User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 206
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    "Blade: Trinity" is so terrible, its a comedy (thanks to Ryan Reynolds).
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blade: Trinity: 1 out of 10: Press reports at the time of Blade: Trinity's release claimed that star Wesley Snipes went off the deep end and tried to kill the director David S. Goyer. Lord knows he could have gotten away with it. Show the jury this movie and let the acquittals fly.

    After two better than we deserved films the third Blade is a mess. For one thing the casting director is insane. The good guys consist of Snipes, Gabby Hayes (Kris Kristofferson), Elektra (Jessica Biel), Van Wilder (Ryan Reynolds), a retarded guy, a blind woman and Newt from Aliens.

    The good guys have a "club" called the Nightstalkers. (What no Darren McGavin). Biel fights with an overtly plugged iPod playing horrible techno. (I would think being able to hear would be important in hand-to-hand combat) Reynolds's character spouts off endless one liners (most of them remarkably lame) and is saddled with the name Hannibal King. (Also needless to say remarkably lame) and fights with a light saber bow. (Please see above).

    Speaking of lame we have the bad guys. We have wrestler triple H (who cannot act), Parker Posey (who cannot speak with the fangs in her mouth) and best of all Dracula (Who calls himself Drake. Thinks he is in a Highlander movie. He is also a pacifist piece of Euro trash that looks like he fell of a Harlequin romance book cover. And is easily the least convincing screen Dracula I have ever scene (I'm including both George Hamilton and Mel Brooks in this equation)).

    The script is awful (even if you remove Reynolds's one-liners), the film was edited in a Cuisinart, the continuity was done by the blind girl, and the plot consists of bad guys finding good guys headquarters, then good guys finding bad guys headquarters.

    If your still not convinced a contribution to Mr. Snipes potential legal defense fund is in order let me remind you. Parker Posey is the head vampire and has a climatic battle with Van Wilder. You can make the check out to cash.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    3
    The characters are not bad-ass, just simply bad: annoying, two-dimensional, cliche. Ryan Reynolds and Parker Posey were atrocious in their roles. Dominic Purcell lacked the charisma of being Dracula. The whole story was uninteresting, and lacked imagination. The action remained, but was overused with too much hand-to-hand combat scenes. Overall bad.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    There seems to be nothing interesting about this second sequel whatsoever. The plot is aimless, the action tends to feel tedious, and the film appears to focus more heavily on its comedy than its action.
  5. MarcoR.
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    Very good movie, lots of great cameras and angles, the chics are hot, I really liked it a lot! I don't recommend it to people who don't like vampire tales, they won't like it, maybe that's why it got such bad reviews.
  6. MarcD.
    Dec 9, 2004
    5
    Oh how this brilliant series has fallen. Besides the fact that Trinity is just too sloppy and unpolished from a visual standpoint, the story lacks any decent sense of direction or purpose. However, the Mortal Kombat style fatality comes from the mere fact that Dracula is just the lamest excuse for a villain in the history of vamp-dom.
  7. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Third part of the series - and in my opinion, the weakest. Not that the movie is bad, really, but it lacks a lot, repeating the earlier two parts and failing to make you laugh. The jokes are just too weak, and done for the sake of doing them.

    The style is relaxed - even too much so. The character of Hannibal King is a complete joke, Abigail Whistler has no real depth, and Blade is a
    Third part of the series - and in my opinion, the weakest. Not that the movie is bad, really, but it lacks a lot, repeating the earlier two parts and failing to make you laugh. The jokes are just too weak, and done for the sake of doing them.

    The style is relaxed - even too much so. The character of Hannibal King is a complete joke, Abigail Whistler has no real depth, and Blade is a shadow of himself. Only one who is given a chance to be something is Drake, but given the general structure of the movie, that really doesn't traslate too well.

    Altogether, the characters are just thrown in, and whenever something is explained, it is done like tutoring an ignorant child; like a lesson.

    There are more than a few slashy remarks, but they seem almost forced and underlined while repeated, losing their effect completely and becoming almost annoying.
    Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2004
    0
    This movie is an utter piece of crap. The acting is horrible except for a few good one-liners from Snipes. The story never develops into anything coherent. The writing is so God-awful. There is even a line about penis envy. I could not believe what I was hearing. How do people get paid to write such crap? HHH, Jesica Biel, Kris Kristofferson and Ryan Reynolds are all so horrible in this. This movie is an utter piece of crap. The acting is horrible except for a few good one-liners from Snipes. The story never develops into anything coherent. The writing is so God-awful. There is even a line about penis envy. I could not believe what I was hearing. How do people get paid to write such crap? HHH, Jesica Biel, Kris Kristofferson and Ryan Reynolds are all so horrible in this. Cool special effects and stunts cannot redeem this amazingly bad final installment (thankfully) of the Blade series. Expand
  9. IshaJoC.
    Dec 10, 2004
    4
    There is about a half hour of solid movie in here somewhere, but since they were shooting for the big screen instead of a spot on prime time NBC, it seems like they had a meeting to figure out what to throw in to take it from 30 minutes, to just under 2 hours. They threw in the most pointless shower scene ever, randomly throw people through glass, and try to find every overused, tired There is about a half hour of solid movie in here somewhere, but since they were shooting for the big screen instead of a spot on prime time NBC, it seems like they had a meeting to figure out what to throw in to take it from 30 minutes, to just under 2 hours. They threw in the most pointless shower scene ever, randomly throw people through glass, and try to find every overused, tired cliche to take up some more time. The makers of this movie obviously were fans of The Matrix and Resident evil 2 judging from the scene in the warehouse (My friends and I were waiting for Lawrence Fishbourne to come in and pull a battery out of his pocket) and the vampire pomeranian. The only possible saving grace in this movie is Ryan Reynolds and his sarcasm, but there isn't enough to save the film overall. Wait for it to come out on video and con a friend into paying to rent it so you don't feel ripped off. Expand
  10. Sharon
    Dec 8, 2004
    7
    Only worthwhile for Ryan Reynolds. Give this guy some more action films now! He almost saves the film, but not quite. Wesley seems tired, the dialogue is awful and the plot is a mess. Dracula has never been less scary. And what's with all the iPod product placement? Dumb.
  11. MelissaMe
    Dec 11, 2004
    7
    Blade fans will be pleased well enough, but it could have been better. Thank you for a great character, Mr. Snipes.
  12. DonC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    2
    This was the worst movie i've seen since batman and robin. Goyer as a first time director should not have taken such blatant liberties with a successful franchies. I was so upset with this film i felt i had been robbed of $10. It's "blade" not the "hannibal and abigail show". Infantile dialogue, inconsistent plot, stupid shower scenes, choppy editing and who's idea was it This was the worst movie i've seen since batman and robin. Goyer as a first time director should not have taken such blatant liberties with a successful franchies. I was so upset with this film i felt i had been robbed of $10. It's "blade" not the "hannibal and abigail show". Infantile dialogue, inconsistent plot, stupid shower scenes, choppy editing and who's idea was it to make dracula look like eurotrash? I'm hoping it's just a bad dream and i'll wake up soon. Expand
  13. EstebanC.
    Jan 21, 2005
    3
    The plot is ridiculous, the actors are incredibly bad and the dialogues are disatrous. snipes seems not to be very keen of playing his role again, reynolds is just a big joke and dracula looks like backstreet junkie. not even the effects and action scenes are well done. almost seems like they let a sadistic teenager direct this movie - this is not blade anymore!
  14. TysonB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    6
    Went from Great (Blade) to good (Blade II) to "I've been Goyerized". Goyer = Great writer, bad director. Movie seemed fake, forced situations and the unlikely scenarios that happened in all Blade movies were boarding on impossible to buy into for this movie. Dang. I love Blade, my favorite triology for some reason, but this makes me very uneasy about the 4th one (hopefully there is Went from Great (Blade) to good (Blade II) to "I've been Goyerized". Goyer = Great writer, bad director. Movie seemed fake, forced situations and the unlikely scenarios that happened in all Blade movies were boarding on impossible to buy into for this movie. Dang. I love Blade, my favorite triology for some reason, but this makes me very uneasy about the 4th one (hopefully there is one). Goyer, Please go back to writing. You are brilliant writer, let somone else direct. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2005
    3
    I'm a B-I-G Blade fan, but this movie just sucked. Where was del Toro when you needed him?? ;-)
  16. JoshW
    May 7, 2005
    2
    The 2 is for all the technical hard work people did on this film. I enjoyed the first film a whole lot, the second one was a good diversion too, but this one put me to sleep. Every now and then I want to see a film that isn't meant to be a masterpiece, but this one was pathetic. Sinci plot and writting don't matter in films like this I wont even bother talking about them. Here The 2 is for all the technical hard work people did on this film. I enjoyed the first film a whole lot, the second one was a good diversion too, but this one put me to sleep. Every now and then I want to see a film that isn't meant to be a masterpiece, but this one was pathetic. Sinci plot and writting don't matter in films like this I wont even bother talking about them. Here is the one mistake the film just couldn't het away with making, casting Dracula. That guy looked like some dumb Euro trash dude. This character had to look cool and be able to act cool. Instead we got some muscle bound idiot who reminded me of Right Said Fred. Expand
  17. NameL.
    Dec 10, 2004
    0
    This movie was horrible, it has the humour of a 7 year old donkey! As funny as it sounds, it's true. It sucks the big one! BAHAHAHAHA
  18. AlechladoganJ.
    Dec 10, 2004
    1
    This movie was a disgrace to the Blade legacy. The two gay sidekicks ruined it. And the dude was not funny. Everything raw about Blade was not. It was cooked...not raw but cooked. I mean come on, plz i dont want to see some not idimitading looking hoe that shots a bow and not raw and not being naked. she sucks movie sucked im watching porn.
  19. EdwinH.
    Dec 14, 2004
    3
    I had enjoyed the first two Blade films, and felt confident that this film would atleast be equal. David Goyer had penned the first two Blade films, and now as director for the third, he would now have the opportunity to flex his creative muscles--or so I thought. Sadly, the maxim "two heads are better than one" has never been more appropriate in describing this film. How else to explain I had enjoyed the first two Blade films, and felt confident that this film would atleast be equal. David Goyer had penned the first two Blade films, and now as director for the third, he would now have the opportunity to flex his creative muscles--or so I thought. Sadly, the maxim "two heads are better than one" has never been more appropriate in describing this film. How else to explain the remarkable self-indulgence of Goyer, who presumably had to reign in his more "creative" ideas for the previous Blade films? For instance, this movie is rich in unrelated action sequences, intersperced crudely throughout the film without advancing the plot. The jokes mainly consist of hackneyed sexual innuendoes. The action sequences are filmed in a shaky, akward manner: you can never tell what's going on. Add in the obligatory shower scene, which is thrown in without explanation, and you have all the ingredients for a disaster. Goyer should stick to writing, he clearly hasn't a clue how to direct. Expand
  20. RichiekillaG.
    Dec 28, 2004
    6
    This is a good movie. In fact this movie is very watchable, but it has its flaws. People dont want to see Jessica Biel and that other guy. People want to see BLADE. I was just salivating when I see how blade looked in his cool outfits (and I dont mean that in a gay way). He was all decked out and ready to fight, but we didnt see alot of him. Therefore I think the direction was wrong, This is a good movie. In fact this movie is very watchable, but it has its flaws. People dont want to see Jessica Biel and that other guy. People want to see BLADE. I was just salivating when I see how blade looked in his cool outfits (and I dont mean that in a gay way). He was all decked out and ready to fight, but we didnt see alot of him. Therefore I think the direction was wrong, Goyer must be blamed for this. The boss vampire at the end wasnt very scary either. Guys, come on -- make him scarier. I really hope these guys continue the Blade franchise, hopefully this one is just a hiccup. Expand
  21. OliverB.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Excellent the best of the trilogy.
  22. Larry
    Dec 6, 2004
    0
    Doesn't Wesley Snipes have anything better to do? This is his third time around doing this crapola. Avoid.
  23. ThomY.
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    If you don't like these kind of movies, why the heck would you go see it? You know what you're getting, it's on the poster, you know the one with Wesley Snipes in sunglasses at night with tatoos on his neck and head: a movie that is the second sequel to a movie about vampire hunting. What are these people expecting? It's better than the other two and the action and sfx If you don't like these kind of movies, why the heck would you go see it? You know what you're getting, it's on the poster, you know the one with Wesley Snipes in sunglasses at night with tatoos on his neck and head: a movie that is the second sequel to a movie about vampire hunting. What are these people expecting? It's better than the other two and the action and sfx are dead on. It's ridiculous, pure escapism. Ignore the reviews, if you're thinking about seeing it, you'll be more than satisfied with these two hours of non-stop senseless violence and gore. Seriously, one of the best action movies I've seen in recent memory, fans will not be disappointed. Expand
  24. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 13, 2005
    3
    This was just a disapointment in every way,the concept of blade against dracula was great but the script sucked,the action sucked the story sucked, worst blade of the trilogy.
  25. evilD
    Nov 21, 2005
    7
    Let's face it: these are not, nor are they intended to be cinematic masterpieces. These are just mindless summer action flicks intended for a few hour's entertainment and then forgotten. With THAT in mind, in my opinion this is one series that actually IMPROVES with each sequel. Really, they're just re-making the same movie over and over, but they distill the plot down to Let's face it: these are not, nor are they intended to be cinematic masterpieces. These are just mindless summer action flicks intended for a few hour's entertainment and then forgotten. With THAT in mind, in my opinion this is one series that actually IMPROVES with each sequel. Really, they're just re-making the same movie over and over, but they distill the plot down to its basics and focus on the action more and more each time. The first movie was, frankly, a shadow of what the series has become. The first movie was just to establish a universe for the other movies to exist in. The second movie jumped right into the action, discarding any attempt at character development in exchange for more violence. And THIS movie is just a further distillation of the formula used in the Blade II. All three films are extremely cheesy, with badly written dialogue and all, but bear in mind we're talking about a flick based on a COMIC BOOK, and not a particularly popular one at that. So considering all of the above, this was a very entertaining movie. I thoroughly enjoyed this hour and a half of pure pulp, because I had ABSOLUTELY NO EXPECTATIONS for it. I learned very early in life that disappointment is ALWAYS preceded by expectation, so I expect nothing from anything, rendering me essentially incapable of disappointment. And so this was a pleasant surprise, if not at all worth a purchase, even from the bargain bin, but a good weekend rental nontheless. Expand
  26. AndyB.
    Jan 23, 2005
    8
    In almost every action movie you have to get over the fact that the hereos are able to take on 10x the amount of opponents and generally come out on top. If you accept that fact for this movie then you will definitely enjoy yourself. The action sequences are great and the movie is surprisingly funny thanks to Ryan Reynolds. Definitely worth going to see in the theatre.
  27. SevG
    Jan 7, 2005
    4
    Very average! Loved B 1 and 2... 3rd is simply garbage and an Apple sales pod.
  28. JillianH.
    Feb 26, 2005
    8
    My god it was good, full of action!
  29. Laura
    Feb 26, 2005
    1
    Rubbish, who wants to watch a load of vampires turn to ash for nearly two hours, not me!!
  30. JulianoA.
    Mar 1, 2005
    3
    A bad sequel for a terrific series. It seems that this time Mr. Snipes tryed to do everything by self and did it badly. Photography is terrible, special effects are laughable, even sound got screwed. Don't waste you time watching this movie. Go back to Blade I or II and enjoy yourself.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Thankfully, Reynolds (bearded, looking a bit like Jason Lee) adds some scrappiness and humor to a series that might otherwise have collapsed under self-parody.
  2. Should reasonably please fans of the genre before assuming its place in the horror section of your local video store.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    Won't linger in the memory long, but gives pretty good action eye-candy while it's going.