Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 944 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Black Swan is a psychological thriller set in the world of New York City ballet. Featured dancer, Nina, finds herself locked in a web of competitive intrigue with a new rival at the company. (Fox Searchlight)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kristin Hunt
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Just like the final performance by its deeply disturbed heroine, Black Swan is perfect.
  2. 100
    This is, no doubt about it, a tour de force, a work that fully lives up to its director's ambitions.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    It's all or nothing with Black Swan. Either you embrace its headlong descent into madness brought on by the pressures of artistic perfection, compounded by smothering anxiety, or you reject it. It's that simple.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Both a baroque thriller set in New York's ballet demimonde and a portrait of artistry as schizoid perfectionism, Darren Aronofsky's new film percolates parallel lines of fine madness-but then, doubling down on duality is this movie's raison d'etre.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    Arriving with a savage grace, director Darren Aronofsky's nightmare-come-to-life Black Swan cements his reputation not only as one of the more daring filmmakers of his generation, but also as an actor's director of the first order.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    Some girls fight over men. Ballerinas fight over parts. But the occasional brilliance of Black Swan is that it's a one-way fight. Nina battles herself.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 6, 2010
    30
    Not just any kind of trash, it's high-art trash, a kind of "When Tutu Goes Psycho" that so prizes hysteria over sanity that it's worth your life to tell when its characters are hallucinating and when they're not.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 259
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    It pretty obvious whats going to be the ending, but its beautifully delivered. The actors are beyond expectations. Great production team. TheIt pretty obvious whats going to be the ending, but its beautifully delivered. The actors are beyond expectations. Great production team. The dialogues are poor in a few parts. One of the best movies i have seen. Worth watching. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Amazing visceral acting, cinematography, score, and most importantly, the film deeply immerses you.

    Natalie Portman deserves an oscar
    Amazing visceral acting, cinematography, score, and most importantly, the film deeply immerses you.

    Natalie Portman deserves an oscar nomination for her role.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularlyThis is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularly unique. Its portrayal of the relationships excellent, its moments of tenderness and want, concern and horror, worthy of almost any director. Over the years, we will see this film grow in stature. Its record twelve Broadcast Film Critics Association nominations are no mistake. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2011
    9
    One of the best movies I have seen in a while. The directing was absolutely spectacular, and the way the main character's transformationOne of the best movies I have seen in a while. The directing was absolutely spectacular, and the way the main character's transformation mirrored the storyline of Swan Lake was excellent. Portman is absolutely deserving of an oscar for her performance. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Black swan is a fantastic and dark film. the acting my Portman is flawless. A daring a film with scary moments at times but never boring. someBlack swan is a fantastic and dark film. the acting my Portman is flawless. A daring a film with scary moments at times but never boring. some might be turned off by the ballet part but trust me this film delivers stuff for everyone to enjoy. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/black-swan.html

    I'm sure you know the overall plot for this movie but in case not I'll give a brief
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/black-swan.html

    I'm sure you know the overall plot for this movie but in case not I'll give a brief rundown. A ballerina is chosen to play the parts of the White Swan and then the Black Swan in play put on by her dancing troupe. The problems come when she starts to imagine that the new girl is trying to take her spot. What follows is actually a pretty dark thriller, not what some people were expecting at all I feel.

    First off I'll complement the acting. Natalie Portman deserved the Best Actress award and she rightly won it. To be able to dance like that period but also act is no easy task. The supporting actors and actresses were just as good as well.

    While I loved the idea of the story and believe they did a great job with it and the direction they took, and I loved the acting. I do have some problem with the movie. Mainly the pace that it went at. I mean I know it was a movie about ballerinas but I don't think I was expecting a large, and I mean large, portion of the movie to just be about the dancing and the culture around it. So that made the movie progress really slow for me, which also made the thrilling moments (her acts of craziness) sporadic throughout the movie but that may work for the movie as they were genuinely scary (or at least surprising), so in that way I guess the pace worked for the effect of the movie but not this viewer. I still say you should go see it though, great movie.
    Expand
  7. May 29, 2011
    0
    Absolute garbage.Absolute garbage. ........................................................................................................................................................... Expand

See all 259 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we