Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a disastrous blind date, single parents Lauren and Jim agree on only one thing: they never want to see each other again. But when they each sign up separately for a fabulous family vacation with their kids, they are all stuck sharing a suite at a luxurious African safari resort for a week.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 22, 2014
    70
    It could have been a bit smarter and a lot shorter, but Blended, the third big-screen pairing for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore (after "The Wedding Singer" and "50 First Dates"), is a fun, often funny, largely enjoyable romp.
  2. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Blended director Frank Coraci, a Happy Madison vet, is too much of a company man to elevate this passion-phobic rom-com beyond something more than an above-average Sandler production.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Each sweet moment is inevitably punctuated by some in-your-face joke that’s at least as stupid as the preceding moments were heartfelt. Blended has other problems, too, including some faulty editing and a typically predictable finale. But there are some genuinely sweet and funny moments, which are more than enough to exceed expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 26, 2014
    38
    What's missing from Blended? Two key ingredients: it doesn't touch the heart and it doesn't tickle the funny bone (at least not often enough).
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Labrecque
    May 22, 2014
    33
    In Blended, his (Sandler) comic flab has never felt as thick, and this hackneyed "family-friendly" entertainment feels less like a movie than a bad sit-com re-run.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    May 23, 2014
    25
    He plays it so low-key there's nothing much for him to do, apart from the clueless-dad shtick and some awkward comedy with an ostrich. The big laughs never come.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    0
    Most of Blended has the look and pacing of a three-camera sitcom filmed by a bunch of eighth graders and conceived by their less bright classmates. Shots don’t match. Jokes misfire. Gags that are visible from a mile away fail to deliver.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Blended is an awesome movie. I went to see the movie with two adults and a 14 years old. We laughed the whole time. I laughed till I cried. There were so many cool people in this movie that made me laugh. Kevin Nelon, Laura Lumpkis ( form Orange is the new black) Bella Thorn, oh and Terry Crews so funny that he almost stole the entire movie. I never knew he was so funny. This movie is for people that have kids or were ever art of a Blended family like step kids , stepmoms. half siblings and the like. It really gets to the heart of family in a real and authentic way. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Blended is generally a terrible film, mostly due to the lacklustre performance of comedy stars Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore, however, Terry Crews is in this film and once again manages to lift it from a score of 0 to a score of 10 for me. Terry Crews shows that he is able to act in a wig, as well as in his home country, Africa. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Awesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'm glad me and my family went to see the move. We loved it! Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Most of these movies seen like an excuse for Adam Sandler and his friends to go on vacation, and they film a movie and hope to make some money from it to finance it. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    Most folks tend to find a hard line between comedy and slapstick. Hardly ever is there a movie that can balance the two, and succeed. There is, however, one man that goes to no bounds to try and captivate his audience, well...captivate is a strong word, in fact, I now regret using the word “captivate”.
    Regardless, the comedian i’m summing up is the talented and (sometimes) funny, Adam Sandler. The latest comedy, shockinlingy doesn't come from long time directing partner, Dennis Dugan. Instead, “Zookeeper” director Frank Coreci is taking the helm on the comedy “Blended”. “Blended” marks the third on screen appearance of the “dream team” and this time by “dream team” I mean Drew Barrymore and Sandler. Their last two films together “The Wedding Singer” and “50 First Dates” are timeless, and to this day I still value and appreciate those films. Partially because the chemistry between Barrymore and Sandler was so real. This time around in “Blended” while yes the chemistry is still there, after three films I have to admit, the on screen “magic” does fade away, and much like EVERY film of it’s genre before it, “Blended” falls into a slew of dumbfounded gags, that will satisfy a toddler. Oddly enough the film does have more sentimentality then you would think, and there is a decent comedic performance put forth by our two charming leads.

    Jim Friedman (Sandler) is a widower with three daughters, and Lauren Reynolds is a divorcee with two sons. The two are set up on a blind date then goes horribly wrong. One thing leads to another and well.. look we are in Africa. The audience never needs to understand how or why the two families end up in the same place, because..well that’s the story.

    At it’s best “Blended” reminded me of the days when Sandler would make genuine and quality films. Releasing garbage like “Jack and Jill” and “That’s My Boy” also in comparison, “Grown Ups 2” each of these films had benefits of their own doubt, but undoubtedly they all lacked that classic Sandler effect..that was..well… funny. Barrymore has not really made a film in quite some time, and I thought the on-screen romance was a bit too cliche for my taste, but believable enough to the point where I could surcomb to the flaws. The film has a somewhat family friendly rating, I don’t necessarily know If I would let my children watch some of the jokes in this film, which at times are extremely offensive, and the jokes leave no one unscathed. The African characters all fall into vicious stereotypes. However, I couldn't help myself but laugh at the timing of Terry Crews, and his signing capella group that showed up at all the awkward moments in the film.

    Besides, I never believed for one second this film was actually shot in Africa, because other than a few shots of Giraffes and Zebra’s thrown in. This was the worst set up of any “Africa” set I had seen. In the end, if speaking honestly, “Blended” is harmless and heartfelt. Well it maybe a little too crude and vulgar for younger children. Some families could find “Blended” to be a viable option for moviegoing. I would suggest to tread lightly. It’s nowhere near the levels of “Wedding Singer” and “50 First Dates”. But, if we’re talking comparisons it’s a much better Sandler outing in the last couple years. The film of course is extremely predictable, and goes in the exact direction most people would suspect. So never I was surprised. In addition some of the gags we’re just plain childish and I’m not going to conjure my time and effort explaining them to you. When it comes to the movie “Blended” use your best judgment, and decide just how much you like Adam Sandler.

    C

    By: Nate Adams

    Directed By: Frank Coreci
    Rated: PG13
    Run-Time: 111 mins
    Release Date: May 23rd 2014
    Studio: Warner Bros Pictures

    Thanks For Stopping By.
    Expand
  6. May 23, 2014
    5
    Adam Sandler & Drew Barrymore (who looks frumpy throughout) play single parents who have a disastrous first date. Of course, their animosity gradually changes as they spend a week with their 5 kids in South Africa (a knockout location called The Palace of the Lost City). I'm not a fan of Sandler's sophomoric, goofy humor, but there's plenty here for his fans and young audiences (who often share that taste). It's energetic and high-spirited, just painfully predictable, low-brow and broad. Collapse
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    I loved earlier comedies by this duo but this looks like they were here just for the paycheck. Also, based on the screenplay, the writers must have been working on a tight deadline for their high-school drama class. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers