Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 955 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Black Swan is a psychological thriller set in the world of New York City ballet. Featured dancer, Nina, finds herself locked in a web of competitive intrigue with a new rival at the company. (Fox Searchlight)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kristin Hunt
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Just like the final performance by its deeply disturbed heroine, Black Swan is perfect.
  2. 100
    This is, no doubt about it, a tour de force, a work that fully lives up to its director's ambitions.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    It's all or nothing with Black Swan. Either you embrace its headlong descent into madness brought on by the pressures of artistic perfection, compounded by smothering anxiety, or you reject it. It's that simple.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Both a baroque thriller set in New York's ballet demimonde and a portrait of artistry as schizoid perfectionism, Darren Aronofsky's new film percolates parallel lines of fine madness-but then, doubling down on duality is this movie's raison d'etre.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    Arriving with a savage grace, director Darren Aronofsky's nightmare-come-to-life Black Swan cements his reputation not only as one of the more daring filmmakers of his generation, but also as an actor's director of the first order.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    Some girls fight over men. Ballerinas fight over parts. But the occasional brilliance of Black Swan is that it's a one-way fight. Nina battles herself.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 6, 2010
    30
    Not just any kind of trash, it's high-art trash, a kind of "When Tutu Goes Psycho" that so prizes hysteria over sanity that it's worth your life to tell when its characters are hallucinating and when they're not.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 260
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    With echoes of â
  2. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Imagine being so lost in a movie that you are the person there, the things they face you face and what happens to them happens to you. Such is the life of Nina Sayers, the Swan Queen. We're so immersed in her world that we don't know which way is up, which way is down, and we certainly don't know what's happening to her and which elements of the ballet are in her head. We watch her spiral into darkness, a place where she abandons her old life and the person she was–gives it all up for this role that consumes her and really transforms her into the Black Swan. She wants perfection, she wants to be this person so badly that she turns into that person.

    The relationships that that Nina has with people, and with herself, are so complex and spiral this world even more out of control. Thomas is pretty much a horrible person from the seducing Nina to ending with "my little princess," but he's so vital to why Nina turned out this way and pushed herself so hard. Lily is her friend and truly wishes the best for her, but somehow Nina doesn't see it that way and rather gets caught up in the assumption that everyone is so jealous of her and her role that they would do anything for it, just as she would. At the beginning of the movie we are introduced to Nina at home with her mother and I didn't think anything of it until we would see her mother dressing her, doting on her, everything for a grown woman. Her mother put her entire life into Nina and cannot see her fail.

    Ultimately this movie balanced the line between fantasy and reality brilliantly, in a way I have never seen done so well. Becoming more aware of the truths as the story unfolds adds to the suspense and the realization that Nina is truly fighting herself–just as everyone in the real world has been saying. She doesn't kill Lily. She kills herself in that last desperate attempt at perfection.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularlyThis is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularly unique. Its portrayal of the relationships excellent, its moments of tenderness and want, concern and horror, worthy of almost any director. Over the years, we will see this film grow in stature. Its record twelve Broadcast Film Critics Association nominations are no mistake. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2011
    9
    One of the best movies I have seen in a while. The directing was absolutely spectacular, and the way the main character's transformationOne of the best movies I have seen in a while. The directing was absolutely spectacular, and the way the main character's transformation mirrored the storyline of Swan Lake was excellent. Portman is absolutely deserving of an oscar for her performance. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Black swan is a fantastic and dark film. the acting my Portman is flawless. A daring a film with scary moments at times but never boring. someBlack swan is a fantastic and dark film. the acting my Portman is flawless. A daring a film with scary moments at times but never boring. some might be turned off by the ballet part but trust me this film delivers stuff for everyone to enjoy. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    While I'm a bit appalled by its premise, Black Swan is embracingly intense, indescribably frightening, and seductive, with wonderfulWhile I'm a bit appalled by its premise, Black Swan is embracingly intense, indescribably frightening, and seductive, with wonderful performances by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. Expand
  7. May 29, 2011
    0
    Absolute garbage.Absolute garbage. ........................................................................................................................................................... Expand

See all 260 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we