Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a disastrous blind date, single parents Lauren and Jim agree on only one thing: they never want to see each other again. But when they each sign up separately for a fabulous family vacation with their kids, they are all stuck sharing a suite at a luxurious African safari resort for a week.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 22, 2014
    70
    It could have been a bit smarter and a lot shorter, but Blended, the third big-screen pairing for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore (after "The Wedding Singer" and "50 First Dates"), is a fun, often funny, largely enjoyable romp.
  2. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Blended director Frank Coraci, a Happy Madison vet, is too much of a company man to elevate this passion-phobic rom-com beyond something more than an above-average Sandler production.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Each sweet moment is inevitably punctuated by some in-your-face joke that’s at least as stupid as the preceding moments were heartfelt. Blended has other problems, too, including some faulty editing and a typically predictable finale. But there are some genuinely sweet and funny moments, which are more than enough to exceed expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 26, 2014
    38
    What's missing from Blended? Two key ingredients: it doesn't touch the heart and it doesn't tickle the funny bone (at least not often enough).
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Labrecque
    May 22, 2014
    33
    In Blended, his (Sandler) comic flab has never felt as thick, and this hackneyed "family-friendly" entertainment feels less like a movie than a bad sit-com re-run.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    May 23, 2014
    25
    He plays it so low-key there's nothing much for him to do, apart from the clueless-dad shtick and some awkward comedy with an ostrich. The big laughs never come.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    0
    Most of Blended has the look and pacing of a three-camera sitcom filmed by a bunch of eighth graders and conceived by their less bright classmates. Shots don’t match. Jokes misfire. Gags that are visible from a mile away fail to deliver.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Awesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'mAwesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'm glad me and my family went to see the move. We loved it! Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    This movie was great. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore were hilarious together. Several times during the movie I actually had tears streamingThis movie was great. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore were hilarious together. Several times during the movie I actually had tears streaming down my face from laughing so hard. There were also some touching moments between the characters. Overall, I really enjoyed the film and would recommend it to anyone looking for a laugh. Expand
  3. May 25, 2014
    8
    If you are an fan of Adam Sandler's and Drew Barrymore's collaborations in the past than Blended won't disappoint.

    Blended is about two
    If you are an fan of Adam Sandler's and Drew Barrymore's collaborations in the past than Blended won't disappoint.

    Blended is about two single parents who had a not so impressive first blind date, and afterwords started to hate one another. After some forced plot issues that seam a little too farfetched to actually happen Sandler and Berrymore end up going on a vacation together with there children and are forced to spend there trip together. Once you get over the unbelievable setup and the movie starts focusing on the families interacting with one another this movie becomes a real joy to watch. Many reviewers criticize this movie for having some sappy 50's stile family values attached to the plot, any I would haft to agree, but I do in a positive way. If anything i found if they were to town down the adult humor of the film they could of got a more families to see this film, though I do find that with a lot of Sandler's films. There are scenes that are overly silly and over the top at times, but this film is meant to be a comedy.

    This film was made to be a fun filled and emotional story where people and sit back and have fun. I think a lot of people with todays critical eye cant see that anymore. I say just sit back and enjoy the film for what it is. I think you'll especially get a kick out of it if your the one who misses that days of family sitcoms.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2014
    5
    Adam Sandler & Drew Barrymore (who looks frumpy throughout) play single parents who have a disastrous first date. Of course, their animosityAdam Sandler & Drew Barrymore (who looks frumpy throughout) play single parents who have a disastrous first date. Of course, their animosity gradually changes as they spend a week with their 5 kids in South Africa (a knockout location called The Palace of the Lost City). I'm not a fan of Sandler's sophomoric, goofy humor, but there's plenty here for his fans and young audiences (who often share that taste). It's energetic and high-spirited, just painfully predictable, low-brow and broad. Collapse
  5. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    An incredible waste of time and talent, the only thing Blended benefits from is Terry Crews mildly funny performance, but even that fils toAn incredible waste of time and talent, the only thing Blended benefits from is Terry Crews mildly funny performance, but even that fils to conjure more than a few chuckles. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2014
    4
    Blended for the most part doesn't feel like other Sandler films. It has very little comedy and lots of drama, which is not particularly strongBlended for the most part doesn't feel like other Sandler films. It has very little comedy and lots of drama, which is not particularly strong in his films. Except for a few lines, Blended is mostly a miss with lots of empty emotion. Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    I loved earlier comedies by this duo but this looks like they were here just for the paycheck. Also, based on the screenplay, the writersI loved earlier comedies by this duo but this looks like they were here just for the paycheck. Also, based on the screenplay, the writers must have been working on a tight deadline for their high-school drama class. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers