Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A genuine crowd-pleaser, Dave Chappelle's Block Party spotlights comedy superstar Dave Chappelle as he presents a Brooklyn neighborhood with its very own once-in-a-lifetime free block party. (Rogue Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Once in a great while there's a movie that's so funny, infectious and welcoming - a movie that makes you feel so good about America and the people in it - you just want to climb inside the screen and live there. That's the case with Dave Chappelle's Block Party - part comedy, part concert film, part avant-garde experiment, and all of it a joy.
  2. It's the best kind of complaint. You can see why the $50 million man refers to something he gave away as "the best single day of my career."
  3. The film, from its deadpan start to its languorous finish, provides the most joyous moviegoing experience in years.
  4. There is a clear festive buzz, as attendees laugh, bob and listen to Chappelle's impish, inventive comedy, and some of the best music hip-hop has to offer.
  5. 80
    Results in moments of real beauty that make you grateful Chappelle chose an aesthete for directing chores. And yet, in terms of content, the film doesn't quite reach the bar set by its historic predecessor (Wattstax).
  6. 75
    The result is this infectious documentary, which combines some inspired musical performances with Chappelle's perpetually hilarious commentary.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    50
    Strictly for fans of the musical acts and those who think everything Chappelle does is genius.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Different from most motion pictures, this movie gave it's audience an unique sense of exuberant life with it's fantastic independent spirit.Different from most motion pictures, this movie gave it's audience an unique sense of exuberant life with it's fantastic independent spirit. It had a cool premise, to bring the people of Brooklyn a surprise concert of many extremely talented performers (Kanye West, Mos Def, The Roots) as a random act of kindness. This movie shows us what a "Community" really is in other people's eyes. This film is definitely worth a look as it is one of my favorites, to have a unique social theme and sprinkle it with some humor. Inspirational film that is actually quite heart-warming. MUST SEE Expand
  2. Matt
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    This movie was stelar. The music was amazing and it was all around a very touching and inspiring movie.
  3. TimothyS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    It was a very good, well-put together concert documentary. Dave Chappelle gives forth input as he demonstrates his prowess to be a comedic It was a very good, well-put together concert documentary. Dave Chappelle gives forth input as he demonstrates his prowess to be a comedic genius, and he also shows the other side to hip-hop, showing the art side of it relating to the everyday struggles of their upbringing and the people around them. Together this picture brings them and people all over the world together for a great night in New York. If you just expect a slapstick comedy, this may not exactly be what you had in mind. But if you want to sit back, relax, think a little a bit about issues, and hear classic Dave Chappelle comedy engaged into the music from the all-star cast of musicians headed by Kanye West and the reunited Fugees and several more, than this movie may be a highly suggested viewing, and you may get more than you bargained for. Expand
  4. SpongeeeK.
    Mar 12, 2006
    9
    Solid Film but I dont know where people are coming up with the whole inspiring, moving, etc. adjectives for this film. Its almost like Solid Film but I dont know where people are coming up with the whole inspiring, moving, etc. adjectives for this film. Its almost like watching Dave's home video of the event. I dont think there's a true greater purpose other than to make you laugh and enjoy good music. Expand
  5. Joe
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    Very impressive, wonderfully presented. Dave was extremely funny, and the music was outstanding.
  6. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    Liking this movie will likely involve, in order: a) being a fan of Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, etc. b) being a DaveLiking this movie will likely involve, in order: a) being a fan of Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, etc. b) being a Dave Chapelle fan c) knowing that this is a concert documentary, not a comedy show. I watched it meeting each of those criteria, and I enjoyed it. The film really captured the spontaneity of Dave making the event happen. Dave seemed to try to invite anyone and everyone that might be involved in his life to any degree, regardless of whether or not they already like hip-hop/neo soul music. On stage, Dave was mostly just hosting the musical guests, and there wasn't any formal stand-up act. You get to see the artists backstage with Dave in a more candid, personal light, and the film takes on his personality. My favorite parts are when Dave is rehearsing with the Roots band/Mos Def for a little routine for the concert. It's not a perfectly crafted documentary, but overall, it's just a fun time with ordinary people, allowing you to see many of the performers as regular people as well. If none of this interests you, then don't bother watching. Expand
  7. AlecB.
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    dont get me wrong,i think dave chappelle is one of the funniest comedians ever but this movie sucked so bad that i walked right out of the dont get me wrong,i think dave chappelle is one of the funniest comedians ever but this movie sucked so bad that i walked right out of the theater and got a refund. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad?

    The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad? Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Conventional wisdom has it that January is a dumping ground for bad movies, and our numbers back that up. We compare January to other months, look for past releases that actually succeeded, and preview movies coming out in the next few weeks.