Blade

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 399

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    Blade is a bit different from other super hero films. It is one of the earlier movies based on a Marvel character. Although Stan Lee is still involved in the movie as an executive producer. The movie is dark, which we get used to after watching the Dark Knight trilogy. It shows a lot more blood and has more swearing than any Marvel hero movie I've watched so if your not a fan of MarvelBlade is a bit different from other super hero films. It is one of the earlier movies based on a Marvel character. Although Stan Lee is still involved in the movie as an executive producer. The movie is dark, which we get used to after watching the Dark Knight trilogy. It shows a lot more blood and has more swearing than any Marvel hero movie I've watched so if your not a fan of Marvel films you could certainly enjoy Blade. Wesley Snipes is unstoppable in what could be my favorite role that I've seen from him, there is no one else that could've played him better. However I didn't like the villain, I found him a bit weak considering the movie was 2 hours long. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    A steady action-packed movie from the beginning to end. Wesley Snipes as Blade doesn't say much, and is altogether a stereotypical hero. He is irresistable, though; he can do the same things as a bunch of other action actors, and still come out of it looking cool and entertaining. I liked the music; it's fitting. Also the fighting scenes are the entertaning type, having little new toA steady action-packed movie from the beginning to end. Wesley Snipes as Blade doesn't say much, and is altogether a stereotypical hero. He is irresistable, though; he can do the same things as a bunch of other action actors, and still come out of it looking cool and entertaining. I liked the music; it's fitting. Also the fighting scenes are the entertaning type, having little new to offer, but yet far from dull or boring. At times the special effects were really bad, but that is only for a few little moments, which by the end was almost amusing. Good ending and none of the sappy, "necessary" romance anywhere in the film, which I liked. There is a plot, there is action, and the characters come out as their individual selves, with their own little quirks. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    I really love the original Blade. It opened up the door for the Superhero films of the 21st century to be dark, violent as show someone as an anti-hero. It also helps that Stephen Dorf is pretty frickin' hot in this film.
  4. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    The plot itself was to my liking but the movie itself was comparable to Underworld. I prefer Blade over Underworld on both their debuts as a series. I have yet to see the sequels of either though. The costume was much more nicer in Underworld and I enjoyed the Vampire's sophistication in that movie but the action was much more in Blade by Snipes.
  5. Mar 20, 2016
    7
    It's getting closer and closer to the new millennium, and the ever-multiplying vampires are preparing to take over the earth by solidifying their financial holdings, buying lots of urban real estate, and opening trendy vampires-only dance clubs. It's a good thing the humans have Wesley Snipes, a sort of daylight-immune half-breed who possesses vampire strength, speed, and senses,It's getting closer and closer to the new millennium, and the ever-multiplying vampires are preparing to take over the earth by solidifying their financial holdings, buying lots of urban real estate, and opening trendy vampires-only dance clubs. It's a good thing the humans have Wesley Snipes, a sort of daylight-immune half-breed who possesses vampire strength, speed, and senses, handicapped only by his need for a special thirst-for-human-blood-inhibiting serum and an apparent absence of human facial or vocal expression. A very, very fit Snipes does an exceptionally athletic job of shooting, chopping, burning, and capoeira-ing dozens of vampires in time with a thundering electronic soundtrack while hunting Stephen Dorff, a lowly working-class vampire who wants to move up in the world by summoning the Blood God to subjugate humanity once and for all. Helping Snipes stop this vampocalypse are handyman Kris Kristofferson and hematologist N'bushe Wright. Sure, the story is pretty standard, and the dialogue is laughable or worse. But creative cinematography and non-stop, decently choreographed gratuitous violence make watching this comic-book movie—Blade is a minor, almost-forgotten Marvel comic—entertaining. In fact, it's arguably the best comic-book movie of the year. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Wesley Snipes was definitely the best option for this character which he gives the right personality to, Chris Christofferson it's also a good addition to the movie. The plot could have been better but it's a very entertaining movie and for those familiarized with the comic book are also going to enjoy it.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    A very entertaining movie with a very good soundtrack, this film is awesome.
  8. Jan 23, 2015
    7
    Good movie if you are in the mood for destruction and violence against bad guys. The story itself is straight forward and revolves around a vampire killing vampire. You can probably guess most of the plot just based on that one sentence but the good thing about this movie is you dont have to put up with a lot of mind endless numbingly bad dialog, horrible over acting and unnecessaryGood movie if you are in the mood for destruction and violence against bad guys. The story itself is straight forward and revolves around a vampire killing vampire. You can probably guess most of the plot just based on that one sentence but the good thing about this movie is you dont have to put up with a lot of mind endless numbingly bad dialog, horrible over acting and unnecessary scenes. It gets to the point by telling you about the character and plot and then executing without delay. I can point to a lot of action flicks that took themselves too seriously and ended up being embarrassing to watch (Transformers is a good example of bad action movies). A good flick, good enough to be remembered after more than a decade. Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    This movie gets you from the opening club scene of vampire action. Yet another comic I hadnâ
  10. May 17, 2015
    10
    Blade is one of the coolest looking comic book action movies. Wesley Snipes is perfectly cast in the movie and the action is astounding. The movie has a dark atmosphere that suits it because it is a vampire movie.
    Blade is enormous fun and the movie doesn't have a dull moment or one unimpressive action scene.
    One of my favourite comic book movies that I will never tire of.
  11. Jul 18, 2015
    8
    When I heard that they made a movie about blade, a jazz musician turned vampire hunter that uses butter knifes, I groaned, but when I saw the movie I though it was one of the best movies ever. From beginning to end this movie is full of action and blood as we see the mighty day walker take on hordes of vampires. This all leads up to a sword fight with the famed blood god. In conclusion ifWhen I heard that they made a movie about blade, a jazz musician turned vampire hunter that uses butter knifes, I groaned, but when I saw the movie I though it was one of the best movies ever. From beginning to end this movie is full of action and blood as we see the mighty day walker take on hordes of vampires. This all leads up to a sword fight with the famed blood god. In conclusion if you want a movie that is just a giant blood bath watch this film. Expand
  12. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    blade don't pay no taxes.
    blade don't pay no taxes.
    blade don't pay no taxes.
    blade don't pay no taxes.
    blade don't pay no taxes.

    blade don't pay no taxes.
  13. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Blade is a film that has aged extremely well. This especially goes for some of the special effects, the action sequences and fight choreography. Moreover, this film not only served as an obvious influence to the Underworld film series, but appears to have set the tone for the more severe atmosphere in the films of the ongoing DC comics revival (Batman series, Man of Steel). This is theBlade is a film that has aged extremely well. This especially goes for some of the special effects, the action sequences and fight choreography. Moreover, this film not only served as an obvious influence to the Underworld film series, but appears to have set the tone for the more severe atmosphere in the films of the ongoing DC comics revival (Batman series, Man of Steel). This is the type of film that compels me to overlook the cheese and plot holes and enjoys the show. Expand
  14. JustinJ.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    COOOOOOOOOOOLLLLL.
  15. TysonB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    The start of something great.
  16. PeterH.
    May 27, 2005
    9
    An ecxellent action film with lots of style and shine.
  17. Gilbert
    Nov 19, 2002
    8
    Wesley's Snipes haven't made enough good movies. He's stuck, it seems, in Conference--league-Actioneer-hell (also known as "Sky Moviemax"). Still, here's a good 'un. Sequel's not bad, either, which is quite startling.
  18. ShyamS.
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    Best movie ever made. Snipes: best actor ever to grace our screens.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Big as it is, Blade' is meticulous and subtle, not just in its camera technique but in the way it works its themes and creates a mood.
  2. 30
    Adapted from the Marvel Comics series, this movie lacks the mournfulness that sustains a good horror strip; it's trashy, but too deafening and invasive to have the appeal of good pulp.
  3. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    38
    Often ridiculous, mostly poorly written and, surprisingly poorly acted too. No matter how many flashy scenes the filmmakers shoot, the bad lines just keep dripping down. [21 Aug 1998]