User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 95
  2. Negative: 30 out of 95
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SaramangoWeeps
    Feb 13, 2009
    2
    The did a great job at ruining one of the best books I've ever read.
  2. EdwardM.
    Jun 13, 2010
    0
    Easily the worst film ever made. The only good bit is where the Spanish guy was singing a Stevie Wonder song "I just called to say I love you". I suppose the rest of the film is laughable as well...The lead female was extremly irritating as having the gift of sight, stood by and allowed herself and friends to starved and be raped when she could have easily overpowered the enemy. The rape Easily the worst film ever made. The only good bit is where the Spanish guy was singing a Stevie Wonder song "I just called to say I love you". I suppose the rest of the film is laughable as well...The lead female was extremly irritating as having the gift of sight, stood by and allowed herself and friends to starved and be raped when she could have easily overpowered the enemy. The rape scenes weren't at all disturbing because the whole film was so illogical, it was hard to feel empathy for any of these characters. Anyone who gave this movie more than a 1 is an idiot and not living in the real world. I have spoken. Expand
  3. Sean
    Oct 16, 2008
    4
    Difficult slog. The descent into moral depravity was too quick, too easy, too unbelievable to be explained by mere blindness. Too many people standing idly by when EVERYTHING about their situation should have demanded more strident action, more intelligent and more organized a response. I felt frustrated and angered by the patheticness of it all--even the incomprehensible inability of the Difficult slog. The descent into moral depravity was too quick, too easy, too unbelievable to be explained by mere blindness. Too many people standing idly by when EVERYTHING about their situation should have demanded more strident action, more intelligent and more organized a response. I felt frustrated and angered by the patheticness of it all--even the incomprehensible inability of the soldiers to respond in a minimally meaningful or conciliatory fashion was pointlessly baffling. This is a movie where the details felt entirely disingenuous and ridiculous, as if every possible Orwellian fault was systematically exposed before being played to the hilt. Somehow, though, the overall setting/plot device somehow managed to remain both plausible and quite strong in its impact. Some solid acting saved this for me... but still nothing stellar. A week later and I didn't think of it once until I was reminded of it on this site. It could have been great had real people been blinded instead of a loose conglomeration of hypothetical constructs. Expand
  4. Carol
    Oct 6, 2008
    0
    One of the absolutely worst movies I've seen. I almost (and should have) walked out. No explanation for anything in a movie which debases everything and everyone.
  5. MichelleS
    Mar 14, 2009
    0
    Anyone who gives this move a decent, let alone good score, is either blind themselves or enjoys long, boring and extremely offensive movies. Lets not forget it lacks logic, reason or explanation. I'm not asking you to spell everything out chapter and verse, but a simple "this is why everyone is going blind" or "this is why ONE person in the entire world is NOT blind". Something! You Anyone who gives this move a decent, let alone good score, is either blind themselves or enjoys long, boring and extremely offensive movies. Lets not forget it lacks logic, reason or explanation. I'm not asking you to spell everything out chapter and verse, but a simple "this is why everyone is going blind" or "this is why ONE person in the entire world is NOT blind". Something! You continue to sit through this movie thinking you will have some answers and instead you just get to be offended over and over again by disturbing scenes filled with unnecessary nudity, filth including people stepping in human poop (in the hallways mind you because apparently if you go blind you no longer understand the concept of a toilet) a mass orgy/rape (not once but TWICE). I could go on and on about how bad this movie is, but in all honesty I can't talk about it anymore, its making me angry. I am GLAD I had a free rental for this movie because I would feel even more sick to my stomach if I had paid anything for this piece of garbage! Expand
  6. DM
    Oct 4, 2008
    2
    Please do not let reviews trick you into thinking this would be a good evening's entertainment. "Blindness" is painful to watch, fails to set its 'different world' city, has serious script continuity problems and seems to last five hours. While the big concept is extremely simplistic, the details and story are stuffed with too much. A shame, because the actors are quality. Please do not let reviews trick you into thinking this would be a good evening's entertainment. "Blindness" is painful to watch, fails to set its 'different world' city, has serious script continuity problems and seems to last five hours. While the big concept is extremely simplistic, the details and story are stuffed with too much. A shame, because the actors are quality. Don't bother. Expand
  7. MatthewP.
    Oct 4, 2008
    1
    Only a movie attempting to be profound can be this bad. If you don't find yourself laughing uncontrollably about the silly, over-the-top nudity, the extreme, dogs-eating-dead-humans scenes, and a city's worth of people stumbling over themselves, then you probably take yourself as seriously as this director does. Futuristic and/or post-apocalyptic movies have a tendency to be Only a movie attempting to be profound can be this bad. If you don't find yourself laughing uncontrollably about the silly, over-the-top nudity, the extreme, dogs-eating-dead-humans scenes, and a city's worth of people stumbling over themselves, then you probably take yourself as seriously as this director does. Futuristic and/or post-apocalyptic movies have a tendency to be ridiculously awful and this one does nothing to thwart that history. The last time I saw a movie this bad was the banal Code 46. Expand
  8. AidanW
    Oct 7, 2008
    1
    This movie was garbage. From the terrible dialogue to lame 'drama' it failed all over. The characters were not gripping. The story was poorly transcribed to the screen. The blind protested this for the wrong reason, not because it's offensive to the blind, but because it's offensive anyone who paid money to see this.
  9. CarlA
    Aug 31, 2009
    0
    Everything you read in the "bad reviews" is true and cant be said better. Everything in the "good reviews" you can tell is not how people talk and is artsy praise. Concepts and pretentiousness is not enough to warrant a 1 let alone a 10. This is why people don't listen to critics- because we're smart (IE pirating movies like no tomorrow rather than paying for this crap). This Everything you read in the "bad reviews" is true and cant be said better. Everything in the "good reviews" you can tell is not how people talk and is artsy praise. Concepts and pretentiousness is not enough to warrant a 1 let alone a 10. This is why people don't listen to critics- because we're smart (IE pirating movies like no tomorrow rather than paying for this crap). This movie is an insult to all facets of your humanity especially your intelligence. These characters aren't humans, they're characters written with no common sense. Blindness is without question the worst movie ever along with Chaos. Expand
  10. Kris
    Nov 2, 2008
    0
    It is disturbing to me as a woman to think people could not only make a movie like this, but people could stomach sitting through the ENTIRE movie with all of the degrading scenes. I know I couldn't - I walked out... along with 20 other women. I was so disgusted by the rape scene in this movie that I could cry. I don't understand how this is even ALLOWED at all. I am actually It is disturbing to me as a woman to think people could not only make a movie like this, but people could stomach sitting through the ENTIRE movie with all of the degrading scenes. I know I couldn't - I walked out... along with 20 other women. I was so disgusted by the rape scene in this movie that I could cry. I don't understand how this is even ALLOWED at all. I am actually furious. Warning to women - do NOT see this movie unless you plan on leaving with a pit in your stomach that will not go away for weeks. Expand
  11. justin
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    horrible , screwed up rape scenes made u feel sick to your stomach . and stuff like how the guard were there one day giving them food and the next day the whole world has gone blind was totally inaccurate and other little details the people that gave it a 10 were probably on crack or something maybe that would make the movie better and there were good actors the movie was just so bad that horrible , screwed up rape scenes made u feel sick to your stomach . and stuff like how the guard were there one day giving them food and the next day the whole world has gone blind was totally inaccurate and other little details the people that gave it a 10 were probably on crack or something maybe that would make the movie better and there were good actors the movie was just so bad that you couldn't notice them Expand
  12. PauloS.
    Dec 4, 2008
    2
    Total dud. How did they shave in the blind jail? Exactly, one small ridiculous detail in a film written by amateurs, riddled with a hundred far greater lapses. Complete waste of attention.
  13. JonB.
    Oct 5, 2008
    3
    Where to start... The theme behind the movie as previously mentioned is that one can only see the true nature of humanity if we are blind to race and appearance. This movie does a good job of showing that... But, I thought the movie was too long and I was really put off by the rape scenes.
  14. BrandonB
    Oct 7, 2008
    1
    Really messed up rape scene. It was literally the worst movie ever. I would like to punch the director in the face for wasting my time. It's all so clear why people pirate movies..movies like this really don't help their cause.
  15. VS.D
    Apr 6, 2009
    0
    Ugh. Terrible, terrible film.
  16. LauraK
    Sep 12, 2009
    0
    This was by far one of the worst movies I have ever watched. There was no explanation for anything. I kept watching expecting answers, but instead more questions. Terrible, absolutely terrible.
  17. Paul
    Dec 4, 2008
    2
    Totally contrived situation, populated by stereotypes and one-dimensional writing. A major letdown from this director.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. As the players enact the fall and rebirth of civilization, Meirelles suggests that even a society gone to hell looks better with a little music-video-like pizzazz.
  2. Blindness is provocative cinema. But it also is predictable cinema: It startles but does not surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    Meirelles' slickly crafted drama rarely achieves the visceral force, tragic scope and human resonance of Saramago's prose.