Miramax Films | Release Date: October 3, 2008
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 109 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
22
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SaramangoWeepsFeb 13, 2009
The did a great job at ruining one of the best books I've ever read.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EdwardM.Jun 13, 2010
Easily the worst film ever made. The only good bit is where the Spanish guy was singing a Stevie Wonder song "I just called to say I love you". I suppose the rest of the film is laughable as well...The lead female was extremly irritating as Easily the worst film ever made. The only good bit is where the Spanish guy was singing a Stevie Wonder song "I just called to say I love you". I suppose the rest of the film is laughable as well...The lead female was extremly irritating as having the gift of sight, stood by and allowed herself and friends to starved and be raped when she could have easily overpowered the enemy. The rape scenes weren't at all disturbing because the whole film was so illogical, it was hard to feel empathy for any of these characters. Anyone who gave this movie more than a 1 is an idiot and not living in the real world. I have spoken. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CarolOct 6, 2008
One of the absolutely worst movies I've seen. I almost (and should have) walked out. No explanation for anything in a movie which debases everything and everyone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichelleSMar 14, 2009
Anyone who gives this move a decent, let alone good score, is either blind themselves or enjoys long, boring and extremely offensive movies. Lets not forget it lacks logic, reason or explanation. I'm not asking you to spell everything Anyone who gives this move a decent, let alone good score, is either blind themselves or enjoys long, boring and extremely offensive movies. Lets not forget it lacks logic, reason or explanation. I'm not asking you to spell everything out chapter and verse, but a simple "this is why everyone is going blind" or "this is why ONE person in the entire world is NOT blind". Something! You continue to sit through this movie thinking you will have some answers and instead you just get to be offended over and over again by disturbing scenes filled with unnecessary nudity, filth including people stepping in human poop (in the hallways mind you because apparently if you go blind you no longer understand the concept of a toilet) a mass orgy/rape (not once but TWICE). I could go on and on about how bad this movie is, but in all honesty I can't talk about it anymore, its making me angry. I am GLAD I had a free rental for this movie because I would feel even more sick to my stomach if I had paid anything for this piece of garbage! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DMOct 4, 2008
Please do not let reviews trick you into thinking this would be a good evening's entertainment. "Blindness" is painful to watch, fails to set its 'different world' city, has serious script continuity problems and seems to last Please do not let reviews trick you into thinking this would be a good evening's entertainment. "Blindness" is painful to watch, fails to set its 'different world' city, has serious script continuity problems and seems to last five hours. While the big concept is extremely simplistic, the details and story are stuffed with too much. A shame, because the actors are quality. Don't bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MatthewP.Oct 4, 2008
Only a movie attempting to be profound can be this bad. If you don't find yourself laughing uncontrollably about the silly, over-the-top nudity, the extreme, dogs-eating-dead-humans scenes, and a city's worth of people stumbling Only a movie attempting to be profound can be this bad. If you don't find yourself laughing uncontrollably about the silly, over-the-top nudity, the extreme, dogs-eating-dead-humans scenes, and a city's worth of people stumbling over themselves, then you probably take yourself as seriously as this director does. Futuristic and/or post-apocalyptic movies have a tendency to be ridiculously awful and this one does nothing to thwart that history. The last time I saw a movie this bad was the banal Code 46. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AidanWOct 7, 2008
This movie was garbage. From the terrible dialogue to lame 'drama' it failed all over. The characters were not gripping. The story was poorly transcribed to the screen. The blind protested this for the wrong reason, not because This movie was garbage. From the terrible dialogue to lame 'drama' it failed all over. The characters were not gripping. The story was poorly transcribed to the screen. The blind protested this for the wrong reason, not because it's offensive to the blind, but because it's offensive anyone who paid money to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarlAAug 31, 2009
Everything you read in the "bad reviews" is true and cant be said better. Everything in the "good reviews" you can tell is not how people talk and is artsy praise. Concepts and pretentiousness is not enough to warrant a 1 let alone a 10. Everything you read in the "bad reviews" is true and cant be said better. Everything in the "good reviews" you can tell is not how people talk and is artsy praise. Concepts and pretentiousness is not enough to warrant a 1 let alone a 10. This is why people don't listen to critics- because we're smart (IE pirating movies like no tomorrow rather than paying for this crap). This movie is an insult to all facets of your humanity especially your intelligence. These characters aren't humans, they're characters written with no common sense. Blindness is without question the worst movie ever along with Chaos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrisNov 2, 2008
It is disturbing to me as a woman to think people could not only make a movie like this, but people could stomach sitting through the ENTIRE movie with all of the degrading scenes. I know I couldn't - I walked out... along with 20 other It is disturbing to me as a woman to think people could not only make a movie like this, but people could stomach sitting through the ENTIRE movie with all of the degrading scenes. I know I couldn't - I walked out... along with 20 other women. I was so disgusted by the rape scene in this movie that I could cry. I don't understand how this is even ALLOWED at all. I am actually furious. Warning to women - do NOT see this movie unless you plan on leaving with a pit in your stomach that will not go away for weeks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
justinMar 7, 2009
horrible , screwed up rape scenes made u feel sick to your stomach . and stuff like how the guard were there one day giving them food and the next day the whole world has gone blind was totally inaccurate and other little details the people horrible , screwed up rape scenes made u feel sick to your stomach . and stuff like how the guard were there one day giving them food and the next day the whole world has gone blind was totally inaccurate and other little details the people that gave it a 10 were probably on crack or something maybe that would make the movie better and there were good actors the movie was just so bad that you couldn't notice them Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PauloS.Dec 4, 2008
Total dud. How did they shave in the blind jail? Exactly, one small ridiculous detail in a film written by amateurs, riddled with a hundred far greater lapses. Complete waste of attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonB.Oct 5, 2008
Where to start... The theme behind the movie as previously mentioned is that one can only see the true nature of humanity if we are blind to race and appearance. This movie does a good job of showing that... But, I thought the movie was too Where to start... The theme behind the movie as previously mentioned is that one can only see the true nature of humanity if we are blind to race and appearance. This movie does a good job of showing that... But, I thought the movie was too long and I was really put off by the rape scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonBOct 7, 2008
Really messed up rape scene. It was literally the worst movie ever. I would like to punch the director in the face for wasting my time. It's all so clear why people pirate movies..movies like this really don't help their cause.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VS.DApr 6, 2009
Ugh. Terrible, terrible film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LauraKSep 12, 2009
This was by far one of the worst movies I have ever watched. There was no explanation for anything. I kept watching expecting answers, but instead more questions. Terrible, absolutely terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulDec 4, 2008
Totally contrived situation, populated by stereotypes and one-dimensional writing. A major letdown from this director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful