Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a disastrous blind date, single parents Lauren and Jim agree on only one thing: they never want to see each other again. But when they each sign up separately for a fabulous family vacation with their kids, they are all stuck sharing a suite at a luxurious African safari resort for a week.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 22, 2014
    70
    It could have been a bit smarter and a lot shorter, but Blended, the third big-screen pairing for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore (after "The Wedding Singer" and "50 First Dates"), is a fun, often funny, largely enjoyable romp.
  2. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Blended director Frank Coraci, a Happy Madison vet, is too much of a company man to elevate this passion-phobic rom-com beyond something more than an above-average Sandler production.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Each sweet moment is inevitably punctuated by some in-your-face joke that’s at least as stupid as the preceding moments were heartfelt. Blended has other problems, too, including some faulty editing and a typically predictable finale. But there are some genuinely sweet and funny moments, which are more than enough to exceed expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 26, 2014
    38
    What's missing from Blended? Two key ingredients: it doesn't touch the heart and it doesn't tickle the funny bone (at least not often enough).
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Labrecque
    May 22, 2014
    33
    In Blended, his (Sandler) comic flab has never felt as thick, and this hackneyed "family-friendly" entertainment feels less like a movie than a bad sit-com re-run.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    May 23, 2014
    25
    He plays it so low-key there's nothing much for him to do, apart from the clueless-dad shtick and some awkward comedy with an ostrich. The big laughs never come.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    0
    Most of Blended has the look and pacing of a three-camera sitcom filmed by a bunch of eighth graders and conceived by their less bright classmates. Shots don’t match. Jokes misfire. Gags that are visible from a mile away fail to deliver.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Awesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'mAwesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'm glad me and my family went to see the move. We loved it! Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    This movie was great. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore were hilarious together. Several times during the movie I actually had tears streamingThis movie was great. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore were hilarious together. Several times during the movie I actually had tears streaming down my face from laughing so hard. There were also some touching moments between the characters. Overall, I really enjoyed the film and would recommend it to anyone looking for a laugh. Expand
  3. May 25, 2014
    8
    If you are an fan of Adam Sandler's and Drew Barrymore's collaborations in the past than Blended won't disappoint.

    Blended is about two
    If you are an fan of Adam Sandler's and Drew Barrymore's collaborations in the past than Blended won't disappoint.

    Blended is about two single parents who had a not so impressive first blind date, and afterwords started to hate one another. After some forced plot issues that seam a little too farfetched to actually happen Sandler and Berrymore end up going on a vacation together with there children and are forced to spend there trip together. Once you get over the unbelievable setup and the movie starts focusing on the families interacting with one another this movie becomes a real joy to watch. Many reviewers criticize this movie for having some sappy 50's stile family values attached to the plot, any I would haft to agree, but I do in a positive way. If anything i found if they were to town down the adult humor of the film they could of got a more families to see this film, though I do find that with a lot of Sandler's films. There are scenes that are overly silly and over the top at times, but this film is meant to be a comedy.

    This film was made to be a fun filled and emotional story where people and sit back and have fun. I think a lot of people with todays critical eye cant see that anymore. I say just sit back and enjoy the film for what it is. I think you'll especially get a kick out of it if your the one who misses that days of family sitcoms.
    Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    Most folks tend to find a hard line between comedy and slapstick. Hardly ever is there a movie that can balance the two, and succeed. ThereMost folks tend to find a hard line between comedy and slapstick. Hardly ever is there a movie that can balance the two, and succeed. There is, however, one man that goes to no bounds to try and captivate his audience, well...captivate is a strong word, in fact, I now regret using the word “captivate”.
    Regardless, the comedian i’m summing up is the talented and (sometimes) funny, Adam Sandler. The latest comedy, shockinlingy doesn't come from long time directing partner, Dennis Dugan. Instead, “Zookeeper” director Frank Coreci is taking the helm on the comedy “Blended”. “Blended” marks the third on screen appearance of the “dream team” and this time by “dream team” I mean Drew Barrymore and Sandler. Their last two films together “The Wedding Singer” and “50 First Dates” are timeless, and to this day I still value and appreciate those films. Partially because the chemistry between Barrymore and Sandler was so real. This time around in “Blended” while yes the chemistry is still there, after three films I have to admit, the on screen “magic” does fade away, and much like EVERY film of it’s genre before it, “Blended” falls into a slew of dumbfounded gags, that will satisfy a toddler. Oddly enough the film does have more sentimentality then you would think, and there is a decent comedic performance put forth by our two charming leads.

    Jim Friedman (Sandler) is a widower with three daughters, and Lauren Reynolds is a divorcee with two sons. The two are set up on a blind date then goes horribly wrong. One thing leads to another and well.. look we are in Africa. The audience never needs to understand how or why the two families end up in the same place, because..well that’s the story.

    At it’s best “Blended” reminded me of the days when Sandler would make genuine and quality films. Releasing garbage like “Jack and Jill” and “That’s My Boy” also in comparison, “Grown Ups 2” each of these films had benefits of their own doubt, but undoubtedly they all lacked that classic Sandler effect..that was..well… funny. Barrymore has not really made a film in quite some time, and I thought the on-screen romance was a bit too cliche for my taste, but believable enough to the point where I could surcomb to the flaws. The film has a somewhat family friendly rating, I don’t necessarily know If I would let my children watch some of the jokes in this film, which at times are extremely offensive, and the jokes leave no one unscathed. The African characters all fall into vicious stereotypes. However, I couldn't help myself but laugh at the timing of Terry Crews, and his signing capella group that showed up at all the awkward moments in the film.

    Besides, I never believed for one second this film was actually shot in Africa, because other than a few shots of Giraffes and Zebra’s thrown in. This was the worst set up of any “Africa” set I had seen. In the end, if speaking honestly, “Blended” is harmless and heartfelt. Well it maybe a little too crude and vulgar for younger children. Some families could find “Blended” to be a viable option for moviegoing. I would suggest to tread lightly. It’s nowhere near the levels of “Wedding Singer” and “50 First Dates”. But, if we’re talking comparisons it’s a much better Sandler outing in the last couple years. The film of course is extremely predictable, and goes in the exact direction most people would suspect. So never I was surprised. In addition some of the gags we’re just plain childish and I’m not going to conjure my time and effort explaining them to you. When it comes to the movie “Blended” use your best judgment, and decide just how much you like Adam Sandler.

    C

    By: Nate Adams

    Directed By: Frank Coreci
    Rated: PG13
    Run-Time: 111 mins
    Release Date: May 23rd 2014
    Studio: Warner Bros Pictures

    Thanks For Stopping By.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    4
    It is Adam Sandler...so...yeah...what more can I say?...Well, actually it wasn't that bad as in I want to kill myself! or what I am doing thisIt is Adam Sandler...so...yeah...what more can I say?...Well, actually it wasn't that bad as in I want to kill myself! or what I am doing this to myself!!? (My reactions to Grown ups 1 & 2, Jack and Jill, etc). I would watch this movie in a flight if there is nothing else to watch, or in a lazy lazy Sunday when is free on cable. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2014
    3
    Blended may not be best Sandler - Barrymore film, but it's still a good enough for most of people out there to enj... Oh, who am I kidding?Blended may not be best Sandler - Barrymore film, but it's still a good enough for most of people out there to enj... Oh, who am I kidding? Blended is one of the most terrible experiences in 2014. Plot twist, plot twist and plot twist with shallow joke will make you wish you read this review before seeing the movie. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2015
    0
    Another dud from Hollywood's most overpaid performer. Unfunny, unimaginative and generally another reason why Sandler has moved to Netflix. AtAnother dud from Hollywood's most overpaid performer. Unfunny, unimaginative and generally another reason why Sandler has moved to Netflix. At some point, the studios need to start employing writers with talent, rather than the inhouse stooges that should return their pay, along with Mr Sandler. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers