Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 555 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
503
Mixed:
37
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TomV.Jan 22, 2007
This movie is a real action packed thriller. It is full of facts and the plot always keeps you interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanM.Dec 24, 2007
Very entertaining movie. I don't usually care for Di Caprio, but, for the first time, I found him sexy and compelling. I find Jennifer Connelly rather cold and distant, but that worked for her in her role as a journalist. The movie just Very entertaining movie. I don't usually care for Di Caprio, but, for the first time, I found him sexy and compelling. I find Jennifer Connelly rather cold and distant, but that worked for her in her role as a journalist. The movie just scratched the surface of the huge number of problems in the diamond mines of Africa, but it was a surface that isn't often scratched. Even if you don't care about the politics, the action was good. And if you don't care for action, there was enough plot to keep you involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimC.Jan 24, 2007
Excellent movie. Leonardo DiCaprio proves once again that is and will continue to be a great actor. Djimon Hounsou deserved the Oscar nomination it just received for this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.Jan 26, 2007
I hope this film gets some nods at the Oscars because it honestly deserves it. The performances by Leo and Djimon were truly moving and if you are still having doubts about whether this film is worth watching then let me just say .........WATCH IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
The performances by Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou are outstanding, and Ed Zwick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AM.Jan 28, 2007
Good movie, DiCaprio does a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JudyT.Mar 28, 2007
Good movie for Leo, bad for Djimon. Too bad they can't figure out that he can do more than scream. This could have been a good movie if his character had been developed more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinL.Apr 13, 2007
The second best film DiCaprio has done since his Titanic days. He has really evolved as an actor. Meanwhile Jennifer Connelly turns up another steaming hot performance and Djimon Hounsou was outstanding in his role. An overall great The second best film DiCaprio has done since his Titanic days. He has really evolved as an actor. Meanwhile Jennifer Connelly turns up another steaming hot performance and Djimon Hounsou was outstanding in his role. An overall great underrated film and was a gripping thriller that touched not only me but everyone I know in the movie theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveApr 21, 2007
A wild ride from start to finish. A moving story that is enhanced by the incredible performance by DiCaprio. Talk about intensity..this guy has it, and its all over the silver screen. An eye-opening film about the problems in Africa without A wild ride from start to finish. A moving story that is enhanced by the incredible performance by DiCaprio. Talk about intensity..this guy has it, and its all over the silver screen. An eye-opening film about the problems in Africa without becoming preachy about the morality of it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancescaPapasAug 22, 2007
FANTASTIC MOVIE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeT.Aug 22, 2007
This was an amazing movie with great cinematography. acting is amazing with action that is not over done and most importantly exposes the biggest atrocities of the diamond industries of Africa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackS.Dec 17, 2008
Good action movie. DiCaprio did well in it, I thought. I think this was probably better then his other movie "The Departed." Both good movies. This one was a little more intresting then "The Departed." In this movie, the sights it takes youGood action movie. DiCaprio did well in it, I thought. I think this was probably better then his other movie "The Departed." Both good movies. This one was a little more intresting then "The Departed." In this movie, the sights it takes you in a rebellion in Sierra Leone. The rebellion was a great plot, getting all of those diamonds, stopping the war that tore a country apart because of diamonds. It makes you realize that the people in this world are starting wars for recources and money. Movie was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregA.Dec 18, 2008
A 4 star film by any account. Gripping and fast paced. Di Caprio is a legend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KristiGDec 12, 2006
Excellent film and really made me think about where my ring may have come from. How sad that African "resources" cause death to so many innocent people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankCDec 28, 2006
It amazes me that this movie is not on more top 10 films of the year. Personally I think that Leo played an amazing role and deserves a nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoreenM.Dec 31, 2006
The Best movie of the year!!! As a Zimbabwean woman I was skeptical of seeing yet another depressing movie about Africa. However, as another Shona woman commented, I was very impressed with Leo because for the first time I was able to The Best movie of the year!!! As a Zimbabwean woman I was skeptical of seeing yet another depressing movie about Africa. However, as another Shona woman commented, I was very impressed with Leo because for the first time I was able to empathize with the Rhodies. That is great acting! Djimon also deserves an Oscar nomination for his brilliant performance! I commend the Director for using South African and Shona verbage well, hey Chyna! It was great to see some local South African actors from Isidingo, the soap, getting a chance to act with Hollywood heavyweights. I did not find the story heavy handed at all. We all need to be brought out of our comfort zones and realize how the West's luxurious lifestyle may at times have come through the rape of African's resources. As an African I also agree that our governments are also to blame but greed knows no racial boundaries. However, Africa is not all gloom and doom as there is beauty not just in the landscapes but in the cities which are just as cosmopolitan as western cities on a smaller scale. But the beauty in Africa lies in its resilient and warm people who are doctors, scientists, pyschologists, and enterprising people. I hope one day we can depict these positive stories but I am not holding my breath! But makorokoto to the cast and crew who executed a thought provoking and unflinching performance!! The best of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MindyA.Dec 21, 2008
Leonardo DiCaprio is great in this movie. He is such a versatile actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Gamer13Mar 18, 2011
Great, atmospheric and moving story, great cast, extremely well made with an important message to deliver which is not sullied by the strong ending. Watch this film if you get the chance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Nov 1, 2011
Wonderful and gripping performances and an realistic scenario of Africa helps Blood Diamond to go deeper into its amazing and not so original-story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
layolaAug 18, 2011
This is impressive movie from a talented director but there are som features always irritates me when it comes to hollywood films: no abililty to catch real mental processes of real people but just cliche after another. I don ´tThis is impressive movie from a talented director but there are som features always irritates me when it comes to hollywood films: no abililty to catch real mental processes of real people but just cliche after another. I don ´t mean cliche doesn ´t depict reality -it usually does. And that s why it is easy to use in charachters because everyone in this reality will get in touch with a cliche. Also there are clearly conscious choices not to make those paper thin cliches nothing more than paper thin -for example when it comes to that journalist Maddy Bowen. Ok I don t complain more because some characters were truly impressive and well acted, especially many in supporting roles. As a whole this film was rather well constructed, very realistic story with haunting pictures from the paradise turned in hell. Maybe story goes over the top with its moralism, which is another irritating thing about these hollywood blockbusters and to my mind is a sign of underrating the audience full of grown up people. But even those severe errors can ´t make this film bad :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sinadoomDec 30, 2013
Another one of DiCaprio's greatest movies to be featured in. Definitely a classic. Intense, gripping and generally just awesome. Highly recommend!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeatHourDec 16, 2013
Without spoiling anything, the ending is very Hollywood. The rest of the movie is complex and based highly on real life events. This got panned by movie critics because of race politics. Comments like "Leonardo DiCaprio mows down blackWithout spoiling anything, the ending is very Hollywood. The rest of the movie is complex and based highly on real life events. This got panned by movie critics because of race politics. Comments like "Leonardo DiCaprio mows down black people" don't take into account that practically every fighter in Sierra Leone was an untrained adolescent and would not stand up to a seasoned mercenary.

This is one of the most accurate depictions of tactical combat in Cinema, and every detail seemed to be finely thought out. Great movie, but it had Hollywood elements that made it just an action movie, and the event research didn't seem to go below the surface.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geedupJul 4, 2012
I hated on Leo for a long time, until I saw this movie. Now I am a fan and this film shows his budding flexibility as an actor. The story is basic in my opinion but snakes with tangents that make the story somewhat unpredictable-which is keyI hated on Leo for a long time, until I saw this movie. Now I am a fan and this film shows his budding flexibility as an actor. The story is basic in my opinion but snakes with tangents that make the story somewhat unpredictable-which is key for a movie like this to keep my interest. Not sure it is raised the awareness of the "blood Diamond" industry in Africa as it should/could have but the film looked wonderful. A classic for heart wrenching and action, combined with a great cast. Add it to your collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 14, 2014
I am surprised to not see this one get more praise from the critics. Yes, Leonardo DiCaprio was fantastic and Djimon Hounsou and Jennifer Connelly also turned in great performances, but this film was great beyond that. The depiction of theI am surprised to not see this one get more praise from the critics. Yes, Leonardo DiCaprio was fantastic and Djimon Hounsou and Jennifer Connelly also turned in great performances, but this film was great beyond that. The depiction of the horrors inflicted on the people of Sierra Leone (and, really, Africans everywhere) through civil wars and the harvesting of diamonds is brutal to watch, but very well done all the same. In addition, the brutality of the diamond companies is not forgotten either as they are shown to be just as evil as those actually doing the killings in these countries. However, what this one does really well is that even as a social issue film, it never feels preachy. It tells you its points, but it does so in a way that is obnoxious or annoying, which can be an issue with films of this type. Ultimately, this one deserves the praise it gets from regular old viewers, but the critics were a tad too harsh here for my taste. Yes, it is imperfect at times and the violence can be a bit much and numbing, but the story is necessary, moving, and very well put together, even if some issues are indeed present. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
louisemariexoAug 13, 2012
Blood Diamond is an action packed movie, and clearly shows the disastrous events that took place in Sierra Leone, it's highly informative. It really made clear how horrific it was- I personally don't think it was exaggerated at all. However,Blood Diamond is an action packed movie, and clearly shows the disastrous events that took place in Sierra Leone, it's highly informative. It really made clear how horrific it was- I personally don't think it was exaggerated at all. However, you also see it on more of a lighthearted side, mainly from the changes of emotion in each individual character- more from Leonardo Dicaprio (as his character at first appears negative, with a bad attitude!) yet as we progress through the film we see as an audience how his feelings and actions change. I also enjoyed that aside from the horrific events that occurred, it shows us a love story developing between the two actors Jennifer Connelly and Leonardo Dicaprio. Which is, performed beautifully. If I'm honest, I'm glad their love story ended the way it did, because it's completely different from others, which makes this film stand out greatly. In my opinion, I don't see how at all this film can be faulted. Djimon Hounsou performed fantastically, he really portrayed the true emotions of how someone of his culture would feel, yet he was so strong in the end, he persevered to reach his goal and happiness came too him. As for Jennifer Connelly, a beautiful woman she is, again performed of a high standard. She too shows emotion and feeling, especially her chemistry with Leo. Save the best till last, yet again Leonardo Dicaprio's acting was truly phenomenal ( as always ), he portrayed his character perfectly, and I think he was correctly chosen to act the part. He again shown emotion, and I could tell he really could feel the characters feelings. As for the accent, again, wonderful!
But yes, overall this film cannot be faulted, in any way. I love this film, it is honestly a favourite I would watch over and over again. I recommend this film if you're interested in riding a 2 hour or so rollercoaster of action, emotion and surprise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
A good movie, entertaining, educated and professional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Here, Edward Zwick creates a very captivating film by delving into an incredibly provocative period in Africa. Djimon Honsou gives probably his best performance since "Gladiator" and Leonardo DiCaprio gives yet another fabulous act as well.Here, Edward Zwick creates a very captivating film by delving into an incredibly provocative period in Africa. Djimon Honsou gives probably his best performance since "Gladiator" and Leonardo DiCaprio gives yet another fabulous act as well. The movie posesses as much action and thrills as it has pathos and feeling. Truly, just a heartwarming film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiFeb 9, 2013
While the acting and drama was very convincing, there were moments when I felt my suspension of disbelief to be lifting. That's always a risk when the subject matter is serious and deals with a real life situation. The director tries to bringWhile the acting and drama was very convincing, there were moments when I felt my suspension of disbelief to be lifting. That's always a risk when the subject matter is serious and deals with a real life situation. The director tries to bring added conflict, suspense, tension and drama when really the formula 'less is more' would have worked better. DiCaprio, however, deserved the Oscar. The Academy makes a fool out of itself for passing over this guy over and over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
Blood Diamond is as important as any of the films we've seen over the years about the Holocaust. It shares with them the vital message: "We must not let this happen again."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LaGuertaMar 17, 2013
Blood Diamond's quality stems from its unapologetically brutal portrayal of its subject matter. However, in places, it panders to the audience by injecting typical Hollywood themes (you'll know them when you are smacked in the face with them)Blood Diamond's quality stems from its unapologetically brutal portrayal of its subject matter. However, in places, it panders to the audience by injecting typical Hollywood themes (you'll know them when you are smacked in the face with them) which serves to cheapen the story and characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJAug 26, 2016
What the hell is wrong with the "professional critics"? This movie is stunning - from the beginning till the end! Brilliant acting and intense plot with great action! The Blood Diamond will show you things that you probably never knew thatWhat the hell is wrong with the "professional critics"? This movie is stunning - from the beginning till the end! Brilliant acting and intense plot with great action! The Blood Diamond will show you things that you probably never knew that happened! An absolute masterpiece Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionMay 6, 2013
Violent, strong and beautifully filmed, this film tells a harsh contemporary reality, the strong storyline and well written account of a hitória shocking, and it comes at the expense of fine performances of L.DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou, andViolent, strong and beautifully filmed, this film tells a harsh contemporary reality, the strong storyline and well written account of a hitória shocking, and it comes at the expense of fine performances of L.DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou, and good action scenes, and end touching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JordanKingAug 30, 2013
A masterpiece!!!! Years I waited to see a good movie like Blood Diamond. Leonardo DiCaprio was perfect and stunning as always. Jeniffer Connely played a very interesting role and Djimon Hounsou was a surprise for me. A very good movie thatA masterpiece!!!! Years I waited to see a good movie like Blood Diamond. Leonardo DiCaprio was perfect and stunning as always. Jeniffer Connely played a very interesting role and Djimon Hounsou was a surprise for me. A very good movie that tells us something about the cruelty of men. DON'T MISS IT!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJan 31, 2016
Blood Diamond is a gem of a movie. Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou give excellent performances, but the story is somewhat neglected in some aspects, taken as violence and car chases instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dkg822Aug 5, 2015
‘Blood Diamond’ is in equal measures thrilling, captivating, well acted and frustrating. The biggest positive of the movie is that in its runtime of 2hr 23min, there is hardly any moment of boredom and I was constantly hooked onto its premise‘Blood Diamond’ is in equal measures thrilling, captivating, well acted and frustrating. The biggest positive of the movie is that in its runtime of 2hr 23min, there is hardly any moment of boredom and I was constantly hooked onto its premise which makes the movie very effective. Moreover, the basic premise of diamond trading is intriguing enough to hook us in as viewers. However, what is frustrating is that movie hardly builds upon its interesting premise and rather takes a very predictable route in telling its story. Some aspects of the story telling are very predictable and the movie took a reasonable time in actually developing its characters. Till about halfway into the movie, I hardly cared about any of the characters and felt that the ‘action’ side of the story took over the emotional quotient significantly. However, the last hour or so picks up considerably in terms of its emotional quotient and I started caring significantly more about the fate of each character. The movie, however, still remained quite predictable. These drawbacks of predictability and low emotional connection with each character are fortunately bettered by some brilliant acting, cinematography and fast paced story telling. The cinematography of Sierra Leone is amusing and quite stunning which juxtaposes well with the violence depicted in these areas and worked very well for me. The engaging story telling, as I mentioned, was the movies biggest positive as it helps even keep a predictable story telling engaging. Lastly, the acting by the central actors was particularly terrific. ‘Connelly’ brings emotional heft to her character and her chemistry with ‘DiCaprio’ was refreshing and heartfelt. ‘Kuypers’ and ‘Hounsou’ as the son-father are equally impressive. Particularly, Hounsou displays heartbreak and angst very well and makes you really empathize with his character. I, do feel, however, that he lacked a true chemistry with ‘DiCaprio’. Unsurprisingly, ‘DiCaprio’ steals the show from the lot with a strikingly amusing accent and brilliant display as the smuggler ‘Danny Archer’. He is particularly amazing in emotional scenes with ‘Connelly’ and towards the end of the movie invokes moments of genuine sympathy for his character.
Overall, ‘Blood Diamond’ is a good thriller with good pacing, great acting and amazing cinematography. The movie also has an interesting premise and could have been truly amazing, however, falls considerably short of bringing emotional complexity and unpredictability to its plot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Blood Diamond is an excellent movie with a very good plot, superb acting, and extremely intense. Despite critics not giving Blood Diamond the credit it deserves, this movie will surely entertain a lot of movie fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheMovieSceneJun 18, 2016
During the civil war in Sierra Leone, fisherman Solomon (Hounsou) is forced to pan for diamonds. He finds a large one, but it soon draws the attention of mercenary Danny Archer (DiCaprio) among others.

Violence is an overused word.
During the civil war in Sierra Leone, fisherman Solomon (Hounsou) is forced to pan for diamonds. He finds a large one, but it soon draws the attention of mercenary Danny Archer (DiCaprio) among others.

Violence is an overused word. Primarily we associate it with fantasy, either in the gory netherworlds of the Hostel or Saw movies or the escapist universe of Bond and Bourne, where tension and excitement overshadow the realities of torture, mutilation and death. Violence, for the most part, is about the human capacity to hurt others; and about the way it destroys lives, communities and countries.

So when you hear that Blood Diamond is a very violent movie, don’t take it lightly. This isn’t simply about gunfights and car chases (although both are present and very much correct); Edward Zwick’s film launches with scenes that startle with their savagery, rivalling even Saving Private Ryan’s opening salvo for squirm value. As Sierra Leone’s anti-government warriors spread across the country, villages are razed, women raped and their children shot or abducted. To ensure voter apathy at the upcoming elections, hands are severed with axes and machetes.

It’s against this hellish backdrop that we first meet Solomon (Djimon Hounsou), a family man whose dreams of medical school for his son Dia (Caruso Kuypers) are dashed by the guerrilla insurgency. While Solomon is spared to pan for diamonds at gunpoint, Dia is taken, brainwashed, given a new identity and a gun. This, we soon learn, is what Sierra Leone is up against: beer-swilling bandits who bankroll their fight with smuggled diamonds and spend their gains on, disturbingly, US gangsta rap.

Solomon’s camp is raided and the inhabitants jailed, which is where Leonardo DiCaprio’s Danny Archer comes in; a sharp-witted player whose eyes widen as he learns of Solomon’s million-dollar find. Though there are similarities with the protean trickster of Catch Me If You Can, this is a Leo we’ve never seen before. Amoral and selfish but self-aware, DiCaprio expands on the reservoirs of darkness that Scorsese found in him. In the film’s final straits, when the diamond becomes his Shangri-La, his power and conviction are something to see.

But Blood Diamond falls maddeningly short of greatness in its final hour, partly because of an abundance of subplots. Alongside Solomon and Archer, Zwick introduces journalist Maddy Bowen (Jennifer Connelly), a hard-nosed war reporter just in from Afghanistan, who looks to Archer to help her find the white-collar criminals in the diamond trade. Though her acting is faultless, Connelly’s presence leads to a romance that, however understated, simply stores up trouble for later, requiring redemption and emotional closure on an already overheated climax. On top of that, add an unnecessary political framing device, and what begins as a tough, risk-taking thriller winds down to become a familiar Hollywood triumph-over-adversity story. It’s a heartbreaker. After feeling so much danger, it’s a shame to leave the cinema on a note so safe.

Great performances, provocative ideas and gripping action scenes fall prey to Hollywood logic and pat storytelling in the final hour.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews