Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 30, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
108
Mixed:
45
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Thanks to its two hysterical leading actors, "Blades Of Glory" actually proves to be a solidly mirthful comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 16, 2011
"Blades of Glory" is a suprisingly well crafted comedy full of fun and joy. It limits its use of sex jokes as well as using Will Ferell's performance wisely. A enjoyable movie :)!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
Pretty damn funny. It was just a nice comedy that had something different to offer than the usual crap that is being rehashed by some many other comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
Blades of Glory may be my favorite Will Ferrell movie to date. This is when Ferrell did several sports comedies (one being Talladega NIghts and the other was Semi Pro) and I thought this one was by far the best. He and Jon Heder worked veryBlades of Glory may be my favorite Will Ferrell movie to date. This is when Ferrell did several sports comedies (one being Talladega NIghts and the other was Semi Pro) and I thought this one was by far the best. He and Jon Heder worked very well together but Jon Heder hasn't really done anything notable since. This is a film I was always hoping to see a sequel for although there looks like there may never be one. I also love Amy Poehler and Will Arnett as the bad guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
Its probably as good as a skating movie is gonna get. Well, I guess its not all about skating.Will Ferrell and that blondie from Napoleon Dynamite do extremely well here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 9, 2013
Despite it’s excellent supporting cast Blades of Glory is certainly not Will Ferrell’s funniest film, Anchorman still arguably holds that honour, but fans of his comedy style will still find there are sufficient laughs to be had throughoutDespite it’s excellent supporting cast Blades of Glory is certainly not Will Ferrell’s funniest film, Anchorman still arguably holds that honour, but fans of his comedy style will still find there are sufficient laughs to be had throughout its one and a half hour running time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineAug 21, 2013
A really decent comedy movie. It has a good balance between normal and toilet humor. Ferrell and Hider duo fits just great. The story has typical comedy cliches when main characters quarrel about something and later excuse each other, butA really decent comedy movie. It has a good balance between normal and toilet humor. Ferrell and Hider duo fits just great. The story has typical comedy cliches when main characters quarrel about something and later excuse each other, but still it's a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
M0vieAddictJul 30, 2013
Ferrell excels in this role: cool, confident and crude. I've seen all of his movies and Blades Of Glory makes the top ten with ease. Heder is innocent as always but excels as the kind and hopeless Jimmy which suits him very well. Props to theFerrell excels in this role: cool, confident and crude. I've seen all of his movies and Blades Of Glory makes the top ten with ease. Heder is innocent as always but excels as the kind and hopeless Jimmy which suits him very well. Props to the strong supporting cast and excellent ice skating moves. Normally a movie like this would fail (but having been put in the hands of such successful actors) it doesn't. The script could have been more witty and the characters more fleshed out but Blades Of Glory is a nice escape from the typical comedy formula Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MediaCriticOct 18, 2011
This movie is a superb comedy, filled with funny moments for people with all different kinds of sense of humor. The storyline is funny itself, and the actors played their part well. Lot's of funny moments that will make you laugh out loud,This movie is a superb comedy, filled with funny moments for people with all different kinds of sense of humor. The storyline is funny itself, and the actors played their part well. Lot's of funny moments that will make you laugh out loud, from the beginning to the end of the movie. Even afterwards you'll still be killing yourself with laughter. A fantastic movie that I recommend to comedy lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AMovieCriticMar 30, 2007
Really, REALLY funny movie. Will Ferrell and Jon Heder are really perfect and they really MAKE this movie. It also helps that the script is really funny and throws jokes at you about every 5 seconds. This is really a funny movie and even Really, REALLY funny movie. Will Ferrell and Jon Heder are really perfect and they really MAKE this movie. It also helps that the script is really funny and throws jokes at you about every 5 seconds. This is really a funny movie and even though (like all Will Ferrell movies) it kinda gets a little tedious in the 2nd half as more plot and less jokes are introduced...it easily makes up for it. While I wouldn't say this one is EXACTLY as memorable as Anchorman, it's definitely a huge step up above Talladega Nights. Definitely recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HollyR.Apr 1, 2007
OMG I haven't laughed so hard since Borat (which I loved!). I love figure skating and I loved this movie!!! It was awesome. I couldn't care less about comparing Will Ferrel to his other movies, but he and the Napoleon actor were OMG I haven't laughed so hard since Borat (which I loved!). I love figure skating and I loved this movie!!! It was awesome. I couldn't care less about comparing Will Ferrel to his other movies, but he and the Napoleon actor were both great in this, period. I can't wait to go see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherW.Apr 15, 2007
The two leads once again demonstrate their ample comedic talents, particularly in the many scenes they share together. This is the kind of film that anticipates its audience by not catering to any high order pretensions. It's packed end The two leads once again demonstrate their ample comedic talents, particularly in the many scenes they share together. This is the kind of film that anticipates its audience by not catering to any high order pretensions. It's packed end to end with good laughs and wonderful fun. If you prefer your comedies grounded in realism, avoid this one. Others eat up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BilB.Apr 7, 2007
As stupid as this movie was, I really found it funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BriceM.Jul 3, 2007
I don't even know where to start, but probably the best movie ever! I am still laughing picturing the special move they put on one another. You know the one where they are hanging upside down. This movie will defy the law of diminishing I don't even know where to start, but probably the best movie ever! I am still laughing picturing the special move they put on one another. You know the one where they are hanging upside down. This movie will defy the law of diminishing return. It will only get better and better with time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickC.Oct 14, 2007
I went into this movie with extremely low expectations, and was surprised to find myself cracking up through the whole thing. Of course it's stupid, of course it's immature. It's one of the silliest damn movies I've seen I went into this movie with extremely low expectations, and was surprised to find myself cracking up through the whole thing. Of course it's stupid, of course it's immature. It's one of the silliest damn movies I've seen in a while, the funniest comedy this year other than Superbad, Knocked Up and Hot Fuzz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbaraOct 30, 2007
I found myself laughing even when I wondered why.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimTApr 10, 2007
First, let me say that I'm probably an exception to the 'normal' demographic for Will Ferrell's brand of humor - 49/F. That said, "Blades of Glory" is flippin' hilarious! I was doubled-over with laughter more than First, let me say that I'm probably an exception to the 'normal' demographic for Will Ferrell's brand of humor - 49/F. That said, "Blades of Glory" is flippin' hilarious! I was doubled-over with laughter more than once and my husband (he's 53) and I were cracking up throughout the entire movie. Some of the best fun in life is stupid fun. We have to grow older, but we don't have to grow up, right?! Keep laughin' kids! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerD.Apr 21, 2007
Honest to goodness, I don't think I've ever laughed so hard in my entire life. Heder and Farrel worked together brilliantly in this film. Absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinS.Apr 3, 2007
I thought it was a pretty funny movie. I can't stand Jon Heder, so thank god Ferrell carries the movie. Will Arnett is a nice up-and-comer. But seriously, how can Frankie say that Anchorman was his worst. Anchorman was easily the best I thought it was a pretty funny movie. I can't stand Jon Heder, so thank god Ferrell carries the movie. Will Arnett is a nice up-and-comer. But seriously, how can Frankie say that Anchorman was his worst. Anchorman was easily the best Ferrell movie to date. Comic gold. Maybe the funniest movie I've ever seen and gets better each time you watch it, kind of like all his movies. ANyway, go see this one. It's a nice little comedy. Very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BR.Apr 3, 2007
One of the funniest, most absurd movies I have ever seen. I'm actually considering seeing it a second time in the theater & will most definitely be buying the DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeApr 8, 2007
I wasn't expecting much from this move, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it witty and full of laughs. Great chemistry between Heder and Ferrell made the film a winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HighTimeJun 1, 2007
John Heder is so unlikely a hero but makes it work everytime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JillHSep 5, 2007
In bleak and cynical times like this, it feels so good to laugh, even if the humor isn't exactly highbrow. The costumes alone are worth the price of the rental. Seeing Will Arendt and Amy Poehler in those horribly awesome hip-hop In bleak and cynical times like this, it feels so good to laugh, even if the humor isn't exactly highbrow. The costumes alone are worth the price of the rental. Seeing Will Arendt and Amy Poehler in those horribly awesome hip-hop outfits.....please! If you can watch the first 10 minutes and not laugh...I feel sad for you. Embrace some silly, it's okay. You can balance it out by reading the New Yorker cover to cover tomorrow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankieMar 31, 2007
I don't know why everyone says not as funny as Anchorman, but funnier than Talledega. I am a big Ferrel fan, but Anchorman was easily his worst. Talladega was a big step up form Anchorman, and Blades is almost on par with Ricky Bobby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChachiS.Mar 31, 2007
Not such a bad flick, I had a smile the whole way through and was really laughing hard a few times. Walking on skates on pavement was hilarious. Not Ferrel's best, but he still produces. And Frankie, there's no such thing as a Will Not such a bad flick, I had a smile the whole way through and was really laughing hard a few times. Walking on skates on pavement was hilarious. Not Ferrel's best, but he still produces. And Frankie, there's no such thing as a Will Ferrel fan who doesn't like Anchorman. Blasphemy. How can that show NOT be funny? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheGuyMar 30, 2007
Funniest film ever! Beat's Anchor Man hands down! I almost threw up twice because I laughed that hard!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattS.Apr 15, 2007
Very very funny but Will Ferrell and Jon Heder still play the same roles in every movie. Jenna Fischer is lookin' good in this one though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarrenK.Apr 18, 2007
It was better than Talladega Nights but as with most Will Ferrell movies, its a half-hour concept stretched too far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrHandApr 2, 2007
This film contains essentially some of the funniest gags ever. Seeing Jon Heder and Will Ferrell dance to "Don't Wanna Miss a Thing" is hilarious, and this film has one of the best decapitations ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Apr 6, 2007
By making Jimmy MacElroy (Jon Heder) virginal instead of gay, "Blades of Glory" saved itself from being mean-spirited and tasteless; after all, anything that incorporates fashion is inherently gay. To put it more succinctly, and I'm By making Jimmy MacElroy (Jon Heder) virginal instead of gay, "Blades of Glory" saved itself from being mean-spirited and tasteless; after all, anything that incorporates fashion is inherently gay. To put it more succinctly, and I'm quoting (paraphrasing), "...it's gay enough," (an on-camera reaction to the pairing of Chazz Michael Michaels and Jimmy). Inspired, perhaps, by an old SNL sketch featuring Christopher Guest and Martin Short as same-sex synchronized swimmers, this decidedly feminine sport gets the send-up it deserves. Look at Chazz: classic overcompensation; no horndog lothario chooses figure skating as his occupation. The truth comes out, I think, in the final scene. "Blades of Glory" has a subtext and it's also laugh-out-loud funny. This is Will Ferrell's best movie since Jon Favreau's "Elf". His ad-libs are all beauts; no duds like, "Help me, Oprah Winfrey! Help me, Tom Cruise!" His reputation as an alleged comic genius is temporarily restored ("Kicking and Screaming" was his nadir). "Blades of Glory" isn't exactly a model of sophistication; this comedy is decidedly and unabashedly low-brow, however, it's limited use of gross-out humor and overall good-naturedness, sets the movie apart from the theater of comic cruelty, or the theater of comic lewdness (pick one), which both personify most comedies aimed at a mainstream audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WaddupGirlAug 30, 2007
Simply hilarious!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G-RadA.Sep 3, 2007
I thought it was absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisH.Apr 16, 2008
First, let me say that I love this site and how it gives us the chance to express ourselves. Back on subject: I can't think of any reason why this movie does not deserve a 10. I mean, it was hilarious (even for the comedy-hating First, let me say that I love this site and how it gives us the chance to express ourselves. Back on subject: I can't think of any reason why this movie does not deserve a 10. I mean, it was hilarious (even for the comedy-hating critics), what more do you want? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JejuanL.Mar 29, 2007
The funniest movie post-Oscars. Hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamB.Apr 21, 2007
Will Ferrell is on a roll. Year after year Will comes out with one side splitting comedy after another. The only chink was "Anchorman", but this definately makes up for it. "Blades of Glory" is easily one of the most ridiculous films I have Will Ferrell is on a roll. Year after year Will comes out with one side splitting comedy after another. The only chink was "Anchorman", but this definately makes up for it. "Blades of Glory" is easily one of the most ridiculous films I have seen in years, possibly ever. It takes a quiet and pure sport and turns it into the NFL. From beginning to end, the ingenious stupidity of it all will roll into place and become the kind of movie that needs to come more: A silly, entertaining comedy with more brains than you would think. It's utterly hilarious and immensely entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshR.Sep 14, 2007
Blades of Glory is constantly funny, but a bit shallow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chuckNov 22, 2007
A good movie. Quite Funny. After Teladega Nights I wasn't sure how much I could expect from Will Farrell, but this was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful