swan is a dark psychological nightmare with disturbing cinematography that freely crawls underneath the skin of its audience. In his newest venture, it seems as if Aronofsky took stylistic notes from Jean-Luc Godard and at the same time attempted to make a vague statement. Essentially, Black Swan is a film that has too much style rather than its implied substance. Like The Wrestler, Black Swan converges most of its attention onto a single character. Natalie Portman strays from her archetypal roles and impeccably plays the innocent character of Nina; an aspiring ballerina who receives the star role of the "Swan Queen" in an upcoming rendition of Swan Lake. The production of Swan Lake requires the queen to play the innocent White Swan and the provocative Black Swan. Primarily, the film focuses on Portman's conservative character, who must under pressure, contrastingly channel her inner malevolence to "perfectly" perform her role. Portman IS the highlight of this film. Like with Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler, Portman defines herself as an actress in this film. Although it takes an excessive amount of time to buildup to Nina's breakdown, the final half of Portman's performance is flawless. The spectrum of emotion and insanity she displays is so real, she has truly locked the "best actress" category for the upcoming award season.

    While Portman's performance is flawless, this brings to question the real point of the film. Aronofsky places symbolism in the film that is vague and at the same time obvious. With different scenes of shocking imagery such as the sensual scene between Kunis and Portman, it is really difficult to grasp why the film possesses such figurative scenes. There are various points of blatant symbolism, giving the impression that the film attempts to be deep. An exemplification of this complaint is the non-stop sensuality seen in the film. I acknowledge that it is to bring out Portman's immorality and show the effects of a disturbed artist, but there is just so much that it overshadows the brilliance of the film. There are too many figurative aspects in Black Swan. That is where the film loses substance, it tries to be cerebrally abstract even when it is not. The film really should have focused on Portman's mental breakdown rather than employing figurative imagery. Even though the film's "figurative" impression refrains itself from being a masterpiece, Black Swan is one of the best films that 2010 offers. Set aside the excessive focus on deepness, Aronofsky's film is visually gorgeous and its intensity immense. The visual imagery is the disturbing essence that you expect from the director. It digs into your emotions, and it stays there throughout the movie. Black Swan is gritty and raw, and the usage of handheld filming is subtle yet effective (unlike movies like **** which uses it in an irrelevant fashion).

    Overall, Black Swan is an excellent film that is not quite the "masterpiece" that many are saying it is. With that being said, it is still a quality film where its pros outshine its cons. Its visual brilliance and its suspenseful emotion makes up for the film's flaws. Black Swan will disturb and haunt its audience to the fullest. Hopefully audiences will just ignore the film's senseless statement. Grade: B+
    Expand
  62. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Natalie Portman did a great job portraying this insecure, shy, wanna-be-perfect ballerina. Her performance was tremendous and Oscar - worthy. this was her role and she will be remembered by it. I won't be surprised if she wins an Oscar for best actress. Honestly i want her to win. I' ve never saw her this perfect. She gave her all for this movie, and she killed it! A great film, definitelyNatalie Portman did a great job portraying this insecure, shy, wanna-be-perfect ballerina. Her performance was tremendous and Oscar - worthy. this was her role and she will be remembered by it. I won't be surprised if she wins an Oscar for best actress. Honestly i want her to win. I' ve never saw her this perfect. She gave her all for this movie, and she killed it! A great film, definitely a must-see. Expand
  63. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Every Scene of this film were so intense, but in a good way. She was always trying to reach perfection, and in the whole film there's a balance between reason and emotion, and Nina couldn't reach both, until the end of the movie, when she says "I was perfect". So overall i though the movie was amazing, all the cast was fantastic, especially Natalie Portman, Mila Kunis and Barbara Hershey,Every Scene of this film were so intense, but in a good way. She was always trying to reach perfection, and in the whole film there's a balance between reason and emotion, and Nina couldn't reach both, until the end of the movie, when she says "I was perfect". So overall i though the movie was amazing, all the cast was fantastic, especially Natalie Portman, Mila Kunis and Barbara Hershey, but this was really Natalie's biggest performance in her career, her expressions, emotions, the dancing, everything, she was actually perfect, and a big thank you to Darren Aronofsky, not only he already deliver films like Requiem for a Dream and the Wrestler, now he comes with Black Swan, a Beautiful Psychological Thriller about a Ballerina who wants to be perfect (off course there's more to it), so thank you very much for this masterpiece. Expand
  64. May 1, 2014
    10
    Maybe it's the acting, maybe it's the perfect scrip, maybe are the musical numbers that makes this movie a perfect psychological thriller, with a storytelling technique unlike any other.
  65. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/black-swan.html

    I'm sure you know the overall plot for this movie but in case not I'll give a brief rundown. A ballerina is chosen to play the parts of the White Swan and then the Black Swan in play put on by her dancing troupe. The problems come when she starts to imagine that the new girl is trying to take her spot. What follows is actually a
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/black-swan.html

    I'm sure you know the overall plot for this movie but in case not I'll give a brief rundown. A ballerina is chosen to play the parts of the White Swan and then the Black Swan in play put on by her dancing troupe. The problems come when she starts to imagine that the new girl is trying to take her spot. What follows is actually a pretty dark thriller, not what some people were expecting at all I feel.

    First off I'll complement the acting. Natalie Portman deserved the Best Actress award and she rightly won it. To be able to dance like that period but also act is no easy task. The supporting actors and actresses were just as good as well.

    While I loved the idea of the story and believe they did a great job with it and the direction they took, and I loved the acting. I do have some problem with the movie. Mainly the pace that it went at. I mean I know it was a movie about ballerinas but I don't think I was expecting a large, and I mean large, portion of the movie to just be about the dancing and the culture around it. So that made the movie progress really slow for me, which also made the thrilling moments (her acts of craziness) sporadic throughout the movie but that may work for the movie as they were genuinely scary (or at least surprising), so in that way I guess the pace worked for the effect of the movie but not this viewer. I still say you should go see it though, great movie.
    Expand
  66. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Breath taking. That's the words I use to describe this movie. Simply brilliant. Darren is seriously one of the best living directors of our time. I fail to see how so many people are oblivious to this fact and would rather watch a Michael Bay movie. Whatever, this movie's packed with symbolism, psychology and a great look into the character Nina's world[view].
  67. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    A deep and passionate ride that tickles your mind with a psychological twist. BS might cast level 5 confuse on you if you don't give it your full attention as it is compelling as it is bewildering.
  68. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Wow! One of the best psychological thrillers of all time! The movie is beautiful throughout despite the dark journey it follows about perfectionism and obsession. A movie that you won't forget. A masterpiece.
  69. Zal
    Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Such a beautiful and disturbing movie with fantastic performances by its cast. Natalie Portman is preparing for her role in Swan Lake while going through her own version and the psychological impact it has on her. I could feel the pain and suffering her character had to endure. The three characters that have a big impact on her are the director, a rival dancer, and her mother and all areSuch a beautiful and disturbing movie with fantastic performances by its cast. Natalie Portman is preparing for her role in Swan Lake while going through her own version and the psychological impact it has on her. I could feel the pain and suffering her character had to endure. The three characters that have a big impact on her are the director, a rival dancer, and her mother and all are key in her character's downfall. However, in the end, the one person she has to overcome is herself.

    I don't want to say too much about this movie because I think it should be experienced by all at least once.

    This is not a movie for everyone, but I enjoyed it and while it's not perfect, its flaws don't overshadow its strengths.
    Expand
  70. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Black Swan is dark, intense, beautifully acted and thought-provoking. With Natalie Portman's excellent performance and Darren Aronofsky's bold direction, Black Swan is one of the best psychological thrillers out there. 4/4 stars.
  71. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    While I'm a bit appalled by its premise, Black Swan is embracingly intense, indescribably frightening, and seductive, with wonderful performances by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis.
  72. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    There are few directors working today who are as talented, original, and fearless as Darren Aronofsky. From Requiem for a Dream, to the underrated The Fountain, to The Wrestler, he is constantly pushing the boundary and creating compelling works of art that will stand the test of time. Black Swan is one of his crowning achievements. It is such an odd blend of moods and textures, stylesThere are few directors working today who are as talented, original, and fearless as Darren Aronofsky. From Requiem for a Dream, to the underrated The Fountain, to The Wrestler, he is constantly pushing the boundary and creating compelling works of art that will stand the test of time. Black Swan is one of his crowning achievements. It is such an odd blend of moods and textures, styles and images; it is a thrilling, bold statement about art and madness.

    Read the full review at:
    http://doctormud.blogspot.com
    Expand
  73. May 20, 2013
    9
    Good trailer.
    Better actress.
    Best movie.
    Natalie Portman can act so convincing and serious.
    The film combines music and dance perfectly with Psycho and elements of horror.
  74. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    We manifest our own destiny; we either create our own brilliant success or our tragic downfall. Regardless of the situation, most of our problems donâ
  75. Feb 6, 2011
    8
    There are just a lot of really good things about this movie, which includes Natalie Portman and the complexity of her acting role, the directing, and the story. Bravo to solid filmmaking!
  76. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    For film, it is extremely rare for me to give a perfect rating: Black Swan is more then worthy of one. The direction was bold, sinister, and beautiful. The acting was astounding, by an actress that will soon become a powerhouse in the cinema world. To miss this movie is to miss film at its finest. Do yourself a favor and see "Black Swan". I dare you to find fault in it.
  77. Mar 6, 2011
    6
    Let's face it: the movie is poor. The only worth mentioning idea is the hallucinating part of Natalie; apart from this, i was very frustrated and nervous watching this movie. I somehow felt it from the beginning that is a poor movie, but i give it a chance. i was disappointed. It is for sure not worth the Oscar. It will be forgotten in time.
  78. Aug 15, 2014
    8
    A dark psychological thriller that orchestrates a unique plot and theme, a great cast from Natalie Portman and a great execution from Darren Aronofsky, for this chilling nightmare.
  79. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    Some may mockingly call it "Repulsion in a Tutu", but the movie works. The acting is top notch, lifting the heavy atmosphere of repression (sexual and otherwise) and body horror above the Grand Guignol theatrics into pure gut-wrenching psycho-terror and pain. Portman (in Machinist-style emaciation) is sublime in her descent into psychosis, Hershey is fabulously creepy as her domineeringSome may mockingly call it "Repulsion in a Tutu", but the movie works. The acting is top notch, lifting the heavy atmosphere of repression (sexual and otherwise) and body horror above the Grand Guignol theatrics into pure gut-wrenching psycho-terror and pain. Portman (in Machinist-style emaciation) is sublime in her descent into psychosis, Hershey is fabulously creepy as her domineering mother, Ryder does wonders with her few minutes on screen and Kunis is a great fiery and free-flowing opposite to the frigidly perfect Swan Queen. Aaronofsky is a bit heavy-handed with symbolism and uses too many of his trademark tracking shots from behind, the script could have been better, but there might be some awards here, especially for Portman and Kunis. Well worth a watch. Expand
  80. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Darren Aronofsky's companion piece to The Wrestler is one of the most elegant, disturbing, striking and unique films in recent memory, pushing the boundaries of what the public is willing to pay for. Sure, the "indie" cinema has been making movies somewhat akin to this for a while, but finally, the viewing public cared. This is not Dogtooth or a Michael Haneke flick, sitting gleefully inDarren Aronofsky's companion piece to The Wrestler is one of the most elegant, disturbing, striking and unique films in recent memory, pushing the boundaries of what the public is willing to pay for. Sure, the "indie" cinema has been making movies somewhat akin to this for a while, but finally, the viewing public cared. This is not Dogtooth or a Michael Haneke flick, sitting gleefully in its inaccessibility. Aronofsky invited the average audience into his dark vision, and created something beautiful and bleak. Expand
  81. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    "Black Swan" runs an intense and gripping course that is provided by the direction of Darren Aronofsky; but the spectacular and spellbinding performance of Natalie Portman is the reason that this film will be remembered long after.
  82. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    I just plain didn't enjoy this movie. I'd give it another chance if I thought I could sit through it again. It's not a ballet thing either... I could enjoy watching anything if I found the story engaging. Vincent Cassel is great at playing douches...there, I found something semi-positive. Did anyone notice that there was a lot of crotch grabbing in this film? That's all positive.
  83. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    A dark, twisted, haunting masterpiece. If Portman doesnt win her first oscar here I will be surprised. Aronofsky is one of the best directors currently in hollywood.
  84. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    The performances were strong, but the story just was not credible. It relied too much on the idea that to be a great artist, one must be at least a little bit mad. Although many artists have fought madness, it's hardly a requirement. Furthermore, much of Nina's madness was hard to accept. Finally, I didn't find any of the characters likable.
  85. May 8, 2011
    8
    While I thought this movie was very good [and intense], I would never watch it again, or own it on DVD. There are only so many manic depressive ballerina movies a person could handle.
  86. Jan 30, 2011
    8
    Aronofsky very much tries to make the case of Black Swan as a companion piece for The Wrestler... yet it isn't. Evidently, bi-dimensional Portman + sexy Kunis + perfect Winona + just a pinch of Cassel - botoxed Hershey = great cast. I was more moved by the Rodarte's costumes that the final punch. Nonetheless, this should be watched as a chapter in Aronofsky's career and most certainlyAronofsky very much tries to make the case of Black Swan as a companion piece for The Wrestler... yet it isn't. Evidently, bi-dimensional Portman + sexy Kunis + perfect Winona + just a pinch of Cassel - botoxed Hershey = great cast. I was more moved by the Rodarte's costumes that the final punch. Nonetheless, this should be watched as a chapter in Aronofsky's career and most certainly Portman's. Can do without the french fiance-dancer. @cinemaquote Expand
  87. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a masterpiece, one of the best movies in the last decade. It's all about the heroin's personality, feelings, reactions and interactions with other characters; which are all just so beautifully portrayed by Natalie Portman, she really deserved that Oscar. The whole movie is centered on Nina and you experience every emotions with her, which is veryI really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a masterpiece, one of the best movies in the last decade. It's all about the heroin's personality, feelings, reactions and interactions with other characters; which are all just so beautifully portrayed by Natalie Portman, she really deserved that Oscar. The whole movie is centered on Nina and you experience every emotions with her, which is very stimulating. Truly a masterpiece. A work of art. I can only hope you get to feel the way I did. Otherwise, well.. you'll end up putting a bad score on it. Expand
  88. Dec 29, 2010
    5
    Lets be honest, in 5 years time people are not going to be looking back saying " wow, remember that movie Black swan? It was amazing!!!" Nope, Once it has finished surfing its current 'hype' wave, it will sit among the 'pretty good' movies of 2010! Ill give credit where its due, Natalie Portman gives so much of herself that you wonder what depths she went too to portray this torturedLets be honest, in 5 years time people are not going to be looking back saying " wow, remember that movie Black swan? It was amazing!!!" Nope, Once it has finished surfing its current 'hype' wave, it will sit among the 'pretty good' movies of 2010! Ill give credit where its due, Natalie Portman gives so much of herself that you wonder what depths she went too to portray this tortured soul...She is absolutely spellbinding. The Director 'Darren Aronofsky' however holds the reigns as best he can, but with such a bleak pallet and morbid tone, his raw technique, digs deeper than it needs and seems lost in its own pretensions. The Final 20 minutes however are breathtaking, with all the forgotten loose ends brought together in a truly operatic finale. To be fair maybe it needs another viewing to fully appreciate its complexities, but the thing is, " I don't want to watch it again"!! Expand
  89. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Visceral, tragic, disturbing, beautiful, inspiring, terrifying, sexy, passionate, and surreal... Black Swan is one of my favorite films. It shook me to my core when I saw it. The ending is absolutely beautiful and had me in tears, and the score is beautiful and creepy. Portman's best film. Inspiring and terrifying on many levels.
  90. Jan 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! Was I trippin on acid? This movie is a mess!!! a weak storyline, and average acting does not a Oscar make!!! I know some of you fan boys loved to hot **** scene but I though it was a little tasteless.....wait....or did it really happen!!! who knows, who cares! I give this movie 2 thumbs down!!! Expand
  91. Mar 11, 2011
    5
    Creepy and disturbing at parts. Every person in this movie is severely screwed up in the head. Only good thing was the making out between Mila and Natalie.
  92. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    This movie is stunning. I just love a movie when, after you leave, you can't stop thinking about it and talking about it. Well made and well acted, a must see.
  93. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    Great film. Natalie delivers one of her best performances to date.
    Not for all the family because of the sexual tension on it.
    It has many levels, if you can see trough it.
  94. Jan 23, 2011
    0
    Really one of the worst movies of 2010. Pointless and dull, movie felt like a soft porno. This movie will only get little virgins excited about the sex scenes. This is not art.
  95. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Again Darren Aronovsky proves he is one fo the few directors trying to push the envelope of cinema. Black Swan is the story about an inner conflict pushed at it's limits, it is not a movie about ballet or the famous Swan Lake. This is a psychological drama, ballet is just a vehicle for that conflict and so ballet fans will probably be disappointed. In fact in the early versions of theAgain Darren Aronovsky proves he is one fo the few directors trying to push the envelope of cinema. Black Swan is the story about an inner conflict pushed at it's limits, it is not a movie about ballet or the famous Swan Lake. This is a psychological drama, ballet is just a vehicle for that conflict and so ballet fans will probably be disappointed. In fact in the early versions of the script the story unfolded in the world of theater. Expand
  96. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    A great theatrical experience. From the very first frame I was submerged in this world and more importantly, inside Natalie Portman's performance which is what really tells the story. She is more telling of her character when she is not talking, I believed her every second she was on screen. I sympathized with her and went through all the dark emotions played out with her. She shouldn'tA great theatrical experience. From the very first frame I was submerged in this world and more importantly, inside Natalie Portman's performance which is what really tells the story. She is more telling of her character when she is not talking, I believed her every second she was on screen. I sympathized with her and went through all the dark emotions played out with her. She shouldn't get all the credit though. Darron Aronofsky does a tremendous job with the camera and the visuals, all subtle and eerie. He has created a great dark fantasy. Expand
  97. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    I finally saw this movie recently. If I were rating this on a scale of ballerina/dance movies, it would get a flawless 10 out of 10 score. I never would have thought that a ballerina/dance movie could be this interesting. A lot of the credit goes to Natalie Portman, who is phenomenal in this movie. All that being said, as a movie, it's just pretty good. It simply wasn't entertainingI finally saw this movie recently. If I were rating this on a scale of ballerina/dance movies, it would get a flawless 10 out of 10 score. I never would have thought that a ballerina/dance movie could be this interesting. A lot of the credit goes to Natalie Portman, who is phenomenal in this movie. All that being said, as a movie, it's just pretty good. It simply wasn't entertaining enough, and there were too many scenes that didn't seem to have much of a point. Worst of all, I didn't feel much of a connection with any of the characters (as good as Portman was). I've heard some people compare this to the Wrestler (which seems pretty fair). The difference between those two though is that Mickey Rourke's character seemed so much more human than Portman's character. It's pretty hard to really like Portman's character in this, considering she's a borderline pyscho. Decent movie, overhyped, probably won't see it again, but don't regret seeing it. Certainly gets points for originality. Expand
  98. Apr 3, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this movie rather more than I had expected to. The first thing I noticed was the novelty of an environment I am utterly ignorant of, a ballet company, rife with all its requisite ambitions and jealousies. Nina's paranoid delusions are completely random, and quite unsettling, giving the feeling that we are just as out of control as she since we cannot tell who or what is real atI enjoyed this movie rather more than I had expected to. The first thing I noticed was the novelty of an environment I am utterly ignorant of, a ballet company, rife with all its requisite ambitions and jealousies. Nina's paranoid delusions are completely random, and quite unsettling, giving the feeling that we are just as out of control as she since we cannot tell who or what is real at any given moment. What I found most intriguing of all was that for Nina to perform her role as black swan, she had to self destruct/let the crazy out that she (and her mother) had so assiduously kept contained. We are left to imagine the epilogue of this story, and I am rather grateful for that, because we the viewer can always write a better movie than some Hollywood hack factory, right? The movie ends just as Swan Lake ends, with a death, and that is rather clever in that "Black Swan" borrows from a master, to give us a subsidiary tale that can only exist in the shadow of that genius, but oh what a shadow! Tchaikovsky opened the door with his Black Swan, Aronofsky, Heyman, and Heinz merely dared to descibe some of the furniture within, with theirs. Expand
  99. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece.
  100. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The movie is disturbing all the way to its closing scene, haunting the viewer with its brilliant cinematography and beautifully choreographed and shot dance scenes. The movie is intoxicating, fast-paced, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is all very good, and Natalie Portman certainly deserves recognition for her fantastic work. A fantastic film.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jan 17, 2011
    80
    An extraordinary, intoxicating movie. Its hard, twisted edges may turn off some, but there's no faulting either Aronofsky's technical mastery or Portman's flawless performance.
  2. Reviewed by: Kristin Hunt
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Just like the final performance by its deeply disturbed heroine, Black Swan is perfect.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    Arriving with a savage grace, director Darren Aronofsky's nightmare-come-to-life Black Swan cements his reputation not only as one of the more daring filmmakers of his generation, but also as an actor's director of the first order.