Blood Diamond

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 530

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AaronM.
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it never earned a #1 spot. Still, I believe it to be one of the best movies I've seen this year. Leonardo DiCaprio, similar to his performance in Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it never earned a #1 spot. Still, I believe it to be one of the best movies I've seen this year. Leonardo DiCaprio, similar to his performance in The Departed, is believable, strong, and convincing. The story is strong; the cinematography is excellent; and overall, Blood Diamond does everything I want a movie to do (to educate, captivate, and be enjoyable). Expand
  2. JoeO.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Brilliantly illustrated, accurately placed, powerfully emotional and a total mixture of sociology, politics and commerce
  3. PeterB.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Superb movie - well acted and exciting.
  4. StaceyH.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    Wow!!
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    With a great wild performance by DiCaprio and a surprisingly deep story, Edward Zwick's "Blood Diamond" is certainly one of the most discussed movie of the year.
  6. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    This movie is a very good, very beutiful acting, loved the movie, F**CK YOU AVAtar HATER aka GERRY MARSHALL YOU ****
  7. DickVag
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    lol this movie is funnay!!!! This movie is a disney version of what really happens in africa, all you rich fux buying conflict diamonds for you whore of a wife, while you and your children sleep safely, these people deal with malaria, robbery, theft, rape and murder. Some where in south africa, about every 12 seconds there are girls under the age of 10 that are raped.
  8. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    f only by simply choosing not to buy diamonds until the big corporations start showing some accountability. A lesson I think even the current government needs a reminder of.â
  9. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Upon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am left wondering what to do with them. Sure I am filled with some rage and compassion for those who are affected by this "blood diamond" business but if I failUpon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am left wondering what to do with them. Sure I am filled with some rage and compassion for those who are affected by this "blood diamond" business but if I fail to do anything with my emotions, if I fail to act, did the movie serve any purpose? Ultimately the movie does an excellent job of articulating a problem but fails to answer with a solution.

    Personally I am a Christian and when I take a minute to ponder the horrific nature with which diamonds are found and distributed I question their need. As a Christian I walk away and begin to think of the responsibility I have to be aware of people suffering around the world and not only must I be aware but I must seek justice for people embattled in a place like Sierra Leonne. So what should the response be towards this movie? Well, I personally know a woman who made sure her husband bought her an engagement ring that did not cost someones life. I too should push towards a similar response. Too often Christians are seen as legalistic or too removed from the culture. I am here to say, Christians must stay in tune and care about social ills while holding fast to our belief in Christ.
    Expand
  10. lobeGreen
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Amazing film. When I heard that, this film was going to be on our cinema i was thrilled.I was greatfull but when I saw the film I said: This film made for me
  11. AaronH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I really loved this movie. The acting was great, the story was compelling (and never lagged), the characters were intriguing, and it was beautiful visually. Its definitely on my list of movies I would like to own. This is top notch stuff all the way baby.
  12. JoC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral behind it.(cliché) Themes for movies start discussions like Mink was 15years ago. Diamond trade and Mink Trade are alike, the only problem is, Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral behind it.(cliché) Themes for movies start discussions like Mink was 15years ago. Diamond trade and Mink Trade are alike, the only problem is, what does one find cuter: Man or Animal? Expand
  13. TonyT.
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Terrific movie. Loved the performances of the 3 main characters.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    An impressive action thriller that brings out visceral action, engaging social commentary, and great performances. I recommend it highly, and it'll get woman to look at their jewelry in a different way.
  15. CrystalB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this movie it was THE BEST i love you Leonardo Dicaprio *kisses*.
  16. JackB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a fantastic actor. Great supporting cast too. The storyline is excellent, the scenery breathtaking and nothing is overdone. Certainly deserves the plaudits I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a fantastic actor. Great supporting cast too. The storyline is excellent, the scenery breathtaking and nothing is overdone. Certainly deserves the plaudits it received and i would recommend it to any one out there like myself with a passion for film. The film itself has made me more aware of the problems in Africa, something i will certainly be looking into more in the near future. Expand
  17. DS.
    Jan 3, 2009
    8
    Good performances by DiCaprio and Hounsou. A little long in length, but well directed. Good movie!
  18. Chavez
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    WOW! This is beautiful, powerful, epic, human, real filmmaking.
  19. RyanH.
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    A strong "message" film, with fantastic action thrown in. Stellar cast. Ed Zwick's best!
  20. BenV.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    This movie was outstanding. It was an excellent story in addition to the truth. It really made me think about what was taken for granted in the rest of the world.
  21. DrewK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    It is a dramaticly powerful movie.
  22. GeorgeC.
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    There were so many times this movie could have gone bad, and it just didn't. I thought it was a really good film. I disagree with a ton of the "professional" critic's comments. I don't think this is a typical Hollywood adventure. I think the movie brings a social awareness to some of the atrocities that we in America don't give a second thought to.
  23. GeorgeCaine
    Jan 8, 2007
    7
    Like 2006
  24. JanetM.
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    I did not like Jennifer Connolly's performance. Beautiful face, no expression, no passion.
  25. TracyC.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Powerful, thought provoking and very painfully moving, i had little knowledge of the diamond trade before this or the devsastating lives of child soldiers. Well done to Leo and all involved
  26. NajwatR.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    DiCaprio and Hounsou's stellar performances, slick editing, beautiful cinematography, and appropriate music make this flick one of this year's very best. It's a shame that it didn't get a Best Picture Oscar nomination.
  27. EllenS.
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    Good movie: the story was thought provoking and well told and the acting outstanding. I forgot that DiCaprio was DiCaprio -- and I've never forgotten that before, not in any of his films. Lots of violence, but it seemed appropriate to the story. Worth seeing.
  28. MichelleD.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Powerful, moving, really made me think. Great acting too.
  29. JabezT.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best of his career, towering above his pathetic effort in "The Departed". He is dragged down a bit by the dopey role Jennifer Connelly plays, but he is This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best of his career, towering above his pathetic effort in "The Departed". He is dragged down a bit by the dopey role Jennifer Connelly plays, but he is totally believable in this role. At its heart, this film focuses on human stories, and this apparently disappoints those that expected a political film. The mostly incomprehensible politics whirl around the characters in a way that is more realistic than a preachy documentary approach would have been. Sappy in parts, predictable in others, but a stunning Leo and a beautiful and numbingly violent African background help make this movie worthwhile. See it. Expand
  30. EduardoSoto
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    It´s excellent! Briliant Characters, and Di Caprio is Superb in his performance as Danny Archer. Also the movie gives you a point of view of Africa and its terrible situation.
  31. CJ
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    Despite Di Caprio's dodgy attempt at a Zimbabwean accent, I enjoyed this film. Highly emotional and bound to stir some feelings deep inside even the most unyielding of us, Blood Diamond set about its task of portraying the lives of Africans caught up in rebel warfare very well. Although it wasn't the greatest film I've ever seen, I felt that it had done enough to secure a Despite Di Caprio's dodgy attempt at a Zimbabwean accent, I enjoyed this film. Highly emotional and bound to stir some feelings deep inside even the most unyielding of us, Blood Diamond set about its task of portraying the lives of Africans caught up in rebel warfare very well. Although it wasn't the greatest film I've ever seen, I felt that it had done enough to secure a place among the best of them. Expand
  32. TomH.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Very powerful movie. Having been in Liberia and Sierra Leone, it is very accurate.
  33. MartinS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Slightly contrived but the performances pull you into this movie. Di Caprio really has become an amazing actor.
  34. LenR.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    DiCaprio is great, the movie is over preachy.
  35. JonBoy
    Jul 16, 2007
    8
    I'm always apprehensive of finding out about any factual political situation from a film, Hollywood has warped history once too often. This doesn't stop Blood Diamond being a cracking yarn though, visceral action and drama, combine with slightly heavy handed sermonizing to deliver a highly entertaining, yet emotionally stirring and thought provoking bit of cinema. The love story I'm always apprehensive of finding out about any factual political situation from a film, Hollywood has warped history once too often. This doesn't stop Blood Diamond being a cracking yarn though, visceral action and drama, combine with slightly heavy handed sermonizing to deliver a highly entertaining, yet emotionally stirring and thought provoking bit of cinema. The love story angle is a trifle forced, but I think the intent is more to convey the emotional attachment between men and wealth, men and their country, their people and their families. Great performances by Di Caprio and Hounsou. Expand
  36. FloraL.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Startling movie with very deep impact!!
  37. MadhavS.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    brilliant .... realistic in every detail possible ... acting has been perfect ... music is good ... screenplay is good ... above all the theme truly stays in eveyone's heart ... hats off to edward ... he's done an amazing job ...
  38. NinaA.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Loved it. Leo was totally gripping..
  39. DWilly
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    This is a kickass movie. It may have a moment or two of awkward polemic, but, ignore those too-cool reviewers who've pull it's numbers down and swoon over the paper thin (see "Sin City"); it's called context. Jennifer Connelly is marginal, but Djiman Hounsou is huge and DiCaprio, well, this is the guy, folks. It's maybe not as difficult a role as he pulled off in "The This is a kickass movie. It may have a moment or two of awkward polemic, but, ignore those too-cool reviewers who've pull it's numbers down and swoon over the paper thin (see "Sin City"); it's called context. Jennifer Connelly is marginal, but Djiman Hounsou is huge and DiCaprio, well, this is the guy, folks. It's maybe not as difficult a role as he pulled off in "The Departed,' but he demonstrates here masterfully the ability, slightly distinct from raw acting chops, to carry a film. We've had Brando, Hoffman, Pacino, DeNiro and Penn (we lost James Dean and River Pheoenix too soon) and now we've got Leonardo DiCaprio. Take a moment, register how lucky we are to have him. Expand
  40. BillyS.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    When you get past all the social relevance and the constant reminders that the movie is really making a "serious" statement, you realize that your watching one of the best adventure/ thrillers of the past 10 years. This is one hellavu movie folks! The writing, when it's not being preachy, is sharp and concise that at times is tense and gripping and also emotional. There is some When you get past all the social relevance and the constant reminders that the movie is really making a "serious" statement, you realize that your watching one of the best adventure/ thrillers of the past 10 years. This is one hellavu movie folks! The writing, when it's not being preachy, is sharp and concise that at times is tense and gripping and also emotional. There is some graphic violence, but just enough to make you think about it, not thrown at you so it becomes the story like in Apocolypto. The credits are all superlative, especially Eduardo Serra's camera work and the production design of Dan Weil. The acting is a revelation. Jennifer Connelly brings truth and compassion to her role as a journalist in the midst of a civil war. Djimon Hounsou once again is extraordinary, why Hollywood hasn't caught on to what Speilberg saw in him for Amistad is beyond me. The man just oozes passion in his work. And then there's Leo. In The Departed earlier this year, I saw him become a mature actor who held his own with Nicholson, Martin Sheen and Alec Baldwin as part of a dynamic ensemble, and now in Blood Diamond, DiCaprio becomes a Leading Actor, not a big Movie Star, but an actor's Actor. His performance is stellar, right down to the accent. We may have lost Brando and George C. Scott, but Leonardo DiCaprio is the "veteran" new guy stepping into their shoes! A definate Top 10 must-see movie for 2006. Expand
  41. CarlaW.
    Dec 10, 2006
    8
    Family, friendship, war, child soliders and diamonds were all inluded in this movie. Excellent movie.
  42. Syzygy
    Dec 10, 2006
    7
    Hard, gritty, and unflicnhing, Zwick works the story with powerful conviction. All the performances were wonderful. Thankfully the love 'story' was subdued, making it more human from its subtle restraint. The inclusion of a standard operatic score tuned liked a metronome to the story's undulations hurt some.
  43. JoshS.
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    A rivetting tale that is much more than a social commentary: it explores in its narative the human themes of war, personal and large scale rebellion, death, childhood in war, and the tug of war between betrayal and loyalty that is present in human relationships. It is a poetic epic. A+
  44. ShonaM.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    As a Shona woman i never thought of what the white's in my country felt and Danny speaks to how his family was killed and how he ended up in the army fighting along side Blacks. This movie meant the world to me. This movie painted a picture of what is going on in Africa and how noone cares. It made me think and realise and cry. yes this movie is a 10 in my books. Critics might say it As a Shona woman i never thought of what the white's in my country felt and Danny speaks to how his family was killed and how he ended up in the army fighting along side Blacks. This movie meant the world to me. This movie painted a picture of what is going on in Africa and how noone cares. It made me think and realise and cry. yes this movie is a 10 in my books. Critics might say it was a bad story telling or whatever, but atleast someoen tried to tell the story that no one dares to tell or even think about. Leo's accent wasn;t half as bad at all for a Rhodie. Two thumps up. This is a powerful story that echoes the cry of Africa. I hope someone is listening!! Expand
  45. CarolJ.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Best movie I have seen this year. It points out how catastophic world events go relatively unnoticed in the US. The depictions in the movie were extremely accurate and well done. A must see.
  46. FranklinC.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    A near-perfect gem. A thoughtful examination of greed and the human capacity to do good or evil.
  47. AndrewJ.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Best movie all year. It exposes the horrendous acts that the diamond industry tacitly supports.
  48. NathanL.
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    One of my top ten films of 2006. I must say that I have been spoiled by the brilliance of great independent filmmaking like that of Babel, Little Children, or the magnificently underseen Half Nelson. It is because of this that I found myself attempting to judge this films cliches early on. However, by the end of this film I could not deny it's power. Director Edward Zwick (Glory, One of my top ten films of 2006. I must say that I have been spoiled by the brilliance of great independent filmmaking like that of Babel, Little Children, or the magnificently underseen Half Nelson. It is because of this that I found myself attempting to judge this films cliches early on. However, by the end of this film I could not deny it's power. Director Edward Zwick (Glory, Courage Under Fire, The Last Samurai) is known for taking on very big subjects in a bold, but Hollywood entertainment sort of way. This film has all the excitement of a summer blockbuster and definately looks like a big budget action flick. What sets aside Zwick films from the traditional Hollywood lame ducks is his uncompromised ability to take very obvious message dialogue and, through great casting, make it believable. This film will win no award for screenplay, but the acting is top notch. Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou both give Academy Award worthy performances with Jennifer Connelly channeling that wonderful on-screen presence that makes her one of the most enjoyable actresses to grace the silver screen. What also must be pointed out about this movie is its wonderful cinematography. The film is filled with luscious landscapes and I don't believe they could have been captured any better. Africa never looked so beautiful. You will find some of the weaker minded internet critics point the negativity used towards black Africa and use that as a weapon against films like this and one of last years best films The Constant Gardner. Do not be fooled by this simplistic analysis of these films. Africa is an ugly place, or as DiCaprio's Danny Archer would call it a " god forsaken continent." But what movies like Blood Diamond are saying is that there are good people in Africa and if we do our global part we can one day make Africa as beautiful as it's landscape. If only by simply choosing not to buy diamonds until the big corporations start showing some accountability. A lesson I think even the current government needs a reminder of. Expand
  49. Enrique
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    So far, the most impotant movie this year. A thougt provoking, powerful cinematic achievemnt. The best from Zwick since "Glory." Di Caprio and Hounsou's performances are superlative. Excellent supporting cast.
  50. MarkF.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Djimon Hounsou wil be a star after this. Oscar nomination for sure. What a film.
  51. NathanM.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    This was one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen, the story was great and well executed by the director, aside from DeCaprio's horrible accent. The movie had great action, powerful dialogue and a killer ending to say the least. There was no better way to end the movie than the way the director did.
  52. MarkB.
    Jan 19, 2007
    7
    Back in 1997, when Titanic was breaking all kinds of box office records and creating a few of its own, Leonardo DiCaprio suddenly started being touted in some circles as "the new Gable". That's not precisely accurate--even though Titanic was in many ways this generation's Gone With The Wind, Clark Gable's best characterizations (GWTW, San Fransisco, The Misfits) were Back in 1997, when Titanic was breaking all kinds of box office records and creating a few of its own, Leonardo DiCaprio suddenly started being touted in some circles as "the new Gable". That's not precisely accurate--even though Titanic was in many ways this generation's Gone With The Wind, Clark Gable's best characterizations (GWTW, San Fransisco, The Misfits) were mixtures of darkness and light while DiCaprio's Jack Dawson was nothing BUT light. Fast forward to nearly a decade later and who'd have anticipated DiCaprio as the new Bogart? Forget his British accent: Blood Diamond in some ways is Casablanca all over again, with the big honkin' precious stone that he and Djimon Hounsou form an uneasy partnership over filling in for the letters of transit. DiCaprio has grown and toughened more in a shorter period of time than any other contemporary actor that comes to mind: as recently as 2002's Gangs of New York he wore the cynicism and amorality demanded of him like an ill-fitting mask; now, with this and The Departed, it's come to fit him like a glove. Leading lady Jennifer Connelly does extremely well here too: after what seems like years of playing glum women carrying the world on their shoulders (which she excels at, as A Beautiful Mind and House of Sand and Fog clearly prove) it's a joy to see her smile, laugh and do repartee with equal skill! The movie itself is a smooth, handsomely made and entertaining action film with an ambitious social agenda: it not only wants to, like Hotel Rwanda, open Western eyes and hearts to the bloody atrocities Africans commit upon one another in Hatfield/ McCoy-like tribal skirmishes, but influence our pocketbooks by getting us NOT to buy jewelry sold by those who profit from and promulgate said conflicts. (The central--and perhaps unintended--question brought up in movies like this, which has reemerged anew with Saddam's execution, is so unanswerable it almost qualifies as a Buddhist koan; namely, if colonialist or dictatorial rule keeps the lid on decades and centuries of tribal resentments which would explode in endless bloodbaths if removed, is it possible that maybe iron-fist rule isn't ENTIRELY a bad thing?) Director Ed Zwick, who specializes in thoughtful historical epics and contemporary thrillers wrapped around such thinking-person's heartthrobs as Dicaprio, Denzel Washington, Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise, works slickly and seamlessly but intelligently, avoiding many of the standard mistakes (such as having DiCaprio and Hjonsou be buddies); his directorial trademark seems to be the use of one piece of explicit gore to represent an entire canvas of violence--remember the soldier's head being blown off in Glory or the theatergoer's arm doing the same in The Siege? My central difficulty with Blood Diamond lies in Hjonsou's characterization (NOT his performance, which is typically powerful). He seems to have two and only two dramatic functions: to reclaim his son from the rebel army that has kidnapped, enslaved and brainwashed the youth, turning him and other children into something not far removed from George A. Romero's zombies, and to turn DiCaprio's cynical opportunist into a better person. This is the Noble Negro syndrome, most famously exhibited by runaway slave Jim in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and cafe piano player Sam in Casablanca; both are honorable creations, but have been duplicated too many times to serve as much more than an all-too convenient and arbitrary literary device, no matter how well played...and anyway, Hjonsou is certainly a nuanced enough actor (as In America demonstrates) to warrant and deserve characters with a few more layers and complexities. This does a lot to explain why Zwick's strengths and limitations as a filmmaker parallel those of his more famously socially conscious predecessor Stanley Kramer, and why Blood Diamond, as watchable as it is, is ultimately too schematic to be anything more than a good night of movie escapism, which is precisely what I'm sure Zwick DOESN'T want it to be...and why it's not causing QVC jewelry hostesses Jane Treacy and Lisa Robertson to lose any sleep over inability to meet their sales quotas. Expand
  53. RickiS.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    In spite of too many narrow escapes and two-dimensional characters -- all except the DiCaprio character are totally good or really evil-- this movie is exciting, adrenalin pumping, and entertaining. Leonardo is excellent. The story behind the story deserves to be told.
  54. LEONALEE
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    Rarely does media production have the ability to both educate and entertain the audience. Blood Diamond attempt to be such a movie. Indeed a beautiful and courageous attempt. Tthe story, character, filmaking skills, cast and all make it hard to ignore and forget. This movie will be a shame to miss.
  55. CamH.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Ripper of a movie. Actually has a real meaning, very moving.
  56. Paul
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Definitely better than the metacritic score indicates. Very moving in some parts. My girlfriend apparently cried 3 times throughout the movie. Warning, though: a lot of innocent people die in this movie. It's frightening, but neccessary for the film. Anyways, DiCaprio is amazing in this one, the action's great, its just an all-around great film. One bad part, though, was the Definitely better than the metacritic score indicates. Very moving in some parts. My girlfriend apparently cried 3 times throughout the movie. Warning, though: a lot of innocent people die in this movie. It's frightening, but neccessary for the film. Anyways, DiCaprio is amazing in this one, the action's great, its just an all-around great film. One bad part, though, was the ending. I won't say what happened but it was kinda cheesy. Expand
  57. NalinR.
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    I'm so shocked after watching this movie that I'm going to deny all Diamond purchases from now on.. outstanding movie, gr8 message.. and its surprising to see fer critics giving this movie 28 out of 100 ... I hope they could learn how to apppreciate a good movie.
  58. ErinT.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    This film I felt was a bit of an eye opener to what goes on in the rest of the world. It was very touching, scary, grusome, etc i could say so much about this film.
  59. YolandaN.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    A very suspensful movie; gripping with graphic scenes of violence, but not for the sake of gratuity. A story that should be told - viewers come out with a new perspective on diamonds. The moral lessons - avoid 'blood diamonds'. Greed is man's un-doing.
  60. DanB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    8
    Would've gotten a nine or ten but for Archer's last scene, which was just too cheesy, too much, even for a Hollywood movie. Other than that though, it's kind of old fashioned but really well done so who cares. And Leonardo DiCaprio is, like, getting to a point where he is good in every single movie.
  61. ZinnyS.
    Mar 30, 2007
    7
    Also Di Caprio's accent was rather patchy. True enough, from time to time he sound like a yank then it change back to south african. Touching story, it seem even in the land of millions of african the story follow only two white people.
  62. mariadesantiago
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    i really like this movie! Yes, it was sad but i really really loved it so much i could see this movie over and over millions of time... My husben to be also like it he thought it wasn't going to be a good movie..but, at the end he also loved this movie but that he would wach it over and over mybe 3 times but to as many as me!!!! I LOVED IT...................
  63. SusieL.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    A beautiful, breath-taking movie, exposng the world to the true horrors.
  64. AMovieCritic
    May 27, 2007
    8
    A good old adventure movie with a strong plot and interesting characters. Plus, great setting and really cool music. Really good acting, as well. A pretty eye-opening movie. Runs a little long and can be a bit preachy at times but it's a really well-filmed and very fun movie with some amazing action scenes. Recommended.
  65. BenjaminB.
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    I like it when a movie makes you think different after you saw it and that's actually the case here. After you saw kids shooting innocent people, all the troubles in your life will look a little bit smaller. next to this effect it is also a quite good movie with a deep impact. only some characters are - in my opinion - too "flat". watch it.
  66. RebekahM.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Exactly the sort of movie to keep you entertain yet reveal the disgusting truth about what happens in poorer countries without the richer countries noticing.
  67. DonP.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    great film.it throws light upon the plight of africans .it says all about the worsening situation in africa.indeed the diamonds available in the markets are 'blood diamonds'.
  68. LeiZ.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Possibly one of the greatest movies of 06. Keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it really makes you think about what you watch - not a norm in most action films. The civil war in Africa - all real. Conflict diamonds - that's real too. And what's worse, the brainwashing of children to become soldiers, absolutely real. I must say, Leonardo's role as a South African was so Possibly one of the greatest movies of 06. Keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it really makes you think about what you watch - not a norm in most action films. The civil war in Africa - all real. Conflict diamonds - that's real too. And what's worse, the brainwashing of children to become soldiers, absolutely real. I must say, Leonardo's role as a South African was so convincing I almost forgot he was American. Expand
  69. AaronL.
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    A great movie. Never a dull moment. Dicaprio is surprisingly good, even perfect, with an accent.
  70. AviK.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    A few false notes, but overall a powerful film with a rare, morally ambiguous lead character (DiCaprio's), who never turns into a "good guy" (contrary to what a lot of the critics have been saying). Solid performances all around, with DiCaprio's in particular a stand out.
  71. Chris
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    Somewhat predictable, the story is well executed, thrilling, shocking, and thought evoking. While his accent waffles from time-to-time, DiCaprio's performance is spot on. Probably his best performance yet.
  72. RebeccaM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    8
    This movie worked beautifully as an action film, but more importantly, it got my attention politically. The images of child soldiers and violence against masses of innocent people were so jarring. Perhaps because I wasn't expecting to be so moved, I ended up weeping at the atrocities of civil war. Leonardo was spectacular, as was Djimon. Jennifer was about as emotionally poignant as This movie worked beautifully as an action film, but more importantly, it got my attention politically. The images of child soldiers and violence against masses of innocent people were so jarring. Perhaps because I wasn't expecting to be so moved, I ended up weeping at the atrocities of civil war. Leonardo was spectacular, as was Djimon. Jennifer was about as emotionally poignant as a log and it ruined a key part of the story. Also, it is a titch too long. Altogether wonderfully entertaining (in a disturbing way...). Expand
  73. Elessar
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    Without a doubt, this was one of the best movies I've seen so far this year (second perhaps only to The Departed). DiCaprio certainly deserves the accolades he's received for this role, and I thought his accent was quite convincing. Djimon performed excellently as well. Only 2 things bothered me (and only slightly): when the air strike occured, I had a hard time believing ONE Without a doubt, this was one of the best movies I've seen so far this year (second perhaps only to The Departed). DiCaprio certainly deserves the accolades he's received for this role, and I thought his accent was quite convincing. Djimon performed excellently as well. Only 2 things bothered me (and only slightly): when the air strike occured, I had a hard time believing ONE helicopter had THAT much firepower; and the last 10 minutes or so might have been a little too much. Aside from those, an excellent film worthy of a 9.1/10 Collapse
  74. ArielG
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    This film worked on so many levels: action, thriller, drama, political piece. Very intense in several scenes, and it made you feel like you weren't just watching it, but were in it. Great acting by DiCaprio and Hounsou. Jennifer Connelly was also great in her role and she is one of the most under-rated actresses. I also didn't detect any anti-semitism that was mentioned by This film worked on so many levels: action, thriller, drama, political piece. Very intense in several scenes, and it made you feel like you weren't just watching it, but were in it. Great acting by DiCaprio and Hounsou. Jennifer Connelly was also great in her role and she is one of the most under-rated actresses. I also didn't detect any anti-semitism that was mentioned by another poster. While it's true that there are a lot of Jewish interests in diamond mines, particular in South Africa, this was not mentioned or implied in this movie. Please don't try to find anti-semitism where there is none. Just enjoy the film. Expand
  75. robert
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    Towering above all--even the gripping sense of helplessness in a lawless zone--is dicaprio's performance... along with the departed, he has risen to the top level of actors (on one level) and great movie STARs (on another)...he is just brilliant in the film.
  76. JohnnyB.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Easily the best movie of 2006, it captivates the audience and gets their attention, but never releases it until the end. Blood Daimond was meaningful and excellently acted. I can't say enough of how great this movie is, and if you havent seen it yet, pay the money and see it!!!!
  77. GlennZ.
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    A very good movie. It was entertaining, a fast paced thriller and also showed the horrors of civil war yet another in African nation. Some very disturbing scenese. Good acting, some great scenery, great action, a tense thriller, and a good story line.
  78. MauriceF.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I think that 'Blood Diamond' is essentially a romantic adventure story with politics in the background--an old-fashioned movie, I suppose, but exciting and stunningly well made. I suggest you go see this movie.
  79. NancyH.
    Dec 9, 2006
    7
    This movie tries to cover a lot--the issue is important, and yes the poitnts are well made. It could have been edited more tighter--and there is no chemistry between DiCaprio and Connelly. DiCaprio does a good job here and Djimon Hounsou gives a powerful performance. Makes you think twice about getting more bling-bling.
  80. DaveP.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Fantastic Film. Di Caprio has, almost overnight, become a mesmerising, morphing, magnificent actor. Djimon is nothing short of wonderful, and I am always glad to see Connolly. Edward Zwick has made a film of conscience and power, and those that accuse it of over-sentimentality have a jaded and over-cynical heart.
  81. TomV.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is a real action packed thriller. It is full of facts and the plot always keeps you interested.
  82. SusanM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    8
    Very entertaining movie. I don't usually care for Di Caprio, but, for the first time, I found him sexy and compelling. I find Jennifer Connelly rather cold and distant, but that worked for her in her role as a journalist. The movie just scratched the surface of the huge number of problems in the diamond mines of Africa, but it was a surface that isn't often scratched. Even if Very entertaining movie. I don't usually care for Di Caprio, but, for the first time, I found him sexy and compelling. I find Jennifer Connelly rather cold and distant, but that worked for her in her role as a journalist. The movie just scratched the surface of the huge number of problems in the diamond mines of Africa, but it was a surface that isn't often scratched. Even if you don't care about the politics, the action was good. And if you don't care for action, there was enough plot to keep you involved. Expand
  83. KimC.
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie. Leonardo DiCaprio proves once again that is and will continue to be a great actor. Djimon Hounsou deserved the Oscar nomination it just received for this role.
  84. BillyB.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    I hope this film gets some nods at the Oscars because it honestly deserves it. The performances by Leo and Djimon were truly moving and if you are still having doubts about whether this film is worth watching then let me just say .........WATCH IT!
  85. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    The performances by Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou are outstanding, and Ed Zwick
  86. AM.
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    Good movie, DiCaprio does a great job.
  87. KevinL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    The second best film DiCaprio has done since his Titanic days. He has really evolved as an actor. Meanwhile Jennifer Connelly turns up another steaming hot performance and Djimon Hounsou was outstanding in his role. An overall great underrated film and was a gripping thriller that touched not only me but everyone I know in the movie theaters.
  88. Steve
    Apr 21, 2007
    9
    A wild ride from start to finish. A moving story that is enhanced by the incredible performance by DiCaprio. Talk about intensity..this guy has it, and its all over the silver screen. An eye-opening film about the problems in Africa without becoming preachy about the morality of it all.
  89. FrancescaPapas
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    FANTASTIC MOVIE!!
  90. JakeT.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    This was an amazing movie with great cinematography. acting is amazing with action that is not over done and most importantly exposes the biggest atrocities of the diamond industries of Africa.
  91. JackS.
    Dec 17, 2008
    9
    Good action movie. DiCaprio did well in it, I thought. I think this was probably better then his other movie "The Departed." Both good movies. This one was a little more intresting then "The Departed." In this movie, the sights it takes you in a rebellion in Sierra Leone. The rebellion was a great plot, getting all of those diamonds, stopping the war that tore a country apart because ofGood action movie. DiCaprio did well in it, I thought. I think this was probably better then his other movie "The Departed." Both good movies. This one was a little more intresting then "The Departed." In this movie, the sights it takes you in a rebellion in Sierra Leone. The rebellion was a great plot, getting all of those diamonds, stopping the war that tore a country apart because of diamonds. It makes you realize that the people in this world are starting wars for recources and money. Movie was great. Expand
  92. GregA.
    Dec 18, 2008
    8
    A 4 star film by any account. Gripping and fast paced. Di Caprio is a legend.
  93. KristiG
    Dec 12, 2006
    8
    Excellent film and really made me think about where my ring may have come from. How sad that African "resources" cause death to so many innocent people.
  94. FrankC
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    It amazes me that this movie is not on more top 10 films of the year. Personally I think that Leo played an amazing role and deserves a nomination.
  95. MoreenM.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    The Best movie of the year!!! As a Zimbabwean woman I was skeptical of seeing yet another depressing movie about Africa. However, as another Shona woman commented, I was very impressed with Leo because for the first time I was able to empathize with the Rhodies. That is great acting! Djimon also deserves an Oscar nomination for his brilliant performance! I commend the Director for using The Best movie of the year!!! As a Zimbabwean woman I was skeptical of seeing yet another depressing movie about Africa. However, as another Shona woman commented, I was very impressed with Leo because for the first time I was able to empathize with the Rhodies. That is great acting! Djimon also deserves an Oscar nomination for his brilliant performance! I commend the Director for using South African and Shona verbage well, hey Chyna! It was great to see some local South African actors from Isidingo, the soap, getting a chance to act with Hollywood heavyweights. I did not find the story heavy handed at all. We all need to be brought out of our comfort zones and realize how the West's luxurious lifestyle may at times have come through the rape of African's resources. As an African I also agree that our governments are also to blame but greed knows no racial boundaries. However, Africa is not all gloom and doom as there is beauty not just in the landscapes but in the cities which are just as cosmopolitan as western cities on a smaller scale. But the beauty in Africa lies in its resilient and warm people who are doctors, scientists, pyschologists, and enterprising people. I hope one day we can depict these positive stories but I am not holding my breath! But makorokoto to the cast and crew who executed a thought provoking and unflinching performance!! The best of the year. Expand
  96. MindyA.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    Leonardo DiCaprio is great in this movie. He is such a versatile actor.
  97. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    Great, atmospheric and moving story, great cast, extremely well made with an important message to deliver which is not sullied by the strong ending. Watch this film if you get the chance.
  98. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Wonderful and gripping performances and an realistic scenario of Africa helps Blood Diamond to go deeper into its amazing and not so original-story.
  99. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    This is impressive movie from a talented director but there are som features always irritates me when it comes to hollywood films: no abililty to catch real mental processes of real people but just cliche after another. I don ´t mean cliche doesn ´t depict reality -it usually does. And that s why it is easy to use in charachters because everyone in this realityThis is impressive movie from a talented director but there are som features always irritates me when it comes to hollywood films: no abililty to catch real mental processes of real people but just cliche after another. I don ´t mean cliche doesn ´t depict reality -it usually does. And that s why it is easy to use in charachters because everyone in this reality will get in touch with a cliche. Also there are clearly conscious choices not to make those paper thin cliches nothing more than paper thin -for example when it comes to that journalist Maddy Bowen. Ok I don t complain more because some characters were truly impressive and well acted, especially many in supporting roles. As a whole this film was rather well constructed, very realistic story with haunting pictures from the paradise turned in hell. Maybe story goes over the top with its moralism, which is another irritating thing about these hollywood blockbusters and to my mind is a sign of underrating the audience full of grown up people. But even those severe errors can ´t make this film bad :) Expand
  100. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Another one of DiCaprio's greatest movies to be featured in. Definitely a classic. Intense, gripping and generally just awesome. Highly recommend!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    88
    Not that Diamond skimps on the social commentary; far from it. But it makes its points without too much breast-beating, caching its polemic within a tough-minded entertainment.
  2. To the unlikely role of a Bogart-esque reluctant hero, Leonardo DiCaprio brings an intensity that compels even when the script falters.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Africa's enduring sorrow is ripe for drama, but Blood Diamond is, finally, a fitting metaphor for the gems: Potentially brilliant from a distance, but upon closer inspection, one likely will see the flaws.