Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a disastrous blind date, single parents Lauren and Jim agree on only one thing: they never want to see each other again. But when they each sign up separately for a fabulous family vacation with their kids, they are all stuck sharing a suite at a luxurious African safari resort for a week.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 22, 2014
    70
    It could have been a bit smarter and a lot shorter, but Blended, the third big-screen pairing for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore (after "The Wedding Singer" and "50 First Dates"), is a fun, often funny, largely enjoyable romp.
  2. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Blended director Frank Coraci, a Happy Madison vet, is too much of a company man to elevate this passion-phobic rom-com beyond something more than an above-average Sandler production.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 22, 2014
    50
    Each sweet moment is inevitably punctuated by some in-your-face joke that’s at least as stupid as the preceding moments were heartfelt. Blended has other problems, too, including some faulty editing and a typically predictable finale. But there are some genuinely sweet and funny moments, which are more than enough to exceed expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 26, 2014
    38
    What's missing from Blended? Two key ingredients: it doesn't touch the heart and it doesn't tickle the funny bone (at least not often enough).
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Labrecque
    May 22, 2014
    33
    In Blended, his (Sandler) comic flab has never felt as thick, and this hackneyed "family-friendly" entertainment feels less like a movie than a bad sit-com re-run.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    May 23, 2014
    25
    He plays it so low-key there's nothing much for him to do, apart from the clueless-dad shtick and some awkward comedy with an ostrich. The big laughs never come.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    0
    Most of Blended has the look and pacing of a three-camera sitcom filmed by a bunch of eighth graders and conceived by their less bright classmates. Shots don’t match. Jokes misfire. Gags that are visible from a mile away fail to deliver.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Awesome movie. It was very funny and had a few sad moments. It was better that I expected after reading some of the negative reviews. I'm glad me and my family went to see the move. We loved it! Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    This movie was great. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore were hilarious together. Several times during the movie I actually had tears streaming down my face from laughing so hard. There were also some touching moments between the characters. Overall, I really enjoyed the film and would recommend it to anyone looking for a laugh. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    I laughed out loud quite a few times during this film. That is starting to become a rare occasion with some of the crap put out these days. Overall a good movie Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Most of these movies seen like an excuse for Adam Sandler and his friends to go on vacation, and they film a movie and hope to make some money from it to finance it. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2014
    5
    watchable but not as good as the other sandler/barrymore movies. WS and 50FD. wait for video unless you need a film to take the family for wholesome entertainment. it is on the lighter side as far as jokes and romance goes. this one is mostly about the kids and being good parents. Expand
  6. May 23, 2014
    4
    It is Adam Sandler...so...yeah...what more can I say?...Well, actually it wasn't that bad as in I want to kill myself! or what I am doing this to myself!!? (My reactions to Grown ups 1 & 2, Jack and Jill, etc). I would watch this movie in a flight if there is nothing else to watch, or in a lazy lazy Sunday when is free on cable. Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    I loved earlier comedies by this duo but this looks like they were here just for the paycheck. Also, based on the screenplay, the writers must have been working on a tight deadline for their high-school drama class. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers